You are not logged in.

#1 2016-06-07 11:05:04

Naik
Member
From: Lipsia
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 172

[solved] how to switch to wayland?

Hey Labfellows!

Since I read here that Wayland is about to come and using it with e20 might be a good idea, i tried to figure out a way to switch from x11+openbox to wayland+e20 by simply creating another user loading different configs when logged in.
LightDM seems to be ready to go, but i have no idea on how to configure it propperly..
and even worst don`t seem to be able to simply "apt-get install wayland" (as i mentioned allready wink )

at this point I ask my self: Why not ask the others before proceeding?

So, is it recommended or a least possible to go on on the way i started? A little tumbling and shaking along the path isn`t that much of a problem on this testing-mashine but i am asking my self wether this is on of these stupid ideas burning hours of my lifetime and leading to nothing (like my attempt to work with win7 when i was asked to at work) or not.
Would it be a better solution to install a system allready providing those two on a spare partition or VM thought there wouldn`t be much of the "direct comparism"-aspect left in this case.

Anyhow, i appreciate any information and advice on this question and am also looking forward on any further discussion on wayland, because it sounded like this will be the thing to come anyways like systemd has been, am i right there?

greetz --naik

Last edited by Naik (2016-06-26 13:45:49)


"Kaum macht [Mensch]* es richtig, funktioniert es sofort!"
BL-Kitchen on GitHub

Offline

#2 2016-06-07 13:18:47

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,324
Website

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

Naik wrote:

LightDM seems to be ready to go, but i have no idea on how to configure it propperly..
and even worst don`t seem to be able to simply "apt-get install wayland" (as i mentioned allready wink )

at this point I ask my self: Why not ask the others before proceeding?

So, is it recommended or a least possible to go on on the way i started?

I wouldn't recommend it, no. Wayland/Weston in jessie is outdated, of course, and e20 isn't available from Debian yet.

Weston is the package you would need to install, btw...
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/wayland#Weston

For Debian, I'd recommend a testing partition running weston from sid and installing e20 from this (untrusted and untested by me!) repo...
http://repo.4e.by/

Even easier, though, would be to play with a GNOME Live CD, there is a Wayland session option already present in GDM3...
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UbuntuGNOME/GetUbuntuGNOME/LTS

Offline

#3 2016-06-07 13:24:17

pvsage
Internal Affairs
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,433

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

^ There's also Rebecca Black OS (no, I'm not joking):
https://sourceforge.net/projects/rebeccablackos/


Be excellent to each other, and...party on, dudes!
BunsenLabs Forum Rules
Tending and defending the Flame since 2009

Offline

#4 2016-06-07 17:46:31

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

hhh wrote:

Weston is the package you would need to install, btw...
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/wayland#Weston

Just to clarify: Weston is the reference implementation of a Wayland client and includes a window manager and panel.

I think Naik wants to use Enlightenment, for that desktop Weston wouldn't be needed.

Plasma 5 also has a Wayland session now but you can't get this in BunsenLabs unless you like compiling desktops from source.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#5 2016-06-07 19:09:15

Naik
Member
From: Lipsia
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 172

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Plasma 5 also has a Wayland session now but you can't get this in BunsenLabs unless you like compiling desktops from source.

Following this directive, this seems to be what i am doing right now. Debian forum told me that wayland will in most cases be installed anyway and so i try to bring it life now, though it seems you are all thinking of it as a bad idea?

To clarify: Yes my aim is particularly to use enlightment and wayland.

I will update this second post as soon as the helperscript magic is done...

UPDATE to finalize this: It is AFAIKT not the best solution i chose!
I got to the point where i was able start enlightenment in wayland but it was necessary to compile both wayland and e20 (and some dependencies) from source because no helperscript was able to provide me with a proper support of wayland on the installed e20 but as PackRat pointed out it was not that big a deal achieving this. But all in all it was way to much work to do for the result was not as satisfying as i hoped for it to be.
If others are interested in taking a look at enlightenment20, i would recommend using one of the growing number of live-cds to test it, or to use a Ubuntu-installation to test this partikular combination by installing e20 and running wayland by choosing it via gdm3 as suggested above.

naik --greetz

Last edited by Naik (2016-06-26 14:19:07)


"Kaum macht [Mensch]* es richtig, funktioniert es sofort!"
BL-Kitchen on GitHub

Offline

#6 2016-06-07 19:17:42

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

Naik wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Plasma 5 also has a Wayland session now but you can't get this in BunsenLabs unless you like compiling desktops from source.

Following this directive, this seems to be what i am doing right now. Debian forum told me that wayland will in most cases be installed anyway and so i try to bring it life now, though it seems you are all thinking of it as a bad idea?

No, not at all.

The linked method looks "safe" enough, just be aware that the desktop may not be as reliable as BunsenLabs' Openbox default and most of the custom BL scripts won't work.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#7 2016-06-07 20:05:13

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,324
Website

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
hhh wrote:

Weston is the package you would need to install, btw...
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/wayland#Weston

Just to clarify: Weston is the reference implementation of a Wayland client and includes a window manager and panel.

I think Naik wants to use Enlightenment, for that desktop Weston wouldn't be needed.

Yes, sorry, I wasn't thinking clearly. More info on running e20 with Wayland, including known issues...
https://git.enlightenment.org/core/enli … nment-0.19

-edit- link fixed

Offline

#8 2016-06-07 22:52:19

Eraph
Member
From: /au/qld/bne
Registered: 2016-02-29
Posts: 282
Website

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

pvsage wrote:

^ There's also Rebecca Black OS (no, I'm not joking):
https://sourceforge.net/projects/rebeccablackos/

THAT. Is hilarious. Might have to give it a spin on Friday.

Last edited by Eraph (2016-06-07 22:57:26)


Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13 | BunsenLabs Hydrogen (x64)
Intel Core i7-3537U | Intel HD4000 | 8GB DDR3 | 256GB SSD

Offline

#9 2016-06-07 22:57:34

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,324
Website

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

Well, I upgraded/dist-upgraded BL to testing and then sid and installed e20 from the repo I linked...

https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 341#p29341

Screw if I can figure out hot to start the Wayland session, though.

You should play with this in Xorg until Wayland support is more developed though, it's very cool.

Offline

#10 2016-06-08 00:08:11

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,731
Website

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

Isn't X started up before LightDm in a standard Debian setup like BL?
Since Wayland is replacing X, I don't think you could have an X session and Wayland session both available as alternatives at login time.

Does LightDM even work with Wayland?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#11 2016-06-08 00:17:13

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,324
Website

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

johnraff wrote:

Since Wayland is replacing X, I don't think you could have an X session and Wayland session both available as alternatives at login time.

Does LightDM even work with Wayland?

GNOME sets up an X11 session and a Wayland/Weston session lately. And no, use gdm3 instead of lightdm.

Offline

#12 2016-06-08 01:28:22

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,731
Website

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

hhh wrote:

GNOME sets up an X11 session and a Wayland/Weston session lately.

So which of them is invoked to display the login screen?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#13 2016-06-08 01:49:57

Horizon_Brave
Operating System: Linux-Nettrix
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 1,473

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

Is initiating both X11 and Wayland just a temporary placeholder until more support swings towards Wayland?  Hmm it seems like this whole switch to wayland is going to isolate a lot of older setups. It doesn't seem like it's very backwards compatible. Systemd at least used a lot of the same syntax and conventions at first as the init rc suite...


"I have not failed, I have found 10,000 ways that will not work" -Edison

Offline

#14 2016-06-08 02:30:12

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,089

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

johnraff wrote:

Isn't X started up before LightDm in a standard Debian setup like BL?
Since Wayland is replacing X, I don't think you could have an X session and Wayland session both available as alternatives at login time.

Does LightDM even work with Wayland?

I don't think that lightdm works with wayland.

Once E20 is installed skip down to the usage section

I used those repos to install E20 on Sid, then to run it in wayland, I disabled the lightdm service to boot to a console. After logging in, the "enlightenment_start" command starts E20 in wayland.

Last edited by PackRat (2016-06-08 02:31:32)


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#15 2016-06-08 04:35:49

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,324
Website

Re: [solved] how to switch to wayland?

I tried Rebecca Black, it sucked. Just use GNOME on Wayland until Wayland is the norm, in about 8 years, I'm guessing.

https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 392#p29392

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB