You are not logged in.

#1 2019-08-10 17:25:54

kes
Member
Registered: 2017-12-12
Posts: 18

tint2rc - can I place new line in "execp_tooltip" ?

within the tint2rc configuration file I currently have

execp_tooltip = Update every 2 mins.     >= 1.15 bar (green),     < 1.15 bar &  > 1.05 bar (yellow),     <= 1.05 bar (red)

However I would like this to be displayed with "/n" line breaks as shown below

Update every 2 mins as follows
>= 1.15 bar (green)
< 1.15 bar & > 1.05 bar (yellow)
<= 1.05 bar (red)

is this possible?

thanks

Last edited by kes (2019-08-10 17:28:25)

Offline

#2 2019-08-10 19:27:28

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 451
Website

Re: tint2rc - can I place new line in "execp_tooltip" ?

Remove your execp_tooltip line.

Append the following to your execp_command

 ; printf 'foo\nbar' 1>&2 

Search for execp_toolbar in tint2(1) man page for further details

Online

#3 2019-08-10 21:56:01

kes
Member
Registered: 2017-12-12
Posts: 18

Re: tint2rc - can I place new line in "execp_tooltip" ?

great - that did it thanks

Offline

#4 2019-08-11 21:22:09

kes
Member
Registered: 2017-12-12
Posts: 18

Re: tint2rc - can I place new line in "execp_tooltip" ?

that worked great for one of my laptops, but the other one shows the following as the tool tip
"Last update finished 1:28 seconds ago (took 0 secs). Next update starting in 32 secs"
How do I get rid of the above line and display the intended printf line?

Offline

#5 2019-08-12 05:06:20

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 451
Website

Re: tint2rc - can I place new line in "execp_tooltip" ?

Have you looked at the man page?

If the command itself writes to stderr, that might be the problem? (so add 2>/dev/null to command)

You may need to ‘clear’ using the character sequence specified in the man page.

Last edited by malm (2019-08-12 05:06:40)

Online

#6 2019-08-12 05:10:08

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,842
Website

Re: tint2rc - can I place new line in "execp_tooltip" ?

maybe an older version of tint2, that does not have that functionality?

tint2 --version

also show us the execp_command or the script that's behind it.

Offline

#7 2019-08-12 08:17:46

kes
Member
Registered: 2017-12-12
Posts: 18

Re: tint2rc - can I place new line in "execp_tooltip" ?

The laptop with the version of tint2 that was not working had package "tint2-improved" on it, not "tint2".

I removed tin2-improved and put  tint2 on in instead and everything now works.

Thank you

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB