You are not logged in.

#1 2016-06-05 22:28:13

likeDuh
Member
Registered: 2016-06-05
Posts: 6

[SOLVED] no .config/volti/config installed

I have a seemingly unique problem in that no .config/volti/config file is ever created in 3 seperate installs.  There is a config file in  /usr/share/bunsen/skel/.config/volti however.  I have tried copying both this and, alternately, the working file from the live cd (while running live) over to .config/volti/ to no avail.

I have unmuted everything using alsamixer. And changed from dev 0 to dev 1 in the volti config files (in all permutions of the above listed discrepency).  I have also tried changing cards in alsamixer.

Finally I have performed a fresh install which left un-updated.

Sound works fine running the live cd.  And speaker-test produces pink noise (running from disk).

On the surface it seems to be trying to use the wrong card (generic).  Please note I have zero Linux chops, but I used to be really into litestep and want this distro to work.

*********Error message*******

$ volti &

[1] 1672
$ [alsactrl.py:__init__:41] can't open Master control for card Generic, trying to select first available mixer channel

[alsactrl.py:__init__:49] can't open first available control for card Generic
error: list index out of range
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/volti", line 53, in <module>
    volti = main.VolumeTray()
  File "/usr/lib/volti/volti/main.py", line 124, in __init__
    self.watchid = gobject.io_add_watch(fd, eventmask, self.update)
TypeError: an integer is required

***********Devices**********

 $ aplay -l

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: CX20584 Analog [CX20584 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

***********Drivers**********

$ lspci | grep -A2 Audio

00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler HDMI Audio
00:11.0 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
00:12.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
--
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller (rev 40)
00:14.4 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge (rev 40)

********TIA***************
**************************

Mod edit - added [ code ] tags for you wink

Last edited by damo (2016-06-05 22:40:43)

Offline

#2 2016-06-06 03:39:43

tynman
Member
Registered: 2015-10-13
Posts: 81

Re: [SOLVED] no .config/volti/config installed

You mention you copied the config file to your ~/.config/volti directory. Can you show us what is in it?

(Here's a wild guess: If the card_index parameter is set to 0 (0 represents your "HDMI card"), try changing it to 1 (1 represents your "analog card"). i.e.,

card_index = 1

)

Offline

#3 2016-06-06 06:57:42

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [SOLVED] no .config/volti/config installed

likeDuh wrote:

I have a seemingly unique problem in that no .config/volti/config file is ever created in 3 seperate installs.  There is a config file in  /usr/share/bunsen/skel/.config/volti however.  I have tried copying both this and, alternately, the working file from the live cd (while running live) over to .config/volti/ to no avail.

How bizarre hmm

How are you transferring the BunsenLabs ISO image to the USB stick or CD/DVD from which you installed your system?

Please post the exact and full command(s) that you used.

Please also post the output of:

cp -v /usr/share/bunsen/skel/.config/volti/config ~/.config/volti
ls ~/.config/volti

@tynman is correct with his/her solution but it looks like BunsenLabs may switch away from volti because of this exact problem.

You can try this solution instead:
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 603#p26603


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#4 2016-06-06 23:24:19

likeDuh
Member
Registered: 2016-06-05
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] no .config/volti/config installed

For burning the .iso I used K3b running under an old PCLinux distro.
Possibly noteworthy, I burned to DVD as this was the only media I had.
Also all copy/editing has been done in GUI, with elevated priviledges.

I'll peruse the other solution now as well as looking into a command line burning utility and editing at the command line.

Thanks, sorry I'm a nite-person, so responses are likely to lag on my end.  Also I'm learining linux commands as I go (I'm not afraid of a command line).

*****copy operation***********

~$ cp -v /usr/share/bunsen/skel/.config/volti/config ~/.config/volti
‘/usr/share/bunsen/skel/.config/volti/config’ -> ‘/home/*******/.config/volti/config’

*******file exists************

~$ ls ~/.config/volti
config

******config contents*********
*I had changed card_index to 3 and 1 (incase I misundertood)
*from Geany with elevated privleges
******************************

:~$ cat ~/.config/volti/config
[card-0]
control = Master

[global]
mixer_show_values = 1
scale_increment = 1.0
card_index = 0
icon_theme = Faenza
scale_show_value = 0
mixer = pavucontrol
show_tooltip = 1
notify_position = 0
keys = 0
toggle = mute
mixer_internal = 0
notify_body = <span font_desc="14" weight="bold">{volume}</span>
	<small>{card}</small>
	<small>{mixer}</small>
keys_backend = xlib
run_in_terminal = 0
notify_timeout = 2.0
show_notify = 0
**************************
**************************

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2016-06-07 06:25:35)

Offline

#5 2016-06-07 04:42:11

likeDuh
Member
Registered: 2016-06-05
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] no .config/volti/config installed

Oddly that did it, even though the card_index seems to be set to HDMI (which doesn't work ATM, but that's another day).

I went and spent some time learning to navigate/search/edit in linux, so I could find and edit the card_index properly. Took a break to watch some MTB Downhill footage (I never edit system files before midnite, ymmv), and lo and behold I had sound (glad I didn't just edit).

Lovely interface BTW. Lately technology seems to be about manipulating behavior rather than facilitating it.  Love, love, love the configurability and lack of bloat.  Keep fighting the good fight.

Awesome responsiveness as well.  Much appreciated.

*******recap*********

Using GUI operations from a live disc; copying the missing file from /usr/share/bunsen/skel/.config/volti/config  created a file but, but did not produce sound).

executing the same operation from the terminal
(via:  "cp -v /usr/share/bunsen/skel/.config/volti/config ~/.config/volti")
did the trick.

I think there's a lesson there somewhere.

*********************
*********************

Offline

#6 2016-06-07 06:03:48

likeDuh
Member
Registered: 2016-06-05
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] no .config/volti/config installed

Sorry, I lied; the second it hit the web all sound (including speaker-test) dropped.
A reboot solved nothing. Solar flares or gremlins (that it worked at all set to HDMI)?

I await your feed back (it's not a mission critical machine, and after 3 days of tinkering I'm momentarily over it).

Offline

#7 2016-06-07 06:34:17

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [SOLVED] no .config/volti/config installed

Did you verify the ISO image using the provided checksum?

likeDuh wrote:

Sorry, I lied; the second it hit the web all sound (including speaker-test) dropped.
A reboot solved nothing. Solar flares or gremlins (that it worked at all set to HDMI)?

Run `alsamixer` in a terminal and check that the Master output is un-muted and set to a non-zero volume level.

Otherwise, please post the full content of your current ~/.config/volti/config and the output of:

lspci -k|grep -iA2 audio
speaker-test -l1

Please use code tags when posting terminal output, I have edited your posts to show you how.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#8 2016-06-07 19:31:07

likeDuh
Member
Registered: 2016-06-05
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] no .config/volti/config installed

I did NOT verify with a checksum.

****~/.config/volti/config*********
* I changed card_index from 0 to 1*

[card-0]
control = Master

[global]
mixer_show_values = 1
scale_increment = 1.0
card_index = 1
icon_theme = Faenza
scale_show_value = 0
mixer = pavucontrol
show_tooltip = 1
notify_position = 0
keys = 0
toggle = mute
mixer_internal = 0
notify_body = <span font_desc="14" weight="bold">{volume}</span>
	<small>{card}</small>
	<small>{mixer}</small>
keys_backend = xlib
run_in_terminal = 0
notify_timeout = 2.0
show_notify = 0

*** ~$ lspci -k|grep -iA2 audio***

00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler HDMI Audio
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0520
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
--
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0520
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel

***~$ speaker-test -l1****

speaker-test 1.0.28

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 1 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
Rate set to 48000Hz (requested 48000Hz)
Buffer size range from 192 to 2097152
Period size range from 64 to 699051
Using max buffer size 2097152
Periods = 4
was set period_size = 524288
was set buffer_size = 2097152
 0 - Front Left
Time per period = 10.969147

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2016-06-07 19:56:23)

Offline

#9 2016-06-07 20:00:46

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [SOLVED] no .config/volti/config installed

According to the `speaker-test` output, your audio system is set up correctly and working fine.

Try this:

amixer set -D pulse Master 50% unmute

“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#10 2016-06-07 20:14:11

likeDuh
Member
Registered: 2016-06-05
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] no .config/volti/config installed

Yep.  Working!  Thanks a million and sorry for the noob-ishness.  Any more problems and I'll redownload and use checksums.

I think the problem I had while copying in the GUI was due to fact that I copied to the location that the .config/volti/config file resides in while running live, not into the users directory.

Offline

#11 2016-06-07 21:19:39

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [SOLVED] no .config/volti/config installed

OK, great -- I have marked the thread [SOLVED]

You can do this yourself next time by editing the title of the thread (in the original post) wink


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB