You are not logged in.

#1 2020-12-24 13:47:21

mcrs78
New Member
Registered: 2020-12-24
Posts: 4

Grub rescue on eee pc 901

Hi everyone,

Just installed BL on my trusted Asus eee 901, but keep getting Grub rescue on reboot. Tried changing CMOS settings (boot order and such), but to no avail. What could go wrong?

Tnx!

dp

Offline

#2 2020-12-24 14:14:58

eight.bit.al
Member
From: Prison
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 737

Re: Grub rescue on eee pc 901

^ Seems to be a common problem with that Asus;

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=Asus+eee+901+Grub+rescue

8bit


If art is how we decorate space, music is how we decorate time.

Offline

#3 2020-12-24 14:26:04

mcrs78
New Member
Registered: 2020-12-24
Posts: 4

Re: Grub rescue on eee pc 901

Not really, there's just one meaningful thread at https://askubuntu.com/questions/1056436 … rub-rescue
That guy solved it by rearranging drives in BIOS. Unfortunately, didn't work in my case.

Offline

#4 2020-12-24 16:07:50

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 912

Re: Grub rescue on eee pc 901

mcrs78 wrote:

Just installed BL on my trusted Asus eee 901, but keep getting Grub rescue on reboot. Tried changing CMOS settings (boot order and such), but to no avail. What could go wrong?

What was the installed os before? Did that worked ok? You have not changed anything in Bios?
You installed 32 bit BL?

Obviosly, you have not got the grubb install ok.
You can boot BL live iso, chroot in to yor installed os. Just for curiosity, you can look in logs in /var/log/installer, to se if any errors. You can then reinstall grub.
Here a link to howto do that. https://howtoubuntu.org/how-to-repair-r … tu-live-cd

You can also boot the installer, choose to repair and reinstall Grub.

Now christmas presents...


// Regards rbh

Offline

#5 2020-12-24 17:03:23

eight.bit.al
Member
From: Prison
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 737

Re: Grub rescue on eee pc 901

mcrs78 wrote:

Not really, there's just one meaningful thread at https://askubuntu.com/questions/1056436 … rub-rescue
That guy solved it by rearranging drives in BIOS. Unfortunately, didn't work in my case.

That other search engine not to be named gave more results than the duckduckgo link. I only included the duckduckgo link because someone might break out in hives if I posted the other, not named, search engine. smile
Some things that might help.

https://wiki.debian.org/DebianEeePC/TipsAndTricks
https://www.linuxquestions.org/question … pc-799781/
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. … 07ba1688f2
https://prodevsblog.com/questions/84984 … ub-rescue/
https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=52565
And a half dozen more. Good luck.

8bit

Last edited by eight.bit.al (2020-12-24 17:10:57)


If art is how we decorate space, music is how we decorate time.

Offline

#6 2020-12-24 19:08:17

mcrs78
New Member
Registered: 2020-12-24
Posts: 4

Re: Grub rescue on eee pc 901

Well, I reinstalled it one more time and it worked.
I might have forgotten to flag the bootable partition, figuring it was smart enough to do so on its own. It wasn't.
You guys, on the other hand, are awesome, thank you for your prompt response!
Take care.

Offline

#7 2020-12-24 20:52:10

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 912

Re: Grub rescue on eee pc 901

mcrs78 wrote:

Well, I reinstalled it one more time and it worked.
I might have forgotten to flag the bootable partition, figuring it was smart enough to do so on its own.

Linux will boot even without boot flag. Dos/windows will not.

More likely you wrote grub to partion and not to disk mbr.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#8 2020-12-24 21:40:21

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,193
Website

Re: Grub rescue on eee pc 901

It makes me wonder how this eeepc is layed out, does it have a hard drive or eMMC or some such, or an SD card slot, and what does it boot from by default...


Please use CODE tags for code.
Search youtube without a browser: repo | thread
BL quote proposals to this thread please.
my repos / my repos

Offline

#9 2020-12-24 23:50:01

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 912

Re: Grub rescue on eee pc 901

Eee PC 901 has modest specs. Just 12,16 or 20 GB SSD. https://www.asus.com/us/Laptops/Eee_PC_ … ifications

Default boot-devis is SSD.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#10 2020-12-26 09:58:43

mcrs78
New Member
Registered: 2020-12-24
Posts: 4

Re: Grub rescue on eee pc 901

Mine 901 has two SSDs, a faster 4GB, and a slower 16GB.

I must say that after a couple of reboots I ran into a login loop problem, got tired, and erased Bunsen for good. Probably just not the right system for an outdated eee.

Right after that I installed Q4OS Trinity and it runs just fine, perhaps even better than XP in the past. Chromium is sluggish, but it works, Zoom (debian 32-bit) stutters, but can be used as audio-only. I also installed LibreOffice, FocusWriter and a GBA emulator, and did not run into a single problem.

Just letting you guys know in case anyone tries this at home.

Offline

#11 2020-12-26 10:23:37

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,193
Website

Re: Grub rescue on eee pc 901

^ Another +1 for Q4OS on legacy hardware. Nice.
FWIW, I'd have recommended AntiX.


Please use CODE tags for code.
Search youtube without a browser: repo | thread
BL quote proposals to this thread please.
my repos / my repos

Offline

#12 2020-12-26 14:06:44

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 912

Re: Grub rescue on eee pc 901

mcrs78 wrote:

erased Bunsen for good. Probably just not the right system for an outdated eee.

I have BL Lithium on an IBM Thinkpad X30, with 500 MB Ram. It is not strong enough for multitasking, but othervise works ok. Of cource I have disabled some unneccesary services.

Was a pc good for running Win XP, it is good enogh for BL.

Last edited by rbh (2020-12-26 22:50:43)


// Regards rbh

Offline

#13 2021-01-03 21:31:40

jimjamz
Member
Registered: 2016-04-04
Posts: 134

Re: Grub rescue on eee pc 901

I arrived a bit late to the show on this one.

I've been installing BL on my EEE 901 for years and have never had an issue with GRUB post-install.

Perhaps due to their being two mini PCI-E SSDs (one 50mm fixed 4GB and a removable 70mm 20GB), perhaps GRUB was not installed to whichever SSD was responsible for being first in the boot order.

Installing BL on an EEE901 is a cakewalk in comparison to installing BL on Macbooks that dual- or triple-boot MacOS, BL and any other additional OS's ... that's where I tend to encounter my GRUB boot issues.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB