You are not logged in.

#1 2019-12-13 03:44:42

fredastaire
Member
Registered: 2017-06-01
Posts: 6

[Lithium] Get clipip keybindings to work

Dear bunsens,

I have a fresh instaallation of Lithium using debian buster netinstall iso, then applied lithium repo, basically following the steps provided in the 'Experimental BunsenLabs Lithium repository has been set up' sticky post. Brand new clean installation, no leftovers from previous installs here.

I'm trying to get Clipit keybinding to work (specially CTRL+ALT+P to open the menu) but no luck so far. I have tried restarting xbindkeys and also having xbindkeys killed but neither of those did the trick.

Anyone got it to work?, any pointers?.

Thanks,
Fred

Offline

#2 2019-12-13 06:13:32

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,395
Website

Re: [Lithium] Get clipip keybindings to work

xbindkeys should not be necessary for this.
Where have you registered the CTRL-ALT-P shortcut? Openbox' rc.xml or clipit's preferences?

First troubleshooting steps:
- Quit clipit, then start it from a terminal. What does it say?
- reproduce the problematic behavior. What does it say?

Offline

#3 2019-12-13 06:39:22

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,519
Website

Re: [Lithium] Get clipip keybindings to work

^BL Lithium uses xbindkeys for key-command bindings (obviously not for Openbox actions) so it's already installed.
(This is so users who migrate to a different WM can have their keybinds intact.)


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Online

#4 2019-12-27 12:38:39

fredastaire
Member
Registered: 2017-06-01
Posts: 6

Re: [Lithium] Get clipip keybindings to work

Hi guys,

Thank you for your answers and sorry for late reply.

ohnonot wrote:

xbindkeys should not be necessary for this.
Where have you registered the CTRL-ALT-P shortcut? Openbox' rc.xml or clipit's preferences?

<Ctrl><Alt>P is part of clipit's default keybindings. I haven't registered it myself there or anywhere else. Neither have I found such a key binding anywhere else (openbox, xbindkeys, etc).

ohnonot wrote:

First troubleshooting steps:
- Quit clipit, then start it from a terminal. What does it say?
- reproduce the problematic behavior. What does it say?

At startup it throws this message:

(clipit:13680): Gdk-CRITICAL **: 13:26:12.006: gdk_window_thaw_toplevel_updates: assertion 'window->update_and_descendants_freeze_count > 0' failed

Other than that, same thing happens... key binding doesnt work and nothing else is displayed in console while pressing the keys.


Interesting fact is that, regardless how it's launched, the rest of clipit's keybindings do work yikes, like for example <Ctrl><Alt>F to manage history. Furthermore, I have tried swapping the two bindings and now <Ctrl><Alt>P does work and shows the manage history window while <Ctrl><Alt>F doesnt mad.

So seems to me like a clipit bug, maybe?. What do you think?, does the 'menu' key binding work for anyone?.

Offline

#5 2019-12-27 13:32:15

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,177

Re: [Lithium] Get clipip keybindings to work

Is there another way to open the menu like clicking on a system tray icon? Try that and see if you can open a menu.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#6 2019-12-27 15:20:12

fredastaire
Member
Registered: 2017-06-01
Posts: 6

Re: [Lithium] Get clipip keybindings to work

PackRat wrote:

Is there another way to open the menu like clicking on a system tray icon? Try that and see if you can open a menu.

Yeah, sure, clicking on clipit's systray icon opens the menu just fine.

Offline

#7 2019-12-27 16:22:23

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,806

Re: [Lithium] Get clipip keybindings to work

I think it must be a clipit bug. I get the same problem, and if I change the hotkey it causes clipit to lock up, with a blank popup.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#8 2019-12-27 16:28:32

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,177

Re: [Lithium] Get clipip keybindings to work

So seems to me like a clipit bug, maybe?. What do you think?, does the 'menu' key binding work for anyone?.

Appears to be the case since you can reassign the bindings.

Which test editor/application are you using when this happens; or does it happen for every application?


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#9 2019-12-31 12:36:59

fredastaire
Member
Registered: 2017-06-01
Posts: 6

Re: [Lithium] Get clipip keybindings to work

PackRat wrote:

Which test editor/application are you using when this happens; or does it happen for every application?

It happens while focus in any application or even in the desktop with no other app running.

Next thing I wanna do is compile clipit manually and see if problem is also there or not.

I'm just unable to find some free time for that :'(

Offline

#10 2019-12-31 12:58:09

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,806

Re: [Lithium] Get clipip keybindings to work

Also note that those Control+Alt+key combos are also used by several other applications, and I have given up trying to get clipit to play nice using keybinds.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB