You are not logged in.

#1 2015-11-07 12:09:30

Temetka
Member
From: Sol System, Western Spiral Arm
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 545

[SOLVED] conky transparency Q

Question:

When I'm in OpenBox my conky's are transparent.

When I am in KDE, they are not.

Why?

Last edited by Temetka (2015-11-11 04:36:16)


The meaning of life is to just be alive. It is so plain and so obvious
    and so simple. And yet everybody rushes aroound in a great panic
             as if it were necessary to achieve something beyond themselves.
                                                                                                             - Alan Watts

Offline

#2 2015-11-07 12:14:46

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [SOLVED] conky transparency Q

KDE controls the desktop background whereas openbox just displays the root window (nitrogen draws to this in BL).

Useful link:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … e_with_KDE

EDIT: Sorry hhh...
ops

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2015-11-07 15:25:27)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#3 2015-11-07 15:21:03

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 11,429
Website

Re: [SOLVED] conky transparency Q

Moving to Help & Support (Other).

Offline

#4 2015-11-10 00:58:22

KrunchTime
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 857

Re: [SOLVED] conky transparency Q

Hopefully Sector11 will chime in soon.  He's very knowledgeable about conky stuff.

Offline

#5 2015-11-10 07:44:50

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,375
Website

Re: [SOLVED] conky transparency Q

own_window yes
own_window_transparent yes
##############################################
# Compositing and desktop environment tips:
# Conky can play strangely when used with
# different compositors. I have found the
# following to work well, but your mileage
# may vary. Comment/uncomment to suit.
# I have highlighted what i believe suitable
# for the major distros.
##############################################
## no compositor, no desktop manager (e.g. plain openbox)
# own_window_type override
# own_window_argb_visual no

## xcompmgr, but no desktopmanager
#own_window_type override
#own_window_argb_visual yes

## UBUNTU, LINUX MINT CINNAMON
## desktop manager with compositing (e.g. unity)
#own_window_type desktop
#own_window_argb_visual yes

## LUBUNTU, XUBUNTU, LINUX MINT MATE
## desktop manager without compositing (e.g. lxde, xfce)
own_window_type override
own_window_argb_visual no
###############################################
# own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

this used to be part of the default conky in crunchbang, i have since adapted it a little.
have you tried the settings for UBUNTU?


Please use CODE tags for code.
Search youtube without a browser: repo | thread
BL quote proposals to this thread please.
my repos / my repos

Offline

#6 2015-11-10 13:52:55

unklar
Member
From: #! BL
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 1,434

Re: [SOLVED] conky transparency Q

Temetka wrote:

When I'm in OpenBox my conky's are transparent.
When I am in KDE, they are not.
Why?

When using the pseudo-transparency, a black background appears because KDE the background image is not writing in the root window, but a level above.

The remedy, for example the pakets:
feh  >>.autostart

feh --bg-scale /home/temetka/picture.jpg

or
piv  >>.conkyrc

${exec /usr/bin/qiv --root /home/temetka/picture.png}

I hope you understand my english ...   wink

Offline

#7 2015-11-11 04:35:51

Temetka
Member
From: Sol System, Western Spiral Arm
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 545

Re: [SOLVED] conky transparency Q

I solved it by adding ARGB values in.

# Use pseudo transparency with own_window?
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_argb_value 255

The meaning of life is to just be alive. It is so plain and so obvious
    and so simple. And yet everybody rushes aroound in a great panic
             as if it were necessary to achieve something beyond themselves.
                                                                                                             - Alan Watts

Offline

#8 2015-11-11 07:32:27

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,375
Website

Re: [SOLVED] conky transparency Q

unklar wrote:

When using the pseudo-transparency, a black background appears because KDE the background image is not writing in the root window, but a level above.

correct.

The remedy, for example the pakets:
feh  >>.autostart

feh --bg-scale /home/temetka/picture.jpg

this only works if picture.jpg is the same that kde uses.
but why not just use real transparency instead?

or
piv  >>.conkyrc

${exec /usr/bin/qiv --root /home/temetka/picture.png}

same question as above, plus: overkill.
this sets the background each & every time conky updates. about once a second.


Please use CODE tags for code.
Search youtube without a browser: repo | thread
BL quote proposals to this thread please.
my repos / my repos

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB