You are not logged in.

#1 2015-11-06 15:03:34

Arion58
Member
Registered: 2015-10-20
Posts: 33

macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

I am working often with LibreOffice Calc, and I have a lot of macro's to help me do the work. Recently I changed from Crunchbang to Hydrogen (clean installation). Since I did, I have the following problem:
I invoke a macro via a hot-key. The macro calls InputBox to give me the chance to enter something, e.g. a name. But this InputBox doesn't have focus. I need to click it with my mouse before I can enter something. This is very ennoying, and it wasn't like this in Crunchbang. I don't have any idea where to search for a solution. Does anybody have?

Offline

#2 2015-11-06 15:12:55

vasa1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 204

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

Arion58 wrote:

I am working often with LibreOffice Calc, and I have a lot of macro's to help me do the work. Recently I changed from Crunchbang to Hydrogen (clean installation). Since I did, I have the following problem:
I invoke a macro via a hot-key. The macro calls InputBox to give me the chance to enter something, e.g. a name. But this InputBox doesn't have focus. I need to click it with my mouse before I can enter something. This is very ennoying, and it wasn't like this in Crunchbang. I don't have any idea where to search for a solution. Does anybody have?

What about other dialog windows in LibreOffice Calc? Such as
when you go to "paste special"
or
when you press Alt+e+i+e to fill a series down
or
when you double-click on a sheet tab to rename it?

Are those windows always in focus or do you need to focus them using the mouse?

If you have the focus problem with these as well (even randomly), you may want to
click on Tools > Options > LibreOffice > View and then, for Mouse positioning, choose Dialog center.

I'm not sure this is documented clearly anywhere but I stumbled upon this "solution" and it works for me.

Last edited by vasa1 (2015-11-06 15:33:29)


Using the Openbox (3.5.2) session of Lubuntu 14.04 LTS but very interested in BL :)

Offline

#3 2015-11-06 16:09:33

Arion58
Member
Registered: 2015-10-20
Posts: 33

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

Vasa1, thank you for your reply.
I tried for "paste special" and rename sheet-tab: The upcoming windows have focus. I changed the positioning of the mouse, no effect.
A friend of mine suggested that it might be connected to the windows-manager. At login, I can choose between "Default Xsession" and "Openbox", I have the same problem for both of them.

Offline

#4 2015-11-07 08:32:26

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,436
Website

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

"Default Xsession" and "Openbox"

This two are the same, since only openbox is installed.

a. What version of libreoffice is this?
b. What hotkey(s) are you using for calc macros? (Could it be something that is already used for hydrogen openbox config?)

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2015-11-07 08:37:00)

Offline

#5 2015-11-07 09:17:10

Arion58
Member
Registered: 2015-10-20
Posts: 33

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

LibreOffice is  4.3.3.2 Build ID: 430m0(Build:2).
I use different hot-keys, such as Ctrl-X, Ctrl-Z, Ctrl-C.
With Crunchbang, it was openbox, too. But I think it is not the same version: In Hydrogen, there is a task-bar at the top left of the screen, which wasn't in Crunchbang.

Offline

#6 2015-11-07 09:36:21

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,734

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

In Preferences -> Openbox -> GUI Config Tool, in the Windows tab have you set "Focus new windows when they appear".

"Ctrl-X, Ctrl-Z, Ctrl-C" are universally used for cut, redo and copy. Remapping them to something else may well cause you difficulties with some applications.

BTW the panel at the top left is part of the Tint2 panel. Tint2 was in Crunchbang, but with a slightly different configuration.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#7 2015-11-07 10:06:12

Arion58
Member
Registered: 2015-10-20
Posts: 33

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

damo wrote:

In Preferences -> Openbox -> GUI Config Tool, in the Windows tab have you set "Focus new windows when they appear".

Yes, it is set. So far as I can see, the problem is limited to LibreOffice.

damo wrote:

"Ctrl-X, Ctrl-Z, Ctrl-C" are universally used for cut, redo and copy. Remapping them to something else may well cause you difficulties with some applications.

I am aware of this, but I use these shortcuts for many years, on different systems, I never have had problems.

Offline

#8 2015-11-07 12:39:14

vasa1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 204

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

damo wrote:

...
"Ctrl-X, Ctrl-Z, Ctrl-C" are universally used for cut, redo and copy. ...

Shouldn't redo be undo? Ctrl-Y is often for redo.


Using the Openbox (3.5.2) session of Lubuntu 14.04 LTS but very interested in BL :)

Offline

#9 2015-11-07 12:42:16

vasa1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 204

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

Arion58 wrote:

...
I am aware of this, but I use these shortcuts for many years, on different systems, I never have had problems.

And so what do you use for copying and pasting and cutting? Or do you use the mouse then?


Using the Openbox (3.5.2) session of Lubuntu 14.04 LTS but very interested in BL :)

Offline

#10 2015-11-07 13:11:41

Arion58
Member
Registered: 2015-10-20
Posts: 33

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

vasa1 wrote:
Arion58 wrote:

...
I am aware of this, but I use these shortcuts for many years, on different systems, I never have had problems.

And so what do you use for copying and pasting and cutting? Or do you use the mouse then?

Yes, I use the mouse. No problem for that, it's just where you are used to.

Offline

#11 2015-11-07 19:33:02

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,436
Website

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

There is newer version in backports, perhaps worth a shot.

 apt-cache policy libreoffice
libreoffice:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 1:4.3.3-2+deb8u2
  Version table:
     1:5.0.2-1~bpo8+1 0
        100 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ jessie-backports/main amd64 Packages
     1:4.3.3-2+deb8u2 0
        500 http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates/main amd64 Packages
     1:4.3.3-2+deb8u1 0
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ jessie/main amd64 Packages

Offline

#12 2015-11-10 10:42:58

Arion58
Member
Registered: 2015-10-20
Posts: 33

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

Sorry for the delay, I just was too busy...

brontosaurusrex wrote:

There is newer version in backports, perhaps worth a shot.

I have tried this, but it is only a new version of "libreofficekit-dev", which I don't use. Anyway, I don't think it has to do with the version of libreoffice. Under Crunchbang, I used several versions and had no problems.
BTW, I noticed that the problem doesn't appear only with macro's: When I load a file, I get a message with the question if I want to refresh the links to other files. This message doesn't have focus either, and it had under Crunchbang...

Offline

#13 2015-11-10 12:23:01

vasa1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 204

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

Can you please post the output of

grep -i mouse ~/.config/libreoffice/4/user/registrymodifications.xcu

On my system, I see this:

05:50 PM ~ $ grep -i mouse /home/vasa1/.config/libreoffice/4/user/registrymodifications.xcu
<item oor:path="/org.openoffice.Office.Common/View/Menu"><prop oor:name="FollowMouse" oor:op="fuse"><value>true</value></prop></item>
<item oor:path="/org.openoffice.Office.Common/View/Dialog"><prop oor:name="MousePositioning" oor:op="fuse"><value>1</value></prop></item>
<item oor:path="/org.openoffice.Office.Common/View/Dialog"><prop oor:name="MiddleMouseButton" oor:op="fuse"><value>2</value></prop></item>
05:50 PM ~ $ 

Last edited by vasa1 (2015-11-10 12:25:03)


Using the Openbox (3.5.2) session of Lubuntu 14.04 LTS but very interested in BL :)

Offline

#14 2015-11-10 12:41:43

Arion58
Member
Registered: 2015-10-20
Posts: 33

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

vasa1 wrote:

Can you please post the output of

grep -i mouse ~/.config/libreoffice/4/user/registrymodifications.xcu

On my system, I see this:

05:50 PM ~ $ grep -i mouse /home/vasa1/.config/libreoffice/4/user/registrymodifications.xcu
<item oor:path="/org.openoffice.Office.Common/View/Menu"><prop oor:name="FollowMouse" oor:op="fuse"><value>true</value></prop></item>
<item oor:path="/org.openoffice.Office.Common/View/Dialog"><prop oor:name="MousePositioning" oor:op="fuse"><value>1</value></prop></item>
<item oor:path="/org.openoffice.Office.Common/View/Dialog"><prop oor:name="MiddleMouseButton" oor:op="fuse"><value>2</value></prop></item>
05:50 PM ~ $ 

This is what I get:

<item oor:path="/org.openoffice.Office.Common/View/Menu"><prop oor:name="FollowMouse" oor:op="fuse"><value>true</value></prop></item>
<item oor:path="/org.openoffice.Office.Common/View/Dialog"><prop oor:name="MousePositioning" oor:op="fuse"><value>2</value></prop></item>
<item oor:path="/org.openoffice.Office.Common/View/Dialog"><prop oor:name="MiddleMouseButton" oor:op="fuse"><value>2</value></prop></item>

The only difference I can find is value "2" for MousePositioning for me, which is 1 for you.

Offline

#15 2015-11-10 12:47:34

vasa1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 204

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

Arion58 wrote:

...
The only difference I can find is value "2" for MousePositioning for me, which is 1 for you.

So why don't you try what I suggested in my first response?

Click on Tools, Options, LibreOffice, View and then, under Mouse positioning, go for Dialog Center.


Using the Openbox (3.5.2) session of Lubuntu 14.04 LTS but very interested in BL :)

Offline

#16 2015-11-10 13:10:16

Arion58
Member
Registered: 2015-10-20
Posts: 33

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

I did, before I answered you for this. It didn't help, and as I don't like this behaviour, I put it back.

Offline

#17 2016-03-07 15:26:58

Arion58
Member
Registered: 2015-10-20
Posts: 33

Re: macro-called InputBox in LibreOffice doesn't have focus

With a newer version of LibreOffice (5.0.4.2), the issue is gone.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB