You are not logged in.

#1 2018-07-05 19:00:12

verndog
Member
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 42

Thunar lost all devices

I recently remove Lightdm for an X autologin. After a reboot, Thunar no longer displays my internal partitions under devices.

Somewhere I read that xinit effects Thunar. That makes no since. Why would going from a DM to X login effect Thunar? Any ideas? thanks.

edit: I have two clones of BL. One with Lightdm, one with X autologin.

I just now disabled Lightdm, and install X autologin and sure enough Thunar lossses DEVICES.
Here are the two relevant files:

.bash_profile:

#
# ~/.bash_profile
#
[[ -f ~/.bashrc ]] && . ~/.bashrc
if [[ -z $DISPLAY ]] && [[ $(tty) = /dev/tty1 ]]; then
    exec startx -- vt1 &> /dev/null
fi

.xinit:

[[ -f ~/.Xresources ]] && xrdb -merge -I$HOME ~/.Xresources
exec openbox-session

edit2: This behavior does not happen on xfce. Only openbox.

Last edited by verndog (2018-07-05 20:06:40)

Offline

#2 2018-07-05 20:24:05

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 2,228

Re: Thunar lost all devices

Check if the dbus user session is coming up correctly, and if from your autologin session, loginctl list-sessions and loginctl show-session return something.

Nowadays, seat setup and suchlike is handled by the login manager. I suggest to turn autologin on in LightDM; it'll handly such things for you.


Im grünen Wald, dort wo die Drossel singt…

Offline

#3 2018-07-05 20:53:13

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,197
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

i don't use a display/login manager either.
i've had this for, like, ever in my ~/.xinitrc (on debian i believe it should be a different file, maybe ~/.xsession?):

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ]
then
  for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/*
  do
    [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
  done
  unset f
fi

it mostly just executes /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/50-systemd-user.sh:

#!/bin/sh

systemctl --user import-environment DISPLAY XAUTHORITY

if command -v dbus-update-activation-environment >/dev/null 2>&1; then
        dbus-update-activation-environment DISPLAY XAUTHORITY
fi

however, i see now that on bunsenlabs things look quite different...

Last edited by ohnonot (2018-07-05 20:53:52)

Offline

#4 2018-07-05 22:47:10

verndog
Member
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 42

Re: Thunar lost all devices

twoion wrote:

... I suggest to turn autologin on in LightDM; it'll handly such things for you.

I don't want to use any DM. That's the issue. Removing a DM and X autologin shouldn't effect a filemanager. It doesn't effect spacefm..

edit:pcmanfm on lxqt isn't effected either.

Last edited by verndog (2018-07-05 22:48:47)

Offline

#5 2018-07-05 22:51:08

verndog
Member
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 42

Re: Thunar lost all devices

ohnonot wrote:

i don't use a display/login manager either.
i've had this for, like, ever in my ~/.xinitrc (on debian i believe it should be a different file, maybe ~/.xsession?):

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ]
then
  for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/*
  do
    [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
  done
  unset f
fi

it mostly just executes /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/50-systemd-user.sh:

#!/bin/sh

systemctl --user import-environment DISPLAY XAUTHORITY

if command -v dbus-update-activation-environment >/dev/null 2>&1; then
        dbus-update-activation-environment DISPLAY XAUTHORITY
fi

however, i see now that on bunsenlabs things look quite different...

Now that I know what to loo for, I will look around for a solution. Thanks for the info.

Offline

#6 2018-07-06 04:48:47

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,675
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

I don't think you should need any special X startup file - if you start X with the command 'startx' then all the necessary services should be started for you by Debian's /etc/X11/Xsession.d/* files. This automatic process is often disabled if you add a custom .xinitrc etc.

BunsenLabs has a TTY login option at the grub boot screen. If you delete or rename .xinit, then run startx after the TTY login, are the devices still missing in Thunar?

Last edited by johnraff (2018-07-06 04:56:19)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#7 2018-07-06 08:26:56

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,197
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

^ that's the crucial point, if i remember HoaS's chiding correctly.

and if i remember correctly again, on debian one should use ---- but i'm really out of my debt here because this differs on archlinux.
this is what i found on the subject:
https://manpages.debian.org/stretch/xin … .1.en.html
https://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/debi … /ch-X.html

it's not the filemanager's fault, because the filemanager does not handle devices directly.
i'm pretty sure it has something to do with the dbus session.

Offline

#8 2018-07-06 21:52:46

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,106
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

Moderator, moving to BL & General Linux Discussion.

@verndog, removing lightdm results in light-locker also being removed, as well as the login/username/session-management screen, so the whole "openbox as a desktop environment" aspect of BL gets crippled. As a result, I don't think this qualifies as a "bug" in regards to what the Bugs thread is meant to be.

I have a fresh BL helium install ready, I'll test removing lightdm and report back later.

Offline

#9 2018-07-06 23:38:37

verndog
Member
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 42

Re: Thunar lost all devices

I just added Thunar to a manjaro openbox distro, and all the "DEVICES" were there, as expected. Its also running X autologin only. No DM.

edit: Its most likely the way BL is put together that warrants a DM.
edit2: I didn't pursue @johnraff suggestion. I have since remove Thunar, but I do have a backup with Thunar. I will re-install that and following his suggestion and see what comes of it.

Last edited by verndog (2018-07-06 23:42:46)

Offline

#10 2018-07-07 00:21:28

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,106
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

verndog wrote:

edit: Its most likely the way BL is put together that warrants a DM.

I don't think so. Probably something you've done, because it works for me...

1) New helium install, all packages upgraded. Logout.
2) Drop to tty1, login and...

sudo apt purge --autoremove lightdm*
sudo reboot

3) Login, startx, profit...

Screenshot_2018-07-06_20-11-52.th.png

-edit- @johnraff, there's that annoying tint2/thunar bug in action.

-edit2- @verndog, I have not enabled startx autologin, do you want me to test that too?

Offline

#11 2018-07-07 00:48:18

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,106
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

hhh wrote:

-edit2- @verndog, I have not enabled startx autologin, do you want me to test that too?

Never mind, done. At the bottom of ~/.profile, add...

if [[ ! $DISPLAY && $XDG_VTNR -eq 1 ]]; then
  exec startx
fi

Reboot, login, startx automatically runs, no change in Thunar>devices.

On my system, this saves about 30-40MB of RAM vs running lightdm/light-locker. Not worth it to me, but maybe that's enough to make a difference on a low-RAM system.

Offline

#12 2018-07-07 02:51:23

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,675
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

^This is why we added the TTY login option on the grub menu, and moved the user-setup trigger from the LightDM startup to /etc/X11/Xsession.d. It's intended to be possible to run startx and get a fully-working BL session without using a DM at all.

"that annoying tint2/thunar bug" is fixed by upgrading tint2 IIRC.

@verndog Thunar uses gvfs to display devices - could it be that you've uninstalled that?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#13 2018-07-07 02:55:03

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,675
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

Moved to "Basic Help and Support" because we do in fact support logins without a DM.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#14 2018-07-07 02:56:49

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,106
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

johnraff wrote:

"that annoying tint2/thunar bug" is fixed by upgrading tint2 IIRC.

Yes, I'm sure that's correct, I was just reminding us of the existing bug.

Offline

#15 2018-07-07 03:03:14

verndog
Member
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 42

Re: Thunar lost all devices

johnraff wrote:

^This is why we added the TTY login option on the grub menu, and moved the user-setup trigger from the LightDM startup to /etc/X11/Xsession.d. It's intended to be possible to run startx and get a fully-working BL session without using a DM at all.

"that annoying tint2/thunar bug" is fixed by upgrading tint2 IIRC.

@verndog Thunar uses gvfs to display devices - could it be that you've uninstalled that?

I just set mine up as hhh did, and thunar is ok. I think its when I make X autologin is when things go south. I'll try that next.

$ apt list gvfs
Listing... Done
gvfs/stable,now 1.30.4-1 amd64 [installed]

edit: It looks like .xinitrc is the culprit: "exec openbox-session". Now I have to figure out why or what else needs to go there.

edit2: If you go to xinit-arch-wiki, mine is set up the same way.

Last edited by verndog (2018-07-07 03:18:25)

Offline

#16 2018-07-07 03:10:33

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,106
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

johnraff wrote:

Moved to "Basic Help and Support" because we do in fact support logins without a DM.

Roger that, thanks for the correction!

Offline

#17 2018-07-07 03:10:40

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,675
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

hhh wrote:
johnraff wrote:

"that annoying tint2/thunar bug" is fixed by upgrading tint2 IIRC.

Yes, I'm sure that's correct, I was just reminding us of the existing bug.

Actually, good point. I think we pretty much decided to ship that backported tint2 by default, but nothing has been done yet. Need to ask our repomaster twoion if it would cause no problems to move our tint2 from stretch-backports into the regular helium repo, so everyone would get the upgrade.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#18 2018-07-07 08:41:48

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,197
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

verndog wrote:

I just set mine up as hhh did, and thunar is ok. I think its when I make X autologin is when things go south. I'll try that next.

$ apt list gvfs
Listing... Done
gvfs/stable,now 1.30.4-1 amd64 [installed]

edit: It looks like .xinitrc is the culprit: "exec openbox-session". Now I have to figure out why or what else needs to go there.

edit2: If you go to xinit-arch-wiki, mine is set up the same way.

johnraff and i said it in many different ways now:
you cannot do that on debian.
archwiki does not always apply.
i specifically linked you some debian resources on that topic.
did you even read my last post?
delete that ~/.xinitrc, things should start working.

Last edited by ohnonot (2018-07-07 08:44:02)

Offline

#19 2018-07-07 15:35:20

verndog
Member
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 42

Re: Thunar lost all devices

ohnonot wrote:
verndog wrote:

I just set mine up as hhh did, and thunar is ok. I think its when I make X autologin is when things go south. I'll try that next.

$ apt list gvfs
Listing... Done
gvfs/stable,now 1.30.4-1 amd64 [installed]

edit: It looks like .xinitrc is the culprit: "exec openbox-session". Now I have to figure out why or what else needs to go there.

edit2: If you go to xinit-arch-wiki, mine is set up the same way.

johnraff and i said it in many different ways now:
you cannot do that on debian.
archwiki does not always apply.
i specifically linked you some debian resources on that topic.
did you even read my last post?
delete that ~/.xinitrc, things should start working.

Your last post is confusing to say the least. xinit is NOT an arch thing.
I want X auto login. Meaning I point to BL and moments later the desktop appears. How can I be more clear. I can do that now, but thunar issue. How far off is ubuntu from debian? All ubuntu's can X auto login without effecting thunar.

edit: I have SparkyLinux installed, which is debian, with X-auto login. And thunar is unaffected. So having xinit is not the issue.

Last edited by verndog (2018-07-07 15:56:01)

Offline

#20 2018-07-07 20:07:27

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,106
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

hhh wrote:
hhh wrote:

-edit2- @verndog, I have not enabled startx autologin, do you want me to test that too?

Never mind, done. At the bottom of ~/.profile, add...

if [[ ! $DISPLAY && $XDG_VTNR -eq 1 ]]; then
  exec startx
fi

Reboot, login, startx automatically runs, no change in Thunar>devices.

On my system, this saves about 30-40MB of RAM vs running lightdm/light-locker. Not worth it to me, but maybe that's enough to make a difference on a low-RAM system.

Read what I have posted and do the same. WFM using ~/.profile. I'm sure there are other places to use that command instead, but it worked for me putting it there. And make sure you remove any other modifications to you home scripts that you've added trying to make this work.

Offline

#21 2018-07-08 07:29:02

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,197
Website

Re: Thunar lost all devices

verndog wrote:

Your last post is confusing to say the least. xinit is NOT an arch thing.
I want X auto login. Meaning I point to BL and moments later the desktop appears. How can I be more clear. I can do that now, but thunar issue. How far off is ubuntu from debian? All ubuntu's can X auto login without effecting thunar.

edit: I have SparkyLinux installed, which is debian, with X-auto login. And thunar is unaffected. So having xinit is not the issue.

please read this: https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 832#p65832

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB