You are not logged in.

#51 2018-08-24 01:08:21

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,142
Website

Re: KDE on BL

Update... Install Dolphin file manager, then you can safely remove libpam-gnome-keyring and gnome-keyring. You might not even need to install Dolphin, but you'll need it if you want to use KDE Connect to link your Android device, it's a great feature.

-edit- Dangnabbit, I forgot. gvfs, you can remove all of it.

https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 541#p75541

Offline

#52 2018-08-24 01:39:37

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,681
Website

Re: KDE on BL

Is there a KDE equivalent to gnome-keyring? It's also a very useful feature IMO.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#53 2018-08-24 02:48:25

vasa1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 169

Re: KDE on BL

I guess that would be kwalletmanager: https://packages.ubuntu.com/bionic/kwalletmanager


Using the Openbox (3.5.2) session of Lubuntu 14.04 LTS but very interested in BL :)

Offline

#54 2018-08-24 05:32:24

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,681
Website

Re: KDE on BL

^Thanks.
Just found this:
GNOME-keyring KWallet integration?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#55 2018-08-26 15:46:31

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 544

Re: KDE on BL

johnraff wrote:

^Thanks.
Just found this:
GNOME-keyring KWallet integration?

Seems that hasn't progressed for nearly 7 years...is there a mailing list for this project as it does sound interesting to be able to "meld" KDE and Gnome.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#56 2018-08-26 23:44:44

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,142
Website

Re: KDE on BL

My KDE desktop melted (I say we take off and nuke the entire site from orbit... It's the only way to be sure) with yesterday's plasma upgrades on testing. The panel widgets didn't restart properly, right-click dekstop menu did nothing, search in klauncher and krun were dead and Enter woudn't even get recognized in them.

I was ready for it, testing has been getting on average 60 upgrades a day, and it will get even busier up til the start of the freeze, around the New Year.

I'll post back when buster is frozen.

Only way to be sure, name the movie.

exhales cigarette They can bill me!

Offline

#57 2018-08-27 02:34:53

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 544

Re: KDE on BL

hhh wrote:

My KDE desktop melted (I say we take off and nuke the entire site from orbit... It's the only way to be sure) with yesterday's plasma upgrades on testing. The panel widgets didn't restart properly, right-click dekstop menu did nothing, search in klauncher and krun were dead and Enter woudn't even get recognized in them.

I was ready for it, testing has been getting on average 60 upgrades a day, and it will get even busier up til the start of the freeze, around the New Year.

I'll post back when buster is frozen.

Only way to be sure, name the movie.

exhales cigarette They can bill me!

Kde tends to break in spectacular ways when updates come out no doubt. Wait till new updates come in to hopefully fix the issues.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#58 2018-08-27 03:10:36

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,142
Website

Re: KDE on BL

Dude, the desktop was so sweet. I can't wait for buster to hit freeze so I can try it again. smile

Offline

#59 2018-08-27 14:00:50

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,599

Re: KDE on BL

hhh wrote:

My KDE desktop melted (I say we take off and nuke the entire site from orbit... It's the only way to be sure)

Aliens?

'When in doubt, C-4' < Mithbusters

Offline

#60 2018-08-27 16:21:58

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 544

Re: KDE on BL

hhh wrote:

Dude, the desktop was so sweet. I can't wait for buster to hit freeze so I can try it again. smile

Yes it sure did look so good smile

Hopefully the next updates will resurrect it.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2018-08-27 16:22:23)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#61 2018-08-28 00:53:05

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,142
Website

Re: KDE on BL

brontosaurusrex wrote:
hhh wrote:

(I say we take off and nuke the entire site from orbit... It's the only way to be sure)

Aliens?

Ellen Ripley FTW.

Offline

#62 2018-08-29 03:17:29

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,142
Website

Offline

#63 2018-09-02 00:45:51

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,142
Website

Re: KDE on BL

hhh wrote:
DeepDayze wrote:

Is disabling the KDE auto update feature possible?

This looks like it, it's working for me...

sudo apt purge --autoremove plasma-discover

Logout.

https://packages.debian.org/sid/kde/plasma-discover

I'll confirm when the next upgrade comes through, tomorrow.

Bumping, this is a good tip.

Offline

#64 2018-09-02 00:52:03

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,142
Website

Re: KDE on BL

hhh wrote:

A small issue, it looks like installing plasma installs appstream and apt-config-icons...

https://wiki.debian.org/DEP-11
https://packages.debian.org/buster/apt-config-icons
https://packages.debian.org/buster/appstream

These packages are useful for software GUI tools, like gdebi, synaptic, plasma-discover, etc... I manage packages via the terminal. I removed appstream as it slows down apt-update a bit. I was seeing apt search for DEP-11 bunsen icons 48x48 and 64x64. Not a big deal, but I thought I should mention it.

I am really enjoying plasma's session, it has been stable and quick. I love having a real session-manager again. Logout or reboot with a program open, by default that program should open with the next session.

Bumping, a good tip.

sudo apt purge --autoremove appstream

Offline

#65 2018-09-02 02:33:30

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 544

Re: KDE on BL

hhh wrote:

Smart move as it appears that testing did not receive all the packages needed thus the mixture of versions that can cause breakage like what you had. Sid is actually pretty darn good for me as I've upgraded BL Helium install to Sid and had no issues. Of course had to watch for packages that might be removed in a dist-upgrade on Sid. KDE on Sid gets "broken" alot due to the rapid update cadence compared to a more mature WM environment like Openbox.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#66 2018-09-02 18:34:03

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,142
Website

Re: KDE on BL

@DeepDayze, thank you for starting this thread. My desktop recovery has been so much easier than it could have been, due to my notes here. The thread also spurred me to install Plasma 5.13, the greatest DE on Linux ATM. smile

Offline

#67 2018-09-02 19:28:25

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,142
Website

Re: KDE on BL

hhh wrote:
hhh wrote:
DeepDayze wrote:

Is disabling the KDE auto update feature possible?

This looks like it, it's working for me...

sudo apt purge --autoremove plasma-discover

Logout.

https://packages.debian.org/sid/kde/plasma-discover

I'll confirm when the next upgrade comes through, tomorrow.

Bumping, this is a good tip.

This saves over 200MB of desktop RAM on my 3G RAM, 64-bit system. Reboot, 750+ down to 533, streaming Pandora.

Offline

#68 2018-09-02 19:50:16

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,142
Website

Re: KDE on BL

hhh wrote:

The thread also spurred me to install Plasma 5.13, the greatest DE on Linux ATM. smile

BunsenLabs is better, nearly the same thing with less RAM and less fuss. That said, compton is dead, Wayland will be default in 8 years or so and Plasma is robust in both compositing and flexibility.

You should see the compositing, it is flipping beautiful. Open 4 windows and hit a "Show Desktop" shortcut, those things will slurp to four different corners and your brain will turn to jelly. Do it again to bring them back and your jelly-brain will turn to gruel and start to congeal.

Offline

#69 2018-09-03 01:42:32

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 544

Re: KDE on BL

I love the new Plasma so far but Wbar fails to work correctly and I can't seem to get conky working right no matter what I set in the conkyrc. I also noticed that Plasma sets the wallpaper ABOVE the root window and the root window shows in wbar and in conky. Conky window disappears no matter what is set in conkyrc. Did you get conky working correctly and how did you do that?

For now I made launchers in the panel similar to what I have in tint2 on the OB side. I could even pin commonly used apps in the Favorites (like in Windows).

Last edited by DeepDayze (2018-09-03 01:43:54)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#70 2018-09-15 02:02:14

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 544

Re: KDE on BL

OK got a nice Plasma setup on my desktop and it rocks. Still a tweak here and there and I didn't install any KDE apps as I am using Plasma as a window manager.

Pic or it didn't happen smile

Screenshot_2018-09-14_22-06-57.md.png

Last edited by DeepDayze (2018-09-15 02:19:17)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#71 2018-09-15 05:57:35

vasa1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 169

Re: KDE on BL

Why not try Latte dock instead of Wbar?

https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2018/07/lat … aring-more

I don't use it myself, the default panel along with keyboard shortcuts to launch most common applications works for me.


Using the Openbox (3.5.2) session of Lubuntu 14.04 LTS but very interested in BL :)

Offline

#72 2018-09-15 12:40:09

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 544

Re: KDE on BL

vasa1 wrote:

Why not try Latte dock instead of Wbar?

https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2018/07/lat … aring-more

I don't use it myself, the default panel along with keyboard shortcuts to launch most common applications works for me.

Thanks for that suggestion and I may end up using it and moving the taskbar to the top of the screen much like a Mac.  As for Conky  I gave up as can't seem to keep it onscreen.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2018-09-15 18:09:57)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#73 2018-09-15 15:31:03

vasa1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 169

Re: KDE on BL

I have a very tiny conky that stays on top, whether I use a wallpaper or not. This is on Kubuntu 18.04 with `conky-all/bionic,now 1.10.8-1 amd64`.

For what it's worth, the top part of my conky.conf is this:

-- vim: ts=4 sw=4 noet ai cindent syntax=lua
--[[
# Conky, a system monitor, based on torsmo
# left out ${memperc}
]]

conky.config = {
alignment = 'top_left',
background = false,
default_color = '555555',
double_buffer = true,
draw_shades = false,
extra_newline = false,
font = 'Ubuntu Mono:bold:size=14',
gap_x = 1,
gap_y = 1,
-- minimum_height = 1,
minimum_width = 400,
out_to_console = false,
out_to_stderr = false,
own_window_class = 'Conky',
own_window_hints = 'undecorated,above,sticky,skip_pager',
own_window_transparent = yes,
own_window_argb_visual = true,
own_window_argb_value = 150,
own_window = true,
own_window_type = 'normal',
short_units = true,
text_buffer_size = 256,
update_interval = 2.0,
uppercase = false,
use_spacer = 'right',
use_xft = true
}

Using the Openbox (3.5.2) session of Lubuntu 14.04 LTS but very interested in BL :)

Offline

#74 2018-09-15 16:44:48

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,142
Website

Re: KDE on BL

DeepDayze wrote:

Did you get conky working correctly and how did you do that?

Come on, boy, it's your thread. Keep up!

https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 992#p74992

@Vasa, please post or link your entire conky, I'd like to test it.

@D-Dayze, you've dist-upgraded helium to sid? Also, for posting thumbnail via scrot.moe, do the following so it can be viewed full-screen...

Monthly Screenshot thread wrote:

We recommend https://scrot.moe for image uploads. After uploading your image, click "Embed codes" and copy/paste the "Thumbnail image (linked) BBCode" at the bottom of the page, done.

To open the posted scrot thumbnail fullscreen in Firefox, scroll down to the Download icon on the right (next to Like and Share), right-click it and choose "Open Link in New Tab" to open the screenshot in a new browser tab, then switch to that tab.

Offline

#75 2018-09-15 17:34:03

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 544

Re: KDE on BL

hhh wrote:
DeepDayze wrote:

Did you get conky working correctly and how did you do that?

Come on, boy, it's your thread. Keep up!

https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 992#p74992

@Vasa, please post or link your entire conky, I'd like to test it.

@D-Dayze, you've dist-upgraded helium to sid? Also, for posting thumbnail via scrot.moe, do the following so it can be viewed full-screen...

Monthly Screenshot thread wrote:

We recommend https://scrot.moe for image uploads. After uploading your image, click "Embed codes" and copy/paste the "Thumbnail image (linked) BBCode" at the bottom of the page, done.

To open the posted scrot thumbnail fullscreen in Firefox, scroll down to the Download icon on the right (next to Like and Share), right-click it and choose "Open Link in New Tab" to open the screenshot in a new browser tab, then switch to that tab.

OK did some more work on this today and getting better smile

Pic:

Screenshot_2018-09-15_13-23-15.th.png

I also installed KSmoothDock from the KDE Store and it works well so it will replace wbar on the Plasma side.

as for the Conky I pinched it from my AntiX VM edited it a bit and here it is:

conky.config = {
-- set to yes if you want Conky to be forked in the background
	background = true,

	short_units = true,

	cpu_avg_samples = 1,
	net_avg_samples = 1,

	out_to_console = false,

-- X font when Xft is disabled, you can pick one with program xfontsel
--font 7x12
--font 6x10
--font 7x13
	font = '8x12',
--font 7x12
--font *mintsmild.se*
--font -*-*-*-*-*-*-34-*-*-*-*-*-*-*
--font -artwiz-snap-normal-r-normal-*-*-100-*-*-p-*-iso8859-1

-- Use Xft?
	use_xft = true,

-- Xft font when Xft is enabled
--xftfont gentium:size=12
--ftfont DejaVu Sans:size=10
	font = 'DejaVu Sans:bold:size=9',
--xftfont DejaVu Sans:size=9

-- Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus, pcmanfm and rox desktops)
	own_window = true,
	own_window_argb_value = 0,
	own_window_argb_visual = true,
	own_window_class = 'Conky',
	own_window_colour = '#000000',
	own_window_hints = 'undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager',
	own_window_transparent = true,
	own_window_title = 'system_conky',
	own_window_type = 'dock', -- # options are: normal/override/dock/desktop/panel

-- Text alpha when using Xft
	xftalpha = 1.0,

--on_bottom no

-- mail spool
	mail_spool = '$MAIL',

-- Update interval in seconds
	update_interval = 1,

-- Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
	double_buffer = true,

-- Minimum size of text area
	minimum_width = 5, minimum_height = 5,
	maximum_width = 180,

-- Draw shades?
	draw_shades = false,

-- Draw outlines?
	draw_outline = false,

-- Draw borders around text
	draw_borders = false,

-- Stippled borders?
	stippled_borders = 0,

-- border margins
--border_margin 10

-- border width
	border_width = 2,

-- Default colors and also border colors
	default_color = 'white',
	default_shade_color = 'white',
	default_outline_color = 'white',

	color2 = '#ffffff',
	color3 = '#ffffff',
	color4 = 'yellow',
	color8 = '#77ccff',
	color9 = '#5599cc',

-- Text alignment, other possible values are commented
-- alignment top_left
	alignment = 'top_right',
--alignment bottom_left
--alignment bottom_right

-- Gap between borders of screen and text

	gap_x = 10,
	gap_y = 20,

-- Add spaces to keep things from moving about?  This only affects certain objects.
	use_spacer = 'right',

-- Subtract file system buffers from used memory?
	no_buffers = true,

-- if_up_strictness link:  up | link | address
	if_up_strictness = 'address',

-- set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase
	uppercase = false,

-- boinc (seti) dir
-- seti_dir /opt/seti

-- Possible variables to be used:

--      Variable         Arguments                  Description                
--  acpiacadapter                     ACPI ac adapter state.                   
--  acpifan                           ACPI fan state                           
--  acpitemp                          ACPI temperature.                        
--  adt746xcpu                        CPU temperature from therm_adt746x       
--  adt746xfan                        Fan speed from therm_adt746x             
--  battery           (num)           Remaining capasity in ACPI or APM        
--                                    battery. ACPI battery number can be      
--                                    given as argument (default is BAT0).     
--  buffers                           Amount of memory buffered                
--  cached                            Amount of memory cached                  
--  color             (color)         Change drawing color to color            
--  cpu                               CPU usage in percents                    
--  cpubar            (height)        Bar that shows CPU usage, height is      
--                                    bar's height in pixels                   
--  downspeed         net             Download speed in kilobytes              
--  downspeedf        net             Download speed in kilobytes with one     
--                                    decimal                                  
--  exec              shell command   Executes a shell command and displays    
--                                    the output in torsmo. warning: this      
--                                    takes a lot more resources than other    
--                                    variables. I'd recommend coding wanted   
--                                    behaviour in C and posting a patch :-).  
--  execi             interval, shell Same as exec but with specific interval. 
--                    command         Interval can't be less than              
--                                    update_interval in configuration.        
--  fs_bar            (height), (fs)  Bar that shows how much space is used on 
--                                    a file system. height is the height in   
--                                    pixels. fs is any file on that file      
--                                    system.                                  
--  fs_free           (fs)            Free space on a file system available    
--                                    for users.                               
--  fs_free_perc      (fs)            Free percentage of space on a file       
--                                    system available for users.              
--  fs_size           (fs)            File system size                         
--  fs_used           (fs)            File system used space                   
--  hr                (height)        Horizontal line, height is the height in 
--                                    pixels                                   
--  i2c               (dev), type, n  I2C sensor from sysfs (Linux 2.6). dev   
--                                    may be omitted if you have only one I2C  
--                                    device. type is either in (or vol)       
--                                    meaning voltage, fan meaning fan or temp 
--                                    meaning temperature. n is number of the  
--                                    sensor. See /sys/bus/i2c/devices/ on     
--                                    your local computer.                     
--  kernel                            Kernel version                           
--  loadavg           (1), (2), (3)   System load average, 1 is for past 1     
--                                    minute, 2 for past 5 minutes and 3 for   
--                                    past 15 minutes.                         
--  machine                           Machine, i686 for example                
--  mails                             Mail count in mail spool. You can use    
--                                    program like fetchmail to get mails from 
--                                    some server using your favourite         
--                                    protocol. See also new_mails.            
--  mem                               Amount of memory in use                  
--  membar            (height)        Bar that shows amount of memory in use   
--  memmax                            Total amount of memory                   
--  memperc                           Percentage of memory in use              
--  new_mails                         Unread mail count in mail spool.         
--  nodename                          Hostname                                 
--  outlinecolor      (color)         Change outline color                     
--  pre_exec          shell command   Executes a shell command one time before 
--                                    torsmo displays anything and puts output 
--                                    as text.                                 
--  processes                         Total processes (sleeping and running)   
--  running_processes                 Running processes (not sleeping),        
--                                    requires Linux 2.6                       
--  shadecolor        (color)         Change shading color                     
--  stippled_hr       (space),        Stippled (dashed) horizontal line        
--                    (height)        
--  swapbar           (height)        Bar that shows amount of swap in use     
--  swap                              Amount of swap in use                    
--  swapmax                           Total amount of swap                     
--  swapperc                          Percentage of swap in use                
--  sysname                           System name, Linux for example           
--  time              (format)        Local time, see man strftime to get more 
--                                    information about format                 
--  totaldown         net             Total download, overflows at 4 GB on     
--                                    Linux with 32-bit arch and there doesn't 
--                                    seem to be a way to know how many times  
--                                    it has already done that before torsmo   
--                                    has started.                             
--  totalup           net             Total upload, this one too, may overflow 
--  updates                           Number of updates (for debugging)        
--  upspeed           net             Upload speed in kilobytes                
--  upspeedf          net             Upload speed in kilobytes with one       
--                                    decimal                                  
--  uptime                            Uptime                                   
--  uptime_short                      Uptime in a shorter format               

--  seti_prog                         Seti@home current progress
--  seti_progbar      (height)        Seti@home current progress bar
--  seti_credit                       Seti@hoome total user credit


--# antiX additives examples. Add below Text##
--#Battery examples##
--#${color}battery: ${color}$acpiacadapter, ${battery_percent BAT1}% 
--#${color}battery:${color} ${battery}
--${color}ACPI Battery: ${color}$battery
--${battery_bar 11,0}
--#Wireless example##
--${color}Wireless:
--${color}essid: ${wireless_essid wlo1}
--${color}IP:${color} ${addr wlo1}
--${color}speed: ${color} ${wireless_bitrate wlo1}
--${color}link strength: ${color} ${wireless_link_bar 7,50 wlo1}

-- stuff after 'TEXT' will be formatted on screen

};

conky.text = [[
${color3}${alignc}BunsenLabs Helium
${color8}$alignc${font DejaVu Sans:size=12}${time %I:%M}   $font
${color}${alignc}${time %a %d %b}
${color}${alignc}${exec disp=${DISPLAY#:}; disp=${disp%.[0-9]}; cat $HOME/.desktop-session/desktop-code.$disp 2>/dev/null}
${color3}${alignc}${execi 60 xdpyinfo | sed -n -r "s/^\s*dimensions:.*\s([0-9]+x[0-9]+).*/\1/p"}
${color}${alignc}$kernel
${color}${alignc}Uptime: $uptime

${color}CPU:${alignr}${color3}${cpu}${color}%
${color}Freq:${color3}${alignr}${freq}
${color}$alignr${cpugraph cpu0 30, 170 5599cc 5599cc}
${color}Disk:${alignr}${color3}${diskio}
${color}${alignr}${diskiograph 30,170 5599cc 5599cc}
${if_up eth0}${color}eth0 up: $alignr${color3} ${upspeed eth0}
${color}$alignr${upspeedgraph   enp0s25 30,170 5599cc 5599cc}
${color}eth0 down: $alignr${color3} ${downspeed eth0}
${color2}$alignr${downspeedgraph enp0s25 30,170  5599cc 5599cc}${endif}
${if_up wlo1}${color}wlo1 up: $alignr${color3} ${upspeed wlo1}
${color2}$alignr${upspeedgraph   wlo1 30,170 5599cc 5599cc}
${color}wlo1 down: $alignr${color3} ${downspeed wlo1}
${color2}$alignr${downspeedgraph wlo1 30,170 5599cc 5599cc}${endif}
${color}${alignr}${color8}Used / Total
${color}RAM:${alignr}$mem ${color3} /${color} $memmax
${color}Swap:${alignr}$swap ${color3} /${color} $swapmax
${color}/ Disk:${alignr}${fs_used /} ${color3} /${color} ${fs_size /}
${color3}${alignc}${execi 1000 persist-enabled}
${execi 1000 acpi 2>/dev/null | grep -q . && echo "Batt: "}${execi 10 acpi -b 2>/dev/null | cut -d" " -f3,4 | sed 's/,$//'}
]];

Let me know how you make out with it as I had hell getting a conky to work but the one from AntiX works.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2018-09-15 17:37:41)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB