You are not logged in.

#1 2018-01-15 04:16:34

tub2nut
New Member
Registered: 2018-01-15
Posts: 4

no sound on bunsenlab

I have just installed bunsenlab and just realised that no sound is working.
I have check the sound card and it is fine, please suggest what to do to mak the sound works, thanks.

Offline

#2 2018-01-15 07:02:03

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,191
Website

Re: no sound on bunsenlab

tub2nut wrote:

please suggest what to do

  1. search the bunsenlabs forums for similar problems. failing that,

  2. provide more information. see forum faq etc. on how to do that

very wild guess:
your hardware is newer than the kernel. kernel updating might help.

Last edited by ohnonot (2018-01-15 07:02:30)

Offline

#3 2018-01-15 07:02:37

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: no sound on bunsenlab

Hello and welcome to the forums smile

Please open a terminal window and run this command:

sudo update-pciids

This will let us identify your hardware — it may be that it is too new to work with BunsenLab's venerable kernel.

Once that command has run, please post the output of:

lspci -knn | grep -iA2 audio
aplay -l
cat /proc/asound/cards
amixer

There will be lots of output so please use code tags when posting.

Thanks!

EDIT: ninja'd by ohnonot cry

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2018-01-15 07:03:11)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#4 2018-01-15 08:15:13

tub2nut
New Member
Registered: 2018-01-15
Posts: 4

Re: no sound on bunsenlab

ohnonot wrote:
tub2nut wrote:

please suggest what to do

  1. search the bunsenlabs forums for similar problems. failing that,

  2. provide more information. see forum faq etc. on how to do that

very wild guess:
your hardware is newer than the kernel. kernel updating might help.

I tried searched for similar topics but it did not help

Offline

#5 2018-01-15 08:26:47

tub2nut
New Member
Registered: 2018-01-15
Posts: 4

Re: no sound on bunsenlab

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Hello and welcome to the forums smile

Please open a terminal window and run this command:

sudo update-pciids

This will let us identify your hardware — it may be that it is too new to work with BunsenLab's venerable kernel.

Once that command has run, please post the output of:

lspci -knn | grep -iA2 audio
aplay -l
cat /proc/asound/cards
amixer

There will be lots of output so please use code tags when posting.

Thanks!

EDIT: ninja'd by ohnonot cry

I am new on linux world but I figured it out. It was my stupidity. It is working fine now. However I have another issue to ask about virtual box.I want to be able to access files and folder from my host(bunsenlabs) through Windows guest. I have looked up and searched google but did not understand the guidelines given as it involves lots of command line that I did not understand. Can you please let me know how to do this the easy way, thank you.

Offline

#6 2018-01-15 10:04:52

vinzv
Member
Registered: 2017-09-12
Posts: 184
Website

Re: no sound on bunsenlab

tub2nut wrote:

I have looked up and searched google but did not understand the guidelines given as it involves lots of command line that I did not understand. Can you please let me know how to do this the easy way, thank you.

For (bi-)directional access of files with VirtuaBox you'll need so called "Guest Additions". There's quite a detailed how to here.

Offline

#7 2018-01-17 07:07:47

tub2nut
New Member
Registered: 2018-01-15
Posts: 4

Re: no sound on bunsenlab

Thanks,  I have tried follow this site before but it did not work. I have issue with the guest addition that after downloading it but it still does not show that it is there. I tried to delete it and reinstalled it but still have the same issue that virtual box does not recognize that it is there.

Offline

#8 2018-01-18 06:09:43

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,191
Website

Re: no sound on bunsenlab

you need to actually install them.
and guest additions have to be installed on hte guest, not the host.

if that still doesn't help, you need to start providing more detailed problem descriptions, what you tried, commands issued and output received etc.
please read the first link in my signature.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB