You are not logged in.

#1 2018-05-22 08:08:27

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,669
Website

[DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

CrunchBang used to start thunar as a daemon, and prior to August 2016 BL Hydrogen did too:

## Start Thunar Daemon, if set as bl-file-manager
if [ "$(readlink -f $(which bl-file-manager))" = "$(which thunar)" ]
then
    thunar --daemon &
fi

The Arch Wiki says:

Thunar may be run in daemon mode. This has several advantages, including a faster startup for Thunar, Thunar running in the background and only opening a window when necessary (for instance, when a flash drive is inserted), and letting Thunar handle automatic mounting of removable media.

but at the time we didn't see any speed gain, or influence on automounting, so took it out.

I've been testing again, but still don't notice any difference in the time for Thunar to open its first window with or without daemonizing. (First open does take a long time, but I haven't tracked down any fix for that.) However, I do find that automounting plug-in USB devices does not work unless thunar has been started with --daemon. What might have been confusing the issue previously is that if a Thunar window is already open then automounting also might work.

Since Arch recommend it, I'm suggesting that we restore the above code to ~/.config/openbox/autostart

If anyone can confirm or deny these results, it might help us decide.

Without 'thunar --daemon &' in autostart:
Automounting works only if a Thunar window is open.

With 'thunar --daemon &' in autostart:
Automounting works even if no Thunar window is open.

No effect on Thunar startup time.
Relatively small memory use - comparable with other startup apps.

Last edited by johnraff (2018-06-20 07:14:47)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#2 2018-05-22 08:14:22

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,588

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

I can claim that automounting doesn't work if device is already connected at boot time and without --daemon in autostart.
Will test the --daemon way when I get to that specific machine. Edit: will not automount already connected devices even with --daemon.

edit2: fixed as proposed by arch wiki with an entry in autostart

# automount https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/thunar#Automounting_of_large_external_drives

udiskie -2 &

In this case the drive is bigger than 1TB, but perhaps worth testing with smaller drives as well?

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2018-05-22 19:35:31)

Offline

#3 2018-05-23 05:50:53

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

johnraff wrote:

I do find that automounting plug-in USB devices does not work unless thunar has been started with --daemon.

I've been using thunar & gvfs to automount USB sticks on the family Debian stable laptop for the last four years with no problems and no need to autostart thunar.

I will have to check with BL-He tonight but I'm pretty sure that automounts without autostart as well.

Debug your failure with

udevadm monitor

“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#4 2018-05-23 05:59:56

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,669
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

I've been using thunar & gvfs to automount USB sticks on the family Debian stable laptop for the last four years with no problems and no need to autostart thunar.

Are you sure that:
A) You have no Thunar window open when automounting takes place?
B) You're not referring to autodetection: ie the newly plugged-in device appears in Thunar's device list, but needs to be clicked to mount?
C) Thunar's daemon is not running in the background, started elsewhere?

Actually, I was living in situation B) for a long time and not finding the extra click to open the device any problem, but I find that unless the daemon is running then audio CDs will not be mounted and played automatically.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#5 2018-05-23 06:07:36

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

johnraff wrote:

A) You have no Thunar window open when automounting takes place?

Not completely sure, no, I must admit.

As I said, I will double-check with BL-He tonight but didn't we already go through this before removing the line originally?

EDIT: read the link smile

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2018-05-23 06:16:47)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#6 2018-05-23 06:18:23

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

Do we actually want thunar to automount stuff without the file manager open?

Most users will not be aware of the mounted filepath anyway and automounting is a graphical convenience — anybody using the shell to perform disk operations will know about mount(8).

EDIT: or include pmount to allow user-level device mounting without the gvfs bloat framework.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2018-05-23 06:19:48)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#7 2018-05-23 06:44:56

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,669
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Do we actually want thunar to automount stuff without the file manager open?

This is what I thought, and was quite happy with, until the other day I thought it would be nice to insert a CD and have it start playing right off. Even doing all the config in Thunar's advanced options it doesn't (seem to) work unless thunar's daemon is running. Otherwise you've got to open a media player and point it to the CD. I know at least some users would like to be able to do this.

Also, why would the Arch Wiki be advocating 'thunar --daemon' if there weren't good reasons for it?

...or include pmount to allow user-level device mounting without the gvfs bloat framework.

That's a quite different issue, and implies a fundamental shift in our device handling. I know you don't like gvfs, and I was a happy pmount user for a long time - and would happily return to it - but let's not turn a suggestion for a small tweak into more than that. Feel free to propose abandoning gvfs in a new thread if you want.

Right now BL uses Thunar-volman and gvfs, and automounting is supposed to work.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#8 2018-05-23 14:03:11

Jimbo_G
Member
From: France
Registered: 2017-05-12
Posts: 76

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

johnraff wrote:

the other day I thought it would be nice to insert a CD and have it start playing right off. Even doing all the config in Thunar's advanced options it doesn't (seem to) work unless thunar's daemon is running. Otherwise you've got to open a media player and point it to the CD. I know at least some users would like to be able to do this.

FWIW this is something I'd like to see. Even if I am slowly transferring to vinyl, I still play plenty of CDs wink

Offline

#9 2018-05-23 18:44:25

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

johnraff wrote:

I thought it would be nice to insert a CD and have it start playing right off. Even doing all the config in Thunar's advanced options it doesn't (seem to) work unless thunar's daemon is running.

OK, that sounds like a good reason to add the autostart back in.

johnraff wrote:

let's not turn a suggestion for a small tweak into more than that

No, that's not what I meant — I was presuming that automounting without opening thunar would only be needed for people who prefer the command line and in that case pmount could be added to the base system to allow for this at a user level without thunar's automounting.

johnraff wrote:

Feel free to propose abandoning gvfs in a new thread if you want

No, gvfs is a necessary evil (IMO).


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#10 2018-05-24 01:03:35

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,669
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

gvfs is a necessary evil

Looks that way:

john@helium-dev:~$ apt-cache --installed rdepends gvfs
gvfs
Reverse Depends:
  gvfs-backends
  thunar
  gvfs-fuse
  gvfs-daemons
  gvfs-common
  libgtk-3-0
  libgtk2.0-0
  gstreamer1.0-plugins-base
  file-roller
  evince

At least, doing without it would mean changing several of our default apps, and finding alternative ways of handling mounting. A quick look at htop indeed confirms that gvfs and friends are using 1.9% of my 4GB RAM between them, which would be a big chunk on a machine with less memory.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#11 2018-06-20 07:14:17

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,669
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

Restored the Thunar daemon entry to openbox/autostart in git: it will appear in the next release of bunsen-configs, although existing users will still have to add it manually.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#12 2018-06-21 02:48:33

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,093
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

Cool, thanks johnraff.

Our desktop uses less than half the RAM that GNOME uses, and 50% less of Mate's. That's acceptable to me to have everything mounting nicely the way a "real" DE does. User's can uninstall gvfs and mount manually if they're pressed for resources.

Offline

#13 2018-06-21 03:36:38

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,669
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

hhh wrote:

User's can uninstall gvfs and mount manually if they're pressed for resources.

Another topic for a tweaking How-To? One monster thread, or a collection, in "Scripts, Tutorials & Tips" or maybe in "Getting Started"?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#14 2018-06-21 04:02:05

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,093
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

johnraff wrote:
hhh wrote:

User's can uninstall gvfs and mount manually if they're pressed for resources.

Another topic for a tweaking How-To? One monster thread, or a collection, in "Scripts, Tutorials & Tips" or maybe in "Getting Started"?

Let's just deal with it case by case, or if someone is feleling froggy they can update my thread here...
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=1332

There are other existing threads on the subject. I know there's a very recent one, but I can't find it ATM.

Offline

#15 2018-07-25 07:26:17

Jimbo_G
Member
From: France
Registered: 2017-05-12
Posts: 76

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

johnraff wrote:

Restored the Thunar daemon entry to openbox/autostart in git: it will appear in the next release of bunsen-configs, although existing users will still have to add it manually.

I have added the above daemon entry to autostart. If I want to have CDs and DVDs autoplay in VLC, I also have to follow the instructions in this thread? : https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=4736

Last edited by Jimbo_G (2018-07-25 07:26:41)

Offline

#16 2018-07-25 08:12:47

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,669
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

^Yes you have to configure what Thunar is to do once it has auto-detected the CD. The instructions in that thread work for some people, at least. smile


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#17 2018-07-25 09:09:15

Jimbo_G
Member
From: France
Registered: 2017-05-12
Posts: 76

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

Okay, I'll try it out later and may post a small HowTo if it works - I don't think one exists yet...

Offline

#18 2018-07-26 08:44:21

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,669
Website

Re: [DONE]Autostart 'thunar --daemon' again?

Thanks - that would be cool.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB