You are not logged in.

#51 2017-07-24 19:26:16

bigbenaugust
Member
From: unc.edu / the 919 / KIGX
Registered: 2017-05-20
Posts: 171

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

Notifications don't seem to be working, but that is the only desktop glitch so far.


--Ben
BL / MX / Raspbian... and a whole bunch of RHEL boxes. :)

Offline

#52 2017-07-24 23:38:26

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,924
Website

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

bigbenaugust wrote:

Looks like the GRUB theme didn't make it...

Sorry, there's no Grub theme for helium yet.
Don't know what went wrong with your notifications, though - they're supposed to work.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#53 2017-07-25 00:56:00

bigbenaugust
Member
From: unc.edu / the 919 / KIGX
Registered: 2017-05-20
Posts: 171

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

johnraff wrote:

Don't know what went wrong with your notifications, though - they're supposed to work.

Actually, it's just the volume control notifications. Everything else is super.

(and this is my work machine-- it gets scanned for vulnerabilities on wednesday smile )


--Ben
BL / MX / Raspbian... and a whole bunch of RHEL boxes. :)

Offline

#54 2017-07-25 01:50:27

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,924
Website

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

Ah the volume notifications issue has been noticed. We might try replacing volumicon-alsa with pnmixer in Helium.
In fact you could gve that a try, editing openbox/autostart accordingly.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#55 2017-07-25 13:20:02

bigbenaugust
Member
From: unc.edu / the 919 / KIGX
Registered: 2017-05-20
Posts: 171

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

Just did it. That works.


--Ben
BL / MX / Raspbian... and a whole bunch of RHEL boxes. :)

Offline

#56 2017-07-26 03:59:03

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,924
Website

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

^thanks for the feedback!


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#57 2017-07-26 15:31:51

bigbenaugust
Member
From: unc.edu / the 919 / KIGX
Registered: 2017-05-20
Posts: 171

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

johnraff wrote:

^thanks for the feedback!

No problem, I vote for an official release... tomorrow. tongue


--Ben
BL / MX / Raspbian... and a whole bunch of RHEL boxes. :)

Offline

#58 2017-07-26 17:28:47

bigbenaugust
Member
From: unc.edu / the 919 / KIGX
Registered: 2017-05-20
Posts: 171

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

I think I will do the same (netinstall+nonfree FW XFCE install, with the BL repos added), then switch it to another init system for maximum amusement. wink


--Ben
BL / MX / Raspbian... and a whole bunch of RHEL boxes. :)

Offline

#59 2017-07-26 17:46:02

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,146

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

^ Now there's an OOPS! in the making.  smile

Edit: I wanted to add:  If I tried that! But had to run ...


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Online

#60 2017-07-26 23:11:16

user_bugs
Member
Registered: 2017-04-18
Posts: 15
Website

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

I have a doubt, will it be possible in the future to upgrade to stretch through the dis-upgrade or upgrade? Or in case the development for this will take time?

Offline

#61 2017-07-27 03:07:58

bigbenaugust
Member
From: unc.edu / the 919 / KIGX
Registered: 2017-05-20
Posts: 171

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

If you are on a BL Deuterium machine now (that is based on Debian Jessie), when BL Helium (based on Debian Stretch) comes out officially, it should just be a matter of updating all of your repositories in /etc/apt/sources.list and then doing an apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade. And then reconciling any differences (I understand Conky config is a point of contention for some).

But Helium is not out officially as yet. You could say it hasn't floated out yet. Or that this airship hasn't sailed yet.


--Ben
BL / MX / Raspbian... and a whole bunch of RHEL boxes. :)

Offline

#62 2017-07-27 03:14:25

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,146

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

Helium is in the hanger.  The final touches being applied and soon it will roll out on the tarmac for all to fly.


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Online

#63 2017-07-27 06:38:19

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

user_bugs wrote:

will it be possible in the future to upgrade to stretch through the dis-upgrade or upgrade?

This is undecided.

Any `dist-upgrade`s from Hydrogen/Deuterium to Helium are to be undertaken at the user's own risk, please be sure to report any issues encountered for the benefit of others.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#64 2017-07-27 07:49:00

user_bugs
Member
Registered: 2017-04-18
Posts: 15
Website

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

Good so far I'm doing normal usage, I did not try to use another method to upgrade to debian 9 I'm waiting for the community

Offline

#65 2017-07-27 15:01:33

DustyB
Member
Registered: 2017-07-02
Posts: 61

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
user_bugs wrote:

will it be possible in the future to upgrade to stretch through the dis-upgrade or upgrade?

This is undecided.

Any `dist-upgrade`s from Hydrogen/Deuterium to Helium are to be undertaken at the user's own risk, please be sure to report any issues encountered for the benefit of others.

Did a dist-upgrade on a BunsenLabs Deuterium install to Stretch everything seems to be working fine thus far ..

1. Removed BL Repositories
2. Updated Main sources.list file to reflect Stretch Repositories
3.

apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade

**Have not added BL Helium Repos yet**

Last edited by DustyB (2017-07-27 15:02:19)

Offline

#66 2017-07-29 05:36:15

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 897

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

I've done a Fools Upgrade and now running Bun-Stretch cool


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#67 2017-07-29 05:44:35

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,027

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

^ Nice one smile

NB: there have been a few changes recently, especially to the bunsen configs, which you won't see unless you copy the files to $HOME.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#68 2017-07-29 06:43:58

DustyB
Member
Registered: 2017-07-02
Posts: 61

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

**Update** the stretch upgrade caused apt to make redundant a few packages ... suck as gtk2 and gtk3 engines ... did not pay attention to this during the upgrade (my apologies) apt-get prompts to run

apt-get autoremove

so did that then installed gtk2 and gtk3 engines causing the installation of a number of xfce4 meta packages (primarily themes, fonts)

Offline

#69 2017-07-29 09:54:07

user_bugs
Member
Registered: 2017-04-18
Posts: 15
Website

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

Yesterday I had done the steps but I rebooted the system and did not call until I went to sleep sad 1gb pro air, I will wait for the final version so it will be automatically updateable with sudo apt-get dist-upgrade will it be possible right?

Offline

#70 2017-07-29 14:03:32

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 897

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

DustyB wrote:

**Update** the stretch upgrade caused apt to make redundant a few packages ... suck as gtk2 and gtk3 engines ... did not pay attention to this during the upgrade (my apologies) apt-get prompts to run

apt-get autoremove

so did that then installed gtk2 and gtk3 engines causing the installation of a number of xfce4 meta packages (primarily themes, fonts)

I did that as well, and manually reinstalled the gtk2-engines-murrine and gtk3-engines-breeze so then some themes started working again after upgrade.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#71 2017-08-02 20:32:19

bigbenaugust
Member
From: unc.edu / the 919 / KIGX
Registered: 2017-05-20
Posts: 171

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

Tap-to-click quit working in Helium and I can't figure out the right xinput options to fix things.


--Ben
BL / MX / Raspbian... and a whole bunch of RHEL boxes. :)

Offline

#72 2017-08-02 20:40:46

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

^ Copy /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/40-libinput.conf to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ and add

    Option "Tapping" "on"

in between Section & EndSection

Read `man libinput` (and `man xorg.conf`) for more.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#73 2017-08-02 20:48:32

bigbenaugust
Member
From: unc.edu / the 919 / KIGX
Registered: 2017-05-20
Posts: 171

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

Ahh, I was trying to enable it at Openbox start time with xinput and meeting with failure.
Let me try this.


--Ben
BL / MX / Raspbian... and a whole bunch of RHEL boxes. :)

Offline

#74 2017-08-02 20:56:27

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

bigbenaugust wrote:

trying to enable it at Openbox start time with xinput

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Li … figuration


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#75 2017-08-03 00:37:08

bigbenaugust
Member
From: unc.edu / the 919 / KIGX
Registered: 2017-05-20
Posts: 171

Re: Installing BunsenLabs Helium-dev

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
bigbenaugust wrote:

trying to enable it at Openbox start time with xinput

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Li … figuration

I read that, it was a matter of figuring out which bit to flip with xinput. I looked at all of the options and saw one that looked promising, but turning it on did nothing. Maybe I needed to restart X after setting the option? I will post what I was using when I get back in front of my work machine in the morning.

But creating /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ and copying that file and adding the Tapping option (then restarting X) worked great too.

I saw the method of doing it via gsettings, but I figured gsettings had no power in Openbox.

Last edited by bigbenaugust (2017-08-03 01:11:23)


--Ben
BL / MX / Raspbian... and a whole bunch of RHEL boxes. :)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB