You are not logged in.

#1 2020-07-22 15:52:32

rodeoflea
Member
Registered: 2015-10-09
Posts: 28

Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

When I suspend the system with 'systemctl suspend', it shuts down for about 2 seconds then immediately fires back up again. Hibernate seems to work but it's not really what I want.

Also, if you invoke light-locker-command -l, the screen blanks instead of showing the login screen.  It's still there because if you type in your password it fires up again.

I'm using an updated but pre-official release of Lithium.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Cheers.

Last edited by rodeoflea (2020-07-25 16:09:11)

Offline

#2 2020-07-22 18:41:03

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 560

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

rodeoflea wrote:

When I suspend the system with 'systemctl suspend', it shuts down for about 2 seconds then immediately fires back up again.

I have had that problem. Went away with install of latest kernel from backports. Well worth try.


// Regards rbh

Online

#3 2020-07-22 19:24:23

rodeoflea
Member
Registered: 2015-10-09
Posts: 28

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

Not sure I updated the kernel correctly but it's reporting : Kernel: Linux 5.6.0-0.bpo.2-amd64

Unfortunately, the problem remains.

Offline

#4 2020-07-22 20:00:14

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 560

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

rodeoflea wrote:

Not sure I updated the kernel correctly but it's reporting : Kernel: Linux 5.6.0-0.bpo.2-amd64

Did you get any error messages? If not it should got ok.

Unfortunately, the problem remains.

So then you need to give some more information.

Has suspend worked before? When did it fail? After some upgrade?

What hardware do you have? Computer brand/modell. Laptop or Desktop.

Two good cli tools to get info about your hardware:

* dmidecode # run as root or with sudo.
* dmidecode -t system  # Gives brand and model.
* dmidecode -t bios # report how old bios you have and if acpi is supported.
* inxi # Might need to be installed.
* inxi -Fz # gives a good ssummary of important information and filters
  out sensitive network information.


// Regards rbh

Online

#5 2020-07-22 21:11:16

rodeoflea
Member
Registered: 2015-10-09
Posts: 28

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

I've have off and on trouble with suspend (pun intended).

This is a desktop with an Asus P8Z68 motherboard and an AMD Radeon R9 380 graphics card.

My BIOS is from 2012 and it's up to date believe it or not.  It's supposed to have ACPI 2.0a.  I don't see a bios setting for it but that might not be a thing.

           Distro: BunsenLabs GNU/Linux 10.0 (Lithium) 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P8Z68 DELUXE v: Rev 1.xx serial: <root required> 
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: 3603 date: 11/09/2012 
CPU:       Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i3-2120 bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
           L2 cache: 3072 KiB 
           Speed: 1605 MHz min/max: 1600/3300 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1605 2: 1605 3: 1605 
           4: 1605 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics driver: i915 
           v: kernel 
           Device-2: AMD Tonga PRO [Radeon R9 285/380] driver: amdgpu v: kernel 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: amdgpu,ati,modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
           resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
           OpenGL: 
           renderer: AMD Radeon R9 380 Series (TONGA DRM 3.36.0 5.6.0-0.bpo.2-amd64 LLVM 7.0.1) 
           v: 4.5 Mesa 18.3.6 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Definition Audio 
           driver: snd_hda_intel 
           Device-2: AMD Tonga HDMI Audio [Radeon R9 285/380] driver: snd_hda_intel 
           Device-3: Logitech HD Webcam C525 type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo 
           Device-4: Logitech Logitech USB Microphone type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.6.0-0.bpo.2-amd64 
Network:   Device-1: Intel 82579V Gigabit Network driver: e1000e 
           IF: eno1 state: down mac: 14:da:e9:06:34:d8 
           Device-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet driver: r8169 
           IF: enp14s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: 14:da:e9:06:3a:53 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 1.96 TiB used: 421.90 GiB (21.1%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: A-Data model: SU650 size: 111.79 GiB 
           ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Seagate model: ST1000DM003-9YN162 size: 931.51 GiB 
           ID-3: /dev/sdc vendor: Western Digital model: WDS100T2B0A size: 931.51 GiB 
           ID-4: /dev/sdd type: USB vendor: Transcend model: TS-RDF5 SD Transcend 
           size: 29.12 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 27.37 GiB used: 11.27 GiB (41.2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
           ID-2: /home size: 66.38 GiB used: 35.13 GiB (52.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6 
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 15.90 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 44.0 C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:      Processes: 251 Uptime: 7m Memory: 15.54 GiB used: 1.41 GiB (9.1%) Shell: bash 
           inxi: 3.0.32 

Thanks for checking into this.

Offline

#6 2020-07-22 23:09:53

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 560

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

rodeoflea wrote:

I've have off and on trouble with suspend

More precisley? Has it malfunctioned since you got hold of it? When? Can you see a pattern in malfunction?

(pun intended).

Joke intended? Wording intended? English is not my native language. I don't catch you.

This is a desktop with an Asus P8Z68 motherboard

I like Asus. Mine M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3, could not suspend until it got kernel from backports. I get ten different hits when searching Assus

sudo dmidecode -t baseboard

will give the exakt productname. You could try to ask in Asus specialized forums:

https://rog.asus.com/forum/
https://zentalk.asus.com/en
https://www.tweaktownforum.com/forum/te … ndors/asus

and an AMD Radeon R9 380 graphics card.

The motherboard has built in graphic chip, I suppose. You can test to take out the radeon card. Anything else special attached? USB-scanner, printer? Disconnect them to.

My BIOS is from 2012 and it's up to date believe it or not.  It's supposed to have ACPI 2.0a.

Dmidecode will tell you.

I don't see a bios setting for it but that might not be a thing.

I recommend you to read your MB manual. 

Distro: BunsenLabs GNU/Linux 10.0 (Lithium)
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P8Z68 DELUXE v:
[...]

Ah yes, inxi also lists brand/model of MB. I think it only support apm...

What about system logs. Anything there?
Have you tested if hybrid sleep works?


// Regards rbh

Online

#7 2020-07-22 23:39:36

rodeoflea
Member
Registered: 2015-10-09
Posts: 28

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

"off and on trouble with suspend"  It's punny because suspend involves turning on and off the PC.

I have not tested with the built in graphic card.  I'll put it on my list.

The BIOS is up to date and there is no mention of an ACPI setting in the manual. It does say it is 2.0a however.

If it only supports APM, is that what the issue is?

hybrid-sleep does not work at all. It looks like it caches the current state to disc then wakes up immediately.  The monitor never goes blank and the machine never shuts down.

This is the dmesg for the event, maybe it will help:

[   50.692297] ACPI: Preparing to enter system sleep state S3
[   50.692546] ACPI: EC: event blocked
[   50.692546] ACPI: EC: EC stopped
[   50.692547] PM: Saving platform NVS memory
[   50.692574] Disabling non-boot CPUs ...
[   50.693964] smpboot: CPU 1 is now offline
[   50.697313] smpboot: CPU 2 is now offline
[   50.700487] smpboot: CPU 3 is now offline
[   50.703374] ACPI: Low-level resume complete
[   50.703414] ACPI: EC: EC started
[   50.703415] PM: Restoring platform NVS memory
[   50.704470] Enabling non-boot CPUs ...
[   50.704512] x86: Booting SMP configuration:
[   50.704513] smpboot: Booting Node 0 Processor 1 APIC 0x2
[   50.707569] CPU1 is up
[   50.707596] smpboot: Booting Node 0 Processor 2 APIC 0x1
[   50.710189] CPU2 is up
[   50.710212] smpboot: Booting Node 0 Processor 3 APIC 0x3
[   50.712782] CPU3 is up
[   50.717095] ACPI: Waking up from system sleep state S3

Offline

#8 2020-07-23 06:43:10

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,784
Website

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

A Quick Search leads me to this. Hope it helps. Keep us updated.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#9 2020-07-23 13:04:24

rodeoflea
Member
Registered: 2015-10-09
Posts: 28

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

Thanks ohnonot!  That actually did help.  Simply toggling XHC did not work.  I think it may have already been enabled.

I did a bit of dicking around with these settings.  Here is my fresh boot state:

Device	S-state	  Status   Sysfs node
PS2K	  S4	*enabled   pnp:00:06
PS2M	  S4	*disabled
UAR1	  S4	*disabled  pnp:00:07
P0P1	  S4	*disabled
RP01	  S4	*disabled  pci:0000:00:1c.0
PXSX	  S4	*disabled
RP02	  S4	*disabled
PXSX	  S4	*disabled
RP03	  S4	*disabled
PXSX	  S4	*disabled
RP04	  S4	*disabled
PXSX	  S4	*disabled
RP05	  S4	*disabled  pci:0000:00:1c.4
PXSX	  S4	*enabled   pci:0000:03:00.0
RP06	  S4	*disabled
PXSX	  S4	*disabled
RP07	  S4	*disabled  pci:0000:00:1c.6
PXSX	  S4	*enabled   pci:0000:04:00.0
PEG0	  S4	*disabled  pci:0000:00:01.0
PEGP	  S4	*disabled
PEG1	  S4	*disabled
PEG2	  S4	*disabled
PEG3	  S4	*disabled
RP08	  S4	*disabled  pci:0000:00:1c.7
BR31	  S4	*disabled  pci:0000:0c:00.0
GLAN	  S4	*enabled   pci:0000:00:19.0
EHC1	  S4	*disabled
EHC2	  S4	*enabled   pci:0000:00:1a.0
XHC	  S4	*disabled
HDEF	  S4	*disabled  pci:0000:00:1b.0
PWRB	  S4	*enabled   platform:PNP0C0C:00

You can't change anything that doesn't have a sysfs node.  I started changing each one from disabled to enabled and found that RP08 is the magic device.  Enabling it prevents supsend from terminating after 2 seconds.

That would make the offending device :

00:1c.7 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 8 (rev b5)

I don't know what this really means but someone smarter than me might be able to make something of it.

Cheers!

Last edited by rodeoflea (2020-07-23 14:40:40)

Offline

#10 2020-07-23 15:51:12

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,784
Website

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

Is it SOLVED now? If yes, please mark it so.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#11 2020-07-23 17:59:28

rodeoflea
Member
Registered: 2015-10-09
Posts: 28

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

I think we can mark this as solved.  To make the change stick you can create systemd service and enable it.  This is what I have for mine.

[Unit]
Description=Set /proc/acpi/wakeup/RP08 to enabled

[Service]
ExecStart=/bin/sh -c "echo RP08 > /proc/acpi/wakeup"

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

Offline

#12 2020-07-24 14:46:32

rodeoflea
Member
Registered: 2015-10-09
Posts: 28

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

I'm unsolving this thread because my system again stopped suspending even after this "fix".  I tried some other things and the culprit turns out to be a USB hub I have plugged in.  Is there some way to have Bunsen ignore usb connections when suspending?

Offline

#13 2020-07-24 16:32:45

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 560

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

rodeoflea wrote:

"off and on trouble with suspend"  It's punny because suspend involves turning on and off the PC.

Pun, punny, is it slang?  I'm still curious what it means.

And suspend is not about "turning on and off the PC"! Suspend is letting the pc go into "sleap mode".

You can configure the system to let the pc sleep and wake after short press on the powerbutton, or sleap after terminal command or klicking on tint2 button and wake after sending a "wol" over the network, touching the keyboard or...

Last edited by rbh (2020-07-24 16:33:39)


// Regards rbh

Online

#14 2020-07-24 16:51:32

rodeoflea
Member
Registered: 2015-10-09
Posts: 28

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

A pun is a joke that plays with the meanings or usage of words.

Punny = funny pun or something that contains a pun. Punny is a bit of a pun on it's own.

You are definitely correct about suspend vs. shutdown but you've got to give my pun a bit of wiggle room.

Any of those methods of 'sleeping' the machine result in a wakeup 2 seconds later when this USB hub is plugged in. I've disabled everything that can be disabled in /proc/acpi/wakeup but it still exhibits the same behaviour.  I'm wondering if there is something I can set to prevent Bunsen from seeing this hub as a wakeup trigger.

Offline

#15 2020-07-24 17:31:51

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 560

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

rodeoflea wrote:

A pun is a joke that plays with the meanings or usage of words.

I aske if it was a jole, did not got answer. Ok, it was intended as a joke.

Any of those methods of 'sleeping' the machine result in a wakeup 2 seconds later when this USB hub is plugged in.

lsusb

will give you the vendor:model nr. Copy that and paste to an internetsearch with the words "linux suspend error".

You might get som useful links.

Or by a new compatible usb-hub.


// Regards rbh

Online

#16 2020-07-24 17:49:28

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,784
Website

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

rodeoflea wrote:

Is there some way to have Bunsen ignore usb connections when suspending?

All of them or just the hub?
Is there something in the journal that suggests that it is indeed the hub that causes the problem?
I guess the first step would be identifying the culprit.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#17 2020-07-24 18:10:35

rodeoflea
Member
Registered: 2015-10-09
Posts: 28

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

The problem is only the hub. Simply unplugging it resumes normal suspend behaviour.

I've attempted to unbind the hub using this as a guide:

https://karlcode.owtelse.com/blog/2017/ … -on-linux/

No luck however.

Offline

#18 2020-07-25 08:30:01

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,784
Website

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

So you can identify it at least.
A few thoughts:
Just installing tlp (might require manual configuration) might enable some powersave options that will suspend USB ports, too.
If not, my reasoning is that you need to either replace suspend functionality with a custom service, or add a service that triggers just before the system goes to sleep and just after it wakes up. This service would switch your device off/on. I believe systemd is capable of this finegrained control.

Here is another search, the results I looked at were interesting although they aren't an exact match.
If you can find the proper search phrase I'm sure you'll find that you're not the first one to report such a problem.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#19 2020-07-25 16:08:56

rodeoflea
Member
Registered: 2015-10-09
Posts: 28

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

Thanks for the search link ohnonot.

I think I have it fixed although I don't understand why.  I noticed that I could not change the value for:

PXSX	  S4	*enabled   pci:0000:03:00.0

 

That device is an NEC USB host controller.

When I checked the value for that device in /sys/bus/pci/devices/0000:03:00.0/power/wakeup, it was 'enabled'.  I think that means that a device attached to this controller can cause a wakeup event.  Not sure though.  In any case, setting that value to 'disabled' completely solves the problem.  I did that by putting a link to a script in root crontab.  The script simply executes the following command :

echo "disabled" > /sys/bus/pci/devices/0000:03:00.0/power/wakeup

Of course you will need to replace the 0000:03:00.0 with whatever device you suspect is causing the issue.

Hope this helps someone in the future.

Cheers!

Offline

#20 2020-07-26 08:54:11

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,784
Website

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

Great you got it solved!
The solution doesn't impact overall functionality?


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#21 2020-07-26 13:53:13

rodeoflea
Member
Registered: 2015-10-09
Posts: 28

Re: Desktop Suspend Issues [SOLVED]

It does no appear to cause any other problems.  It's nice to have this fixed. 

Thanks for everyone's suggestions.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB