You are not logged in.

#1 2021-07-16 12:39:27

nandi
Member
Registered: 2021-07-16
Posts: 8

Run kodi in a window

Kodi runs perfectly in full screen but when i change the settings to run it in a window just a black screen showing. Could someone help me please what causes this?

Offline

#2 2021-07-16 16:20:43

rbh
Moderator
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 1,235

Re: Run kodi in a window

nandi wrote:

Kodi runs perfectly in full screen but when i change the settings to run it in a window just a black screen showing. Could someone help me please what causes this?

Go to Kodi: Settings => Display => Display Mode.
Change from "Full Screen", to "Windowed".

Last edited by rbh (2021-07-16 16:21:04)


// Regards rbh

Please read before requesting help: Guide to getting help,
Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop and other help topics under "Help Resources" on the BunsenLabs menu

Online

#3 2021-07-16 19:53:40

nandi
Member
Registered: 2021-07-16
Posts: 8

Re: Run kodi in a window

Thank you for your reply i tried to display mode windowed the Kodi window is still black.Could it be my video driver what cause this?

Offline

#4 2021-07-17 09:25:30

twoion
一期一会
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 3,357

Re: Run kodi in a window

nandi wrote:

Thank you for your reply i tried to display mode windowed the Kodi window is still black.Could it be my video driver what cause this?

Perhaps the compositor is an issue. Can you disable "compton" from somewhere within the BL openbox menu (there should be a setting) and see if the black rectangle issue persists?

If you like, you can also provide some info about your system (inxi -bxx -v3 output, for example) and the graphics hardware in particular.

A black screen within a composited dekstop environment is typical for problems with compositors' OpenGL backends.

Offline

#5 2021-07-17 10:27:28

nandi
Member
Registered: 2021-07-16
Posts: 8

Re: Run kodi in a window

I tried with compton enabled and disabled
The Kodi window is still black
I pasted the output for the command you mentioned

12System:    12Host debian 12Kernel 4.19.0-17-686-pae i686 12bits 32 12compiler gcc 12v 8.3.0
           12Desktop Openbox 3.6.1 12Distro BunsenLabs GNU/Linux 10.5 (Lithium)
           12base Debian GNU/Linux 10
12Machine:   12Type Desktop 12System Acer 12product Veriton N260G 12v N/A 12serial <filter>
           12Mobo Acer 12model FGN40M 12serial <filter> 12BIOS Acer 12v P01-A3 12date 07/14/2009
12CPU:       12Topology Single Core 12model Intel Atom N280 12bits 32 12type MT 12arch Bonnell 12rev 2
           12L2 cache 512 KiB
           12flags nx pae sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 12bogomips 6650
           12Speed 1663 MHz 12min/max N/A 12Core speeds (MHz) 121 1663 122 1663
12Graphics:  12Device-1 Intel Mobile 4 Series Integrated Graphics 12vendor Acer Incorporated ALI
           12driver i915 12v kernel 12bus ID 00:02.0
           12Display x11 12server X.Org 1.20.4 12driver modesetting 12unloaded fbdev,vesa
           12resolution 1920x1080~60Hz
           12OpenGL 12renderer Mesa DRI Mobile Intel GM45 Express x86/MMX/SSE2 12v 2.1 Mesa 18.3.6
           12direct render Yes
12Network:   12Device-1 Marvell 88E8071 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet 12vendor Acer Incorporated ALI
           12driver sky2 12v 1.30 12port e800 12bus ID 03:00.0
           12IF enp3s0 12state down 12mac <filter>
           12Device-2 Ralink MT7601U Wireless Adapter 12type USB 12driver mt7601u 12bus ID 3-4:3
           12IF wlx00e0200d957c 12state up 12mac <filter>
12Drives:    12Local Storage 12total 1.96 TiB 12used 1.81 TiB (92.2%)
12Info:      12Processes 159 12Uptime 10m 12Memory 1.94 GiB 12used 706.2 MiB (35.6%) 12Init systemd 12runlevel 5
           12Compilers 12gcc 8.3.0 12Client Unknown Client: su 12inxi 3.0.32

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB