You are not logged in.

#1 2017-12-23 05:03:41

Steve
Member
Registered: 2017-01-03
Posts: 642

[Solved]Default Application Icons

This is pretty trivial but i wanted to see if i could do it.

As shown in the picture i would like the launcher icon and the taskbar icon to be the same, the text-editor icon. I know how to change the .desktop icon so that is done.

Screenshot_2017-12-23_15-50-03.png

Ive tried changing faenza icons 16/24/32 in /usr/share/icons/Faenza/apps/ by changing the geany.png icon to the desired text-editor icon with the exact sizes 16/24/32 and yet the default /geany icon still displays.

Im on arch linux btw.

Any ideas?

Last edited by Steve (2017-12-23 07:46:50)

Offline

#2 2017-12-23 06:00:03

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,773
Website

Re: [Solved]Default Application Icons

does the geany icon (the one you DON'T want) change accordingly when you change icon themes?
in that case it MUST be possible to change the icon.
have you looked at ALL sizes including scalable?
have you also looked at "Inherits" in the theme's index.theme?

Offline

#3 2017-12-23 07:44:59

Steve
Member
Registered: 2017-01-03
Posts: 642

Re: [Solved]Default Application Icons

yes the theme icon for geany changes if i use gnome icons.

I thought just changing the resolution i had the icons set at would be enough but no, i needed to change all sizes in the faenza icon apps folders, after i changed the 96x96 folder it worked!

index.theme inherits gnome,hicolor

Thanks ohnonot! Solved

Last edited by Steve (2017-12-23 07:45:31)

Offline

#4 2017-12-23 07:50:12

Steve
Member
Registered: 2017-01-03
Posts: 642

Re: [Solved]Default Application Icons

Now i should say how i did this although it is long and involved and i am sure there is an easier way.

First i copied all the icons for accessories-text-editor.png in all sizes from the apps folders in ~/.icons/Faenza/apps to my pictures folder, from there i renamed them to geany.png and copied them back overwriting the original geany.png file.

Pic or it didnt happen...

Screenshot_2017-12-23_18-54-02.md.png

Last edited by Steve (2017-12-23 07:55:38)

Offline

#5 2017-12-24 17:00:53

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,773
Website

Re: [Solved]Default Application Icons

Steve wrote:

I thought just changing the resolution i had the icons set at would be enough but no, i needed to change all sizes in the faenza icon apps folders, after i changed the 96x96 folder it worked!

this is a sort of glitch, or at least behaviour i don't agree with.
i don't think it's tint2 doing that, so i guess some gtk or other ui function defaults to some excessively LARGE icon size, only to then downscale it again...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB