You are not logged in.

#1 2020-05-29 02:30:36

dashingdon
Member
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 24

[RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

https://imgur.com/a/sTKIpJk

My application menu is not right. This happens only for few application like vlc , OBS Studio etc.

Other applications seems to be fine. Any pointers to help fix the issue will be greatly appreciated.

PS : These applications works fine on the fresh bunsen install. I am trying to avoid reinstall on this computer and looking for possible pointers to fix.

Thanks in advance

-dash

OS Version installed

Distributor ID:    BunsenLabs
Description:    BunsenLabs GNU/Linux 9.9 (Helium)
Release:    9.9
Codename:    helium

-edit- Mod edit by hhh, title tag changed from [SOLVED] to [RESOLVED].

Last edited by hhh (2020-06-03 01:42:37)

Offline

#2 2020-05-29 05:09:56

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,632
Website

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

VLC uses the Qt toolkit. Does OBS use it, too?
Theme mismatches between GTK & Qt are a common nuisance.
Are you using a non-standard GTK theme? How are your GTK apps?
What exactly disturbs you in the picture above?

You could try starting VLC like this:

QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2 vlc
or
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gnome vlc
or
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct vlc
or
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME="" vlc

Answer all questions & report back on those tests, then we take it to the next level.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#3 2020-05-29 06:21:08

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 2,829

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

ohnonot wrote:

VLC uses the Qt toolkit. Does OBS use it, too?
Theme mismatches between GTK & Qt are a common nuisance.
Are you using a non-standard GTK theme? How are your GTK apps?
What exactly disturbs you in the picture above?

You could try starting VLC like this:

QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2 vlc
or
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gnome vlc
or
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct vlc
or
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME="" vlc

Answer all questions & report back on those tests, then we take it to the next level.

Note that the gtk2 platform theme is no longer present in Debian 10 and later. In Helium, the package qt5-gtk-platformtheme must be installed in order for the gtk2 platform theme to work. qt5ct requires the package of the same name to be installed.


Per aspera ad astra.

Online

#4 2020-05-29 06:23:53

dashingdon
Member
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 24

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

Thank you for the response.

1. Yes. Looks like OBS uses QT Toolkit for UI (Reference Forum Thread)

2. I am using Bunsen-He theme

3. Both apps are not usable. VLC , I cant see menu at all . In OBS,  everything is distorted.
( Screenshots --> OBS Look )

4. I tried all 4. Same result as original screenshot.

Note : I looked at your recent comment and here is the output of package install

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
qt5-gtk-platformtheme is already the newest version (5.7.1+dfsg-3+deb9u2).
qt5-gtk-platformtheme set to manually installed.

Offline

#5 2020-05-29 06:48:00

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,951
Website

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

twoion wrote:

Note that the gtk2 platform theme is no longer present in Debian 10 and later. In Helium, the package qt5-gtk-platformtheme must be installed in order for the gtk2 platform theme to work.

For the evvar setting 'QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2' to work, qt5-style-plugins is needed, going up to Debian 10. From Debian 11 qt5-gtk2-platformtheme is available.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#6 2020-05-29 07:03:22

dashingdon
Member
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 24

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

johnraff wrote:

For the evvar setting 'QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2' to work, qt5-style-plugins is needed, going up to Debian 10. From Debian 11 qt5-gtk2-platformtheme is available.

Already installed

qt5-style-plugins is already the newest version (5.0.0+git16.g7aa4764-1).

Is there a way to reset themes and appearances to default ?

Thank you for the help.

Offline

#7 2020-05-29 08:38:31

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 447

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

ohnonot wrote:

VLC uses the Qt toolkit.
[...]
You could try starting VLC like this:

QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2 vlc
or 
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gnome vlc
or [...]

Ah, thanks a lot. I use virtualbox quite a lot, my old tired eyes have had problem with the hard to read text in that qt-app.
i have now set the alias:

alias virtualbox='QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct virtualbox'

and the text is crisp and clear!

The funny thing is that QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=" " worked just as well...

How to find which graphic toolkit is used?

Last edited by rbh (2020-05-29 08:39:03)


// Regards rbh

Offline

#8 2020-05-30 06:52:56

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,632
Website

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

dashingdon, install all the packages mentioned here & available on your system.
Then open a terminal and try those commands I posted earlier. Obviously you can substitute vlc with any Qt application's command.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#9 2020-05-30 09:13:27

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 447

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

rbh wrote:

i have now set the alias:

alias virtualbox='QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct virtualbox'

Better to add "export QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct" to ~/.bashrc


// Regards rbh

Offline

#10 2020-05-30 20:17:13

dashingdon
Member
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 24

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

ohnonot wrote:

dashingdon, install all the packages mentioned here & available on your system.
Then open a terminal and try those commands I posted earlier. Obviously you can substitute vlc with any Qt application's command.

Yes. I have installed qt5-style-plugins, qt5-gtk-platformtheme . All 4 commands do not fix the issue.

When I try to install qt5ct , I get

E: Unable to locate package qt5ct

yet when I execute

QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct vlc

VLC opens with same garbled menu.

Thanks for the help.

Offline

#11 2020-05-30 20:33:52

Naik
Member
From: Lipsia
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 243

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

hey there!

the package qt5ct is currently only available on buster, bullseye and sid.

naik --greetz


"Kaum macht [Mensch]* es richtig, funktioniert es sofort!"
BL-Kitchen on GitHub

Offline

#12 2020-05-30 20:59:09

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 447

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

Did an upgrade today. Got upgrade for bunsen-conky and jgmenu.
After restart, got the message about new config files. Klicked yes, but no overwiting occured, no message about copying file.

When i Looked into ../conky, i saw a new configfile: BL-Def-Cal-conky.conf.

I might remember wrong, but I think the popup gaw message about overwriting. Little confusing when there is no overtwriting, instead only silently adding new file...
Masybe possible to adjust the yad-message and add an menu entry Under "Bunsen Helpfiles: "uppgrading applications and user-configs", explaining the process?


// Regards rbh

Offline

#13 2020-05-30 21:13:59

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,043

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

^ From bl-user-setup

bl-user-setup is a script to populate a new user's HOME directory
using files from /usr/share/bunsen/skel

Usage:  bl-user-setup [-h|--help][--force|--yes][--reset]

This script is run non-interactively on a user's first login,
and on subsequent logins to check for new default configurations
in /usr/share/bunsen/skel that may have come from a package upgrade.
User set configurations will not be modified without permission.

It can also be run manually with custom options.
The most common manual use case is to run with no options,
in which case the algorithm described below is followed,
except that users will also be consulted in cases 3) and 4).

In all cases backups will be made of any files which are overwritten.

Options:
-h --help
    Show this message and exit.
--force --yes
    Assume all prompts answered 'Yes'.
--reset
    Restore all files to the default state in /usr/share/bunsen/skel,
    but ask user before overwriting files.
    (Add --force or --yes to skip confirmations.)
--refresh
    Follow default behaviour, as with no options passed.
    (This is kept only for backward compatibility.)

The following two options are not usually of interest to users:

--auto
    This is run on each user login.
    Do a quick check for any change to skel contents,
    exit if there is nothing new, or if there are changes
    ask the user for permission to apply the algorithm below.
--install
    Implies --force.
    Run non-interactive file import only on first login.

*ALGORITHM*
For --auto operation:

Compare the contents of /usr/share/bunsen/skel (here called 'skel')
with the contents on the previous run of this script.
If there has been no change, exit immediately.

If there is new content:

1) Copy in any new directories.

2) Copy in any new symlinks, if they do not already exist (no overwrites).

3) Copy in any new files.

4) If file in skel has changed, and user's file is still in default state,
silently update file.

5) If skel file and user file have both changed (or user has removed file),
ask user for instructions.

6) If a file has been removed from skel, do not remove it from HOME.

Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#14 2020-05-30 21:42:46

dashingdon
Member
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 24

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

Update :

Unsettling environment variable (Original Value QT_STYLE_OVERRIDE=GTK+) seems to be doing the trick when VLC and OBS are executed from the command line

unset QT_STYLE_OVERRIDE

When I open through menu , it is still unusable. looking ...

Offline

#15 2020-05-30 21:46:31

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 447

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

damo wrote:

^ From bl-user-setup

Where is the yad message that pops up when new user-configs is avalibale?

I posted this in wrong place, it was not an request for help.
More a suggestion, but i might remember wrong and there is not an need to clarify ta I suggested?


// Regards rbh

Offline

#16 2020-05-31 02:26:52

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,951
Website

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

^Happy to discuss the new bl-user-setup algorithm, but maybe better to open a new thread if you'd like to go into it further. If a suggestion, then in "Development and Suggestions". This is new territory, and there's likely room for improvement...


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#17 2020-05-31 06:40:34

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,632
Website

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

dashingdon wrote:

Unsettling environment variable (Original Value QT_STYLE_OVERRIDE=GTK+) seems to be doing the trick when VLC and OBS are executed from the command line

unset QT_STYLE_OVERRIDE

When I open through menu , it is still unusable. looking ...

Glad to hear it.

You could try adding that line to one of the files that are executed/sourced at login, e.g. ~/.config/openbox/environment (I'm not sure it will work since "unset" is a command, but it's been so long I used a display manager, I wouldn't know where else to put it... can't hurt to try though).

You could also override the respective .desktop files in /usr/share/applications with your modified versions in ~/.local/share/applications

Out of curiosity: doing it this way means that VLC or OBS are themed with a light default theme, like Adwaita maybe?

Last edited by ohnonot (2020-05-31 06:42:50)


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#18 2020-06-02 23:15:49

dashingdon
Member
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 24

Re: [RESOLVED] Application menu issue on upgraded bunsenlabs

ohnonot wrote:

You could try adding that line to one of the files that are executed/sourced at login, e.g. ~/.config/openbox/environment (I'm not sure it will work since "unset" is a command, but it's been so long I used a display manager, I wouldn't know where else to put it... can't hurt to try though).

You could also override the respective .desktop files in /usr/share/applications with your modified versions in ~/.local/share/applications

Tried both. Didn't work

ohnonot wrote:

Out of curiosity: doing it this way means that VLC or OBS are themed with a light default theme, like Adwaita maybe?

No idea. I will continue to unset that value through command line whenever I need to use the app.

Thanks for the help. Consider this as resolved.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB