You are not logged in.

#1 2016-11-06 13:04:38

icrunchbanger
Member
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 17

[SOLVED] Total freeze

Hi there.
I had this issue a couple of times. I cannot determine if it is coused by tint2 or thunar. Anyways sometime when i click on thunar icon on tint2 system freezes and i cannot recover from it. Since im using laptop only solution is hard power off by hardware button. Anybody had similar issue?

Last edited by icrunchbanger (2017-02-09 23:47:11)


Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.

Offline

#2 2016-11-06 13:45:27

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,528

Re: [SOLVED] Total freeze

Do you get the same thing happening if you click on the OpenBox menu entry for Thunar?

How is tint2 calling thunar in the systray?
Like this:

launcher_item_app = /usr/share/applications/bl-file-manager.desktop

BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#3 2016-11-06 14:28:37

icrunchbanger
Member
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] Total freeze

Sector11 wrote:

Do you get the same thing happening if you click on the OpenBox menu entry for Thunar?

How is tint2 calling thunar in the systray?
Like this:

launcher_item_app = /usr/share/applications/bl-file-manager.desktop

Never happened while calling thunar from openbox menu.

launcher_item_app = /usr/share/applications/bl-file-manager.desktop

That is the correct path.


Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.

Offline

#4 2016-11-06 16:39:27

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Total freeze

icrunchbanger wrote:

system freezes and i cannot recover from it

What exactly have you tried to recover from this "freeze"?

For example, have you tried <Ctrl>+<Alt>+F2?


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#5 2016-11-17 15:01:01

icrunchbanger
Member
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] Total freeze

Nope nothing helped.
I tried everything i could remember.
I still dont know what caused the bug. Upgrading to stretch resolved it.


Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.

Offline

#6 2016-11-17 15:08:44

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 2,485

Re: [SOLVED] Total freeze

Use SysRq to drop out of Xorg to the TTY, read what you can, then restart (sysrq+reisub). https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magic_SysRq_key. Though that should not be necessary if it's just a primitive userspace program that locks up X11.


A silent kite against the blue, blue sky

Offline

#7 2016-11-17 16:01:44

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,528

Re: [SOLVED] Total freeze

OT:  Nice link twoion, thank you!


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#8 2016-11-17 20:57:10

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Total freeze

twoion wrote:

Use SysRq to drop out of Xorg to the TTY, read what you can, then restart (sysrq+reisub). https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magic_SysRq_key.

SysRq is disabled by default in BunsenLabs.

https://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/debi … _sysrq_key

Though that should not be necessary if it's just a primitive userspace program that locks up X11.

+1

@OP: do these lockups occur if you load up the BunsenLabs ISO image and select the "live session"?


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#9 2017-02-09 23:45:52

icrunchbanger
Member
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] Total freeze

Thanks everybody for your reply. It seems that the issue was caused by tint2. After i compiled it from the source issue was resolved. Now it can be done just by installing tint2 from jessie-backports.


Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB