You are not logged in.

#1 2015-11-18 20:16:28

whalefish
Member
Registered: 2015-10-29
Posts: 12

xrandr output to tv via dvi

trying to output my screen to tv via a hdmi port. getting a black screen on the tv. not sure why. any suggestions?

user@crunchbang:~$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 8192 x 8192
LVDS1 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 256mm x 144mm
   1366x768       60.0 +
   1360x768       59.8     60.0  
   1024x768       60.0* 
   800x600        60.3     56.2  
   640x480        59.9  
VGA1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 connected 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 360mm x 270mm
   1280x1024      60.0* 
   1024x768       75.1     75.0     70.1     60.0  
   832x624        74.6  
   800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2  
   640x480        72.8     75.0     66.7     60.0     59.9  
   720x400        70.1  
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

Offline

#2 2015-11-18 22:02:51

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: xrandr output to tv via dvi

Have you tried setting the output with arandr?

Are you sure the TV is set up correctly?

Do the cables/connectors work?


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#3 2015-11-18 22:11:14

whalefish
Member
Registered: 2015-10-29
Posts: 12

Re: xrandr output to tv via dvi

tried arandr as well. no change.

doubled checked that tv is set to receive the input from the appropriate source.

cable is brand new so i would think they would work.

Offline

#4 2015-11-18 22:16:40

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: xrandr output to tv via dvi

whalefish wrote:

tried arandr as well. no change.

*What* have you tried?

Surely changing the settings on arandr produces changes on the screen?

Have you tried using xrandr(1)?

(Hint: post the commands you have tried)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#5 2015-11-18 22:37:26

whalefish
Member
Registered: 2015-10-29
Posts: 12

Re: xrandr output to tv via dvi

using arandr, hdmi1 is showing as active. tried playing around with the resolution of hdmi1 and lvds1 and applying changes. tv screen remains black. only changes that occur are when resolution on lvds1 is changed.

have tried
xrandr --output HDMI1 --auto
xrandr --output HDMI1 --preferred

same results. black screen.

Offline

#6 2015-12-10 02:21:12

whalefish
Member
Registered: 2015-10-29
Posts: 12

Re: xrandr output to tv via dvi

does that mean i did all the right things?

Offline

#7 2015-12-10 02:33:42

tknomanzr
BL Die Hard
From: Around the Bend
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,029

Re: xrandr output to tv via dvi

I ended up having to reinstall my proprietary nvidia driver and re-running nvidia-settings to get the last of my 3 hdmi monitors to detect via xrandr or arandr. If you don't run a proprietary driver that might not help but I was getting the exact same symptoms and reinstalling the driver seemed to help.

Another thing to note is that one of my monitors would fail to come out of sleep mode on mouse or keyboard input. I would have to switch it off and then back on to get it to come on. I have since rearranged my monitors (I use two DP connections and one HDMI connection. The DP connections are all stepped down passively via a DP to HDMI cable.) Once I moved that monitor off of the hdmi connection, it started to come out of sleep normally. My best guess would be a bug in its firmware.

Last edited by tknomanzr (2015-12-10 02:37:06)

Offline

#8 2015-12-10 03:22:52

whalefish
Member
Registered: 2015-10-29
Posts: 12

Re: xrandr output to tv via dvi

tknomanzr, could you direct me how to find out what video driver i have and how to reinstall it?
the issue i am having is that the tv i am trying to output to does not seem to detect any signal from my laptop, but my laptop does detect that a cable is plugged into it.

Offline

#9 2015-12-10 03:55:23

whalefish
Member
Registered: 2015-10-29
Posts: 12

Re: xrandr output to tv via dvi

looks like my graphics card is intel.

user@crunchbang:~$ sudo lspci -v -s 00:02.0 
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 029b
	Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 45
	Memory at 90000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4M]
	Memory at 80000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
	I/O ports at 30d0 [size=8]
	Expansion ROM at <unassigned> [disabled]
	Capabilities: [90] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
	Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 3
	Kernel driver in use: i915

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB