You are not logged in.

#1 2019-02-25 17:58:05

schwim
Member
From: Western NC, US
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 228
Website

OS update broke my Fuse mounts

Hi there everyone!

I use fuse mounts to work on my websites but after an apt-get upgrade, my fuse mounts broke:

fuse: device not found, try 'modprobe fuse' first
schwim@schwim-vm-bl:~/.scripts$ sudo apt-get install fuse
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
fuse is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 7 not upgraded.
schwim@schwim-vm-bl:~/.scripts$ modprobe fuse
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'fuse': Operation not permitted
schwim@schwim-vm-bl:~/.scripts$

Here's the script I use for mounting the filesystem:

#!/bin/bash
    sshfs -o workaround=rename schwimsandi@scotchandiron.org:/var/www/clients/client1/web6/home/schwimsandi /home/schwim/Remote/scotchandiron.org
exit 0

What have I done and how can I fix it?  Thanks for your time!


Schw.im! A social site with an identity crisis.

Offline

#2 2019-02-25 20:24:51

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 641

Re: OS update broke my Fuse mounts

Well, first, this

schwim@schwim-vm-bl:~/.scripts$ modprobe fuse

should be run with root privileges:

schwim@schwim-vm-bl:~/.scripts$ sudo modprobe fuse

Perhaps, this will solve problem?

Last edited by iMBeCil (2019-02-25 20:25:11)


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#3 2019-02-25 20:29:11

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,773
Website

Re: OS update broke my Fuse mounts

kernel upgrade? i reboot. don't know of a better solution (tried modprobe fuse as root, it couldn't find it because pacman had already deleted the old kernel).

Offline

#4 2019-02-25 23:12:23

schwim
Member
From: Western NC, US
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 228
Website

Re: OS update broke my Fuse mounts

Hi there guys and thanks very much for the help!

Performing the command as sudo did resolve the issue.  It was odd that the issue persisted even through a reboot.

Can I ask what modprobe is doing to fuse and why it wouldn't work if the older kernel had been deleted?


Schw.im! A social site with an identity crisis.

Offline

#5 2019-02-26 09:00:29

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 641

Re: OS update broke my Fuse mounts

Glad you solved it (almost).

schwim wrote:

It was odd that the issue persisted even through a reboot.

Quite, kernel should load fuse as you (re)boot the computer. Looks like dkms, or update-initramfs, didn't do its job during apt-get upgrade. Did you notice any errors during apt-get upgrade? Anyway, perhaps reinstalling fuse will solve problem? Something like:

$ sudo apt --reinstall install fuse

WARNING: use carefully, I don't know what this command will do to your setup!

schwim wrote:

Can I ask what modprobe is doing to fuse and why it wouldn't work if the older kernel had been deleted?

Well, the modprobe simply loads the fuse kernel module to the kernel. Something which should be done automatically during the boot.


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#6 2019-02-26 18:47:05

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,773
Website

Re: OS update broke my Fuse mounts

schwim wrote:

why it wouldn't work if the older kernel had been deleted?

because the system is looking for the fuse model suitable for the kernel currently active; but that's the old kernel, and it has been deleted. that includes the fuse module.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB