You are not logged in.

#26 2016-05-06 06:53:40

0-day
Member
Registered: 2015-10-04
Posts: 148

Re: non-pae version

i installed 32 bit bunsenlabs non pae but the kernel is i686pae

Offline

#27 2016-05-06 20:20:49

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,691
Website

Re: non-pae version

0-day wrote:

i installed 32 bit bunsenlabs non pae but the kernel is i686pae

No, install the image I linked, the CD-size "bl-Hydrogen-i386+NonPAE.iso", that's the one with the 586 kernel.

https://kelaino.bunsenlabs.org/ddl/bl-H … so.torrent

Online

#28 2016-05-07 08:03:07

0-day
Member
Registered: 2015-10-04
Posts: 148

Re: non-pae version

i install it..it is +non pae but default is pae.

Offline

#29 2016-05-07 10:05:34

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 2,409

Re: non-pae version

0-day wrote:

i install it..it is +non pae but default is pae.

Configure GRUB_DEFAULT=$yourentry as described here to select the desired kernel at boot time.


Tempra la cetra e canta

Offline

#30 2016-05-07 16:46:20

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: non-pae version

Debian's i386 Builds Now Require 686-Class CPUs
[...]
Support for 586 class and 586/686 class processors has been dropped

https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page= … -i386-CPUs
sad

EDIT: this doesn't apply to jessie, only stretch and on will suffer.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2016-05-07 17:07:05)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#31 2016-05-08 03:01:39

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,308
Website

Re: non-pae version

How many 586 processors are really in use today? I think the first computer I used already had a 686 (released in 1995).


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#32 2016-05-08 06:36:59

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,742
Website

Re: non-pae version

^ hmm. i had to check and unpack my oldest machine, an oooold amilo a1645.
uname says 4.0.5-antix.1-486-smp, architecture i686.

... well,

grep -i PAE /proc/cpuinfo

says it has pae.

i respect and understand that people want to continue using even older machines, though.

Offline

#33 2016-05-12 03:23:04

Horizon_Brave
Operating System: Linux-Nettrix
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 1,473

Re: non-pae version

Hmm thinking about this, anyone know of an option to simulate a non-pae architecture in Virtualbox?


"I have not failed, I have found 10,000 ways that will not work" -Edison

Offline

#34 2016-05-12 04:14:08

kleiner_hussar
Member
From: Traunstein, Germany
Registered: 2016-04-25
Posts: 82

Re: non-pae version

ohnonot wrote:

^ hmm. i had to check and unpack my oldest machine, an oooold amilo a1645.
uname says 4.0.5-antix.1-486-smp, architecture i686.

... well,

grep -i PAE /proc/cpuinfo

says it has pae.

i respect and understand that people want to continue using even older machines, though.

Using older machines is fun. It is simply cool running a full usable system on a low powered thingy.
And furthermore you can collect some iconic machines from the past.
I , myself being a great fan of IBM am the proud owner of a T-20, a T-21, a T-40p, and a T-43. The first two running Puppy with Openbox/Crunchbang respin (with the original CB 9.04 configs) , the other two Debian , with CB Statler and BL.
Oh, not to forget a Toshiba Satelite Pro 4600, and a Dell Latitude D600  :-D

Offline

#35 2016-05-12 09:21:54

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,308
Website

Re: non-pae version

Horizon_Brave wrote:

Hmm thinking about this, anyone know of an option to simulate a non-pae architecture in Virtualbox?

Settings>System>Processor>uncheck "Enable PAE/NX"


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#36 2016-05-12 13:13:58

Horizon_Brave
Operating System: Linux-Nettrix
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 1,473

Re: non-pae version

johnraff wrote:
Horizon_Brave wrote:

Hmm thinking about this, anyone know of an option to simulate a non-pae architecture in Virtualbox?

Settings>System>Processor>uncheck "Enable PAE/NX"

How can they expect anyone to find a setting, when its hidden under "settings"?!?!   wink


"I have not failed, I have found 10,000 ways that will not work" -Edison

Offline

#37 2016-07-16 14:54:37

aris95
New Member
Registered: 2016-07-13
Posts: 3

Re: non-pae version

All non-pae distributions should be in  Unesco's list of world heritage big_smile

-aris95-

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB