You are not logged in.

#1 2016-02-24 12:21:39

ppk
Member
Registered: 2016-01-27
Posts: 11

(RC2) Opera browser, why BL installs 'old' version ?

I am on RC2 now. When I install 'opera' through the pipe menu, it installs the old version, i.e., 12.16. Why doesn't it install the new version, i.e., > 35 instead ? Is it deliberate or inadvertent ?

As advertised by 'Opera' itself, the new version is more faster and feature rich than the old one.

Offline

#2 2016-02-24 12:33:29

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,734

Re: (RC2) Opera browser, why BL installs 'old' version ?

ppk wrote:

I am on RC2 now. When I install 'opera' through the pipe menu, it installs the old version, i.e., 12.16. Why doesn't it install the new version, i.e., > 35 instead ? Is it deliberate or inadvertent ?

As advertised by 'Opera' itself, the new version is more faster and feature rich than the old one.

The pipemenu installs the version from `http://deb.opera.com/opera/ stable non-free`. By default BL uses Stable sources, but maybe it is something that could be looked at on a case-by-case basis.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#3 2016-02-25 03:02:49

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 8,632
Website

Re: (RC2) Opera browser, why BL installs 'old' version ?

Looking here: https://deb.opera.com/manual.html
the apt line they currently recommend is

deb https://deb.opera.com/opera-stable/ stable non-free

although that points to the same packages as our old line.
In either case there are different versions available:
"opera" is 12.16.1860
"opera-stable" is 35.*
"opera-beta" is 36.*
See: https://deb.opera.com/opera-stable/dist … 4/Packages


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#4 2016-04-05 19:59:04

AndyMender
Member
From: Reincarnated in the UK :)
Registered: 2016-04-01
Posts: 49
Website

Re: (RC2) Opera browser, why BL installs 'old' version ?

I would watch out for Opera 12.x. I used to use it on Arch Linux briefly and it has some severe memory issues, not to mention possible security liabilities due to it being outdated. Might not be the case for everyone, but just some friendly heads-up smile.


In a GNU/Linux daze since forever. Hail to Debian and Arch!

Offline

#5 2016-04-05 20:56:26

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: (RC2) Opera browser, why BL installs 'old' version ?

AndyMender wrote:

possible security liabilities

The only secure browsers in Debian jessie are Iceweasel and Chromium, all other browsers are fundamentally insecure and should not be used against untrusted websites.

https://www.debian.org/releases/stable/ … r-security


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB