You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-02 22:39:15

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

Now I'm back online at my main box again, and hence time for a sound question...

I'm running BunsenLabs RC1 on a Sony Vaio VGN-A397XP, it's a persistence Live USB as per hhh's instruction on the old CB forum http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic. … 11#p438311
I use this stick due to lack of space on my old HDD that currently have a #! Waldorf installed. I'm planing to upgrade to a SSD and would like to get a fresh BL install on that.

But back on topic. With the 3.16 kernel I have no sound at all. I have the same issue on my #! install if I use a 3.16 backport kernel, so I don't think the issue is due to the Live USB stick. And the HW can supply sound without any issues if I use the 3.2 kernel.

I found the HDA Analyzer on the alsa-project site and by using that to unmute Line Out the sound is working. I have tried to save this setting by using,

sudo alsactl store

but at next reboot the sound is gone again.
Q1:   Is there anything else I should be doing?

If I start up alsamixer while the sound is working I can mute everything but Master and the sound is still present. The actual Volume level is only dependent of the PCM setting,
I can set Master to zero without any impact to the sound.
By changing Volti to PCM I can control the volume. Volti Mute also works as expected (sets PCM to zero).
A dedicated Mute key on the computer works OK, but the Vol + & - don't work (never got them to work in #! either).
The keyboard controls Fn+F2 (Mute), Fn+F3 (Vol Down) and Fn+F4 (Vol Up) change the Master level.
Q2:   Is there any way to remap these to PCM?

Any help is much appreciated.
/Per

Below I paste some Terminal exerpts.
From HDA Analyzer

@Mute:
Node 0x0f [Pin Complex] wcaps 0x40018d: Stereo Amp-Out
  Amp-Out caps: ofs=0x00, nsteps=0x00, stepsize=0x00, mute=1
  Amp-Out vals: [0x80 0x80]
  Pincap 0x0001003f: IN OUT HP EAPD Detect Trigger ImpSense
  EAPD 0x2: EAPD
  Pin Default 0x01014000: [Jack] Line Out at Ext Rear
    Conn = 1/8, Color = Green
    DefAssociation = 0x0, Sequence = 0x0
  Pin-ctls: 0x40: OUT
  Unsolicited: tag=0x00, enabled=0
  Connection: 1
     0x08

@Unmuted:
Node 0x0f [Pin Complex] wcaps 0x40018d: Stereo Amp-Out
  Amp-Out caps: ofs=0x00, nsteps=0x00, stepsize=0x00, mute=1
  Amp-Out vals: [0x00 0x00]
  Pincap 0x0001003f: IN OUT HP EAPD Detect Trigger ImpSense
  EAPD 0x2: EAPD
  Pin Default 0x01014000: [Jack] Line Out at Ext Rear
    Conn = 1/8, Color = Green
    DefAssociation = 0x0, Sequence = 0x0
  Pin-ctls: 0x40: OUT
  Unsolicited: tag=0x00, enabled=0
  Connection: 1
     0x08

user@debian:~$ uname -a

Linux debian 3.16.0-4-686-pae #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt11-1+deb8u3 (2015-08-04) i686 GNU/Linux

user@debian:~$ aplay -l

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC260 Analog [ALC260 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC260 Digital [ALC260 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

user@debian:~$ sudo lspci -v | grep -A10 -i audio

user@debian:~$ sudo lspci -v | grep -A10 -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Sony Corporation Device 81cd
	Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 41
	Memory at febf8000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
	Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
	Capabilities: [60] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
	Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
	Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
	Capabilities: [130] Root Complex Link
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel

user@debian:~$ aplay -L

null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
default:CARD=Intel
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=Intel
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    Front speakers
surround21:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
dmix:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=Intel,DEV=1
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Digital
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=Intel,DEV=1
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Digital
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=Intel,DEV=1
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Digital
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=Intel,DEV=1
    HDA Intel, ALC260 Digital
    Hardware device with all software conversions

user@debian:~$ cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#* | grep -i codec

Codec: Realtek ALC260
Codec: Conexant ID 2bfa

user@debian:~$ amixer -c0 scontrols

Simple mixer control 'Master',0
Simple mixer control 'PCM',0
Simple mixer control 'Front Mic',0
Simple mixer control 'Line',0
Simple mixer control 'CD',0
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
Simple mixer control 'IEC958 Default PCM',0
Simple mixer control 'Beep',0
Simple mixer control 'Aux',0
Simple mixer control 'Capture',0
Simple mixer control 'Capture',1
Simple mixer control 'Input Source',0
Simple mixer control 'Input Source',1
Simple mixer control 'Rear Mic',0

user@debian:~$ amixer -c0 scontents

Simple mixer control 'Master',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 64
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 46 [72%] [-18.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 46 [72%] [-18.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'PCM',0
  Capabilities: pvolume
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 255
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 161 [63%] [-18.80dB]
  Front Right: Playback 161 [63%] [-18.80dB]
Simple mixer control 'Front Mic',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 65
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-35.00dB] [off]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-35.00dB] [off]
Simple mixer control 'Line',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 65
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-35.00dB] [off]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-35.00dB] [off]
Simple mixer control 'CD',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 65
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-35.00dB] [off]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-35.00dB] [off]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined cswitch cswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Capture channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [off] Capture [off]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958 Default PCM',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'Beep',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 65
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 35 [54%] [0.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 35 [54%] [0.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Aux',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 65
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-35.00dB] [off]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-35.00dB] [off]
Simple mixer control 'Capture',0
  Capabilities: cvolume cswitch
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Capture 0 - 35
  Front Left: Capture 0 [0%] [0.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Capture 0 [0%] [0.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Capture',1
  Capabilities: cvolume cswitch
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Capture 0 - 35
  Front Left: Capture 0 [0%] [0.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Capture 0 [0%] [0.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Input Source',0
  Capabilities: cenum
  Items: 'Rear Mic' 'Front Mic' 'Line' 'CD' 'Aux'
  Item0: 'Rear Mic'
Simple mixer control 'Input Source',1
  Capabilities: cenum
  Items: 'Rear Mic' 'Front Mic' 'Line' 'CD' 'Aux'
  Item0: 'Rear Mic'
Simple mixer control 'Rear Mic',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 65
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-35.00dB] [off]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-35.00dB] [off]

Offline

#2 2015-10-02 23:33:10

tknomanzr
BL Die Hard
From: Around the Bend
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,029

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

Ok. So your sound hardware is working. What I would suggest is to edit ~/.config/volti/config and set the card_index value to the value of whichever card is listed as the analog output, assuming your are plugging in via an analog output. You can get that value by doing:

aplay -l

That should persist your settings across reboots.

Offline

#3 2015-10-03 07:33:31

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

Yes the Analog output is what I use. Running aplay -l gives me this.

user@debian:~$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC260 Analog [ALC260 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC260 Digital [ALC260 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

My unedited Volti config looks like this:

[card-0]
control = PCM
mask_control = 16383
mask_lock = 2

[global]
mixer_show_values = 1
scale_increment = 1.0
card_index = 0
icon_theme = Faenza
scale_show_value = 0
mixer = alsamixer
show_tooltip = 1
notify_position = 0
keys = 0
toggle = mute
mixer_internal = 1
notify_body = <span font_desc="14" weight="bold">{volume}</span>
	<small>{card}</small>
	<small>{mixer}</small>
keys_backend = xlib
run_in_terminal = 1
notify_timeout = 2.0
show_notify = 0

It looks OK to me but a reboot still gives me no sound sad

Offline

#4 2015-10-03 11:05:51

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

Please post the output of:

lspci -k|grep -iA2 audio

“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#5 2015-10-03 15:59:03

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

user@debian:~$ lspci -k|grep -iA2 audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Sony Corporation Device 81cd
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel

Come to think about it the unmute in HDA Analyzer don't make any difference in alsamixer... Don't know if that's a help or not.

Offline

#6 2015-10-03 16:06:45

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,066
Website

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

Is the output channel muted in pavucontrol(S+v>Ouput)?

Does removing pulseaudio fix it?
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 1293#p1293

Offline

#7 2015-10-03 16:30:38

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

^ Nope, not muted and removing pavucontrol made no difference.
Unfortunately still the same issue.

Offline

#8 2015-10-04 21:38:50

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

Just verified this on my second USB stick with a BL rc1 Live persistence.
Prior to removing pavucontrol I can "see" the sound in pavu's VU-meter, going up and down with the sound, but I don't hear anything until I do the unmute in HDA Analyzer.

Offline

#9 2015-10-05 03:21:05

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,066
Website

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

plemil wrote:

And the HW can supply sound without any issues if I use the 3.2 kernel.

If you've left enough space on the USB for a kernel upgrade, you could try 4.1.0 from jessie-backports...
https://packages.debian.org/jessie-back … .2-686-pae
https://packages.debian.org/jessie-back … po.2-amd64

If you feel loose as a goose, you could try 4.3.0-rc3 from experimental...
https://packages.debian.org/experimenta … c3-686-pae
https://packages.debian.org/experimenta … -rc3-amd64

Offline

#10 2015-10-05 06:30:57

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

^ Thanks. I have done it once on my #! install and survived so why not. Only the sound went berserk that time big_smile

Don't know If I have any space left on the stick but if not I will redo one of them and give it a try. Will probably not go for the "goose" for the first attempt, but will probably try that as well sooner or later just for the learning.
Will report back but it would probably not happen today.

Offline

#11 2015-10-05 21:35:35

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

Sorry for a (probably) NOOB question.
I installed the 4.1.0 kernel with apt-get according to HoaS Backported Kernel in 3 simple commands just changed wheezy to jessie.
Restarted and still had the 3.16 kernel running.
If I look in Synaptic the 4.1.0 seems to be installed.

Downloaded the 4.3.0-rc3 and installed that one with GDebi instead but with the same result.

If I run uname -a in terminal I still get:

user@debian:~$ uname -a
Linux debian 3.16.0-4-686-pae #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt11-1+deb8u3 (2015-08-04) i686 GNU/Linux

Right now initrd.img links to /boot/initrd.img-4.3.0-rc3-686-pae
and initrd.img.old links to /boot/initrd.img-4.1.0-0.bpo.2-686-pae
If I look in /boot I can see all three...

How do I chose witch to use during boot?
On my #! I have different entries in my GRUB, but here I'm currently lost.

Offline

#12 2015-10-05 21:43:03

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,007

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

Have you run update-grub yet, and rebooted?


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#13 2015-10-05 21:48:44

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

As I'm using my BL rc1 Live USB w/ persistence I have no grub to update.
Is that what I should do? Install grub?

Offline

#14 2015-10-05 23:20:50

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,007

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

plemil wrote:

As I'm using my BL rc1 Live USB w/ persistence I have no grub to update.
Is that what I should do? Install grub?

Hmm, I don't know how it works with usb+persistence. Does syslinux control the boot process?

Investigate the menu in `/syslinux/live.cfg` maybe.


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#15 2015-10-06 06:38:58

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,263
Website

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

I have exactly the same issue on my sons laptop.  Totally confused as to what to do here.


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!
Resident Metalhead Poser

Offline

#16 2015-10-06 06:59:46

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

^ At least I'm not alone... and making things up smile
Have you sound up and running if you use the HDA Analyser also?

Late at night I went ahead and tried to install grub on my stick. It wanted to use grub-legacy so I went with that.
update-grub had me created a /boot/grub/ directory
update-grub again but nothing happened...

@damo
I will have a look in the syslinux menu, and report back.

Man am I on a step learning curve here...

Offline

#17 2015-10-06 07:16:38

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,263
Website

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

If I fire up a terminal and "sudo alsactl init" I can get sound working but it is back to no sound after a reboot.

EDIT: ok, for some reason the sound has decided to stick around after a reboot.  It appears to have fixed itself.

Last edited by Dobbie03 (2015-10-06 07:25:41)


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!
Resident Metalhead Poser

Offline

#18 2015-10-06 12:55:14

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

I have been playing with the syslinux menu and need some help.

I've managed to add the new kernel entries in the menu.
I've copied the new initrd.img and vmlinuz files to the same directory where the 3.16 kernel img resides.

Now I can at least initiate a start, but both kernels hang on some modprobe stuff.

Am I way out or at least heading in the general direction???
Should I have done this differently?
Did I go wrong already in the kernel update stage?

Offline

#19 2015-10-06 15:29:57

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

AFAIK with live system + persistence you can update anything you want (packages, configs, ...) except for what the system needs to start up, i.e. kernel vmlinuz and initrd.img.

If you want a new kernel, first install the OS to an USB stick (as suggested here already), then upgrade kernel in the normal Debian way.

or

Get hold of another live ISO that already contains the kernel you want, and re-install the live system to the stick.

or

Build your own live ISO with the required kernel.

Offline

#20 2015-10-06 22:13:23

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

^Based on your reply I started from scratch.

  1. Created a Live USB w/ persistence as per hhh's instruction referenced earlier

  2. Tested persistence just in case. Changed keyboard layout, added WiFi etc

  3. Rebooted w/ correct keybord and WiFi

  4. Added Bunsenlabs Jessie backports (from BL main page instr.)

  5. Added Jessie backports (from Debian Backport Wiki)

  6. Installed the 4.1.0-0.bpo.2-686-pae kernel

  7. Rebooted

  8. Default boot options, no new kernel visible. Selected first option (as usual).

  9. uname -a in terminal still gives me the 3.16 kernel

If I look in the file system I can see the 4.1 kernel name at variuos places and sometimes back to back with the 3.16 kernel.

Is there any instuction avaliable on where to put the initrd and vmlinuz files?
It's not 100% clear to me how I should edit the syslinux menu as the paths looks different on my booted system.

Is it possible to auto update the syslinux menu?

Offline

#21 2015-10-07 01:45:15

tknomanzr
BL Die Hard
From: Around the Bend
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,029

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

I think xaos52 is correct. If you installed the live system to a usb stick, you would end up back in familiar territory with grub2 and all that. Syslinux only really cares about it's own partition without a bunch of manual editing of it's config files. I mean if you want to continue to mess with it, then by all means go ahead. You will likely end up knowing more about it than I do for sure, lol.

Offline

#22 2015-10-07 04:24:47

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,066
Website

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

The persistent USB kernel upgrade answer is here (package live-tools)...
http://live.debian.net/manpages/stable/ … mfs.8.html
... but I'm too tired to figure it out ATM.

Offline

#23 2015-10-07 08:43:23

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

Hmm, I will have a look and see if I can figure it out.

@hhh It sounded so easy when you guided me to the new kernels big_smile Slightly more complicated on a live stick apparently

@xaos52 & tknomanzr If I learn something I will let all of you know, and you will probably now if i don't smile
Trying a different ISO seems like the easiest but I don't want to leave this place. I haven't even looked at different distros since I found CB and for me BL seems the way to go...

A slight detour on my quest for sound but I hope a will learn a few tricks on my way.

Offline

#24 2015-10-10 23:09:15

plemil
Member
From: Värnamo, SWEDEN
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 41

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

Installed the live-tools and ended up here:

user@debian:~$ sudo live-update-initramfs 
I: update-initramfs is disabled (live system is running without media mounted on /lib/live/mount/medium).

And that PATH is not avaliable on my live stick.
Do you think it will work if I figure out the correct PATH to the new kernel in the live-update-initramfs script and use that instead?

Offline

#25 2015-10-10 23:43:44

tknomanzr
BL Die Hard
From: Around the Bend
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,029

Re: BL rc1 No sound HDA Intel, ALC260 Analog

Searching around on the net shows issues with this particular sound card, dating back awhile. Before you kill yourself trying to get an upgraded kernel, see if the suggestions in this thread help at all.
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions … io-361803/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB