You are not logged in.

#1 2017-02-18 17:08:58

dr_iian
Member
Registered: 2017-02-02
Posts: 28
Website

Lightdm or Slimdm?

Because instead of using lightdm do not use slimdm? It's just a very curious question.

Offline

#2 2017-02-18 17:38:15

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 643

Re: Lightdm or Slimdm?

dr_iian wrote:

Because instead of using lightdm do not use slimdm? It's just a very curious question.

Because:

Arch Wiki wrote:

Warning: The SliM project has been abandoned (the project homepage is down, leaving a github mirror), and is not fully compatible with systemd, including logind sessions. Consider using a different Display manager or Xinitrc.


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#3 2017-02-18 19:15:42

dr_iian
Member
Registered: 2017-02-02
Posts: 28
Website

Re: Lightdm or Slimdm?

Ohhh )":  ....

thanks for answering

Offline

#4 2017-02-18 19:46:59

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 643

Re: Lightdm or Slimdm?

You're welcome  wink

Indeed, sadly, Slim DM development has stopped ... I liked it too ... and few people here, too.

But, now I prefer console login, and then 'startx' as a way to start the i3 WM (no DM!). I don't know should I call it the evolution or minimalism or masochism    big_smile  big_smile


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#5 2017-02-18 19:47:51

dr_iian
Member
Registered: 2017-02-02
Posts: 28
Website

Re: Lightdm or Slimdm?

xD

Last edited by dr_iian (2017-02-18 19:48:07)

Offline

#6 2017-02-20 03:43:28

paxmark1
Member
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 45

Re: Lightdm or Slimdm?

And another option is sddm.  They should be ready for Wayland when it does come. 

https://github.com/sddm/sddm
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/SDDM

It is not just for kde, lxqt uses it.  Lightdm is noticeably faster than sddm however in an old atom or old "Bobcat."

Offline

#7 2017-02-20 07:26:27

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Lightdm or Slimdm?

paxmark1 wrote:

And another option is sddm

Not in Debian jessie:

https://packages.debian.org/search?keyw … ection=all

sad

Anyway, isn't that Qt-based?

I think we're sticking with GTK, for better or for worse...

EDIT: also, I've just installed Plasma on my new Arch box and I much prefer GDM as the display manager devil

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2017-02-20 07:28:14)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#8 2017-02-20 13:02:59

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,074
Website

Re: Lightdm or Slimdm?

You mean KDM, or are you mixing GNOME and KDE?

Offline

#9 2017-02-20 13:56:16

dolly
Miss Mixunderstand
From: /lab1
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 367

Re: Lightdm or Slimdm?

iMBeCil wrote:

But, now I prefer console login, and then 'startx' as a way to start the i3 WM (no DM!). I don't know should I call it the evolution or minimalism or masochism    big_smile  big_smile

How about, common sense glasses


Keep BunsenLabs #!yish please.

Offline

#10 2017-02-20 20:47:52

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Lightdm or Slimdm?

hhh wrote:

mixing GNOME and KDE

^ This.

I seem to remember having problems with sddm back when Plasma was released and I just prefer GDM anyway — the GNOME screenlocker bugs out if any other display manager is used...


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#11 2017-02-21 08:36:18

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 643

Re: Lightdm or Slimdm?

dolly wrote:
iMBeCil wrote:

But, now I prefer console login, and then 'startx' as a way to start the i3 WM (no DM!). I don't know should I call it the evolution or minimalism or masochism    big_smile  big_smile

How about, common sense glasses

Well, I don't know about 'common', but it certainly make 'sense' ... at least to me  wink


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#12 2017-02-21 09:54:38

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 895

Re: Lightdm or Slimdm?

HoaS wrote:

EDIT: also, I've just installed Plasma on my new Arch box and I much prefer GDM as the display manager

I also remember with plasma5 and sddm only problems.
That is why I have the lightdm everywhere (arch-linux; mageia6).   big_smile

Offline

#13 2017-02-24 00:29:02

paxmark1
Member
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 45

Re: Lightdm or Slimdm?

Yeah, sddm is not in jessie, but will be in stretch.  General Linux section so I posted.  Yeah, sddm had  some definite bugs, but is coming along quite well in that regard.  It is getting stable. 

Qt is a basic part of many things.  I have not heard of any problems with calibre or sigil not playing nice with gtk2 or 3.  Those are two other programs coming to Stretch that I have used for years.   And for the things Qt that are useful for the basis of a desktop environment, kf5 tier one is pure Qt, no kde.    It is the higher tier numbers  of "kf"that involve plasma. To be blunt, it was about a decade ago that I abandoned KDE due to a bug that resurfaced in neepomuk maybe a year ago, and I have not looked back. 

I have not tried GDM.  But I believe that like sddm it is working hard on wayland support for down the road.  From what I have read lightdm and openbox have a ways to go for wayland support.  sddm and xfwm4 are being designed to work with wayland and to be agnostic to DE's.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB