You are not logged in.

#1 2015-11-03 18:20:43

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,059
Website

Openbox window focus

Default BL Hydrogen RC1, I occasionally open Thunar or Terminator with Iceweasel or another program already open and the new window does not get focused. It's one of several things about Openbox that drives me insane, what's the deal?

Off topic; 6 font settings for just the WM is another biggie, who's idea was that? tongue

Offline

#2 2015-11-03 18:34:00

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,006

Re: Openbox window focus

Do you have "Focus new windows when they appear", in obconf -> Windows ?


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Online

#3 2015-11-03 18:45:48

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,059
Website

Re: Openbox window focus

Of course. Like I said, it's a default RC1 setup except that I've removed pulseaudio, installed flash from Adobe and installed Audacious. The only desktop preference I've changed is to change tint2's clock from 24 to 12 hour.

I think it might be that I'm on a laptop and I could be brushing the touchpad while typing. I've added...

syndaemon -i .5 -K -t -R -d &

... to my autostart, we'll see if that solves it.

Offline

#4 2015-11-03 22:04:22

pvsage
Internal Affairs
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,433

Re: Openbox window focus

This happens on my desktop machine in both Hydeogen and Jessie/LXDE, usually if I'm opening a second or third (or fourth) terminal or file manager window and a different application has focus, e.g. if I have a terminal opened to ~/ and use F4 in PCManFM to open a terminal in the FM's current directory, the new terminal will be on top and the title bar will "flash", but I'll still need to Alt-Tab to give it focus.


Be excellent to each other, and...party on, dudes!
BunsenLabs Forum Rules
Tending and defending the Flame since 2009

Offline

#5 2015-11-03 22:37:28

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,059
Website

Re: Openbox window focus

Thanks for the feedback, pvsage. I've been using OB with syndaemon most of the day without issues, but I won't close this for several days yet.

Offline

#6 2015-11-03 23:06:27

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,006

Re: Openbox window focus

Curious - I can't reproduce this problem hmm


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Online

#7 2015-11-03 23:34:49

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,059
Website

Re: Openbox window focus

@damo, desktop or laptop? If laptop, do you experience the touchpad moving focus somewhere else? This T500 has a fairly large and sensitive touchpad, if I don't use syndaemon as I described I constantly get jumbled typing (I brush the touchpad while I'm typing, it moves the cursor and I find myself typing in the middle of another sentence somewhere else on the page).

I'm pretty sure that's my window focus issue, too.

Offline

#8 2015-11-04 00:14:52

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,006

Re: Openbox window focus

Just tried it on the laptop, with/without syndaemon, and I don't see the window focus issue. I'm away from the desktop for a few days though.


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Online

#9 2015-11-04 00:35:44

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,064

Re: Openbox window focus

@hhh - what focus policy are you using? And is the new window set to open at the mouse location?


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#10 2015-11-04 01:04:50

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,059
Website

Re: Openbox window focus

Default settings for RC1, Obconf>Windows has Focusing windows: Focus new windows... checked, Placing windows: Place windows under... unchecked.

It hasn't happened since I disabled the touchpad while typing, and it seems to occur randomly otherwise.

Offline

#11 2015-11-04 02:06:50

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,064

Re: Openbox window focus

My bad, I forgot one - ObConf --> Mouse Settings --> Focus Windows When Mouse Pointer Moves Over Them

Is that checked (basically sloppy focus enabled)?

I had a Compaq with a sensitive touchpad, the pointer would drift a bit if the heel of my thumb got close to it and the active window would lose focus. Sounds like you have a similar issue. I always configure window managers to be click-to-focus as a matter of routine now.

Last edited by PackRat (2015-11-04 02:08:22)


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#12 2015-11-04 02:25:11

tknomanzr
BL Die Hard
From: Around the Bend
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,029

Re: Openbox window focus

Yeah for laptops this make sense. I always configure the menu to click to open sub-menus for the same reason. On laptops I have a devil of a time tracing through menus.

Offline

#13 2015-11-04 09:09:35

pvsage
Internal Affairs
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,433

Re: Openbox window focus

OK, I've just confirmed, with repeatable results, what's happening on my LXDE install with two cases:
1.  LXTerminal and PCManFM are open, LXTerminal has focus; insert USB flash drive; mount dialog flashes on top of other open windows, but does not grab focus.
2.  LXTerminal and PCManFM are open, PCManFM has focus; use F4 to launch new terminal in current directory; new terminal flashes on top of other open windows, does not grab focus.
Both of these can be confusing if the new window happens to be placed directly on top of the window you were just in, which happens frequently if I have more than a couple windows already open.

Openbox config is to use "smart window placement" ("place under mouse pointer" is unchecked); "Focus new windows" is checked.  I prefer to use Alt-Tab or, if necessary, a mouse click to switch focus because I have a habit of letting my pointer fall wherever I toss the mouse over to, so I leave "Focus windows when mouse pointer is over them" unchecked.  Since I have a bog standard 3-button scrollwheel mouse, I never muck with any syndaemon settings or such.

EDIT:  I cannot recreate such behavior in Hydrogen, so I think the difference comes down to the different polkits.

Last edited by pvsage (2015-11-04 09:45:28)


Be excellent to each other, and...party on, dudes!
BunsenLabs Forum Rules
Tending and defending the Flame since 2009

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB