You are not logged in.

#1 2020-08-08 19:42:14

schwim
Member
From: Western NC, US
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 325
Website

My conky often stops updating

Hi there everyone!

I often find myself thinking it's been 11:12 for hours at a time before I realize that my conky has stopped updating.  If I reload conkys via the menu and choose to kill running conkys first, I will end up with an updating conky that I can see the old frozen conky underneath.

Could anyone maybe suggest something I can do to stop this from happening?


  Here's my conky:

background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont Liberation Sans:size=9
xftalpha 1
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_transparent no
own_window_type desktop
own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_argb_value 150
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
draw_shades yes
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
# default_color 808080
default_color ff8000
default_shade_color 000000
default_outline_color 828282
alignment top_right
gap_x 8
gap_y 40
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 2
override_utf8_locale no
maximum_width 200
minimum_size 200 1030
temperature_unit fahrenheit
##############################################
#  Output
##############################################
TEXT
${font Denk One:normal:size=30}${alignr 5}${time %I:%M %p}
${font Denk One:normal:size=20}${alignr 5}${time %d} ${time  %B}
${alignr 5}${time %A}${font}

${font Denk One:bold:size=10}S Y S T E M    I N F O ${hr 2}
${font Liberation Sans:normal:size=8}Host:$alignr$nodename
Uptime:$alignr$uptime

${font Denk One:bold:size=10}P R O C E S S O R ${hr 2}
 ${cpubar cpu1}
 ${cpubar cpu2}
${font Denk One:bold:size=10}M E M O R Y ${hr 2}

${font Liberation Sans:normal:size=8}RAM $alignc $mem / $memmax $alignr $memperc%
$membar
SWAP $alignc ${swap} / ${swapmax} $alignr ${swapperc}%
${swapbar}
Disk usage:$alignr${fs_used /}/${fs_size /}

${font Denk One:bold:size=10}N E T W O R K ${hr 2}
${font Liberation Sans:normal:size=8}Internal IP: ${addr enp0s3}
External IP:  ${exec curl -s www.icanhazip.com}
DLS:
${downspeedgraph enp0s3 15,180 ff8000 ffffff}
Speed: ${downspeed enp0s3} $alignr Total: ${totaldown enp0s3}

ULS:
${upspeedgraph enp0s3 15,180 ff8000 ffffff}
Speed: ${upspeed enp0s3} $alignr Total: ${totalup enp0s3}

${font Denk One:bold:size=10}W E A T H E R ${hr 2}$color${execi 600 bash $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/1_RSS}
${font conkyweather:size=30}${execpi 600  sed -n '2p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather}${font}${goto 75}${voffset -25}${execpi 600 sed -n '1p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather|cut -c1-20}
${goto 75}${execpi 600 sed -n '1p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather|cut -c21-40}
${goto 75}${execpi 600 sed -n '1p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather|cut -c41-60}

${execi 600  sed -n '3p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather}
${font conkyweather:size=30}${execpi 600  sed -n '5p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather}${font}${goto 75}${voffset -25}${execpi 600 sed -n '4p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather|cut -c1-20}
${goto 75}${execpi 600 sed -n '4p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather|cut -c21-40}
${goto 75}${execpi 600 sed -n '4p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather|cut -c41-60}

${execi 600  sed -n '6p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather}
${font conkyweather:size=30}${execpi 600  sed -n '8p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather}${font}${goto 75}${voffset -25}${execpi 600 sed -n '7p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather|cut -c1-20}
${goto 75}${execpi 600 sed -n '7p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather|cut -c21-40}
${goto 75}${execpi 600 sed -n '7p' $HOME/.scripts/1_accuweather_RSS/weather|cut -c41-60}

Last edited by schwim (2020-08-16 16:50:15)


Schw.im! A social site with an identity crisis.

Offline

#2 2020-08-08 19:57:34

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 3,028

Re: My conky often stops updating

What conky version and what distro? I assume this isn't in (Other) without reason.


Per aspera ad astra.

Offline

#3 2020-08-08 20:12:36

schwim
Member
From: Western NC, US
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 325
Website

Re: My conky often stops updating

Very sorry for the lack of info.  I'm running an current apt updated version of Hydrogen(I'm pretty sure).  Conky is what was provided in the bunsen install but oddly shows as not installed:

schwim@schwim-vm-bls:~$ apt-cache policy conky
conky:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 1.10.6-1
  Version table:
     1.10.6-1 500
        500 https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
        500 https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch/main i386 Packages

Last edited by schwim (2020-08-08 20:13:36)


Schw.im! A social site with an identity crisis.

Offline

#4 2020-08-08 20:47:48

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 761

Re: My conky often stops updating

schwim wrote:

I often find myself thinking it's been 11:12 for hours at a time before I realize that my conky has stopped updating.

Do you have clock in tint2 also? Does that update ok? Only conky that lags? No heavy burden on pc? Have you checked glances or other apropriate tool?

If I reload conkys via the menu and choose to kill running conkys first, I will end up with an updating conky that I can see the old frozen conky underneath.

It might be that there is some wrong with your conkyweather-skript.
Disable all referensec to that to see if the conky updates as should. If it does update then it is some wrong wit the weatherskript.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#5 2020-08-08 20:47:52

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,407

Re: My conky often stops updating

Check for the package conky-all, which should be in the stretch oldstable you are running.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#6 2020-08-08 20:56:12

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 761

Re: My conky often stops updating

schwim wrote:

I'm running an current apt updated version of Hydrogen(I'm pretty sure).

If you are using Debian stretch repo, you ought to have an Helium installation...
You ought to upgrade to lithium or make a new installation.

Conky is what was provided in the bunsen install but oddly shows as not installed:

If you are not dead certain of packagename, it is better to grep with dpkg:

$ dpkg -l | grep conky

Last edited by rbh (2020-08-08 20:56:40)


// Regards rbh

Offline

#7 2020-08-09 00:18:40

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,468

Re: My conky often stops updating

schwim wrote:

Hi there everyone!

I often find myself thinking it's been 11:12 for hours at a time before I realize that my conky has stopped updating.  If I reload conkys via the menu and choose to kill running conkys first, I will end up with an updating conky that I can see the old frozen conky underneath.

Could anyone maybe suggest something I can do to stop this from happening?

Hi schwim - been a long time.

Couple of things ....

Bunsen is using conky-all and version 1.10+

You showed syntax for a version 9 conky.

You have some commands that have no ${} around them, not sure how conky v1.10 would translate those.

You also do not have lines equivalent to:

gap_x 10  ## ← →
gap_y 15  ## ↑ ↓

alignment tl

And as suggested - maybe the weather?
- I'm not in the US so I stripped it out and added the missimg {} and the three lines shown above (changed a font to something I have) and added a 24 hour clock below Weather  - just to see.  YUP seconds updating

Works perfect.


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#8 2020-08-09 02:22:08

schwim
Member
From: Western NC, US
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 325
Website

Re: My conky often stops updating

Hi there everyone and thanks so much for your help!

I did two things, first I stripped the weather since it wasn't working in the first place.

Secondly, I did a upgrade to buster (I was going to start fresh with a new lithium install but the aesthetics of lithium just aren't my cup of tea).

It's very nice to see you again Sector smile  I'll keep the thread updated to see if my problems are solved due to my heavy-duty hacking I did smile


Schw.im! A social site with an identity crisis.

Offline

#9 2020-08-09 02:26:30

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,407

Re: My conky often stops updating

schwim wrote:

...

Secondly, I did a upgrade to buster (I was going to start fresh with a new lithium install but the aesthetics of lithium just aren't my cup of tea)....

You can use your old themes etc in Lithium. It's Linux - tweak the aesthetics how you like wink


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#10 2020-08-09 13:19:27

schwim
Member
From: Western NC, US
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 325
Website

Re: My conky often stops updating

damo wrote:

You can use your old themes etc in Lithium. It's Linux - tweak the aesthetics how you like wink

I seem to be terrible at working with the themes.  I took me nearly a week to make the grab handles larger in CB and I never managed to successfully alter the icons of some taskbar icons to fit the look better. 

Does BL ship with previous themes, including everything like the shutdown menu, etc?


Schw.im! A social site with an identity crisis.

Offline

#11 2020-08-09 14:44:56

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 10,778
Website

Re: My conky often stops updating

schwim wrote:
damo wrote:

You can use your old themes etc in Lithium. It's Linux - tweak the aesthetics how you like wink

I seem to be terrible at working with the themes.  I took me nearly a week to make the grab handles larger in CB and I never managed to successfully alter the icons of some taskbar icons to fit the look better. 

Does BL ship with previous themes, including everything like the shutdown menu, etc?

The default Lithium Openbox theme has 10px-wide borders, that was specifically set by me because of your request. smile Set the OB theme's border-width and handle-width in themerc. Example, line #21 in BL-Lithium-light, line #25 for window handle width...

https://github.com/BunsenLabs/bunsen-th … -3/themerc

Re: your queston, no. You'll have to scour the Helium repo for what you want. Note, branch set to Helium...

https://github.com/BunsenLabs/bunsen-themes/tree/helium

The logout/shutdown script has been totally overhauled in Lithium to use Yad. Here's the old script for Helium...

https://github.com/BunsenLabs/bunsen-exit/tree/helium

Online

#12 2020-08-09 16:23:29

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,308

Re: My conky often stops updating

Does BL ship with previous themes, including everything like the shutdown menu, etc?

You can make a backup of the themes and then copy them to a new Lithium install.

I think you can do the same for the shutdown script, but I can't confirm that Lithium will have the necessary python (?) dependencies installed by default.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#13 2020-08-10 04:05:47

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 7,422
Website

Re: My conky often stops updating

schwim wrote:

Does BL ship with previous themes, including everything like the shutdown menu, etc?

Some of it, yes. Lithium still ships the Beam, Beam-hidpi, Bunsen-Blackish-Remix, Bunsen-He, Bunsen-He-flatish, Crocus-Remix, Rainforest and Softwaves themes, all of which are from Helium (...er, right @hhh?) In fact, some of them might be obsolete and candidates for removal, but for now they should all show up in lxappearance.

As for the bl-exit shutdown, if you install bunsen-exit-python you'll get the green helium-style shutdown button bar.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#14 2020-08-10 05:45:38

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 10,778
Website

Re: My conky often stops updating

johnraff wrote:

Lithium still ships the Beam, Beam-hidpi, Bunsen-Blackish-Remix, Bunsen-He, Bunsen-He-flatish, Crocus-Remix, Rainforest and Softwaves themes, all of which are from Helium (...er, right @hhh?)

Confirmed...

Screenshot-2020-08-10-01-42-42.png

Online

#15 2020-08-10 08:11:40

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,024
Website

Re: My conky often stops updating

I agree that a dist-upgrade is probably required here, along with a thorough clean-up.
And using lua syntax with conky 1.1x is recommended (there's a script comes with conky that can do the conversion, but make a backup of your config first), but it will recognize the old syntax, too.
Despite of all this I have had similar problems with my conkys.
It has something to do with using or nort using a compositor and/or a desktop manager (icons on the desktop, and these values:

own_window yes
own_window_transparent no
own_window_type desktop
own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_argb_value 150
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

rbh also asked an important question - whenever something like that happens, the first thing to do is to open a terminal and enter 'date', then 'top'.

Schwim, you might want to keep all these questions in mind if the issue comes up again.

Last edited by ohnonot (2020-08-10 08:13:05)


Search youtube without a brwoser: repo | thread
BL quote proposals to this thread please.
my repos / my repos

Offline

#16 2020-08-10 13:47:20

schwim
Member
From: Western NC, US
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 325
Website

Re: My conky often stops updating

Hello again, gents, it seems I've not solved my issue.  Woke up this morning to find that my conky clock froze at 5:19.  My Tint clock which I added back is correctly udpated.

My top:
pUf1bMD.png?1

Debian dist-upgraded to Buster.  Conky:

schwim@schwim-vm-bls:~$ apt-cache policy conky-all
conky-all:
  Installed: 1.10.8-1+b1
  Candidate: 1.10.8-1+b1
  Version table:
*** 1.10.8-1+b1 500
        500 https://deb.debian.org/debian buster/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
schwim@schwim-vm-bls:~$

I'm going to go through the posts to revisit further suggestions, I'm not ignoring them, there's just been a bunch of help and most of it is above my paygrade(like the syntax changes).

My current conky:

background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont Liberation Sans:size=9
xftalpha 1
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_transparent no
own_window_type desktop
own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_argb_value 150
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
draw_shades yes
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
# default_color 808080
default_color ff8000
default_shade_color 000000
default_outline_color 828282
alignment top_right
gap_x 8
gap_y 40
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 2
override_utf8_locale no
maximum_width 200
minimum_size 200 1030
temperature_unit fahrenheit
##############################################
#  Output
##############################################
TEXT
${font Denk One:normal:size=30}${alignr 5}${time %I:%M %p}
${font Denk One:normal:size=20}${alignr 5}${time %d} ${time  %B}
${alignr 5}${time %A}${font}

${font Denk One:bold:size=10}S Y S T E M    I N F O ${hr 2}
${font Liberation Sans:normal:size=8}Host:$alignr$nodename
Uptime:$alignr$uptime

${font Denk One:bold:size=10}P R O C E S S O R ${hr 2}
 ${cpubar cpu1}
 ${cpubar cpu2}
${font Denk One:bold:size=10}M E M O R Y ${hr 2}

${font Liberation Sans:normal:size=8}RAM $alignc $mem / $memmax $alignr $memperc%
$membar
SWAP $alignc ${swap} / ${swapmax} $alignr ${swapperc}%
${swapbar}
Disk usage:$alignr${fs_used /}/${fs_size /}

${font Denk One:bold:size=10}N E T W O R K ${hr 2}
${font Liberation Sans:normal:size=8}Internal IP: ${addr enp0s3}
External IP:  ${exec curl -s www.icanhazip.com}
DLS:
${downspeedgraph enp0s3 15,180 ff8000 ffffff}
Speed: ${downspeed enp0s3} $alignr Total: ${totaldown enp0s3}

ULS:
${upspeedgraph enp0s3 15,180 ff8000 ffffff}
Speed: ${upspeed enp0s3} $alignr Total: ${totalup enp0s3}

And I just wanted to PS:

hhh wrote:

The default Lithium Openbox theme has 10px-wide borders, that was specifically set by me because of your request. smile

That's why you guys are so awesome.  I've never even tried another flavor to work in since I found crunch and I've loved BL even more than !#.

Last edited by schwim (2020-08-10 14:58:19)


Schw.im! A social site with an identity crisis.

Offline

#17 2020-08-10 16:22:24

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,468

Re: My conky often stops updating

Why not upgrade that conky to version 1.10 format?


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#18 2020-08-10 16:44:26

schwim
Member
From: Western NC, US
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 325
Website

Re: My conky often stops updating

Sector11 wrote:

Why not upgrade that conky to version 1.10 format?

By that do you mean to add the brackets around commands?  I also remember you stating that I needed the two gap lines, correct?


Schw.im! A social site with an identity crisis.

Offline

#19 2020-08-10 17:24:15

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,468

Re: My conky often stops updating

schwim wrote:
Sector11 wrote:

Why not upgrade that conky to version 1.10 format?

By that do you mean to add the brackets around commands?  I also remember you stating that I needed the two gap lines, correct?

Well yes to the ${} around the commands although not 100% require "in some cases" but has shown to cause errors in others.

Hense: Good practice is always use the ${command} idea

and above TEXT you have

alignment tr
gap_x 10  ## ← →
gap_y 15  ## ↑ ↓

gap_x and gap_y will insure your conky does not go beyond the "screen edge"

And by conky v1.10 format I mean something like this since conky v1.10+ is lua based:

This is only an example:

conky.config = {
-- Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
	own_window = true,
	own_window_type = 'override',
	own_window_transparent = true,
	own_window_hints = 'undecorated,below,skip_taskbar,skip_pager',
	own_window_colour = 'brown',

-- Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
	double_buffer = true,

-- fiddle with window
	use_spacer = 'right',
	use_xft = true,

-- Update interval in seconds
	update_interval = 1,

-- Minimum size of text area
	minimum_width = 280, minimum_height = 500,
	maximum_width = 230,

	override_utf8_locale = true,

-- Draw shades?
	draw_shades = true,
	default_shade_color = '#000000',

-- Text stuff
	draw_outline = false,-- amplifies text if yes

	draw_borders = false,
--font freesans -12
	font = 'Arial:size=9',
	uppercase = false,-- set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase

-- Stippled borders?
	stippled_borders = 3,

-- border margins
	border_inner_margin = 9,
	border_outer_margin = 0,

-- border width
	border_width = 10,

-- Default colors and also border colors, grey90 == #e5e5e5
	default_color = '#cbcbcb',


-- Text alignment, other possible values are commented
--alignment top_left
	alignment = 'top_right',
--alignment bottom_left
--alignment bottom_right

-- Gap between borders of screen and text
	gap_x = 10,
	gap_y = 30,

-- stuff after 'conky.text [[' will be formatted on screen

};

conky.text = [[
whatever you have under TEXT can go here 
↓↓↓↓ be careful to keep the proper ending  though ↓
]];

There use to be a "convert" program around do no know if conky cv1.10 still ships with that.

Last edited by Sector11 (2020-08-10 17:27:22)


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#20 2020-08-10 17:57:45

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,468

Re: My conky often stops updating

Grabbed the "convert.lua" from"Debian" Buster - conky-all.deb and converted your conky.  Try this one:

conky.config = {
	background = true,
	use_xft = true,
	font = 'Liberation Sans:size=9',
	xftalpha = 1,
	update_interval = 1.0,
	total_run_times = 0,
	own_window = true,
	own_window_transparent = false,
	own_window_type = 'desktop',
	own_window_argb_visual = true,
	own_window_argb_value = 150,
	own_window_hints = 'undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager',
	double_buffer = true,
	draw_shades = true,
	draw_outline = false,
	draw_borders = false,
	draw_graph_borders = false,
-- default_color 808080
	default_color = '#ff8000',
	default_shade_color = '#000000',
	default_outline_color = '#828282',
	alignment = 'top_right',
	gap_x = 8,
	gap_y = 40,
	no_buffers = true,
	uppercase = false,
	cpu_avg_samples = 2,
	override_utf8_locale = false,
	maximum_width = 200,
	minimum_width = 200, minimum_height = 1030,
	temperature_unit = 'fahrenheit',
--#############################################
--  Output
--#############################################
};

conky.text = [[
${font Denk One:normal:size=30}${alignr 5}${time %I:%M %p}
${font Denk One:normal:size=20}${alignr 5}${time %d} ${time  %B}
${alignr 5}${time %A}${font}

${font Denk One:bold:size=10}S Y S T E M    I N F O ${hr 2}
${font Liberation Sans:normal:size=8}Host:${alignr}${nodename}
Uptime:${alignr}${uptime}

${font Denk One:bold:size=10}P R O C E S S O R ${hr 2}
 ${cpubar cpu1}
 ${cpubar cpu2}
${font Denk One:bold:size=10}M E M O R Y ${hr 2}

${font Liberation Sans:normal:size=8}RAM ${alignc} ${mem} / ${memmax} ${alignr}${memperc}%
${membar}
SWAP ${alignc} ${swap} / ${swapmax} $alignr ${swapperc}%
${swapbar}
Disk usage:${alignr}${fs_used /}/${fs_size /}

${font Denk One:bold:size=10}N E T W O R K ${hr 2}
${font Liberation Sans:normal:size=8}Internal IP: ${addr enp0s3}
External IP:  ${exec curl -s www.icanhazip.com}
DLS:
${downspeedgraph enp0s3 15,180 ff8000 ffffff}
Speed: ${downspeed enp0s3} ${alignr}Total: ${totaldown enp0s3}

ULS:
${upspeedgraph enp0s3 15,180 ff8000 ffffff}
Speed: ${upspeed enp0s3} ${alignr}Total: ${totalup enp0s3}]];

Last edited by Sector11 (2020-08-10 18:02:42)


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#21 2020-08-10 18:49:40

schwim
Member
From: Western NC, US
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 325
Website

Re: My conky often stops updating

Sector11 wrote:

Grabbed the "convert.lua" from"Debian" Buster - conky-all.deb and converted your conky.  Try this one:

Very cool of you sir!  Have swapped it out and will keep the thread updated of my progress!


Schw.im! A social site with an identity crisis.

Offline

#22 2020-08-10 19:41:27

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,024
Website

Re: My conky often stops updating

schwim wrote:

schwim@schwim-vm-bls:~$ apt-cache policy conky-all
conky-all:
  Installed: 1.10.8-1+b1
  Candidate: 1.10.8-1+b1
  Version table:
*** 1.10.8-1+b1 500
        500 https://deb.debian.org/debian buster/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
schwim@schwim-vm-bls:~$

You were using conky before that although it wasn't installed. What happened to that old conky?
If you want to, output of

dpkg -L conky-all | grep bin/conky
which conky

Search youtube without a brwoser: repo | thread
BL quote proposals to this thread please.
my repos / my repos

Offline

#23 2020-08-10 19:55:01

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,468

Re: My conky often stops updating

Or just a:

conky -v

Mine:

 10 Aug 20 @ 16:54:09 ~
   $ conky -v
Conky 1.9.0 compiled Sun Jun 11 16:40:54 UTC 2017 for Linux 4.4.62-18.6-default (x86_64)

Compiled in features:

System config file: /etc/conky/conky.conf
Package library path: /usr/lib/conky

 X11:
  * Xdamage extension
  * XDBE (double buffer extension)
  * Xft
  * ARGB visual

 Music detection:
  * Audacious
  * MPD
  * MOC
  * XMMS2

 General:
  * math
  * hddtemp
  * portmon
  * Curl
  * RSS
  * Weather (METAR)
  * Weather (XOAP)
  * wireless
  * support for IBM/Lenovo notebooks
  * nvidia
  * eve-online
  * config-output
  * Imlib2
  * apcupsd
  * iostats
  * ncurses
  * Lua

  Lua bindings:
   * Cairo
   * Imlib2
 
 10 Aug 20 @ 16:54:24 ~
   $ 

The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#24 2020-08-10 21:20:50

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 761

Re: My conky often stops updating

Sector11 wrote:

Mine:

 10 Aug 20 @ 16:54:09 ~
   $ conky -v
Conky 1.9.0 
   $ 

Still on Jessie?


// Regards rbh

Offline

#25 2020-08-10 22:47:23

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,468

Re: My conky often stops updating

rbh wrote:
Sector11 wrote:

Mine:

 10 Aug 20 @ 16:54:09 ~
   $ conky -v
Conky 1.9.0 
   $ 

Still on Jessie?

No check my signature.
Special build of conky v1.9.

 10 Aug 20 @ 19:48:21 ~
   $ sho conky-all
alias = aptitude show filename
Package: conky-all                
Version: 1:1.9.0-6
State: installed
Automatically installed: no
Priority: optional
Section: utils
Maintainer: Vincent Cheng <vcheng@debian.org>
Architecture: amd64
Uncompressed Size: 1,230 k

The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB