You are not logged in.

#1 2021-05-13 21:11:49

Sprinterdriver
Member
Registered: 2018-06-21
Posts: 19

Old GeForce 6800 - desktop resolution limited to 1024*768

Hi.

First - I know this computer is very old (built in 2003 'ish), so it's no issue if this cannot be resolved.

From what I could read online (don't remember excact source now), it seems to suggest that I'd need a driver file "nvidia-legacy-304xx-driver_304.137-5_deb9u1_i386.deb" and install this.

However, it doesn't have any effect on the screen resolution issue.

/etc/apt/sources.list

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ cat /etc/apt/sources.list
# 

# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 9.8 _Helium_ - Snapshot i386 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20190706-17:50]/ stretch contrib main non-free

#deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 9.8 _Helium_ - Snapshot i386 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20190706-17:50]/ stretch contrib main non-free

deb https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch main non-free contrib
# deb-src https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch main non-free contrib

## Debian security updates
deb https://deb.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates main contrib non-free

# stretch-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
deb https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch-updates main contrib non-free
# deb-src https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch-updates main contrib non-free
sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ sudo lshw -numeric -C display
  *-display UNCLAIMED       
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: NV40 [GeForce 6800] [10DE:41]
       vendor: NVIDIA Corporation [10DE]
       physical id: 0
       bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
       version: a1
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 66MHz
       capabilities: pm agp agp-3.0 vga_controller bus_master cap_list
       configuration: latency=32 maxlatency=1 mingnt=5
       resources: memory:de000000-deffffff memory:d0000000-d7ffffff memory:dd000000-ddffffff memory:c0000-dffff


sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ sudo lshw -C video
  *-display UNCLAIMED       
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: NV40 [GeForce 6800]
       vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
       physical id: 0
       bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
       version: a1
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 66MHz
       capabilities: pm agp agp-3.0 vga_controller bus_master cap_list
       configuration: latency=32 maxlatency=1 mingnt=5
       resources: memory:de000000-deffffff memory:d0000000-d7ffffff memory:dd000000-ddffffff memory:c0000-dffff
sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ sudo inxi -Fxmz
[sudo] password for sprinterdriver: 
System:    Host: bunsenlabs32 Kernel: 4.9.0-12-686-pae i686 (32 bit gcc: 6.3.0) Console: tty 0
           Distro: BunsenLabs GNU/Linux 9.8 (Helium)
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: MSI model: MS-6380E v: 1.0 BIOS: American Megatrends v: 07.00T date: 04/02/01
CPU:       Single core AMD Athlon XP 2000+ (-UP-) cache: 256 KB
           flags: (pae sse) bmips: 3387 speed: 1693 MHz (max)
Memory:    Array-1 capacity: 3 GB (check) devices: N/A EC: N/A max module size: 1 GB
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA NV40 [GeForce 6800] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.org 1.19.2 drivers: vesa,nouveau (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev)
           tty size: 140x37 Advanced Data: N/A for root out of X
Audio:     Card VIA VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller driver: snd_via82xx port: e800 bus-ID: 00:11.5
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.9.0-12-686-pae
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL-8100/8101L/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
           driver: 8139too v: 0.9.28 port: ec00 bus-ID: 00:07.0
           IF: enp0s7 state: unknown speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 64.4GB (8.2% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: MAXTOR_6L060J3 size: 60.0GB temp: 41C
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: SAMSUNG_SV0432A size: 4.3GB temp: 0C
Partition: ID-1: / size: 21G used: 3.5G (19%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: /home size: 14G used: 87M (1%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda6
           ID-3: /var size: 3.4G used: 865M (28%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb2
           ID-4: swap-1 size: 0.63GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb1
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 147 Uptime: 44 min Memory: 183.9/1004.1MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 6.3.0
           Client: Shell (sudo) inxi: 2.3.5 

Last edited by Sprinterdriver (2021-05-13 21:12:36)

Offline

#2 2021-05-13 21:30:32

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,239

Re: Old GeForce 6800 - desktop resolution limited to 1024*768

The 304 series drivers have been dropped a long time ago and not really supported anymore so the only game in town for that old card is the nouveau driver. I still have one of those 6800s in my parts box and is in AGP format. Wish I still had a board to use it in just for shits and giggles as that card's pretty damn solid.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2021-05-13 21:31:27)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#3 2021-05-14 08:10:31

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 3,209

Re: Old GeForce 6800 - desktop resolution limited to 1024*768

Reminds me of my old GT4400Ti wink Noveau should be the only way to go unless you install an old distro that still is able to support the proprietary driver in its full configuration. Ubuntu 08.04 might still work. In order to browse the web from that distro, you could run a modern browser in a modern distro in qemu.

I have one such setup here, a Medion Titanium 8000XL home pc from 2002, our first family PC that ran something newer than Windows 98 SE and Commodore 64 basic. Now if I could remember where I put that thing, it has been ages.


Nassdachs

Offline

#4 2021-05-14 17:29:40

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,239

Re: Old GeForce 6800 - desktop resolution limited to 1024*768

twoion wrote:

Reminds me of my old GT4400Ti wink Noveau should be the only way to go unless you install an old distro that still is able to support the proprietary driver in its full configuration. Ubuntu 08.04 might still work. In order to browse the web from that distro, you could run a modern browser in a modern distro in qemu.

I have one such setup here, a Medion Titanium 8000XL home pc from 2002, our first family PC that ran something newer than Windows 98 SE and Commodore 64 basic. Now if I could remember where I put that thing, it has been ages.

Think Hydrogen (Jessie) still had the old 304 drivers and getting anything really modern to run on that will be a pita unless you build your own firefox on it for example. Qemu will work for running newer firefoxes and chromium too.

I am sure nouveau can handle that card well still on Lithium.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#5 2021-05-14 21:38:37

Sprinterdriver
Member
Registered: 2018-06-21
Posts: 19

Re: Old GeForce 6800 - desktop resolution limited to 1024*768

Thank you very much for replies.

Ok, I can try to do the nouveau workaround. After searching around on the web, I really cannot find a place that describe the installation steps (in such a manner and detail that I'm able to follow the steps).

What I've found so far:

manpages.debian.org/ . . . nouveau.4
Says what it is, but not how to install.

nouveau.freedesktop.org/InstallNouveau.html and pints to:
nouveau.freedesktop.org/DebianInstall
Not sure if this is usable. Look very old to me.

Offline

#6 2021-05-14 23:06:43

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 1,041

Re: Old GeForce 6800 - desktop resolution limited to 1024*768

Sprinterdriver wrote:

Ok, I can try to do the nouveau workaround. After searching around on the web, I really cannot find a place that describe the installation steps

Have you tried package xserver-xorg-video-nouveau from debian repo?


// Regards rbh

Offline

#7 2021-05-28 18:43:03

Sprinterdriver
Member
Registered: 2018-06-21
Posts: 19

Re: Old GeForce 6800 - desktop resolution limited to 1024*768

Thanks again. Have being away for a while, but now I had some time to look at this again.

I did this:

  • Uninstalled the package "nvidia-legacy-304xx-driver_304.137-5_deb9u1_i386.deb"

  • Tried to install "xserver-xorg-video-nouveau" but was already installed (xserver-xorg-video-nouveau is already the newest version (1:1.0.13-3))

Then I came over this youtube video to try to follow.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MScLD8dFNwk

However, this was not sucessfully. Maybe there are some errors in the formatting.

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ cvt 1920 1080 30
# 1920x1080 29.95 Hz (CVT) hsync: 33.01 kHz; pclk: 79.75 MHz
Modeline "1920x1080_30.00"   79.75  1920 1976 2168 2416  1080 1083 1088 1102 -hsync +vsync

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ xrandr --newmode "1920x1080_30.00"   79.75  1920 1976 2168 2416  1080 1083 1088 1102 -hsync +vsync
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       0.00* 
   800x600       61.00  
   640x480       60.00  
  1920x1080_30.00 (0x2fe) 79.750MHz -HSync +VSync
        h: width  1920 start 1976 end 2168 total 2416 skew    0 clock  33.01KHz
        v: height 1080 start 1083 end 1088 total 1102           clock  29.95Hz
sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ xrandr --addmode "Screen 0" 1920x1080_30.00

xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
xrandr: cannot find output "Screen 0"

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       0.00* 
   800x600       61.00  
   640x480       60.00  
  1920x1080_30.00 (0x2fe) 79.750MHz -HSync +VSync
        h: width  1920 start 1976 end 2168 total 2416 skew    0 clock  33.01KHz
        v: height 1080 start 1083 end 1088 total 1102           clock  29.95Hz

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ xrandr --output "Screen 0" --mode 1920x1080_30.00
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
warning: output Screen 0 not found; ignoring

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ 

# This is wrong because I know there should be "default" as video name - I'll edit and fix asap. . . .

[edit]
didn't work.

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ xrandr --addmode default 1920x1080_30.00
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default

Don't know what's wrong. Maybe because I haven't rebooted since uninstalling "nvidia-legacy-304xx-driver_304.137-5_deb9u1_i386.deb"


[edit 2]
Ok, I've rebooted, and try one more time. Unfortunately this neither works.

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       0.00* 
   800x600       61.00  
   640x480       60.00  

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ cvt 1920 1080 30 
# 1920x1080 29.95 Hz (CVT) hsync: 33.01 kHz; pclk: 79.75 MHz
Modeline "1920x1080_30.00"   79.75  1920 1976 2168 2416  1080 1083 1088 1102 -hsync +vsync

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ xrandr --newmode "1920x1080_30.00"   79.75  1920 1976 2168 2416  1080 1083 1088 1102 -hsync +vsync
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ xrandr --addmode default 1920x1080_30.00
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       0.00* 
   800x600       61.00  
   640x480       60.00  
   1920x1080_30.00  29.95  

sprinterdriver@bunsenlabs32:~$ xrandr --output default --mode 1920x1080_30.00
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed

At this last command I can see that the screen seems to try to change resolution for a split second but fall back on 1024x768 immediately.

Last edited by Sprinterdriver (2021-05-28 19:58:11)

Offline

#8 2021-05-28 20:12:02

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 1,041

Re: Old GeForce 6800 - desktop resolution limited to 1024*768

I do not understand why you try to set the monitor to work in 30 Hz!
I do not understand why you work with old Helium/Stretch, that has limited security support.

Here is a solution for Antix 19.2, should work for Lithium I think...
https://www.antixforum.com/forums/topic … 19-2-32bit

What screenresolution do you get...?

Else, is this a desktop computer?
Why not by a used working graphic card?

Last edited by rbh (2021-05-28 20:38:58)


// Regards rbh

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB