You are not logged in.

#1 2018-12-16 03:28:48

shaiss
New Member
Registered: 2018-12-16
Posts: 1

Restart VINO Installer

I clicked install vino int he menu, but then acidently hit ctrl+c which closed the installer before vino was installed.  the menu thinks its installed and offers the start and stop options.  however I can't connect, so I don't think vino's actually installed.  dconf editor is, and I edit settings, but nothing else.

How can I re-run the vnc server install script?

Offline

#2 2018-12-16 04:44:14

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,920

Re: Restart VINO Installer

The installer pipemenus are mostly using basic apt-get commands. Have you tried doing it directly, using

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install vino

Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#3 2018-12-16 09:20:08

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,762
Website

Re: Restart VINO Installer

...or find the vino install script in ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml, figure out what it does (probably create some file to signify that vino is installed, so remove that file), and start again.

note to devs:
it should be possible to mark vino as installed only at the very end of the script, after a succesful apt-get install!

Online

#4 2018-12-16 15:53:21

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 640

Re: Restart VINO Installer

@OP: sometimes, it is enough to simply reinstall the package:

$ sudo apt-get install --reinstall vino

Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#5 2018-12-17 01:25:01

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,350
Website

Re: Restart VINO Installer

ohnonot wrote:

note to devs:
it should be possible to mark vino as installed only at the very end of the script, after a succesful apt-get install!

My thoughts exactly, and what I thought the script was already doing.

Checking bl-remote-desktop-pipemenu I see the test is:

if [[ -x /usr/lib/vino/vino-server ]]; then...

which would imply at least a partial install of vino.
iMBeCil's suggestion of reinstalling vino looks well worth trying.

Or maybe even

sudo apt-get purge vino
sudo apt-get install vino

Last edited by johnraff (2018-12-17 01:26:03)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB