You are not logged in.

#1 2015-11-02 08:18:50

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,315
Website

"Exit" sub-menu?

When the latest bunsen-utilities arrives in the repo bl-exit will have command line options --suspend, --reboot etc. This makes it easy to make "exit" on the openbox menu into a submenu offering those options directly instead of opening a window with buttons.

It means fewer clicks to shutdown (of course the GUI could still be called with Win+X) but OTOH the window does provide a moment for reflection and avoids shutting down by mistake...

Opinions?


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#2 2015-11-02 08:36:42

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Offline

#3 2015-11-02 08:51:58

dolly
Miss Mixunderstand
From: /lab1
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 398

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

Sounds ok to me.


Keep BunsenLabs #!yish please.

Offline

#4 2015-11-02 09:02:29

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

I don't see what this has to do with johnraff's question.

The menu.xml you use will not work if systemd is not used as PID1 (init) and BunsenLabs is supposed to be init-agnostic (just like Debian).

@johnraff -- I prefer the dialogue box.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#5 2015-11-02 09:14:05

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

Debian is on systemd.
There are some dialog boxes here; How about a simple logout?
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=40572

Offline

#6 2015-11-02 09:16:06

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

ostrolek wrote:

Debian is on systemd.

Debian is init-agnostic and can be run using systemd, sysvint, upstart or busybox as PID1

ostrolek wrote:

There are some dialog boxes here; How about a simple logout?
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=40572

BunsenLabs already has a (very nice) logout.

Please keep your posts on-topic, thank you.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#7 2015-11-02 10:17:21

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Please keep your posts on-topic, thank you.

johnraff wrote:

It means fewer clicks to shutdown (of course the GUI could still be called with Win+X) but OTOH the window does provide a moment for reflection and avoids shutting down by mistake...

Opinions?

This has two exits http://postimg.org/image/cir8tmmfx/
The unopened (the bottom one) in the menu is the GUI exit and could be called from Win+X. The bottom exit could be taken off,  and could only called from Win+X.
This is just an opinion.

Offline

#8 2015-11-02 14:39:25

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,062
Website

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

@johnraff, so it would look something like this?

______
Lock Screen
Exit > Logout
       Suspend
       Hibernate
       Restart
       Shutdown

And that would bypass the popup window entirely? I'm fine with that, I'll continue to use Ctrl+x and arrow over to the option I want.

Just please don't do what ostrolek proposes and make our menu even longer, especially not with 2 labels whose only difference is that one has an arrow next to it.

Offline

#9 2015-11-02 14:42:19

tknomanzr
BL Die Hard
From: Around the Bend
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,029

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

I really don't mind the gui. Of course, I have now modified mine to support user switching. It is not that difficult to add the menu entries if I wanted them in the root menu. Most people who have not modified their init system have the commands available. Anyone who has modified their init system can also manage to build some menu entries.

Offline

#10 2015-11-02 14:51:26

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

hhh wrote:

Just please don't do what ostrolek proposes and make our menu even longer, especially not with 2 labels whose only difference is that one has an arrow next to it.

I am not proposing two exits, only explaining why I had two exits in that screeny to HoaS. That screeny was done exactly 2 months ago. Much water has flowed under the bridge since then. I have only one exit with the submenu.

Offline

#11 2015-11-02 15:02:55

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,062
Website

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

ostrolek wrote:

I am not proposing two exits, only explaining why I had two exits in that screeny to HoaS.

Yes.

That screeny was done exactly 2 months ago.

Yes I see.

Much water has flowed under the bridge since then.

Be quiet.

I have only one exit with the submenu.

Be quiet! I order you to be quiet!!  lol

Offline

#12 2015-11-02 16:55:38

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 704

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

@OP: I use new/separate window, and will always use it.

I'm strongly against menu approach, since it is too easy to mistakenly do a Reboot instead of a Shutdown, or vice versa. (Or other combinations.) Simply put, possible menu items are too close to each other, and one can do a wrong (and possibly catastrophic) action too easily.

As a matter of fact, once I felt very smart and do exactly this in my PekWM setup: created menu items ... and next day reverted it back to window-based approach, just because of above problem.

HTH.

Of course, you (and other devs) are free to make BL as you see fit, above is just my view of the matter.  wink


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#13 2015-11-05 08:27:42

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,315
Website

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

iMBeCil wrote:

I'm strongly against menu approach, since it is too easy to mistakenly do a Reboot instead of a Shutdown, or vice versa. (Or other combinations.) Simply put, possible menu items are too close to each other, and one can do a wrong (and possibly catastrophic) action too easily.

Since there doesn't seem to have been an overwhelming call for the dialogue box to be bypassed, and iMBeCil's point makes good sense, let's keep it. Maybe a TODO somewhere for those who want to change their menu, with a note about those bl-exit options. (Using bl-exit means that the commands still work after changing between systemd and sysvinit etc.)


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#14 2015-11-05 08:46:49

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,989
Website

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

I have been using submenu for a while and can't recall a single incident (It does provide enough reflection time imho), of course there is nothing wrong with window either.

Offline

#15 2015-11-05 09:41:58

dolly
Miss Mixunderstand
From: /lab1
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 398

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

^^Sounds ok to me.


Keep BunsenLabs #!yish please.

Offline

#16 2015-11-05 10:39:11

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 704

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

johnraff wrote:

Maybe a TODO somewhere for those who want to change their menu, with a note about those bl-exit options.

Perhaps, insert these options in menu, but commented out, so one would easily - by simply removing comment tags in menu.xml - enable them in menu.


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#17 2015-11-05 11:49:30

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,315
Website

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

^ah yes that's an idea.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#18 2015-11-05 16:39:47

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,558

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

^ +1


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Online

#19 2015-11-05 21:08:19

shadowplay
Member
From: Dublin, Ireland
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 57

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

iMBeCil wrote:

Perhaps, insert these options in menu, but commented out, so one would easily - by simply removing comment tags in menu.xml - enable them in menu.

+1 for this

Offline

#20 2015-11-06 00:53:27

dhalgren
Member
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 86

Re: "Exit" sub-menu?

I'm quite happy with it the way it is, but that doesn't mean I wouldn't like something different. e.g., CTL-x to shutdown, and CTL-something to logout... but that may be tedious.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB