You are not logged in.

#1 2017-02-25 14:19:24

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,016
Website

dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

Now that stretch is frozen and I have Internet access again, I'm going to dist-upgrade my main partition so I can work on the BL GTK3 themes. I thought I'd make some notes here. I use vanilla Debian and a minimal GNOME setup, so BL may vary slightly. If all goes well, and after others do the same and post their questions/issues/results, I'll move this thread to Basic Help and Support (or somewhere appropriate).

As always, I first consult the Release Notes for my architecture (i386 in my case), reading Chapters 4 and 5 IN DETAIL!

https://www.debian.org/releases/stretch/releasenotes

The Notes are clear and thorough, if you follow them everything should go fine. Just allow yourself plenty of time.

Note that they STRONGLY recommend you drop to a console (Ctrl+Alt+F1, Ctrl+Alt+F7 to return to your session or login screen) to upgrade, NOT from a desktop session! Also that you remove packages not in the Debian repos and reinstall them afterwards to avoid conflicts. Make sure that your system is fully updated before starting and that aptitude, if you use it, has no pending actions. My days with aptosid have made me a firm believer in apt-get.

Okey-dokey. Changing sources and getting ready to start, wish me luck!

Offline

#2 2017-02-25 15:08:43

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,702

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

It would be interesting to see your exact sources.list, and thanks for sharing.
I have this and running upgrade right now (Honestly I think i'd die of boredom from reading chapter 4 and 5)

deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian stretch main contrib non-free
deb-src http://httpredir.debian.org/debian stretch main contrib non-free

deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian stretch-updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://httpredir.debian.org/debian stretch-updates main contrib non-free

deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free

So far my steps:
1. new /etc/apt/sources.list
2. delete whatever was in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/
3. apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
...

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2017-02-25 15:22:39)

Offline

#3 2017-02-25 15:28:57

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

Good luck!

Just to note:

hhh wrote:

Also note that your system is fully updated and that aptitude, if you use it has no pending actions. My days with aptosid have made me a firm believer in apt-get.

Apparently, `aptitude full-upgrade` should *not* be used to attempt an upgrade from one release to the next because the "advanced" dependency resolution algorithms get all confused and may attempt to un-install the entire desktop.

Release Notes wrote:

The upgrade process for some previous releases recommended the use of aptitude for the upgrade. This tool is not recommended for upgrades from jessie to stretch.

https://www.debian.org/releases/stretch … ading-full


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#4 2017-02-25 17:03:54

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,016
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

This is taking a while (GNOME, what can I say, plus some new things I'm learning and some roadblocks). Also, lunch time. Still, getting there!

I'll post my sources when it's done, plus all my notes and stuff. I think this will help beginners tremendously.

Thanks folks!

Offline

#5 2017-02-25 17:13:11

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,702

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

Yeah, that wasn't a smooth ride, but slowly getting there.
stretch.th.png

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2017-02-25 17:44:40)

Offline

#6 2017-02-25 17:29:45

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,016
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

Screenshotfrom2017-02-2512-26-02.th.png

Lunchtime, I'll post back after. w00t!

Offline

#7 2017-02-25 19:56:04

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,016
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

My sources were fairly clean, as were my non-Debian packages, which were just Dropbox and Spotify. I disabled those two sources in /etc/apt/sources.list.d. I keep all my other sources in /etc/apt/sources.list, which looks like this now...

deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free

deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free

# stretch-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free

#deb http://http.debian.net/debian stretch-backports main contrib non-free

#deb http://pkg.bunsenlabs.org/debian bunsen-helium main
#deb http://pkg.bunsenlabs.org/debian stretch-backports main

As the Notes recommend, I logged the upgrade. So, I logged out of my session, switched to console, and ran (write down the first one as the syntax is important)...

script -t 2>~/stretch1.time -a ~/stretch1.script
sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade

Of course, the upgrade was large (I had 1466 upgradeable packages). The script command creates 2 files in your home directory, a log and a timestamp (useful to the Debian devs if you submit a bug report). If you have to reboot and continue, name the files stretch2. Reboot again, stretch3, etc...

HoaS turned me on to using apt install instead of apt-get install, you get a nice progress meter and some color! Or colour. meh. Or meuh.

As the downloaded files were being extracted (about 3 minutes for me), the upgrade paused to display messages about updated certificates and specifics of this or that package. You can use Shift+down-arrow to read them, but there are a lot, so I just pressed "q" to quit the messages and the upgrade continued.

About 15 minutes in the upgrade again paused to ask if I wanted to have services automatically restart, I used left-arrow to answer yes and continue.

Then I tripped on my power chord and it popped out of my laptop. Fun! Reboot and see what apt says. dpkg is busy?

pkill apt && sudo rm /var/lib/dpkg/lock
dpkg --reconfigure -a
sudo apt-get -f install

Up and running again.

Offline

#8 2017-02-25 20:08:05

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,016
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

apt update then showed that 96 packages could be removed and 389 were held back. I ran...

sudo apt-get --purge autoremove && sudo apt upgrade

... several times, but was stuck in a loop with the same 100 or so packages being removed and then reinstalled. So, I went ahead and ran the dist-upgrade...

sudo apt dist-upgrade

That did it, the upgrade continued. At some point it paused again, asking about a system.d config file and did I want to use the new one. Of course not, use the default answer which is to keep the old one, so just press Enter.

That was it, no more messages, no errors, just a bunch of packages that could be removed. I left those alone for now and ran

sudo reboot

Hello stretch!

Offline

#9 2017-02-25 20:10:19

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,016
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

And now I get to mess with GTK3 which is, of course, totally broken. More fun! I can't even scroll to the bottom of my extensions in gnome-tweak-tool. Probably, this GNOME session will have to be totally rebuilt, but that's my problem, isn't it? big_smile

Offline

#10 2017-02-27 19:31:27

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

I'm joining in the fun...

Decided to do a Fool's Upgrade:

# sed -i 's/jessie/stretch/' /etc/apt/sources.list
# apt update
# apt-get dist-upgrade

My sources are sub-optimal:

TheLab: ~ $ apt-cache policy 
Package files:
 100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     release a=now
 500 http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Head_on_a_Stick:/BunsenLabs/Debian_8.0/  Packages
     release o=obs://build.opensuse.org/home:Head_on_a_Stick:BunsenLabs/Debian_8.0,n=Debian_8.0,l=home:Head_on_a_Stick:BunsenLabs,c=
     origin download.opensuse.org
 500 http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable/main amd64 Packages
     release v=1.0,o=Google, Inc.,a=stable,n=stable,l=Google,c=main
     origin dl.google.com
 500 https://crawl.develz.org/debian/ crawl/0.19 i386 Packages
     release o=CDO,a=stable,n=crawl,l=CDO,c=0.19
     origin crawl.develz.org
 500 https://crawl.develz.org/debian/ crawl/0.19 amd64 Packages
     release o=CDO,a=stable,n=crawl,l=CDO,c=0.19
     origin crawl.develz.org
 100 http://pkg.bunsenlabs.org/debian/ jessie-backports/main i386 Packages
     release o=bunsenlabs,n=jessie-backports,l=bunsenlabs,c=main
     origin pkg.bunsenlabs.org
 100 http://pkg.bunsenlabs.org/debian/ jessie-backports/main amd64 Packages
     release o=bunsenlabs,n=jessie-backports,l=bunsenlabs,c=main
     origin pkg.bunsenlabs.org
 500 http://pkg.bunsenlabs.org/debian/ bunsen-hydrogen/main i386 Packages
     release o=bunsenlabs,n=bunsen-hydrogen,l=bunsenlabs,c=main
     origin pkg.bunsenlabs.org
 500 http://pkg.bunsenlabs.org/debian/ bunsen-hydrogen/main amd64 Packages
     release o=bunsenlabs,n=bunsen-hydrogen,l=bunsenlabs,c=main
     origin pkg.bunsenlabs.org
 500 http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Head_on_a_Stick:/bspwm/Debian_8.0/  Packages
     release o=obs://build.opensuse.org/home:Head_on_a_Stick:bspwm/Debian_8.0,n=Debian_8.0,l=home:Head_on_a_Stick:bspwm,c=
     origin download.opensuse.org
 500 http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Horst3180/Debian_8.0/  Packages
     release o=obs://build.opensuse.org/home:Horst3180/Debian_8.0,n=Debian_8.0,l=home:Horst3180,c=
     origin download.opensuse.org
 500 http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates/main Translation-en
 500 http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates/main i386 Packages
     release o=Debian,a=testing,n=stretch,l=Debian-Security,c=main
     origin security.debian.org
 500 http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates/main amd64 Packages
     release o=Debian,a=testing,n=stretch,l=Debian-Security,c=main
     origin security.debian.org
 500 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ stretch-backports/main Translation-en
 100 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ stretch-backports/main i386 Packages
     release o=Debian Backports,a=stretch-backports,n=stretch-backports,l=Debian Backports,c=main
     origin httpredir.debian.org
 100 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ stretch-backports/main amd64 Packages
     release o=Debian Backports,a=stretch-backports,n=stretch-backports,l=Debian Backports,c=main
     origin httpredir.debian.org
 500 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates/main Translation-en
 500 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates/main i386 Packages
     release o=Debian,a=testing-updates,n=stretch-updates,l=Debian,c=main
     origin httpredir.debian.org
 500 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates/main amd64 Packages
     release o=Debian,a=testing-updates,n=stretch-updates,l=Debian,c=main
     origin httpredir.debian.org
 500 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ stretch/main Translation-en
 500 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ stretch/main i386 Packages
     release o=Debian,a=testing,n=stretch,l=Debian,c=main
     origin httpredir.debian.org
 500 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian/ stretch/main amd64 Packages
     release o=Debian,a=testing,n=stretch,l=Debian,c=main
     origin httpredir.debian.org
Pinned packages:

Please don't try this at home folks!

I am booting the system from a btrfs snapshot so it really doesn't matter if it breaks completely.

Back in a bit...

EDIT: it upgraded and booted fine, posting this from a stretch base.

Debian is *amazing* cool

EDIT2: 4s/t\/s/t.s/' thanks martix!

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2017-06-29 06:24:10)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#11 2017-03-03 15:24:40

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,016
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

re: Themes...

As I said in the OP, I'm doing this on vanilla Debian, not BunsenLabs. I did have some BL packages installed on jessie, but I removed them before upgrading except for bunsen-keyring and bunsen-configs-build-deps (I can't remember what that was from... @damo, building an upgraded GIMP?).

That said, I've removed GNOME and installed a minimal LXDE session, so now I'm using a Bunsen-ish setup (Openbox and xfce4-notifyd come to mind).

The GTK3 and xfce4-notifyd parts of bunsen-themes are broken in stretch. For now, this is what I'm using...

Openbox theme: Bunsen

GTK2/3: ARCHLabs Bunsen GTK3 (Thank you, Dobbie03!)

Notification theme: please see this post and the following one.

I made one modification to the GTK theme... automnemonics (press Alt and keyboard shortcut letters are underlined in program menus, release and they are hidden) are enabled in the GTK3 theme only. Modify the top of ARCHLabs Bunsen GTK3/gtk-2.0/gtkrc under #Default Style so it reads like this...

# Default Style

gtk-auto-mnemonics	= 1	# Disables ugly lines under menu items

style "murrine-default" {

I believe you have to place the theme in /usr/share/themes for automnemonics to work for both GTK2 and 3 but I can't remember and am a bit busy to test ATM. wink

Scrot...
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 310#p46310

Offline

#12 2017-03-08 14:37:21

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,016
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

I've made a compatible gtk3 theme from Greybird that I like and that I can use as a template for the Bunsen Helium themes...

https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 693#p46693

I've noticed that the keyboard shortcuts for lightdm-gtk-greeter are mostly not working. Alt+F4 still brings up the Shutdown/Restart dialog, but the rest don't seem to work. They were...

  • Alt+F4 — Opens Shut Down prompt.

  • F9 — Opens Session Menu.

  • F10 — Accesses Language Menu.

  • F11 — Opens Accessibility Menu.

  • F12 — Opens Power Menu.

  • Super/Esc — Bring focus to the panel.

Offline

#13 2017-03-08 17:02:05

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 664
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

hhh wrote:

I've made a compatible gtk3 theme from Greybird that I like and that I can use as a template for the Bunsen Helium themes...

https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 693#p46693

I've noticed that the keyboard shortcuts for lightdm-gtk-greeter are mostly not working. Alt+F4 still brings up the Shutdown/Restart dialog, but the rest don't seem to work. They were...

  • Alt+F4 — Opens Shut Down prompt.

  • F9 — Opens Session Menu.

  • F10 — Accesses Language Menu.

  • F11 — Opens Accessibility Menu.

  • F12 — Opens Power Menu.

  • Super/Esc — Bring focus to the panel.

For any theme, it would be great if we do development entirely in git,  starting from the original theme, so that we have a reasonable way to track changes in the upstream theme and merge improvements back into our tree. So, even if it's a work in progress, do not hesitate to create a project repo in the BL org on Github, or twenty repos if you need them.

Offline

#14 2017-03-08 17:26:44

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,016
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

^Yes, that was my plan. I just wanted a couple of people to let me know if they saw any glaring errors, first. I'll get on it ASAP.

Installing SASS was no problem, but (again as in jessie) finding the selectors for gtk2 v. gtk3 buttons and scrollbars and then matching them with the different markups they use is time consuming as hell (over 3 hours, 20 minutes just to find the gkt3 scrollbar trough color). I haven't even attempted to figure out how to disable that annoying-as-hell-IMO behavior of the scrollbar disappearing/appearing/expanding on-hover. Gah.

I'll start a thread in development for this, too, and we can discuss the merits/demerits of Windows 95 styling (@damo, is it the color scheme?). tongue

@PackRat, thanks, those screenshots help. Never seen the scrollbars on the left, I was able to reproduce with a ~/.gtkrc-2.0 file, 'gtk-scrolled-window-placement = top-right'. Is there a setting for that in gtk3? It would be a nice tip for beginners.

Offline

#15 2017-03-08 18:02:24

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 664
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

hhh wrote:

Installing SASS was no problem, but (again as in jessie) finding the selectors for gtk2 v. gtk3 buttons and scrollbars and then matching them with the different markups they use is time consuming as hell (over 3 hours, 20 minutes just to find the gkt3 scrollbar trough color). I haven't even attempted to figure out how to disable that annoying-as-hell-IMO behavior of the scrollbar disappearing/appearing/expanding on-hover. Gah.

First-hand experience why so many good gtk2 themes haven't been ported to gtk3, or why theme maintainers refused to play the game of catch-up with gtk3 changes.

Offline

#16 2017-03-08 22:56:19

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,702

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

Just noticed rofi (possible gmrun replacement) is now in repos.

Offline

#17 2017-06-01 07:34:17

limpr
Member
Registered: 2015-10-08
Posts: 8

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

Following HoaS' example, I just did a fool's upgrade on a working system. The fresh Deuterium install two weeks ago went so smooth and effortless that I figured I could risk a reinstall.

What can I say? Shiny new software, everything seems to work. This is so cool!

Offline

#18 2017-06-28 22:19:17

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

^Today I did a foolish thing as well. Just completed a fool's upgrade!

upgrade.md.png

It did work like a charm (btw there is a typo in post #10 -> sources.list). One thing I noticed is that the mouse pointer was white, now it's black and the openbox menu was dark, now it's white (apps have some polish like mpv or spacefm; minor issues like right click does not work on conky or the conky panel became intransparent). It needs more testing, but looks nice and all in all works great so far.

Last edited by martix (2017-06-28 22:55:45)

Offline

#19 2017-06-29 01:15:42

Sector11
Tpyo Knig
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,247

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

^  Re: conky, that's because it upgraded to conky v1.10 ... grab the old conky v1.9 or HoaS's rebuild of conky v1.9 and use those, you'll get back those features in conky.


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: s12 Kernel: 3.16.0-4-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 4.8.4)
Desktop: Openbox 3.5.2 dm: (startx) Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 8

Offline

#20 2017-06-29 07:49:53

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 892
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

I don't like too v1.10 conky outputs

...also had some trouble with DVD Menu from mpv, according to mc4man they'll bring back DVD Menu support for mpv, On the stretch (stable) version mpv DVD Menu i think still missing.

Regarding SpaceFM, the latest version loads more ram usage than 0.9.4
I have tried many different GTK Themes to remove my suspicion. It seemed to me a bit more heavy than  previous versions. Whatever it is, this is my file manager.

I also passed it successfully from Debian 8 to 9 with small concerns on the apps maybe they'll be fixed on the way.


Dev1 | StartX | Openbox | Tint2 | Conky-Std
プロトタイプ: 双葉杏 (Futaba Anzu) THE iDOLM@STER、 山田 たえ (Yamada Tae) Zombieland Saga
Nothing beats peace and quiet - Tomoki Sakurai

Offline

#21 2017-07-11 11:47:39

ector1935
Member
Registered: 2017-05-03
Posts: 146

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

hi,
how remove this?
img-3.16.0-4-amd64
I did upgrade to stretch, but did not remove the old kernel, why?
edit
solved

sudo dpkg --remove linux-image-3.16.0-4-amd64 

Last edited by ector1935 (2017-07-11 13:05:51)

Offline

#22 2017-07-11 13:46:14

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 664
Website

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

ector1935 wrote:

hi,
how remove this?
img-3.16.0-4-amd64
I did upgrade to stretch, but did not remove the old kernel, why?
edit
solved

sudo dpkg --remove linux-image-3.16.0-4-amd64 
apt remove
apt-get remove

is almost always preferred for removing packages. It will also automatically remove packages which depend on the package to be removed.

Offline

#23 2017-07-14 13:39:56

Bradypus
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2016-01-12
Posts: 43

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

Hi, there!

I used the opportunity of a needed reinstall and upgraded right after it.
Almost everything looks good, but I lost the bunsen themes?

Only Raleigh seems to be available.

I tend to prefer darker themes and backgrounds, is there any idea ho to get the themes for stretch? Found no themes in the repos.

Best,


Hard(ly?) working sloth...

Offline

#24 2017-07-14 14:38:19

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,754

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

gtk is broken again, and the old themes don't work in Debian9, so remove bunsen-themes and copy them back in from the BL github helium-dev branch

Adwaita and others will work though.


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#25 2017-07-14 17:39:44

Bradypus
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2016-01-12
Posts: 43

Re: dist-upgrade jessie to stretch

damo wrote:

gtk is broken again, and the old themes don't work in Debian9, so remove bunsen-themes and copy them back in from the BL github helium-dev branch

Thanks, Damo!

This is going to be very lame, but I don't think I know what exactly to download from there or where to copy them to (I removed them using Synaptic). I did find the /usr/share/themes folder, but don't really know how to go about this.

Is there a tutorial or any other post about this somewhere?

damo wrote:

Adwaita and others will work though.

Yep, those are working fine!

Thank you for any hint.

Brad

UPDATE - (SOLVED) I erased the themes folder and pasted the contents of bunsen-themes/tree/helium-dev, which broke my openbox. I then entered with the live flashdrive I used to install Hydrogen and copied the contents of the Hydrogen themes folder onto the upgraded system. Surprisingly, it booted and the old themes are there, back and running. I can live with that, no problem at all. I like the "old" look.

Last edited by Bradypus (2017-07-14 18:38:02)


Hard(ly?) working sloth...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB