You are not logged in.

#1 2016-05-09 05:54:09

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,553
Website

Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

I'm sure everyone is getting as thoroughly tired of this topic as I am. Volti vs volumeicon vs pnmixer has been dragging on for a good year or more...
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic. … 15#p422215
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=40047
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 3428#p3428
So we abandoned volumeicon-alsa because of that ugly double-notification-bar issue.

But we are still getting users with muting problems caused by volti (I've been OK myself), eg:
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=1015
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 764#p18764

and Head_on_a_Stick suggested some fixes:
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=1859
in response to which I tried volumeicon again.

Looking back at Tcheko's post I saw that xfce4-volumed could be the problem. Indeed - purge it, replace volti with volumeicon and make sure the latter is configured to use the XF86* keys, remove any references to those keys in rc.xml, and... voila! The keys work, and one notification bar comes up whether using the keyboard or the scrollwheel! (The former icon issue seems to have gone away with our current icon theme.)

So, could some other people test this please?
*) Comment out the <keybind key="XF86AudioMute"> ...</keybind>section from rc.xml, and any other references to the XF86* keys.
*) Purge xfce4-volumed
*) Install volumeicon-alsa from Debian stable.
*) In openbox/autostart replace volti with volumeicon
*) Logout/in and make sure volumeicon's hotkeys are set to the XF86* keys.

Can you use the volume up/down/mute keys?
Does scroll wheel on the volumeicon icon change the volume, and raise a single notification bar?
Any other problems?

Last edited by johnraff (2016-05-09 05:56:46)


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Online

#2 2016-05-09 06:03:16

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,013
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

Not exactly what your question was, but i'am using volumeicon with dunst (replaces notification-daemon) forever now (with some ignore addition to dunstrc < scroll to bottom). p.s. Actually I think I have suggested this a year ago as well.
No idea about volume keys btw.

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2016-05-09 06:16:06)

Offline

#3 2016-05-09 06:30:29

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

I loaded up the live ISO image on my AMD laptop (which has two sound cards).

As expected, volti failed to start and no icon was showing.

Sound worked and mute could be toggled with the keyboard but the volume keys did nothing.

johnraff wrote:

*) Comment out the <keybind key="XF86AudioMute"> ...</keybind>section from rc.xml, and any other references to the XF86* keys.
*) Purge xfce4-volumed
*) Install volumeicon-alsa from Debian stable.
*) In openbox/autostart replace volti with volumeicon
*) Logout/in and make sure volumeicon's hotkeys are set to the XF86* keys.

Can you use the volume up/down/mute keys?
Does scroll wheel on the volumeicon icon change the volume, and raise a single notification bar?
Any other problems?

This fixed *everything* smile

The volume icon is in the systray, all of the keys work and summon the notifications correctly and the scrollbar operation works flawlessly.

Well done!
cool


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#4 2016-05-09 06:30:29

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,553
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

^The topic has come up often, but as I said above the big sticking point was those double notification bars with volumeicon.

Anyway, to make quite clear, my suggestion is to make these changes to the default system:

*) Comment out the <keybind key="XF86AudioMute"> ...</keybind>section from rc.xml, and any other references to the XF86* keys.
*) Purge xfce4-volumed
*) Install volumeicon-alsa from Debian stable.
*) In openbox/autostart replace volti with volumeicon

And my question is: what do people (preferably after trying it) think of that?


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Online

#5 2016-05-09 14:24:27

Arquimediano
Member
From: Seville, Spain
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 22

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

My laptop's volume keys didn't work at all. I followed the instructions in Tcheko's post and the problem was solved. I mean, without modifying the rc.xml file, although I'll give it a try to see what happens.

Now I'm using a wireless mouse and its scroll wheel works fine to control volume.

In my opinion, johnraff's proposal could be great.

Offline

#6 2016-05-09 19:40:50

pvsage
Internal Affairs
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,433

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

johnraff wrote:

And my question is: what do people (preferably after trying it) think of that?

Sounds like a good solution to me.  Can't (completely) try it because my keyboard doesn't have the XF86* keys, but it looks like the best solution available within Jessie.

So...this would eliminate xfce4-mixer as well?  I suppose that's a reasonable sacrifice.

Last edited by pvsage (2016-05-09 19:46:13)


Be excellent to each other, and...party on, dudes!
BunsenLabs Forum Rules
Tending and defending the Flame since 2009

Offline

#7 2016-05-09 20:01:36

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

pvsage wrote:

So...this would eliminate xfce4-mixer as well?  I suppose that's a reasonable sacrifice.

xfce4-mixer is superfluous now anyway -- volti is using pavucontrol as the mixer smile

https://github.com/BunsenLabs/bunsen-co … config#L10


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#8 2016-05-09 20:23:22

pvsage
Internal Affairs
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,433

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

^ Ah yes; any mixer designed for bare ALSA is superfluous in a Pulseaudio environment.  (PA adds a layer of opacity that most mixers can't see through; could also be contributing to the trouble with Volti.)


Be excellent to each other, and...party on, dudes!
BunsenLabs Forum Rules
Tending and defending the Flame since 2009

Offline

#9 2016-05-10 04:32:06

tynman
Member
Registered: 2015-10-13
Posts: 88

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

I hadn't experienced any problems with the volti volume thing, but using alsa's volume control gizmo appealed to me, so I tried the switch.

To get it to work, I also had to:

(1) Update the volumeicon file in the ~/.config/volumeicon directory,
-  in the [Alsa] section, change

card=default

to

card=hw:1

- necessary (I think) because my "default" card is 0, which on my computer is for "HDMI" - which I don't use
- Note I had to make an almost identical change to get volti to work on this computer, i.e., I had to update the config file in the ~/.config/volti directory, and change "card_index=0" to card_index="1".

My keyboard volume control keys didn't work straight away, but easily fixed by...
(2) Open the volumeicon preferences (right-click on the volumeicon icon in the system tray).
select the three XF86 hotkey checkboxes

Success. Volume goes up, down, mute as expected. Only one notification message shows up when changing volume.

Offline

#10 2016-05-10 06:27:36

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

tynman wrote:

To get it to work, I also had to:

(1) Update the volumeicon file in the ~/.config/volumeicon directory,
-  in the [Alsa] section, change

card=default

to

card=hw:1

- necessary (I think) because my "default" card is 0, which on my computer is for "HDMI" - which I don't use

My laptop has a HDMI (index 0) and an analogue (index 1) sound card and no such change was needed to make volumeicon work.

A configuration file change was needed to make volti work, however.

This is the reason why the replacement is suggested.

To eliminate set up idiosyncrasies in your desktop, can you please confirm your findings from the live environment?

To recap, on my system with dual sound cards when the live ISO is booted: volti does not start, there is no volume icon, sound works but the volume keys do not except for the mute toggle.

When xfce4-mixer, xfce4-volumed & volti is removed (along with the keybinds in rc.xml) and volumeicon is installed, upon relogin the volumeicon shows and works as expected, as do all of the volume keys.

Does this happen on your hardware in the live environemnt?


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#11 2016-05-10 10:45:20

Arquimediano
Member
From: Seville, Spain
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 22

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

Arquimediano wrote:

My laptop's volume keys didn't work at all. I followed the instructions in Tcheko's post and the problem was solved. I mean, without modifying the rc.xml file, although I'll give it a try to see what happens.

Now I'm using a wireless mouse and its scroll wheel works fine to control volume.

In my opinion, johnraff's proposal could be great.

Well, I have just commented out those lines and rebooted. I have seen no changes. Everything works the same.

Regarding the scrolling on the sound icon... If I just scroll, it is shown up the same bar than with sound keys. But if I click on it before scrolling, they appear two bars on the screen (the sound keys one and a new one). Furthermore, if I click on it, move down the mouse and scroll, there is only one bar (not the sound keys one). It happens in any case, with commented lines and without.

Last edited by Arquimediano (2016-05-10 10:47:09)

Offline

#12 2016-05-10 14:48:56

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

I get    the   double sliders with volumeicon.
I think it is wanted behaviour:
- scroll over the icon or use the media keys and you get a horizontal bar in the notify area.
- left click on the icon and you get the vertical slider widget.

If having both sliders is confusing, I don't think it would be too difficult to disable one of them.
We just need to agree on which one to disable.

I get that behaviour both when running the live system and in the installed system.

Offline

#13 2016-05-10 17:48:30

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

xaos52 wrote:

I get that behaviour both when running the live system and in the installed system.

Does volti start and work for you in the live system?

How many sound cards does your machine have?


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#14 2016-05-10 18:12:46

wonderfulll
New Member
Registered: 2015-10-10
Posts: 1

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

@johnraff: Thanks a lot! This fixed the only issue I was having with BL stable (notifications were not working before and the there were some strange things with sound levels).

Offline

#15 2016-05-11 03:40:33

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,296
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

Make it so, Number One!

Offline

#16 2016-05-11 07:20:16

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,553
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

Arquimediano wrote:

...if I click on it before scrolling, they appear two bars on the screen (the sound keys one and a new one). Furthermore, if I click on it, move down the mouse and scroll, there is only one bar (not the sound keys one). It happens in any case, with commented lines and without.

There is a volume bar ("slider") which is put up by volumeicon itself, by clicking. By default it's vertical, but can be made horizontal, or disabled. It is different in appearance from the notification bar which comes from the notification daemon, triggered by volume changes by scrolling or keypresses. (A similar-looking notification bar comes when you use the display brightness keys.)

The issue we were having before was that two identical notification bars were coming up when scrolling. This now seems to have been caused by xfce4-volumed, which turns out to be unnecessary anyway if using volumeicon-alsa instead of volti. (xfce4-mixer has not been on the default system for a while now.)

So @hhh can I suggest on the next iso build's package list:
-volti
-xfce4-volumed
+volumeicon-alsa

I wonder if there's a good way to push these changes to our existing user base?


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Online

#17 2016-05-11 13:31:58

Arquimediano
Member
From: Seville, Spain
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 22

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

johnraff wrote:
Arquimediano wrote:

...if I click on it before scrolling, they appear two bars on the screen (the sound keys one and a new one). Furthermore, if I click on it, move down the mouse and scroll, there is only one bar (not the sound keys one). It happens in any case, with commented lines and without.

There is a volume bar ("slider") which is put up by volumeicon itself, by clicking. By default it's vertical, but can be made horizontal, or disabled. It is different in appearance from the notification bar which comes from the notification daemon, triggered by volume changes by scrolling or keypresses. (A similar-looking notification bar comes when you use the display brightness keys.)

Yes, that is. Sorry if I didn't use the appropriate terms. I have just disabled that slider (I didn't know it was possible). Thank you very much.

johnraff wrote:

The issue we were having before was that two identical notification bars were coming up when scrolling. This now seems to have been caused by xfce4-volumed, which turns out to be unnecessary anyway if using volumeicon-alsa instead of volti. (xfce4-mixer has not been on the default system for a while now.)

Okay, I understand now. I couldn't notice that issue because I began to use a mouse after making the change the proposal consists of (to make the sound keys work). Thanks again.

Offline

#18 2016-05-12 01:36:07

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,296
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

johnraff wrote:

So @hhh can I suggest on the next iso build's package list:
-volti
-xfce4-volumed
+volumeicon-alsa

I wonder if there's a good way to push these changes to our existing user base?

This sounds good. I haven't tested it yet and I'd like to see a bit more feedback, but yes.

For upgrading, an "Announcement" would be best, I think, so we don't have to try and finagle our apt dependencies.

Offline

#19 2016-05-12 01:39:20

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,553
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

hhh wrote:

For upgrading, an "Announcement" would be best, I think, so we don't have to try and finagle our apt dependencies.

OK maybe for now just an "official" HOW-TO for people with issues.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Online

#20 2016-05-12 02:03:27

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,296
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

^I like it. I'm getting ready to do a fresh install and test this now, btw.

Offline

#21 2016-05-12 03:20:59

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,296
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

I installed the CD ISO, ran bl-welcome, upgraded the kernel to PAE but didn't upgrade sound, and then I purged volumed and volti and installed volumicon, edited autostart for volumeicon instead of volti, and logged out. The only flaw I could see was that the icon changes to mute state in the panel (volumeicon) but not in the notification popup. I think this is acceptable.

I'd like to see this issue progress, let's make this solution happen.

Offline

#22 2016-05-12 03:26:45

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,296
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

BTW, what a flipping gorgeous distro we've released.

Offline

#23 2016-05-12 04:42:11

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,296
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

hhh wrote:

let's make this solution happen.

Let's not, pop-up volume notifications have stopped working, I'm sure due to the removal of xfce4-notifyd. Some more testing...

Offline

#24 2016-05-12 04:46:14

kleiner_hussar
Member
From: Traunstein, Germany
Registered: 2016-04-25
Posts: 82

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

hhh wrote:
hhh wrote:

let's make this solution happen.

Let's not, pop-up volume notifications have stopped working, I'm sure due to the removal of xfce4-notifyd. Some more testing...

I run volumeicon and xfce4-volumed without issues. Both the panel icon and the built-in volume buttons show notification bubbles.

Offline

#25 2016-05-12 05:06:55

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,296
Website

Re: Replace volti with volumeicon after all? (and drop xfce4-volumed)

Yeah, it's working again after a reboot. Not sure what happened there.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB