You are not logged in.

#1 2019-05-01 21:24:23

jp734
Member
Registered: 2019-05-01
Posts: 7

Two Screens - Different Backgrounds [SOLVED]

I used to be able to use two different wallpapers on my screens using nitrogen and it seem like that is not the case anymore, or is it still possible?

Before, at the bottom of the Nitrogen window, there was an option to choose monitors.

Last edited by jp734 (2019-05-02 13:06:12)

Offline

#2 2019-05-02 06:39:04

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,773
Website

Re: Two Screens - Different Backgrounds [SOLVED]

Hasn't there been some problems with nitrogen recently?
Please search the forums.

I'm sure there's other background setters that are capable of dealing with dual monitors, have you tried?

Offline

#3 2019-05-02 11:20:24

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,926
Website

Re: Two Screens - Different Backgrounds [SOLVED]

@ohnonot, there's a seemingly random bug where nitrogen --restore fails on BunsenLabs, that's the only issue I'm aware of.

The option for per-monitor wallpapers is still present in nitrogen, click the "Full Screen" button at the bottom of the window to see what screens are available.

To use feh instead...

https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 822#p84822

For multiple wallpapers using feh...

https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=657

Offline

#4 2019-05-02 11:46:08

linux_user
Member
Registered: 2016-11-04
Posts: 338

Re: Two Screens - Different Backgrounds [SOLVED]

hhh wrote:

The option for per-monitor wallpapers is still present in nitrogen, click the "Full Screen" button at the bottom of the window to see what screens are available.

Is that 'Full Screen' button only available when multiple monitors are attached? I use a single monitor and I do not see a 'Full Screen' button at the bottom.

I only have Preferences, Apply, Color choose and the Wallpaper style chooser (tile, stretch etc.) at the bottom.


"Blind faith to authority is the greatest enemy of truth."

Offline

#5 2019-05-02 12:58:58

jp734
Member
Registered: 2019-05-01
Posts: 7

Re: Two Screens - Different Backgrounds [SOLVED]

Found out by executing "nitrogen --force-setter=xinerama" brings back the option to select screens.

I also executed nitrogen on terminal without --force-setter option and this is what it gave me: "UNKNOWN ROOT WINDOW TYPE DETECTED, will attempt to set via normal X procedure

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB