You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-14 01:30:08

D1screet
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 19

[Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

Hello,

I am running the latest version of bunsenlabs on my ASUS eeePC 1015CX (I know that the N2600 chip on this isn't very well supported by linux in general).

Installing and updating after installing seems to go by pretty well, however; it seems to absolutely refuse to boot if the netbook is not plugged in, and is let to run off the battery only. It seems to always hang on "A start job is running for Remount Root and Kernel F..." and won't progress further.

It was able to boot once, but then the mouse/keyboard wouldn't work on the login screen.

If I just forcibly shut it down and then boot with the netbook plugged in, everything works just fine.

Any help on what this means? Thanks.

Last edited by D1screet (2015-10-16 06:49:18)

Offline

#2 2015-10-14 04:43:58

dolly
Miss Mixunderstand
From: /lab1
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 367

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

The first thing I would check is if it is a hardware problem. The battery itself, or something with it's connectivity. If not how does it work with another OS? If it is a software problem I do not have a clue of what it could be. smile


Keep BunsenLabs #!yish please.

Offline

#3 2015-10-14 06:53:19

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,833
Website

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

hmmm.
just thinking out loud here...
if it says "a start job is running", that means that is one of the init systems issuing the message, which in turn would suggested the kernel isalready loaded.
but why on remount...
we need more info in any case. either make a photo of the screen when it hangs, or boot with power cord pugged in, and try to find the relevant bit in the logs.
i'm not sure if it's systemd issuing that message, but we have to find out what it's doing at that point.

what happens when you plug the power cord in after it starts hanging?

also see here:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/ASUS_Eee_PC

Offline

#4 2015-10-14 06:53:45

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

Does the live ISO image boot and work with the laptop unplugged?

If you boot with it plugged in and then unplug it, does it stay on?

EDIT: https://wiki.debian.org/DebianEeePC

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2015-10-14 06:58:46)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#5 2015-10-14 07:42:17

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

Check your

/etc/fstab

against the results of

sudo blkid

to see whether the UUIDs are the same. If not, correct the fstab. This is a grub problem--systemd is trying to start a job, but goes on a loop--if it persists re-install BL.

Last edited by nobody0 (2015-10-14 07:43:51)

Offline

#6 2015-10-14 08:16:58

dolly
Miss Mixunderstand
From: /lab1
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 367

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

Oooops sorry, seems that I misuderstood the whole problem ops Can I blame the early hour I read it?  hmm


Keep BunsenLabs #!yish please.

Offline

#7 2015-10-14 12:27:26

D1screet
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

Thanks for all the replies guys, I really appreciate the help. I'll be looking into all of your suggestions today and coming back with some (hopefully positive) results and pictures.

So here is what I know already:

I defaulted back to Lubuntu 15.04 for now, and it seems to handle booting both with and without a power cord just fine, so I don't quite think it's particularly a hardware issue where the battery isn't connected well or is dead.

I haven't tried trying to connect the power cord after it hangs on boot, but I have tried removing the power cord AFTER booting and it works... until the next time I try to boot it, it hangs again, regardless of whether it's plugged in or not. But after that first hang, subsequent boots while plugged in seem to work just fine.

Oh, and don't worry about misunderstanding the whole problem, I appreciate the help regardless.

Offline

#8 2015-10-14 21:16:09

D1screet
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

So here's an update on what I've found:

Booting off of a live image on my USB proved to work just fine without having to plug in my netbook:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4MIYoZJKhuI

I then installed bl onto the netbook and opened up /etc/fstab and here is what I found:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=bba4e38e-7ed6-4e11-8ec4-7f421d7eae12 /               ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=b0981dc3-abe8-40ad-a861-7b7b6396842e none            swap    sw              0       0

This was also the output on sudo blkid:

/dev/sda5: UUID="b0981dc3-abe8-40ad-a861-7b7b6396842e" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="fa6e7ee3-05"
/dev/sda1: UUID="bba4e38e-7ed6-4e11-8ec4-7f421d7eae12" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="fa6e7ee3-01"

Not quite sure what this means, since the UUIDs seem to match up.

Second, when I tried to record a boot sequence WHILE plugged in, I came across this behavior, which was pretty much close to if not the exact same behavior as the unplugged netbook refusing to boot:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CFhaxK6wlHA

This time I actually did notice that it was saying something in particular about the UUID b0981, but still not sure what it means at the moment. It kinda hung like this for a while, and I let it keep going until it finally resumed the rest of the sequence (not shown in video) and landed on the login page... only for the keyboard and mouse to not function.

Any ideas? Thanks a bunch for the help!

EDIT: bit of formatting

Last edited by D1screet (2015-10-14 21:16:42)

Offline

#9 2015-10-14 23:10:28

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,074
Website

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

It timed out before I could see what happened (1 min. 1 sec., what happens after 1:30?) I haven't seen the call trace, but the cron job of a minute and a half is probably the network failing. You're using the default network-manager/nm-applet setup?

Offline

#10 2015-10-14 23:17:30

D1screet
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

I'd assume that I'm currently using the default network-manager/nm-applet setup; there wasn't anything that I had changed about the setup after the fresh install other than going through the update scripts.

Sometimes, when it reaches 1:30, it'll spit out something about timing out and then loop right back to the same spot; other times, it'll sort of continue the regular boot sequence but won't allow me to use the mouse/keyboard at the login screen.

Offline

#11 2015-10-14 23:22:11

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,008

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

I've seen that error when installing to a new partition and setting up a new swap partition. If I boot back into the original one, there will be a mismatch with the swap UUIDs in fstab, but it carries on booting up after the 1m30s.

I get the swap UUID and make sure fstab in each partition has the same value.

What do you have in the other partitions, and were any used for grub-install && update-grub?


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#12 2015-10-14 23:25:38

D1screet
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

There shouldn't be anything in the other partitions, let alone BE other partitions that I could think of. I usually select the option in the installer to have all the /tmp /var /home all in the same partition, as well as selecting the hard drive to install the grub bootloader. Could it be that I messed up the installation process?

Offline

#13 2015-10-14 23:40:23

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,008

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

What is the output of

sudo fdisk -l

Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#14 2015-10-15 00:18:43

D1screet
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

One of the times that I attempted to boot I came across this:

14dm69i.jpg

As for the output of sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 298.1 GiB, 320072933376 bytes, 625142448 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0xfa6e7ee3

Device     Boot     Start       End   Sectors   Size Id Type
/dev/sda1  *         2048 616804351 616802304 294.1G 83 Linux
/dev/sda2       616806398 625141759   8335362     4G  5 Extended
/dev/sda5       616806400 625141759   8335360     4G 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Offline

#15 2015-10-15 00:26:37

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,074
Website

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

That sounds like this old bug, but it's marked fixed in jessie...
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo … bug=754218

Offline

#16 2015-10-15 00:28:04

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,074
Website

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

What do have in /etc/network/interfaces?

Offline

#17 2015-10-15 00:31:36

D1screet
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

hhh wrote:

What do have in /etc/network/interfaces?

It has:

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

I opened up interfaces.d/* to see what the the file is sourcing but it's just an empty file.

Offline

#18 2015-10-15 00:32:06

tknomanzr
BL Die Hard
From: Around the Bend
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,029

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

It looks like it is failing to mount swap for some reason. Are you sure that disk is good?

Offline

#19 2015-10-15 00:41:00

D1screet
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

tknomanzr wrote:

It looks like it is failing to mount swap for some reason. Are you sure that disk is good?

There is a possibility that the drive could be failing; Shall I run some diagnostics using disk tools from other linux distros?

EDIT: There really hasn't been any strange behavior with the netbook and the disk in general; just didn't want to rule out this possibility though.

Last edited by D1screet (2015-10-15 01:12:00)

Offline

#20 2015-10-15 01:11:44

tknomanzr
BL Die Hard
From: Around the Bend
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,029

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

I would attempt to rule that out first, for sure. Linux can be very picky about failing drives. If you have enough ram you could attempt to turn swap off and see if you can boot. Another thing, if for some reason you did not format your swap partition when you created it (I am not sure if the debian installer will allow this. I do know it will complain.), it could be creating problems. You could try to run gparted from your Live Boot and attempt to reformat it. Gparted will often notify you if your SMART status is indicating a failing drive as well.

Here's some info that might help you with diagnosis:
https://www.maketecheasier.com/monitor- … lth-linux/

Offline

#21 2015-10-15 01:12:43

D1screet
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

Kk, I'll give that a go with a live boot.

Offline

#22 2015-10-15 02:12:04

D1screet
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

=== START OF INFORMATION SECTION ===
Model Family:     Seagate Momentus 5400.6
Device Model:     ST9320325AS
Serial Number:    5VERH6RN
LU WWN Device Id: 5 000c50 0492eeebe
Firmware Version: 0003SDM1
User Capacity:    320,072,933,376 bytes [320 GB]
Sector Size:      512 bytes logical/physical
Rotation Rate:    5400 rpm
Device is:        In smartctl database [for details use: -P show]
ATA Version is:   ATA8-ACS T13/1699-D revision 4
SATA Version is:  SATA 2.6, 3.0 Gb/s
Local Time is:    Wed Oct 14 22:09:04 2015 UTC
SMART support is: Available - device has SMART capability.
SMART support is: Enabled

user@debian:~$ sudo smartctl -H /dev/sda
smartctl 6.4 2014-10-07 r4002 [i686-linux-3.16.0-4-686-pae] (local build)
Copyright (C) 2002-14, Bruce Allen, Christian Franke, www.smartmontools.org

=== START OF READ SMART DATA SECTION ===
SMART overall-health self-assessment test result: PASSED

So here's what I get. I suppose the hard drive should be in good shape according to the SMART status.

Offline

#23 2015-10-15 05:23:29

tknomanzr
BL Die Hard
From: Around the Bend
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,029

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

Ok. If you can get a live image to boot, I would boot it and try reformatting that swap partition. You shouldn't need to re-partition it, just format it in gparted. See if that will fix it. It seems like, somewhere in the back of my mind, I have run into that before. I don't always format a home partition when doing a clean install but swap has to always be formatted.

Offline

#24 2015-10-15 06:04:12

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,833
Website

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

am i correct that your problems / boot failure error messages have changed since reinstall?
can't rule out hardware failure.

your last video is exceptionally weird, looks like a kernel panic but then it snaps out of it again...

anyway, this one's for sure:

D1screet wrote:

output of sudo fdisk -l

Device     Boot     Start       End   Sectors   Size Id Type
/dev/sda1  *         2048 616804351 616802304 294.1G 83 Linux
/dev/sda2       616806398 625141759   8335362     4G  5 Extended
/dev/sda5       616806400 625141759   8335360     4G 82 Linux swap / Solaris

swap in an extended partition?
something's off here.

i think temetka is on the right track.

i would try to disable swap first, see if that helps (just for troubleshooting purposes).
(but why would it happen only when on battery?)

my next question would've been if you have a ssd in there, but no, it's a spinning hard drive.

Offline

#25 2015-10-15 06:39:53

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: [Solved] Can't boot without being plugged in.

Grub cannot mount your swap partition. If you want swap, then create another partition and make it swap. Delete the one you have now. Re install BL.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB