You are not logged in.

#1 2019-08-04 11:08:06

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 447

BL homepage

Hi!

I saw yesterday that https://www.bunsenlabs.org had an facelift. Looks good on most browsers.

But, in Chromium and google-Chrome, some of the screenshots does not show as an thumb but as an full picture and thus placed over the text.

Last edited by rbh (2019-08-04 11:08:21)


// Regards rbh

Online

#2 2019-08-04 11:17:46

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 2,828

Re: BL homepage

Thank you very much for reporting this. I tested on Google Chrome and Chromium 76 on Arch Linux but saw no issues like you described.

Could you provide the following things: Your OS, your Chromium version, your screen size in pixels and perhaps a screenshot?

Does the behaviour change when you zoom in a lot (ctrl++ repeatedly) or zoom out by a lot (ctrl+- repeatedly or ctrl+0)?

Much obliged.


Per aspera ad astra.

Offline

#3 2019-08-05 01:34:25

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 447

Re: BL homepage

Now, on my desktop, is it only GoogleChrome that does not show as expeted.

Here is how it looks like:

www.bunsenlabs.org
(edit..., the link is: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NyVge … fXru5QrDgc )

I have two screens: 1680x1050 @ 59.88Hz, 1280x1024 @ 60.02Hz. The capture is from the left big screen.
Google Chrome Version 76.0.3809.87 (Officiell version) (64 bitar)
Chromium is Version 73.0.3683.75.

It is the same version of stable browsers on the laptop (screen 1200x800).

On the laptop, no screencap is small as a thumb. They all cover the part text! And, it is the same with bort Chrome and Chromium.

On the desktop, no change if I zoom in or out in google Chrome.
When I open homepage on the right small screen, are the pictures hidden both in Chreom and Chromium. When i zom out to 90%, the appear. But in Chrome, some of the pictures cover text. Chrome unstable (Version 77.0.3865.) does not missbehave on the desktop...

I will install unstable chrome and Chromium on the laptop later and se if that will make a change...

Last edited by rbh (2019-08-05 01:37:50)


// Regards rbh

Online

#4 2019-08-05 06:51:53

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,039
Website

Re: BL homepage

I'am assuming it's reading cached css, shift+click on refresh button fixed it here.

Offline

#5 2019-08-05 08:00:18

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 738
Website

Re: BL homepage

brontosaurusrex wrote:

I'am assuming it's reading cached css, shift+click on refresh button fixed it here.

I had the same issue on Firefox on macOS right now but indeed forcing a refresh loads the correct CSS and makes the images small.

So it's a caching issue. I need to tweak our web server HTTP cache-control headers then.

Offline

#6 2019-08-05 08:06:46

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 738
Website

Re: BL homepage

THere also is a font css bug for the leader "Helium" headline on Safari. I think I can fix this also tonight.

Offline

#7 2019-08-05 11:21:34

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 447

Re: BL homepage

brontosaurusrex wrote:

I'am assuming it's reading cached css,

Yes, it was.

Now the screenshot thumbs becomes visible when the browser windows is more than 930 px wide.
But for some reason, on smaller screens, 1024x768, the header Screenshots, and the thumbs under does not show.

Maybe, it would be better to aling header Screenshots and the thumbs; right?
On a bigger screen, with left aligning, there is a big gap betwen "Screenshots" and "Features"

Last edited by rbh (2019-08-05 11:22:05)


// Regards rbh

Online

#8 2019-08-05 14:46:53

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 738
Website

Re: BL homepage

rbh wrote:
brontosaurusrex wrote:

I'am assuming it's reading cached css,

Yes, it was.

Now the screenshot thumbs becomes visible when the browser windows is more than 930 px wide.
But for some reason, on smaller screens, 1024x768, the header Screenshots, and the thumbs under does not show.

Maybe, it would be better to aling header Screenshots and the thumbs; right?
On a bigger screen, with left aligning, there is a big gap betwen "Screenshots" and "Features"

(The site design is by me, and twoion and I are the same person.)

First part: The screenshot gallery disappearing is intentional (also reproducible when you zoom in by a lot). Ideally of course the design would be completely responsive and the information be displayed in a different way; this is not implemented. The gallery disappearing on screens that are still larger than mobile is due to the the gallery colliding with the main content right now, leading to overlap on less-wide screens and at high zoom levels. First, I'm currently thinking of making the transition smoother without hardcoding screen sizes in the CSS. Later, we could think of different ways to present the information. The CSS is already very hacky and I'm not doing this professionally, so the result may not be that aesthetic smile My compromise so far was that at least the default view looks somewhat aesthetic.

Second part: Actually, in custom CSS, it's more obvious how to float a gallery column to right edge of the screen  rather than keeping it at the left edge of the main content, the main issue being that the overall CSS is based on a row metaphor...and another idea was that the screenshot bar is not a central piece but an addon, so making it into some kind of "dock" was IMO a reasonable decision --- which is why the area between the gallery and the main text is defined by your screen size and not in absolute or relative terms. I have totally different design in petto where the thumbs are a small strip over the full width of the screen, perhaps that would work better...I'll play around with it a bit when I have time.

So a lot of the quirks of the design are actually because of my lack of CSS mastery. Thanks for your input. I'll look if I can turn them into some low-hanging fruit/improvements.

Unfortunately, due to a lack of time I won't be able to rewrite the site in a well-formed CSS framework which would take away a lot of the  limitations the current design has.

Offline

#9 2019-08-06 06:43:33

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,039
Website

Re: BL homepage

I can make some material in the Ali G style if it helps:

Distro fe all yous peeps who fink jubuntu iz govermental tin.

Download in da house. < download link

edit:

I won't be able to rewrite the site in a well-formed CSS framework which would take away a lot of the  limitations the current design has

Seriously thought, if any help is needed (and do you have the name of the framework?).

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2019-08-06 18:58:58)

Offline

#10 2019-08-07 00:09:18

cog
Cattle Baron
From: New Mexico, USA
Registered: 2015-10-27
Posts: 457
Website

Re: BL homepage

Have y’all thought about using a static site generator like Hugo?


Morning, Bunny.  Well, I can see you're in good health.  -George Washington McLintock! (John Wayne, AKA the Duke)

Online

#11 2019-08-07 06:48:17

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 2,828

Re: BL homepage

cog wrote:

Have y’all thought about using a static site generator like Hugo?

It is using a static site generator like hugo, which is pandoc. That doesn't absolve you from dealing with CSS and JS however.


Per aspera ad astra.

Offline

#12 2019-08-07 13:49:31

cog
Cattle Baron
From: New Mexico, USA
Registered: 2015-10-27
Posts: 457
Website

Re: BL homepage

Oh ok.  Thought y’all had wrote your own little home brew cms or something.


Morning, Bunny.  Well, I can see you're in good health.  -George Washington McLintock! (John Wayne, AKA the Duke)

Online

#13 2020-01-23 10:29:48

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 447

Re: BL homepage

Hi!

On https://www.bunsenlabs.org/installation.html, the text:

Then, after booting from the installation medium, you have the chance to test the Bunsen desktop and install the system to your computer.

Should be changed to type:

Then, after booting from the medium, you have the chance to test the Bunsen desktop: boot menu "Live" or install the system to your computer, or under advanced setting, choose rescue mode.

Last edited by rbh (2020-01-23 10:31:03)


// Regards rbh

Online

#14 2020-01-24 01:19:53

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,877
Website

Re: BL homepage

brontosaurusrex wrote:

I can make some material in the Ali G style if it helps:

Distro fe all yous peeps who fink jubuntu iz govermental tin.

Download in da house. < download link

*user opts out*

Ooo, me nips! I iz Ali G, me no batty boy!

---

*user downloads*

Booyakasha! Respect.

Offline

#15 2020-01-24 04:57:25

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,584
Website

Re: BL homepage

I like the update but I think that the two wide screenshots need to be at the bottom of the column.  It just looks off.

Other than that, zang!


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Online

#16 2020-01-24 05:06:14

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,584
Website

Re: BL homepage

Just noticed this on the latest Firefox (ArchLabs) too:

Screenshot_2020-01-24-BunsenLabs-Linux.png

Last edited by Dobbie03 (2020-01-24 05:06:43)


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Online

#17 2020-01-24 05:09:15

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,877
Website

Re: BL homepage

Nice volunteering there, @earlybird.

Good times...

https://www.bunsenlabs.org/img/frontpag … y/hhh2.jpg

Offline

#18 2020-01-24 17:31:20

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 2,828

Re: BL homepage

rbh wrote:

Hi!

On https://www.bunsenlabs.org/installation.html, the text:

Then, after booting from the installation medium, you have the chance to test the Bunsen desktop and install the system to your computer.

Should be changed to type:

Then, after booting from the medium, you have the chance to test the Bunsen desktop: boot menu "Live" or install the system to your computer, or under advanced setting, choose rescue mode.

Your suggestion sounds weird to me (a non-native speaker of English). The  sentence construction was not very clear, but you ended up doing things halfway as well. I think if we were to go off like that and mention the distinct entries on the bootloader screen, this should be made more explicit: When prompted, choose X to boot directly into the live session or Y to install to disk. You may choose to install to disk from within the live session also. -- something along these lines.


Per aspera ad astra.

Offline

#19 2020-01-24 17:33:23

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 2,828

Re: BL homepage

Dobbie03 wrote:

I like the update but I think that the two wide screenshots need to be at the bottom of the column.  It just looks off.

Other than that, zang!

The order is the same as in the old slide show, and that one was chosen based on a random dice roll and opinion. Not all screens are created equal, most scrots have different aspect aspect ratios or resolutions (well, most of them are not dualscreen or particularly exotic, but still), so I just squished them in there. I think in the future this gallery (except for the new leader screenshot, which will be the Lithium default desktop) is going to be even less curated (thought about dynamically creating it from the scrots posted in the current screenshot thread for a while now).

Thanks for the feedback here, will consider implementing some sort of auto-sorting or more aesthetically pleasing arrangements.


Per aspera ad astra.

Offline

#20 2020-01-24 17:56:45

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 2,828

Re: BL homepage

Dobbie03 wrote:

Just noticed this on the latest Firefox (ArchLabs) too:

https://scrot.cloud/images/2020/01/24/S … -Linux.png

Obviously a sane CSS framework was not used (which would call for a complete rewrite of everything) and these are organically growing and largely unmaintainable experiments with flexbox...

I have tried ensuring that the gap between the columns is always large enough. Not it looks slightly more ridiculous on small screen sizes I suppose but could you take a look again?

Relevant change: https://github.com/BunsenLabs/website/c … 5b00730ab0


Per aspera ad astra.

Offline

#21 2020-01-24 18:59:27

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,584
Website

Re: BL homepage

twoion wrote:

could you take a look again?

Looks much better.  Nice.


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Online

#22 2020-01-25 01:45:25

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,951
Website

Re: BL homepage

twoion wrote:

I think in the future this gallery (except for the new leader screenshot, which will be the Lithium default desktop) is going to be even less curated (thought about dynamically creating it from the scrots posted in the current screenshot thread for a while now).

Neat idea! Less work for humans (ie you) to do. Of course not all those scrots are of BL installs - I don't know if it would be worth checking the post text and only using scrots with a reference to Bunsen *Labs or BL?


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#23 2020-01-25 07:18:02

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,630
Website

Re: BL homepage

johnraff wrote:
twoion wrote:

I think in the future this gallery (except for the new leader screenshot, which will be the Lithium default desktop) is going to be even less curated (thought about dynamically creating it from the scrots posted in the current screenshot thread for a while now).

Neat idea! Less work for humans (ie you) to do. Of course not all those scrots are of BL installs - I don't know if it would be worth checking the post text and only using scrots with a reference to Bunsen *Labs or BL?

Maybe only those made with the BL screenshooter will be accepted (following a very particular file format)?
Otherwise I don't see how one could automate that safely.

Also, this brings me back to "Please link to full size screenshots!"


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#24 2020-04-02 09:02:21

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 447

Re: BL homepage

For many dists, is it possible to subscribe on release information.

A link to subscribe-form under the download list?


// Regards rbh

Online

#25 2020-04-02 10:09:51

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 2,828

Re: BL homepage

^ I have not implemented releases as a release "stream" so there is nothing to translate into a feed specifically. The only "stream" of news we have is the News & Announcements subforum:

If you prefer email: You can subscribe to the https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewforum.php?id=12 News & Announcement forum for new topics (click "subscribe" at the bottom). You will then get notifications about new topics into your email. Releases will be among them. There are no other email notification channels we support so far.

If you prefer a feed: You can subscribe to the Atom/RSS feeds https://www.bunsenlabs.org/feed/news/atom (recommended) for announcements. Releases will be among them. It is equivalent to the email notifications mentioned above (derived from the same forum). This custom Atom feed contains the original post of each announcement, which is what you will be interested in, while the standard forum feeds contain the content of the latest post in that topic, which can be from any user, so you wouldn't normally want to use the FluxBB builtin feed of the announcement subforum directly. The contents of the atom feed is the same as on the BL news section: https://www.bunsenlabs.org/news.html. You can also get the news feed as JSON: https://www.bunsenlabs.org/feed/news.


Per aspera ad astra.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB