You are not logged in.

#1 2018-07-02 10:30:26

wammes
Member
From: Krupka, ČR
Registered: 2018-06-23
Posts: 27
Website

screen glitches SOLVED

I have very annoying screen glitches when browsing. This happens mainly in firefox, but google chrome also shows them. Scrolling through my calibre list also shows the horizontal glitches. openSUSE Tumbleweed on my second drive shows nothing of the kind. It's crisp sharp and fast. My grahics card is an onboard GPU: Intel 2nd Generation Core.
Does anybody know what's the issue and how it can be solved. I -LOVE- my Bunsenlabs install but if I can not resolve the issue I'm forced to switch to openSUSE. (Antergos, Ubuntu, Mint are also flawless). I hope to get some help on this annoying issue.

Last edited by wammes (2018-07-02 13:54:03)

Offline

#2 2018-07-02 10:39:56

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,817
Website

Re: screen glitches SOLVED

Check compton.conf, for this old intel

backend = "glx";

seems to do the trick.

This intel

inxi -G
Graphics:  Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1200@59.95hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ironlake Desktop GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 13.0.6

Sometimes

killall compton

is a road to nirvana.

Maybe relevant https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=4986

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2018-07-02 10:41:00)

Offline

#3 2018-07-02 13:04:46

wammes
Member
From: Krupka, ČR
Registered: 2018-06-23
Posts: 27
Website

Re: screen glitches SOLVED

This is what I have running openSUSE. No glitches.

dick@arrakis:~> inxi -G

Graphics:
  Card-1: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics
  driver: i915 v: kernel
  Display: wayland server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: i915
  resolution: 1600x900~60Hz
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Mobile v: 3.3 Mesa 18.1.2

Offline

#4 2018-07-02 13:53:33

wammes
Member
From: Krupka, ČR
Registered: 2018-06-23
Posts: 27
Website

Re: screen glitches SOLVED

I just checked the Compton config from ArchLabs and in that file the vsync line is enabled. I had no issues on AL so I’m restoring my bunsenlabs image at this moment. I’m sure the issue is resolved.

EDIT: solved

Last edited by wammes (2018-07-02 14:14:32)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB