You are not logged in.

#1 2019-05-06 14:40:19

r00t
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2019-04-18
Posts: 43

[ SOLVED ]blurry conky [not really an issue but if someone knows]

so in this screenshot you can see how it looks like conky is displaying over it's self ... it looks almost bold in some places, any one know the cause of that ?... i mean just reload fixes it .... so as a said not a an issue ...
but still wondering if something is known about the behaviour.

Last edited by r00t (2019-05-08 17:00:54)


The distance between insanity, or genus is measured only by success .

Offline

#2 2019-05-06 15:00:32

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 883

Re: [ SOLVED ]blurry conky [not really an issue but if someone knows]

pgrep -a conky | cut -d ' ' -f2-

what's the result?

Offline

#3 2019-05-06 15:16:03

linux_user
Member
Registered: 2016-11-04
Posts: 338

Re: [ SOLVED ]blurry conky [not really an issue but if someone knows]

When I restart OpenBox in between a log in session, this happens to me. I just go ahead and restart Conky at this point. You'll be asked to kill the conky before restarting, just click on OK.

Last edited by linux_user (2019-05-06 15:16:22)


"Blind faith to authority is the greatest enemy of truth."

Offline

#4 2019-05-06 15:34:09

r00t
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2019-04-18
Posts: 43

Re: [ SOLVED ]blurry conky [not really an issue but if someone knows]

unklar wrote:
pgrep -a conky | cut -d ' ' -f2-

what's the result?

this is:

~-<$ pgrep -a conky | cut -d ' ' -f2-
conky -c /home/r00t/.conkyrc
~-<$ 

this is that file conkyrc

and incase it's not clear r00t is not root ....

Last edited by r00t (2019-05-06 15:38:20)


The distance between insanity, or genus is measured only by success .

Offline

#5 2019-05-06 16:22:24

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 883

Re: [ SOLVED ]blurry conky [not really an issue but if someone knows]

r00t wrote:
pgrep -a conky | cut -d ' ' -f2-
conky -c /home/r00t/.conkyrc

is that before or after reloading?

is the autostart of the actual bl-default conky disabled? Please check:

~/.config/openbox/autostart
~/.config/conky/conky-sessionfile

Offline

#6 2019-05-06 16:36:04

r00t
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2019-04-18
Posts: 43

Re: [ SOLVED ]blurry conky [not really an issue but if someone knows]

unklar wrote:

is that before or after reloading?

hmm good question i think after actaully

unklar wrote:

is the autostart of the actual bl-default conky disabled? Please check
~/.config/openbox/autostart
~/.config/conky/conky-sessionfile

there is no bl-default refferance in ./.config/../autostart   file

the session file contains only one line

conky -c /home/r00t/.conkyrc & sleep 1s

... maybe i should point out that i just added onto your file... times and users logged in
i don't recall touching anything else if i did it would have been to disable it.

Last edited by r00t (2019-05-06 16:48:39)


The distance between insanity, or genus is measured only by success .

Offline

#7 2019-05-06 18:31:02

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 883

Re: [ SOLVED ]blurry conky [not really an issue but if someone knows]

tricky thing, I have already seen that here in the forum once...  big_smile
I will find it... 

Proceed systematically and test always only one of my suggestions (not all together).

1. change

own_windows_type = 'desktop',

to

own_windows_type = 'normal',

2. change the sleep from 1 to 3
   conky -c /home/r00t/.conkyrc & sleep 1s
   conky -c /home/r00t/.conkyrc & sleep 3s

3. check if there is an empty line at the end of .conkyrc

4. restore the original default path in BL of the .conkyrc because BL reads there first.

Offline

#8 2019-05-06 18:36:49

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 883

Re: [ SOLVED ]blurry conky [not really an issue but if someone knows]

unklar wrote:

I will find it...

I hardly said it...   tongue
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=4850
https://scrot.moe/image/9LIxW

Offline

#9 2019-05-06 19:21:07

r00t
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2019-04-18
Posts: 43

Re: [ SOLVED ]blurry conky [not really an issue but if someone knows]

unklar wrote:
unklar wrote:

I will find it...

I hardly said it...   tongue
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=4850
https://scrot.moe/image/9LIxW

sure did, I did look for it before I posted,  was looking for other words ... unreadable didn't occur to me....

in any case i am trying option one now... so now i have to wait about 14 hours now..
wait a min.. something occurs to me

so maybe nothing is wrong -- here is thing :  i run a timer for dropping caches that is smart in that it won't do it

over ~25% CPU .. just using /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches here.. it is non destructive as you all probably know,..

could it be causing an issue on a volatile system? 

if you note a screenshot disk 0B because it's ramfs..    is there perhaps something that is getting cleared by /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches, which could cause said blurry display.  i'm thinking not, but there is so much to know..

Last edited by r00t (2019-05-06 19:34:00)


The distance between insanity, or genus is measured only by success .

Offline

#10 2019-05-07 05:06:22

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,773
Website

Re: [ SOLVED ]blurry conky [not really an issue but if someone knows]

r00t wrote:

i run a timer for dropping caches that is smart in that it won't do it

over ~25% CPU .. just using /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches here.. it is non destructive as you all probably know,..

could it be causing an issue on a volatile system?

who knows. can you confirm that the conky issue goes away when you disable that?

out of curiosity, why are you doing this? it's just slowing your system down...

Offline

#11 2019-05-08 17:01:30

r00t
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2019-04-18
Posts: 43

Re: [ SOLVED ]blurry conky [not really an issue but if someone knows]

the solution was 1. change

own_windows_type = 'desktop',

to

own_windows_type = 'normal',


The distance between insanity, or genus is measured only by success .

Offline

#12 2019-05-08 17:07:55

r00t
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2019-04-18
Posts: 43

Re: [ SOLVED ]blurry conky [not really an issue but if someone knows]

ohnonot wrote:
r00t wrote:

i run a timer for dropping caches that is smart in that it won't do it

over ~25% CPU .. just using /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches here.. it is non destructive as you all probably know,..

could it be causing an issue on a volatile system?

who knows. can you confirm that the conky issue goes away when you disable that?

out of curiosity, why are you doing this? it's just slowing your system down...

and it is "smart",  no drops during use over about 25% cpu, to the slow downs are not seen.

As a note as well it was not the timer doing it..

i am building a volly system, as a guest type account that needs a usb...  it's so people can carry there custom things [home and prefs ]and install things but not touch the real system, in that it's mostly stateless [the home folder currently is not working right] .... the script is there as a safe guard to make sure the ramfs dose not max ram.. and actully no ... the system runs great and stays running great.. it works very well actully..   

i am going to host the project once it's working correctly for me ... probably on source forge ... maybe git .... if you want to have a look this is the timer files FILE(( file should be called adhoc.conf.d.tar.gz-- and contain 2 systemd files, and a bash script ))keep in mind i am still working on things, will get cleaned up a bit before i host the whole system..

Last edited by r00t (2019-05-08 17:59:34)


The distance between insanity, or genus is measured only by success .

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB