You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-25 19:42:22

laanan

[SOLVED] RDP issues

Hello Folks,

I am trying to work from home and would like to RDP connect to my work computer. The firewall at work is a Sonic Wall, and I have a tunnel functioning (via Sonic Wall's Net Extender app) and all the proper login/IP info. I am new to all this networking stuff, as well as to Bunsen Labs, and so I am having trouble with the final step of actually being able to see my work computer's desktop.

I have tried the VNC viewer application to connect, but it just disappears/does nothing when I press enter (after a looong wait). I tried freeRDP, which causes my whole system to crash, or at least eats up like 95 - 99% of my Ram (total available is 3.75gigs). I then followed a short thread here and tried RealVNC, which gave a connection refused error.

So...I am thinking that I am missing a piece of the puzzle. Probably a VNC viewer is not correct, since I don't think the Sonic Wall is a VNC server...not sure why freeRDP implodes...Sorry for asking for such basic advice, but if anyone has any tips, that'd be great.

#2 2020-01-25 21:25:45

iMBeCil
WAAAT?

Re: [SOLVED] RDP issues

What is your remote host OS? BL? Win10?

Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

#3 2020-01-25 22:11:18

laanan

The server is windows server 2012, the firewall is a Sonic Wall, and the two workstations are Windows 10 and Windows 7.

#4 2020-01-25 22:49:56

iMBeCil
WAAAT?

No idea about Sonic Wall ....

To establish local (bunsenlabs, I suppose) <---> remote connection, you have to connect with compatible protocols.

Windows OS has preinstalled 'Remote Desktop' software with its protocol. Usually, it is not enabled by default on Windows. Google 'enabling remote desktop on windows' to enable connection ('server') on remote computer.