You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-16 00:40:42

momodig
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 9

I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

I'm new to linux... but with win 7
no longer supported I installed bunsen... it was so easy:)

what I'm having troubles with is installing the mud client tintin++

I get to the ./configure step... but it wont work.

ty

Offline

#2 2020-01-16 00:55:03

momodig
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 9

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

This is what happens:

momodig@LinuxMudBox:~/tt/src$ ./configure
Configuring TinTin++
checking for gcc... no
checking for cc... no
checking for cl.exe... no
configure: error: in `/home/momodig/tt/src':
configure: error: no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH
See `config.log' for more details

Offline

#3 2020-01-16 01:03:50

momodig
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 9

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

Wow I figured this out, sorry for the spam everyone, just I'm brutal with computures and the fix was so easy

Offline

#4 2020-01-16 01:04:07

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,967

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

Have you installed the build tools? There is a screen in the BL Welcome script which offers to install various applications for development. You can either run bl-welcome again, or run

sudo apt-get install build-essential

You can also use apt-get build-dep to configure necessary dependencies for your package.

BTW Welcome to the Forums. Please take a moment to have a read of the Forum Rules - Posting Style Guide. Using [ code ] tags for terminal output makes it much easier to read and scroll through wink


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#5 2020-01-16 01:05:18

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,967

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

momodig wrote:

Wow I figured this out, sorry for the spam everyone, just I'm brutal with computures and the fix was so easy

Well, if you could just say what you did, it may help others in the same situation smile


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#6 2020-01-16 01:57:26

momodig
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 9

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

I googled no acceptable #path found, then found out I need a compiler, then I sudo install a the compiler and it work - sorry I'm very new that - I can't just happened upon this by luck...  after the compiler was installed I was able to ./configure....

Another question though-is there a way to make icons/short cuts to apps and program on the desktop?

Offline

#7 2020-01-16 02:49:26

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,967

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

momodig wrote:

...
Another question though-is there a way to make icons/short cuts to apps and program on the desktop?

Getting Started

You are using a Window Manager (Openbox), not a Desktop Environment. There are workarounds I believe, but it may be easier to just install a DE and go the whole way.

One of the great things about Openbox, IMO, is that it is light and doesn't have desktop icons! If you are coming from a windoze environment then you will find that the approach to many aspects of your system is very different. BL is more hands-on than some other distros, so there are compromises between ease-of-use for newbies, and configurability and flexibility for those who like tinkering.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#8 2020-01-16 18:49:20

momodig
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 9

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

I have one other issue - but so far I'm loving this. ALT+F2 brings up a run menu.  To run my app I simply type tt++ in the X Terminal Emulator.  But when I try typing tt++ in the Alt+F2 window my app won't run... what am I doing wrong... sorry for all the silly questions... thank you

Also I'm curious is there a way to back-up everything, incase something bads happens I can do a recovery restore?
TY

Last edited by momodig (2020-01-16 20:25:11)

Offline

#9 2020-01-16 20:34:08

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,967

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

If you have other issues then please open separate help requests.

If your application is a shell command, then it needs to run in a terminal. Try

x-terminal-emulator -e 'tt++'

There is no particular installed method for doing backups. Search for apps you could use, or read up on using rsync and other commandline utilities.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#10 2020-01-16 20:38:16

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,511
Website

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

damo wrote:

read up on using rsync and other commandline utilities.

Or borg - currently featured on these forums. big_smile


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#11 2020-01-16 20:39:49

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,967

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

ohnonot wrote:
damo wrote:

read up on using rsync and other commandline utilities.

Or borg - currently featured on these forums. big_smile

Yes I know, but didn't want to create any more overload for the OP wink


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#12 2020-01-17 00:24:18

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 394

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

What is OP short for?


// Regards rbh

Offline

#13 2020-01-17 02:17:24

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,967

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

rbh wrote:

What is OP short for?

Original Post - in this case @momodig.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#14 2020-01-17 08:47:10

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 767

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

^I always thought that OP means Original Poster  tongue


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#15 2020-01-18 04:14:40

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,778
Website

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

^I get the impression it's used for both. Most of the time it doesn't matter.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#16 2020-01-21 03:41:20

momodig
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 9

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

I'll just keep this in the same thread... I just changed the terminal cut and paste options to putty which is nice... right click copys, left click pastes, but now that I can't left click i can't enter the terminal settings, how do I get around this?

Offline

#17 2020-01-21 04:21:48

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,967

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

momodig wrote:

I'll just keep this in the same thread... I just changed the terminal cut and paste options to putty which is nice... right click copys, left click pastes, but now that I can't left click i can't enter the terminal settings, how do I get around this?

Edit the config file manually, for whichever terminal you are using.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#18 2020-01-21 04:53:08

momodig
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 9

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

How do I do that? way to bring up the UI instead?

Please remember I'm new.

Offline

#19 2020-01-21 05:15:58

momodig
Member
Registered: 2020-01-16
Posts: 9

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

Figured it out, only how do I use keys to cut and paste?

Offline

#20 2020-01-21 05:41:52

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,967

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

momodig wrote:

Figured it out, only how do I use keys to cut and paste?

No idea - you don't say which terminal you are using, and what you have done to change the defaults.

And you should start another thread if you have a different issue, with a title stating the problem.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#21 2020-01-22 07:54:43

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,511
Website

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

@nomodig: your comments are really vague, you're all over the place: mostly because you keep assuming we just know the software you use, don't properly describe your problems and don't answer questions posed to you.
It sounds to me like you're using windows (putty?).

Please, donot answer this directly.

Instead read these two links:
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Troubleshooting


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#22 2020-01-22 14:58:04

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 394

Re: I'm mainly using this to play muds need help

momodig wrote:

I'm new to linux...
[...]
I'm having troubles with is installing the mud client tintin++
I get to the ./configure step... but it wont work.

Have you tried packaged version? The source-version on Git/Sourceforge, is 2.02.01.
The version in Debian oldstable (Helium) is 2.01.1-1 and Debian Stable 2.01.5-2.


// Regards rbh

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB