You are not logged in.

#1 2021-07-16 05:00:57

no
Member
From: PDX, OR, USA
Registered: 2019-11-26
Posts: 7

[Solved] No option to Keep Existing Data on home partition

Hi all,

I've been attempting to install Lithium and preserve my extant Home partition from Hydrogen.
In expert mode when I come to the partition sequence, there is no option to keep existing data,
which has been the recommendation in other threads here.

Any recommendations about how to go about preserving that partition for the install?

My linux-fu is a bit rusty as I have been somewhat disconnected from my computer usage for some time,
so apologies if this comes across as nooby.

Thankyou.

Last edited by no (2021-07-16 07:15:20)


¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Offline

#2 2021-07-16 06:53:03

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,657

Re: [Solved] No option to Keep Existing Data on home partition

The main problem with keeping an existing $HOME is the config dotfiles, which may break your new install. The workaround I use is:

1.  Install the entire system to one partition
2.  Mount the old partition using an entry in /etc/fstab
2.  Delete/rename the new $USER directories, and create symlinks to the ones on your old home partition.
eg

rm -rf Documents && ln -s /path/to/old/Documents Documents

Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#3 2021-07-16 07:14:01

no
Member
From: PDX, OR, USA
Registered: 2019-11-26
Posts: 7

Re: [Solved] No option to Keep Existing Data on home partition

Thankyou, this an efficient and straight-forward work around.


¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Offline

#4 2021-07-16 15:46:28

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,275

Re: [Solved] No option to Keep Existing Data on home partition

I rename the old user dir then set up the new user dir during install...then copy data I want to keep to the new user dir. Certain dotfiles I do keep such as ~/.mozilla for my firefox profiles for example.

If you are merely reinstalling BL then you should be able to keep your existing $HOME in my opinion.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2021-07-16 15:47:31)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB