You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-17 14:32:02

Zeno
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 27

Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

This is the first time i installed BL on my PC. Happy I am.

My Question:

On one disk i made two partitions. On one partition i installed BL (system) and on the other partition i have data.

I installed for example, MindMaster program. Now when i open the program (which is on system drive) and try to browse project file which is on the other partition (Data partition), I cant see / access the partition (Data Partition).

Please help me.

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#2 2020-01-17 15:04:08

clusterF
Member
Registered: 2019-05-07
Posts: 539

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

The program files probably need to be on your path. The best way to get around this is possibly symlinking your project files from data partition to your home.

so something like...

ln -s Zeno_data_partition/program_file_folders/* /home/Zeno/program_file_folders/

Is the mind master program a debian package or something unrelated to debian?

Last edited by clusterF (2020-01-19 09:31:47)

Offline

#3 2020-01-17 16:08:28

Zeno
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 27

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

yes MindMaster. it is provided by Edraw company.

But i ve experienced this many times with many softwares. Can it be some problem of flagging or what?

can i flag the partition as /home after installation??

Offline

#4 2020-01-17 16:09:23

Zeno
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 27

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

I think there should be some way or trick im missing.

Offline

#5 2020-01-17 16:18:25

clusterF
Member
Registered: 2019-05-07
Posts: 539

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

Zeno wrote:

I think there should be some way or trick im missing.

yes, if you are going to use a data partition for program files you should google "Create & Use a Separate DATA Partition"

Offline

#6 2020-01-17 16:42:58

Zeno
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 27

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

No. I mean i neither access project file nor data file from software browser.
In file manager I can access all the partitions and all the drives.
???
Do i have to grant admin permission permanently?? Is there any way to grant those partition and drive Admin permission permanantly.

Is there anything with mounting and unmounting?

Thanks

Offline

#7 2020-01-17 16:50:29

clusterF
Member
Registered: 2019-05-07
Posts: 539

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

Maybe contact Edraw company for a solution ?

Offline

#8 2020-01-17 17:02:42

Zeno
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 27

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

Anyways after trying a lot i found those partitions and Drives in directory:

/media/(user name)/Partitions & Drives. (From software browser)

Now can you tell me what to do if i want above mentioned Partitions and Drives Directly under /Home etc

Offline

#9 2020-01-17 17:04:43

clusterF
Member
Registered: 2019-05-07
Posts: 539

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

Zeno wrote:

Anyways after trying a lot i found those partitions and Drives in directory:

/media/(user name)/Partitions & Drives. (From software browser)

Now can you tell me what to do if i want above mentioned Partitions and Drives Directly under /Home etc

I did in post #5.

Offline

#10 2020-01-17 17:08:10

Zeno
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 27

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

Surely, I will try and feed you back. Now time to bed. Thanks

Offline

#11 2020-01-17 17:14:48

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 446

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

I use both /data and /home.
On old pc with little space, I symlink /data to /home/data... On very old pc with little disk, /data is on nfs-share.

I will check out mindmaster and see how it differ from debian package freeplane.
I saw now, when I choose op file, that I can Choose files in program-map (/opt/MindMaster...), or choose to browse my $HOME or browse computer /:
MindMaster-open.png

You should also be able to do that.
How about Debian-programs? LibreOffice, Geany etc...

Creating symlinks from the commandline can be a little awkward if not used to that. Midnight Commander (mc), gives a simple graphical shell for that.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#12 2020-01-18 10:36:33

Zeno
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 27

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

1. From LibreOffice i can access any partition or drive from File > Open.
2. I created symlink as you told by ln -s path to be copied path of location. Symlink is created by once again i cant access it from MindMaster file > Open

Offline

#13 2020-01-18 11:53:30

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 446

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

Sounds weird... Can you show a screendump?

You can see yor symlink? What heppens when you try to browse it?

Last edited by rbh (2020-01-18 11:54:58)


// Regards rbh

Offline

#14 2020-01-18 12:31:37

clusterF
Member
Registered: 2019-05-07
Posts: 539

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

Sounds like there is path and file permission problems with MindMaster.

Maybe reinstall the program and have the program files in your home (if that is even possible) not on the data partition.

where is the download link and installation instructions for linux for this MindMaster?

A good guide on how to ask questions the smart way...

http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Last edited by clusterF (2020-01-18 12:35:32)

Offline

#15 2020-01-18 16:05:46

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,036

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

The postinst file in the mindmaster deb has

ln -s /opt/MindMaster-7/MindMaster /bin/mindmaster

Make sure the paths are correct for your system.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#16 2020-01-19 09:07:04

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,624
Website

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

Zeno:
I see two separate problems here:
- your data partition is being dynamically mounted although you use it all the time and it should probably be in /etc/fstab instead
- the MindMap software is completely opaque to us, we don't know why it and only it does not see your files

Anyhow,
please show us the output of these commands (replace "Zeno_data_partition" with the actual path):

mount | grep Zeno_data_partition
ls -al Zeno_data_partition

Please put the results in CODE tags, just like i did up there.

BTW:

clusterF wrote:
ln -s Zeno_data_partition/program_file_folders/ /home/Zeno/

Looks potentially harmful.
Would this not symlink Zeno_data_partition/program_file_folders/ to /home/Zeno/, and not /home/Zeno/program_file_folders/?


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#17 2020-01-19 09:28:49

clusterF
Member
Registered: 2019-05-07
Posts: 539

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

ohnonot wrote:

BTW:

clusterF wrote:
ln -s Zeno_data_partition/program_file_folders/ /home/Zeno/

Looks potentially harmful.
Would this not symlink Zeno_data_partition/program_file_folders/ to /home/Zeno/, and not /home/Zeno/program_file_folders/?

Oops yes, It was just an example though (an incorrect one). Be better to make a directory in home first.

mkdir -p /home/zeno/MindmasterProgramFiles
ln -s /mnt/DATA/MindmasterProgramsFiles/* /home/zeno/MindmasterProgramFiles/

But as you say, this Mindmaster is just opaque to us, so its just a guess on my behalf. Usually when you create a data partition you have to create directories in home and chown the /mnt/data directories so they are usable, and as you say create fstab entries, as it stands im just assuming this has been done. Good tutorial here on creating a data partition https://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1609

Offline

#18 2020-01-20 07:21:57

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,624
Website

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

^ I was wrong about the linking - I think:

$ mkdir test
mkdir: created directory 'test'
$ ln -s /usr/share/ /home/ohnonot/test/
$ ls -l test
total 0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 ohnonot ohnonot 11 Jan 20 09:19 share -> /usr/share//

Last edited by ohnonot (2020-01-20 07:22:15)


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#19 2020-01-20 08:52:20

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 446

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

Zeno wrote:

Anyways after trying a lot i found those partitions and Drives in directory:

/media/(user name)/Partitions & Drives. (From software browser)

If you don't mount an partition in the file /etc/fstab, and have automunt enabled, you can access it from /media/*

Now can you tell me what to do if i want above mentioned Partitions and Drives Directly under /Home etc

You are sole user on the pc?

Open a terminal.
Create data-directory

mkdir ~/data

Open an root terminal.

run as root:

 # lsblk -f 

To list all partitions.
Copy the uuid of your datapartition.

Edit /etc/fstab

It now say someting like:

# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>       <dump> <pass>
UUID=uuid_of_rot        /             ext4      defaults        0     2
UUID=uuid_of_swap    none             swap      sw              0     0

Add your data-partition, someting like:

UUID=uuid_of_data   /home/zenor/data   ext4      defaults        0     0

Tweak the settings to what suites you.

You can also mount data at /data and symlink /data to /home/zenor/data. Or move all data from data-partion, to /home/zenor/data and delete data-partion.

More of fstab on https://wiki.debian.org/fstab and in "man fstab".

Last edited by rbh (2020-01-20 09:06:48)


// Regards rbh

Offline

#20 2020-01-20 09:03:14

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 446

Re: Cant browse Partition of the disk in a software browser

Zeno wrote:

yes MindMaster. it is provided by Edraw company.

But i ve experienced this many times with many softwares. Can it be some problem of flagging or what?


Can you be more specifik?
You have expericenced many times with many softwares that you can not access program data?

You are new to Bunsen Labs, so that involves other distrobutions / oses? Which? And which softwares.

can i flag the partition as /home after installation??

Bunsenlabs / debian, do not use flags on partition. In oldtimes, labels was used in fstab. It has been replaced with UUID.


// Regards rbh

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB