You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-19 09:27:23

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,310
Website

Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

I have had this problem for a long time now.
Yes I'm using ArchLinux, not BL.
But nobody on Arch forums seems to have the problem.
Looking through the issues on github, nobody there either, at least not in this particular way.
Which makes me think maybe it's not an Arch thing after all?

So just generally asking, do people experience conky crashing every now and then?

Or maybe it's something about my config, because only this one conky crashes, never the other one (which is much simpler):

conky.config = {
--<conkyrc> 

	own_window = true,
	own_window_transparent = true,
	own_window_type = 'override',
--own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
	own_window_title = 'Conky',
	
	--~ background = true,
	update_interval = 3,

	pad_percents = 0,

	override_utf8_locale = true,
	short_units = true,
	double_buffer = true,
	no_buffers = true,

	text_buffer_size = 2048,

	border_width = 0,
	border_inner_margin = 0,
	border_outer_margin = 0,

	--~ imlib_cache_size = 0,

	minimum_width = 235, minimum_height = 950,
	maximum_width = 235,
	alignment = 'middle_right',
	gap_x = 20,
	gap_y = -30,

-- # Graphics settings # #
	draw_outline = false,
	draw_shades = false,
	draw_borders = false,
	draw_graph_borders = false,
	default_color = '#f1f2f2',
	color1 = '#fdfdfd',-- clock, date, headers, graph text
	color2 = '#1777cf',-- graphs, fs_bars
-- colors for cpu temp - warn, max, crit
	color6 = '#FF6158',-- red
	color7 = '#28CA41',-- green
	color8 = '#FFBD30',-- yellow

	use_xft = true,
	font = 'ubuntu:size=9',

	format_human_readable = true,
	use_spacer = 'none',

	top_name_width = 15,

	default_bar_width = 0, 
	default_bar_height = 8,

};

conky.text = [[
$color1${font open sans:style=light:size=20}CPU$font$color\
${goto 80}${voffset -12}${top name 1}${alignr}${top cpu 1}%
${goto 80}${voffset -2}${top name 2}${alignr}${top cpu 2}%
${goto 80}${voffset -2}${top name 3}${alignr}${top cpu 3}%
${goto 80}${voffset -2}${top name 4}${alignr}${top cpu 4}%
${voffset 5}${goto 79}$color2${cpugraph cpu1 50 -l}\
$color2${goto 79}${cpugraph cpu2 50 -l}
$color${voffset -52}${goto 80}${execp ~/.config/conky/sys/cpu-conky-temp.sh temp2}
$color${voffset -2}${goto 80}${cpu cpu1}%$alignr${freq_g 1}GHz
${voffset -2}${goto 80}${cpu cpu2}%$alignr${freq_g 2}GHz
${goto 79}$color2${cpugraph cpu3 50 -l}\
$color2${goto 79}${cpugraph cpu4 50 -l}
$color${voffset -52}${goto 80}${execp ~/.config/conky/sys/cpu-conky-temp.sh temp3}
$color${voffset -2}${goto 80}${cpu cpu3}%${alignr}${freq_g 1}GHz
${voffset -2}${goto 80}${cpu cpu4}%${alignr}${freq_g 2}GHz
$color

$color1${font open sans:style=light:size=20}MEM$font$color\
${goto 80}${voffset -12}${top_mem name 1}${alignr}${top_mem mem 1}%
${goto 80}${voffset -2}${top_mem name 2}${alignr}${top_mem mem 2}%
${goto 80}${voffset -2}${top_mem name 3}${alignr}${top_mem mem 3}%
${goto 80}${voffset -2}${top_mem name 4}${alignr}${top_mem mem 4}%
${goto 80}${voffset 3}MEM:$alignr${mem}/${memmax} - ${memperc}%
${goto 80}${voffset -2}SWAP:${alignr}$swap/$swapmax - ${swapperc}%
$color

$color1${font open sans:style=light:size=20}I/O$font$color\
${goto 80}${voffset -12}${top_io name 1}$alignr${top_io io_perc 1}%
${goto 80}${voffset -2}${top_io name 2}$alignr${top_io io_perc 2}%
${goto 80}${voffset -2}${top_io name 3}$alignr${top_io io_perc 3}%
${goto 80}${voffset -2}${top_io name 4}$alignr${top_io io_perc 4}%
${goto 79}$color2${diskiograph_read /dev/sda 30 -l}
${goto 80}$color${voffset -25}Read: $diskio_read
${goto 79}$color2${diskiograph_write /dev/sda 30 -l}
${goto 80}$color${voffset -25}Write: $diskio_write
$color

$color1${font open sans:style=light:size=20}FS$font$color\
${goto 80}${voffset -12}root: $fs_used/$fs_size
${goto 80}${voffset -2}$color2${fs_bar /}$color
${goto 80}${voffset -2}data: ${fs_used /home/data}/${fs_size /home/data}
${goto 80}${voffset -2}$color2${fs_bar /home/data}$color
${goto 80}${voffset -2}data2: ${fs_used /home/data2}/${fs_size /home/data2}
${goto 80}${voffset -2}$color2${fs_bar /home/data2}$color
${goto 80}${voffset -2}server: ${fs_used /home/server}/${fs_size /home/server}
${goto 80}${voffset -2}$color2${fs_bar /home/server}$color
$color

$color1${font open sans:style=light:size=20}NET$font$color\
${goto 80}${voffset -12}Interface:${color}$alignr$gw_iface
${goto 80}${voffset -2}Internal IP:${color}$alignr$addrs
${goto 79}$color2${upspeedgraph eth0 30 -l}
${goto 80}${voffset -25}${color}Up: ${upspeed eth0}
${goto 79}$color2${downspeedgraph eth0 30 -l}
${goto 80}${voffset -25}${color}Down: ${downspeed eth0}
${voffset 14}${execpi 600 ~/.config/conky/sys/nameservers /etc/systemd/resolved.conf.d/dns.conf}

$color1${font open sans:style=light:size=20}SYS$font$color\
${voffset -12}${goto 80}Kernel:${alignr}$kernel
${goto 80}${voffset -2}Uptime:${alignr}$uptime_short]];

???

I've experienced these crashes sometimes (not reproducible) under system stress, with 4 different conky versions now (arch repos, some AUR version, manually compiled release, manually compiled git master).

Offline

#2 2020-01-19 10:26:33

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,633

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

Do you use cpu-conky-temp.sh in other conkys - is there anything in that which may cause a problem? Anything in journalctl or .xsession-errors when conky crashes?

FWIW I only get a conky crash if there has been a gpu graphics issue. But then lots of other things fall over at the same time!


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#3 2020-01-19 13:33:49

clusterF
Member
Registered: 2019-05-07
Posts: 520

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

The only time conky (on arch) has crashed for me is when im testing it, after the 20th save or more.

You have a lot of information for conky to process in that config. How much cpu is below using?

${voffset 14}${execpi 600 ~/.config/conky/sys/nameservers /etc/systemd/resolved.conf.d/dns.conf}

"Ad Astra Incrementis"

git: clusterF

Offline

#4 2020-01-19 15:16:57

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,879

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

Looking at it and the first thing I notice is in the text area there are some commands that use ${} and other that use just $ ---> and yes I know it is a common thing in conky and Brandon's examples show both. 

But to make an observation here -> you are using a mix of these forms for the same commands for example:

$color1${font open sans:style=light:size=20}CPU$font$color
${goto 80}${voffset -2}Internal IP:${color}$alignr$addrs

and
${goto 80}${voffset -12}Interface:${color}$alignr$gw_iface

Along with other commands without the {}

Now, before everyone jumps all over me, a long time ago Mark Buck, who wrote conkyForcast and other .py scripts for conky found that by using a "mix" of $command and ${command} it caused problems and strongly suggested using ALL commands with ${command}.  Eventually he actually pinned it down to a specific set of commands:

$command1$command2

but I cannot remember which two it was.

Might be worth changing just to see.

Also conflicting standards for using the #hex-number
Taken from the 1.10 manual (1.9 reads the same)
For COLOR ABOVE TEXT:

colorN Predefine a color for use inside conky.text segments.  Substitute N by a digit between 0 and 9,
              inclusively. When specifying the color value in hex, omit the leading hash (#).

Yours is using the #:

	default_color = '#f1f2f2',
	color1 = '#fdfdfd',-- clock, date, headers, graph text
	color2 = '#1777cf',-- graphs, fs_bars
-- colors for cpu temp - warn, max, crit
	color6 = '#FF6158',-- red
	color7 = '#28CA41',-- green
	color8 = '#FFBD30',-- yellow

and for COLOR BELOW TEXT

color (color)
              Change drawing color to 'color' which is a name of a color or a hexcode preceded  with  #  (for
              example  #0A1B2C )
.  If you use ncurses only the following colors are supported: red,green,yel‐
              low,blue,magenta,cyan,black,white.

       colorN Change drawing color to colorN configuration option, where N is a digit between 0 and 9, inclusively.

Which is simply explaining that a hex code has the # -not- that is should be used in a conky.
As it says ABOVE TEXT:   When specifying the color value in hex, omit the leading hash (#).

Two questions:

 ~/.config/conky/sys/cpu-conky-temp.sh

Is that script a modified colorize.sh by Crinow512?

can you share:

~/.config/conky/sys/nameservers


Love my conky v1:1.9  Converted yours to v1.9 and have it running here.
Nice conky - will test a few days - but not on ARCH and not using v1.11 either.


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.

Offline

#5 2020-01-19 18:03:41

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,879

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

Sorry ohnonot ... I could not not play.  My favourite colour and a nice conky as well ... tweaked to my system of course.
2020-01-19-144948-S11.jpg
Figured I'd put the FS stuff inside bars as well.


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.

Offline

#6 2020-01-19 21:06:24

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 1,027

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

^For me it is always a contradiction,
to see Syntax10 configurations that have an update_interval of more than 1 second.
But the Conky should display CPU; diskio; mem etc pp values in realtime ? If I want that, I have to live with the *slight* system overload of version 1.10 and can't *compensate* for it with an update_interval of 3 seconds.

ohnonot2.th.png

I have made a few changes (among other things the counting of the Cpu in the Conky). It starts at my {cpu cpu0}.
And, this Crinos512-Script (which I have), I still search on my computer...  hmm


Let's see when it crashes here.  big_smile

Last edited by unklar (2020-01-19 21:09:21)

Offline

#7 2020-01-20 00:04:31

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,879

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

Does conky v1.10/11 use that much more resources than v1.9?

Be careful with CPU0, CPU1, CPUI2, CPU3, CPU4, etc -> up to the the number you have and that includes hyperthreading.

A quad core (Intel or AMD) CPU would "in conky commands" go from CPU1 to CPU 4 and CPU0 being the total (or "average") or if it is hyperthreaded CPU1 to CPU8 and CPU0 for the "average"

Lots of people got confused thinking they needed to use cpu0 for the first core of an Intel chip because INTEL started counting at 0.  They were WRONG:

conky man page (v1.9 and 1.10+ are the same):

cpu (cpuN)
              CPU usage in percents. For SMP machines, the CPU number can be provided as an  argument.  ${cpu cpu0} is the total usage, and ${cpu cpuX} (X >= 1) are individual CPUs.

My conky on the left running with what you see in the "centre click" popup.
2020-01-19-204744-S11.jpg

1+1+1+2 = 5 /4 = avg = 1.25 (conky doesn't do decimals on CPU) or A = 1

Now let's stress out the cpu a bit bu grabbing a corner of  FF and moving it around:
2020-01-19-205215-S11.jpg

50+45+46+48 = 189/4 = 47.25  and A = 47 The Average

My chip: Quad core AMD Ryzen 3

Just a little tid-bit reminder


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.

Offline

#8 2020-01-20 04:26:44

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,502
Website

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

I have an issue with conky that when I edit or make a change and save the file it crashes conky and it can't be restarted unless I reboot.


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#9 2020-01-20 08:11:23

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,310
Website

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

Thanks for the multitude of inputs!

I will try to address:

Dobbie03: Yes, seen similar things, but I am not editing this conky.

It only happens after it's been running for a long while, then the system goes into high load for some reason; but not always. It's not easily reproducible, and the stack traces from my conky issue always give a different error message.

@unklar: sorry, I just don't get that argument. My other conky updates even less than that and is rock solid.

@S11: re hex colors and curly brackets: I am implementing that now, let's see if it changes things.
re CPU cores: I know, and I'm not using cpu0 at all. Nevertheless, some other issues lead me to believe that cpu graphs (or some other graphs) might be responsible for this; will experiment later on.

@ALL:
If you test (thanks forthat), you should probably leave it running for an hour or so, then stress your system a lot.
Wiggling the browser window won't be enough, it has to be something like ffmpeg converting a huge video, or something like this:

stress --cpu 32 --vm 32 --io 32 --hdd 32 --timeout 20

I will do some testing, but it might take a few days before I come up with results.

Here are the two shell scripts, for cpu temperatures and nameservers:

#!/bin/dash
# read cpu temperature from /sys and color it when it gets too hot

warn=50
max=65
crit=80

cd /sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/*/
# $1, on my hardware, needs to be temp2 or temp3 to represent core 0 or core 1.
read temp <$1_input
read templabel <$1_label

temp=${temp%000}

if [ "$temp" -ge "$crit" ] ; then
	echo -n "\${color8}"
elif  [ "$temp" -ge "$max" ] ; then
	echo -n "\${color7}"
elif [ "$temp" -ge "$warn" ] ; then
	echo -n "\${color6}"
fi
echo -n "$templabel\${alignr}${temp}°C"
#!/bin/bash

file="$1"
[ -r "$file" ] || ( printf "Cannot read file\n\"%s\"\nExiting.\n" "$file"; exit 1; )

max=5 # maximum number of nameservers to display
prefix1="\${goto 80}"
prefix2="\${alignr}"
suffix1="\${voffset -1}\${font}"
suffix2="\${voffset -5}\${font sans:size=8}"
color1="\${color1}"
color="\${color}"

time=( $(/usr/bin/ls -l "$file") )
time="${time[5]} ${time[6]}"

case "$file" in

'/etc/resolv.conf')

	printf "%sNameservers, %s" "$prefix1" "$time"
	i=0
	while read one two && ((i<max)); do
		if [[ "$one" == "nameserver" ]]; then
		printf "\n%s%s%s" "$prefix2" "$color1$two$color" "$suffix2"
		else
		printf "\n%s%s%s" "$prefix2" "$two" "$suffix1"
		fi
		((i++))
	done <"$file"
	;;

'/etc/systemd/resolved.conf.d/dns.conf')

	firstline="$(resolvectl|grep 'Current DNS Server')"
	firstline="${firstline##*Current DNS Server: }"
	printf "%sCurrent nameserver:\n%s%s" "$prefix1" "$prefix2" "$color1${firstline}"
	printf "\n%sList generated %s:" "$prefix1" "$time"
	i=0
	while read line && ((i<max)); do
		if [[ "$line" == "DNS="* ]]; then
		printf "\n%s%s%s" "$prefix2" "$color1${line#DNS=}$color" "$suffix2"
		elif [[ "$line" == "#"* ]]; then
		printf "\n%s%s%s" "$prefix2" "${line#\# }" "$suffix1"
		((i++))
		fi
	done <"$file"
	;;

esac

Offline

#10 2020-01-20 12:01:25

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,879

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

RE CPU cores...

Sorry ohnonot that was more for unklar. I would say from your conky it looks like you have a dual core hyperthreaded and using 4 threads.  But unclar said his conky started at cpu0

The CPU temp script is a modified one by Crinos512  I stopped using that when ${if_match} came out in conky ... for stuff like this (since lm_sensors does not work with my CPU I show for % usage):

${alignc}${color5}${swapbar 0,20}
${alignc}${color7}1${color} ${if_match ${cpu cpu1} < 10}  ${cpu cpu1}\
${else}${if_match ${cpu cpu1} < 100} ${cpu cpu1}\
${else}${color9}${cpu cpu1}${color}${endif}${endif}
${alignc}${color7}2${color} ${if_match ${cpu cpu2} < 10}  ${cpu cpu2}\
${else}${if_match ${cpu cpu2} < 100} ${cpu cpu2}\
${else}${color9}${cpu cpu2}${color}${endif}${endif}
${alignc}${color7}3${color} ${if_match ${cpu cpu3} < 10}  ${cpu cpu3}\
${else}${if_match ${cpu cpu3} < 100} ${cpu cpu3}\
${else}${color9}${cpu cpu3}${color}${endif}${endif}
${alignc}${color7}4${color} ${if_match ${cpu cpu4} < 10}  ${cpu cpu4}\
${else}${if_match ${cpu cpu4} < 100} ${cpu cpu4}\
${else}${color9}${cpu cpu4}${color}${endif}${endif}
${color1}${swapbar 0}${color}

it adds
- a double space for 1 to 9% before the number
- a single space for 10 to 99%, and
- no space for 100% and colours it red

No idea about the other nameserver one ... I have never needed more than ${nameserver}

Have you tried the two scripts in other conkys and/or by themselves in a test conky?


@dobbie03  OUCH!  Not good.

Comment: Any one think this might be a v1.11 problem?
EDIT #2:  From the link ohnonot supplied: yes I would say so.

___________
Edit Spelling and comments added

Last edited by Sector11 (2020-01-20 13:27:30)


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.

Offline

#11 2020-01-20 13:47:38

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 1,027

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

Sector11 wrote:

Sorry ohnonot that was more for unklar. I would say from your conky it looks like you have a dual core hyperthreaded and using 4 threads.  But unclar said his conky started at cpu0

@S11
everything you write to me is correct.
I hadn't checked it before and I found this snippet of you when you were working with a 3K:

Guys, the mistake is mine!   ops

Offline

#12 2020-01-20 13:49:37

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 1,027

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

Dobbie03 wrote:

I have an issue with conky that when I edit or make a change and save the file it crashes conky and it can't be restarted unless I reboot.

Is this what your Conky's crash looks like?

X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  2 (X_ChangeWindowAttributes)
  Serial number of failed request:  288
  Current serial number in output stream:  289

Offline

#13 2020-01-20 13:53:20

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,879

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

@ unklar

My old friend.  Yea that snippet was for my AMD triple core and started with CPU0 as the average  big_smile

Hey we all make an OOPS! every now and then - mine is more now and now and now ....


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.

Offline

#14 2020-01-20 13:54:14

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 1,027

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

ohnonot wrote:

@unklar: sorry, I just don't get that argument. My other conky updates even less than that and is rock solid.

I mean the jumping of expenses and trying to show this
update_intervalle1.th.png

It bothers me with *computer-technical* issues.
On the other hand, it is again very practical to work with 3 seconds for weather conkies.

I have now subjected your Conky to the stress_test after about 2 hours and repeated this test after 5 hours.

 stress --cpu 32 --vm 32 --io 32 --hdd 32 --timeout 20
stress: info: [43269] dispatching hogs: 32 cpu, 32 io, 32 vm, 32 hdd
stress: info: [43269] successful run completed in 32s

So far I can not confirm a crash.
My assumption is that it  with you

own_window_type = 'override',

is. Try that with 'normal'

This is now the most important difference to your configuration.
Preventing the *control* of the respective window_manager did NOT work for me my whole Conky life. I always changed it to *normal* first, before I worked with the Conky's.  big_smile

Last edited by unklar (2020-01-20 14:22:57)

Offline

#15 2020-01-20 13:58:19

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 1,027

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

Sector11 wrote:

@ unklar

My old friend.  Yea that snippet was for my AMD triple core and started with CPU0 as the average  big_smile

Hey we all make an OOPS! every now and then - mine is more now and now and now ....

That's exactly it! Let's not talk about age, sometimes it's a bad thing...   cry

Offline

#16 2020-01-20 14:05:26

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,879

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

unklar wrote:

That's exactly it! Let's not talk about age, sometimes it's a bad thing...   cry

Who mentioned age, "my old friend" was referring to the "time we have known each other".
I am only 7.0  big_smile

Last edited by Sector11 (2020-01-20 19:11:59)


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.

Offline

#17 2020-01-20 14:10:06

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 1,027

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

That brings me to 6.9...   devil

Offline

#18 2020-01-20 14:48:56

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 240

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

ohnonot wrote:

So just generally asking, do people experience conky crashing every now and then?

Newer for me,

Or maybe it's something about my config, because only this one conky crashes, never the other one (which is much simpler):

It has been running here since yeasterday noon, still running along with my three other conkys. I will let you know if it crashes. I'll let it run 24h.
I haven't modified it (I have 4 core cpu).


// Regards rbh

Offline

#19 2020-01-20 19:18:07

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,879

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

Well I had to modify it.  lm_sensor do not work with the Quad core AMD Ryzen 3 yet ... something about support coming with kernel v5 and we have  Kernel: 4.9.0 soooo

them I changed the FS area to use my partitions.
My test won't be much good though if it is a conky "lua" version problem.


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.

Offline

#20 2020-01-21 04:52:16

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,502
Website

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

unklar wrote:
Dobbie03 wrote:

I have an issue with conky that when I edit or make a change and save the file it crashes conky and it can't be restarted unless I reboot.

Is this what your Conky's crash looks like?

X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  2 (X_ChangeWindowAttributes)
  Serial number of failed request:  288
  Current serial number in output stream:  289

Nope it doesn't give me any out put as I am normally editing from Sublime, running it from the terminal doesn't give anything either.


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#21 2020-01-22 07:49:05

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,310
Website

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

Sector11 wrote:

Have you tried the two scripts in other conkys and/or by themselves in a test conky?

Not recently, but I'm positive they work OK. That doesn't mean that conky couldn't get tripped up by a shell script of course.
I'm leery of translating that to a pure conky solution; looks much more complicated than a quick shell script. But who knows, maybe execp instructions are generally problematic? OTOH, my weather conky uses nothing but execp and runs fine.

Comment: Any one think this might be a v1.11 problem?
EDIT #2:  From the link ohnonot supplied: yes I would say so.

This obviously started happening about a year ago, so yes, it's some sort of - how do you call it - regression.

unklar wrote:

My assumption is that it  with you

own_window_type = 'override',

is. Try that with 'normal'

Good point.
I'm trying it with 'desktop' now.

Thanks for comments & testing everyone!

Offline

#22 2020-01-22 14:13:58

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,879

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

Personally I would go with "normal" that way your "own_window_hints" actually work.

       own_window_hints undecorated,below,above,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
              If  own_window is yes, you may use these window manager hints to affect the way Conky displays.
              Notes: Use own_window_type desktop as another way to implement many of these hints  implicitly.
              If you use own_window_type override, window manager hints have no meaning and are ignored.

Desktop says many of these hints BUT - not which ones or which are not.
OOPS!  Until one reads "own_window_type"

own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_hints undecorated,below (or above),sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

sticky means: on ALL desktops

PUTS YOU IN THE DRIVERS SEAT.

so:

own_window_hints undecorated,below,skip_taskbar,skip_pager ##,sticky, above

and conky only runs on the desktop you started it on, under other applications.

Last edited by Sector11 (2020-01-22 14:19:19)


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.

Offline

#23 2020-02-07 19:43:33

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,310
Website

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

This is going nowhere, conky keeps on crashing, my issue is slowly giving way for new issues - apparently nobody can reproduce this.
I have now compiled 1.9.0 and am using it. Super minimal version, too, since I'm not using the lua anyhow.
And I did it in a way that it can coexist with newer versions (hopefully):
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/conky19
My first AUR submission! ?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sherv.net%2Fcm%2Femo%2Ffunny%2F2%2Fbrian-dancing-banana-smiley-emoticon.gif&f=1&nofb=1

Let's see how the weekly backup tomorrow goes, that's when it used to crash the most.

Offline

#24 2020-02-08 00:44:48

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,879

Re: Does Conky Crash on your Machine?

Dobbie03 wrote:

I have an issue with conky that when I edit or make a change and save the file it crashes conky and it can't be restarted unless I reboot.

Just saw this .... How do you start your conkys?

I put a line at the top of each conky (example):

# pkill -xf "conky -c /media/5/Conky/S11_DateTime_br.conky" &

I start my conkys in a bash script:

(sleep 2 && wmctrl -s 0 && conky -c /media/5/Conky/S11_DateTime_br.conky) &

SO: if you start the conky like this:

conky -c /media/5/Conky/S11_DateTime_br.conky &

and it crashes when you edit it ... try in a terminal:

 07 Feb 20 @ 21:38:33 ~
   $ pkill -xf "conky -c /media/5/Conky/S11_DateTime_br.conky" &
[1] 13671
 
 07 Feb 20 @ 21:38:46 ~
   $ conky -c /media/5/Conky/S11_DateTime_br.conky &
[2] 13740
[1]   Done                    pkill -xf "conky -c /media/5/Conky/S11_DateTime_br.conky"
 
 07 Feb 20 @ 21:38:56 ~
   $ Conky: desktop window (25d) is root window
Conky: window type - normal
Conky: drawing to created window (0x3800002)
Conky: drawing to double buffer

NOTE: after the first command use the arrow - edit the line and see it it restarts.


Good luck.


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB