You are not logged in.

#1 2020-09-12 17:33:06

Nihal
Member
Registered: 2020-09-12
Posts: 8

Hello,I'm new to linux

So I just bought tenda u3 network adapter but I'm not able to get the drivers properly I tried everything all sites GitHub etcc.. but still the wlan0 part is not showing up.
Can someone please help me
Thank you :)

Offline

#2 2020-09-12 18:08:30

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 661

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

Nihal wrote:

So I just bought tenda u3 network adapter but I'm not able to get the drivers properly

When bying new hardware for use on linux, it is better to by harware that is known to work good undr linux. Here a list of good alternatives: https://www.addictivetips.com/ubuntu-li … ter-linux/ and https://wiki.debian.org/WiFi

I have no personal expirience with Tenda, but know others that had problem. If not Tendas own Linux drivers work: https://www.tendacn.com/en/faq/3084.html. then maybe the wifi adapter does not work?

I tried everything all sites GitHub etcc.. but still the wlan0 part is not showing up.

Default, on stable Debian / Bunsenlabs linux, the wifi nic, will not show up as wlan0. It will be shown as wlxXXXXXXXXXXXX.

Last edited by rbh (2020-09-12 18:09:20)


// Regards rbh

Offline

#3 2020-09-12 19:09:19

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 661

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

According to this BL thread Tenda U3 US.B wireless adaptor DRIVERS installing problem it is an Realtek chip. Have you non-free repository enabled? Try then to install firmware-realtek. Possibly that package from backports work better


// Regards rbh

Offline

#4 2020-09-12 19:35:43

Nihal
Member
Registered: 2020-09-12
Posts: 8

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

@rbh I had some compilation error when I tried to install drivers 2 compilation errors
Not sure what it is and how to fix it

Offline

#5 2020-09-12 22:16:16

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,882
Website

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

Is this wireless?
Nihal, there really isn't so much information in your posts.
Please provide the information requested here, and add 'sudo lsusb' to the list of commands.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
my repos / my repos
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#6 2020-09-12 22:36:14

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 661

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

Nihal wrote:

@rbh I had some compilation error when I tried to install drivers 2 compilation errors
Not sure what it is and how to fix it

Are you new to Linux? Maybe you should spare learning compiling till you know linux better?

Did you try install realtek driver? The command "lsusb", will list specific usb hw details.

Last edited by rbh (2020-09-12 22:36:41)


// Regards rbh

Offline

#7 2020-09-13 03:48:30

Nihal
Member
Registered: 2020-09-12
Posts: 8

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

@ohnonot

yes it is wireless

root@kali:~# uname -rv
5.4.0-kali3-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 5.4.13-1kali1 (2020-01-20)

root@kali:~# lspci -knn | grep -EiA2 net
00:03.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82540EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller [8086:100e] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Intel Corporation PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter [8086:001e]
        Kernel driver in use: e1000



root@kali:~# dmesg|grep -Ei 'wlan|firmw|dhc'
root@kali:~#


root@kali:~# sudo cat /var/log/syslog | grep -Ei 'net|wpa|dhc'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2780] dhcp4 (eth0): option dhcp_lease_time      => '600'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2781] dhcp4 (eth0): option domain_name_servers  => '192.168.0.1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2781] dhcp4 (eth0): option expiry               => '1599970050'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2781] dhcp4 (eth0): option ip_address           => '10.0.2.15'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2781] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_broadcast_address => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2781] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_dhcp_server_identifier => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2781] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_domain_name => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2781] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_domain_name_servers => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2782] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_domain_search => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2782] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_host_name  => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2782] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_interface_mtu => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2782] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_ms_classless_static_routes => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2782] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_nis_domain => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2782] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_nis_servers => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2782] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_ntp_servers => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2783] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_rfc3442_classless_static_routes => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2783] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_root_path  => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2783] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_routers    => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2783] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_static_routes => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2783] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_subnet_mask => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2783] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_time_offset => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2783] dhcp4 (eth0): option requested_wpad       => '1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2783] dhcp4 (eth0): option routers              => '10.0.2.1'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2783] dhcp4 (eth0): option subnet_mask          => '255.255.255.0'
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali NetworkManager[475]: <info>  [1599969450.2784] dhcp4 (eth0): state changed unknown -> bound
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali dbus-daemon[474]: [system] Activating via systemd: service name='org.freedesktop.nm_dispatcher' unit='dbus-org.freedesktop.nm-dispatcher.service' requested by ':1.3' (uid=0 pid=475 comm="/usr/sbin/NetworkManager --no-daemon ")
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali systemd[1]: Starting Network Manager Script Dispatcher Service...
Sep 12 23:57:30 kali systemd[1]: Started Network Manager Script Dispatcher Service.
Sep 12 23:57:40 kali systemd[1]: NetworkManager-dispatcher.service: Succeeded.


root@kali:~# sudo apt-get install rfkill
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
rfkill is already the newest version (2.34-0.1).
rfkill set to manually installed.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.



root@kali:~# sudo rfkill list
root@kali:~#


root@kali:~# sudo lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 80ee:0021 VirtualBox USB Tablet
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

Last edited by Nihal (2020-09-13 06:27:57)

Offline

#8 2020-09-13 03:58:38

Nihal
Member
Registered: 2020-09-12
Posts: 8

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

@rbh yes im new i tried installing those drivers but nothings working


also my ehternet is connected to linux

Last edited by Nihal (2020-09-13 06:29:15)

Offline

#9 2020-09-13 04:30:00

Nihal
Member
Registered: 2020-09-12
Posts: 8

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

i get this when i try to install headers:


sudo apt -y install linux-headers
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Package linux-headers is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

E: Package 'linux-headers' has no installation candidate

Last edited by Nihal (2020-09-13 04:31:27)

Offline

#10 2020-09-13 06:53:24

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 661

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

Nihal Both Damo and I asked you to run "lsusb", the most important command to run, to lern more about your usb-attached wifi adaptor.

Here is the output for on D-Link adaptor:

Bus 005 Device 004: ID 2001:3c15 D-Link Corp. DWA-140 RangeBooster N Adapter(rev.B3) [Ralink RT5372]

The first part (Bus 005 Device 004:), only tells on wich usb port it is.
ID 2001, tells which Manufacter made it and and 3c15 is the device id.

An internet search for "2001:3c15", is sufficient to get all information about that usb-dongle.More about lsusb on https://wiki.debian.org/HowToIdentifyADevice/USB

I am certain that if you run "lsusb", you can confirm that it is an realteak chip in the dongle, with support from debian in non-free.
If it is, it should be possible to install realtek-firmware from Debian repo. Is it not better you install debs from debian repo than trying to compile when you do not know what you are doing?

And, once again: It saves you a lot of trouble if you search hardware that is known to work well with Linux. You can get a low profile dongle with reasonable performance, very sheap, and it will save you a lot of trouble.

Last edited by rbh (2020-09-13 06:54:37)


// Regards rbh

Offline

#11 2020-09-13 07:15:18

Nihal
Member
Registered: 2020-09-12
Posts: 8

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

@rbh

result for lsusb:

root@kali:~# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 80ee:0021 VirtualBox USB Tablet
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

i dont think its detected but when i go to settings and change network to bridge adapter instead of natnetwork it shows the name Realtek RTL8192EU Wireless LAN 802.11n USB 2.0 Networl Adapter

Last edited by Nihal (2020-09-13 07:21:37)

Offline

#12 2020-09-13 08:28:27

Nihal
Member
Registered: 2020-09-12
Posts: 8

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

it is fixed thank you guy smile
appreciate it

Offline

#13 2020-09-13 09:08:34

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,271

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

Nihal wrote:

it is fixed thank you guy smile
appreciate it

For the benefit of others with a similar problem, please say how you fixed it.

And if you edit the title of your first post to be more explanatory of what the problem is....


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#14 2020-09-13 12:15:51

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 661

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

Nihal wrote:

root@kali:~# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 80ee:0021 VirtualBox USB Tablet
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

i dont think its detected but when i go to settings and change network to bridge adapter instead of natnetwork it shows the name Realtek RTL8192EU Wireless LAN 802.11n USB 2.0 Networl Adapter

The information that you wanted help with an Virtualbox VM installation, is also an crucial information that had been good if you wrote in the begining.
We are not mindreaders. Being utterly sparse with information, delays finding a good solution and is waste of time, for all parts.

If you just want to use your vm for surfing, office use, etc, then you are set ok with the nic in brigded mode.
But, you have not installed the drivers in the virtual vm. so, you can not use the full potential of the usb-dongle.
If you want to make penetration test of wifi (as your user "Kali" implies), you have more configuration to do. If you make an internet sarch "setup usb dongle in Virtualbox penetrtion test", you wil get some good reading. here an Youtube movie: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1ETBeRQBs4


// Regards rbh

Offline

#15 2020-09-13 12:27:24

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 661

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

Nihal wrote:

i get this when i try to install headers:
sudo apt -y install linux-headers

sudo apt install linux-headers-$(uname -r)

will install linux-headers for your current kernel.
You can also run

$ echo linux-headers-$(uname -r)

copy the printaout and paste after "apt install".

There is no package named "linux-headers", but there is one linux-headers-5.4.0-0.bpo.4-amd64 and so on.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#16 2020-09-13 12:29:00

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 661

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

rbh wrote:
Nihal wrote:

i get this when i try to install headers:
sudo apt -y install linux-headers

sudo apt install linux-headers-$(uname -r)

will install linux-headers for your current kernel.
You can also run

$ echo linux-headers-$(uname -r)

copy the printaout and paste after "apt install".

There is no package named "linux-headers", but there is one linux-headers-5.4.0-0.bpo.4-amd64 and so on.

maybe you should avoid "-y"?, that is that you will not be asked any question. Easy to type wrong, good then to be asked, Do you want to do...


// Regards rbh

Offline

#17 2020-09-14 05:06:29

Nihal
Member
Registered: 2020-09-12
Posts: 8

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

while installing kali i had unchecked install hardware as vdi i dont know y but it was unchecked so i installed kali again with install hardware as vdi checked and the drives were able to install thats all just a silly mistake

Offline

#18 2020-09-14 07:18:58

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 661

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

Nihal wrote:

while installing kali i had unchecked install hardware as vdi i dont know y but it was unchecked so i installed kali again with install hardware as vdi checked and the drives were able to install thats all just a silly mistake

I do not understand the above, but it does not matter.

You wrote above:

i get this when i try to install headers:
sudo apt -y install linux-headers

I recomend you and all not skilled linux users not to use the "-y" flag with "apt install". It is better to get questions insted of supressing them, as you do with the "-y" flag.

The "-y" flag can be used in skripts, but then "apt-get" should be used instead of apt. Then the script does not stop waiting for input.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#19 2020-09-15 06:51:33

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,882
Website

Re: Hello,I'm new to linux

Nihal wrote:

while installing kali i had unchecked install hardware as vdi i dont know y but it was unchecked so i installed kali again with install hardware as vdi checked and the drives were able to install thats all just a silly mistake

I have no idea what that means, but you have to tell virtualbox to pass the USB Wifi adapter through to the VM, otherwise it can't see it...

Additionally kali has Wifi disabled by default.

Advice: read more Kali documentation.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
my repos / my repos
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB