You are not logged in.

#1 2016-02-24 04:53:03

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

How do I change my resolution?

Sorry for the noobishness.

But I don't know how to change my resoltuion. I'm using the hydrogen release.

I have a GTX 960 and I'd like to install the proprietary nvidia driver as well.


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

#2 2016-02-24 07:30:49

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,554

Re: How do I change my resolution?

first question:
right-click on the empty desktop (or the panel) will give you the root menu, there's an option to start arandr in some sub-menu. you will find it.
if you want to make the changes made permanent, you have to save it as a script, then exit arandr, and edit ~/.config/openbox/autostart to execute that script.

second question:
have you checked debian wiki? there should be some tutorials (or on the web itself). i also think this question has been answered on these forums. did you search?

PS:
welcome to bunsenlabs & the forums!

Last edited by ohnonot (2016-02-24 07:31:25)


Give to COVAX! Here or here. (explanation)

Offline

#3 2016-02-24 12:21:55

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,701

Re: How do I change my resolution?

@wheet Please have a search of the forums before posting questions wink Your question about nvidia was answered yesterday big_smile

https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 641#p19641


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#4 2016-02-25 02:14:55

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

Re: How do I change my resolution?

Sorry for not searching first.

The reason I asked this question specifically is because I have followed the debian instructions and it does not work. I was previously using Debian and after I installed the nvidia driver X wouldn't launch, and then it was a tremendously frustrating effort of rebooting to windows, checking forums, going back to linux, trying some commands out, still not working, copy files to pastebin, back to the forums etc ...

I decided to switch to Bunsen figuring it might help me shortcut some things and also there is a dedicate forum to just this one branch of linux.

I'll try the official debian instructions again and report back if I can. But from what I understand, bunsen is basically debian with openbox installed right? So I'm expecting the same issues.

I'll report back.


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

#5 2016-02-25 02:17:03

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

Re: How do I change my resolution?

ohnonot wrote:

first question:
right-click on the empty desktop (or the panel) will give you the root menu, there's an option to start arandr in some sub-menu. you will find it.
if you want to make the changes made permanent, you have to save it as a script, then exit arandr, and edit ~/.config/openbox/autostart to execute that script.

second question:
have you checked debian wiki? there should be some tutorials (or on the web itself). i also think this question has been answered on these forums. did you search?

PS:
welcome to bunsenlabs & the forums!

Thanks for replying. I found that utility and it offers me 1024x768 as the max. I need to set it to 2560x1080 (21:9). How do I go about doing that?


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

#6 2016-02-25 02:19:47

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,701

Re: How do I change my resolution?

wh33t wrote:

.... I was previously using Debian and after I installed the nvidia driver X wouldn't launch, and then it was a tremendously frustrating effort of rebooting to windows, checking forums, going back to linux, trying some commands out, still not working, copy files to pastebin, back to the forums etc ...
....

Did you create the xorg.conf with `sudo nvidia-xconfig` before trying to restart the X server? That was what used to trip me up monkey

Until you get the driver up and running, arandr will only be able to offer you limited resolutions.

Last edited by damo (2016-02-25 02:21:50)


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#7 2016-02-25 02:20:18

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

Re: How do I change my resolution?

Here is the output from following the debian instructions (https://wiki.debian.org/NvidiaGraphicsD … ckports.29)

wh33t@wh33tnux:~$ sudo apt-get install -t jessie-backports nvidia-driver
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
nvidia-driver : Depends: nvidia-kernel-dkms (= 352.79-1~bpo8+1) but it is not going to be installed or
                          nvidia-kernel-352.79
                 Recommends: nvidia-settings (>= 352) but it is not going to be installed
                 Recommends: libgl1-nvidia-glx-i386 but it is not installable
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

Here is my apt/sources.list

#
# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 8 _Jessie_ - Official Snapshot amd64 LIVE/INSTALL Bi$
# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 8 _Jessie_ - Official Snapshot amd64 LIVE/INSTALL Bi$

# jessie-backports
deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian jessie-backports main contrib non-free

#deb http://pkg.bunsenlabs.org/debian bunsen-hydrogen main

#deb http://ca.debian.org/debian jessie main non-free contrib
#deb-src http://httpredir.debian.org/debian jessie main non-free contrib

#deb http://ca.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib non-free

# jessie-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
#deb http://ca.debian.org/debian jessie-updates main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://httpredir.debian.org/debian jessie-updates main contrib non-free

Last edited by wh33t (2016-02-25 02:21:03)


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

#8 2016-02-25 02:26:27

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

Re: How do I change my resolution?

damo wrote:
wh33t wrote:

.... I was previously using Debian and after I installed the nvidia driver X wouldn't launch, and then it was a tremendously frustrating effort of rebooting to windows, checking forums, going back to linux, trying some commands out, still not working, copy files to pastebin, back to the forums etc ...
....

Did you create the xorg.conf with `sudo nvidia-xconfig` before trying to restart the X server? That was what used to trip me up monkey

Until you get the driver up and running, arandr will only be able to offer you limited resolutions.

Yes I did, here is what I have tried previously with Debian 8 (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions … 175572322/)


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

#9 2016-02-25 02:28:39

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,701

Re: How do I change my resolution?

What happens if you try

sudo apt-get install -t jessie-backports nvidia-settings nvidia-xconfig nvidia-driver

EDIT: Strike that...
From the Debian wiki

Note that 352.79 is currently only available in unstable, but it is installable directly from unstable on Jessie

So add unstable to your sources.list, update (DON'T UPGRADE!), get the nvidia packages, then comment out the unstable line. (At your own risk)

Last edited by damo (2016-02-25 02:32:46)


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#10 2016-02-25 02:36:57

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

Re: How do I change my resolution?

damo wrote:

What happens if you try

sudo apt-get install -t jessie-backports nvidia-settings nvidia-xconfig nvidia-driver

EDIT: Strike that...
From the Debian wiki

Note that 352.79 is currently only available in unstable, but it is installable directly from unstable on Jessie

So add unstable to your sources.list, update (DON'T UPGRADE!), get the nvidia packages, then comment out the unstable line. (At your own risk)

I feel like such a pain in the ass being such a novice, but how exactly do I do that? I

Do I just replace this line:

deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian jessie-backports main contrib non-free

with:

deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian jessie-backports main contrib unstable non-free

then

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install nvidia-driver

?


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

#11 2016-02-25 03:09:46

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,701

Re: How do I change my resolution?

For unstable/sid sources, use

deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian unstable main contrib non-free

Then update, then

sudo apt-get install nvidia-settings nvidia-xconfig nvidia-driver

Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#12 2016-02-25 03:15:55

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 8,282
Website

Re: How do I change my resolution?

@wh33t are you sure you need such a new driver for your hardware? Why did you choose to install the backports version?

Have you tried installing and running the package nvidia-detect? https://wiki.debian.org/NvidiaGraphicsD … dia-detect
In my case it recommended  nvidia-glx rather than nvidia-driver (but this is quite an old graphics card).
Anyway, the debian nouveau driver is working OK here, so I haven't yet looked into this stuff too deeply...


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#13 2016-02-25 03:30:24

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,701

Re: How do I change my resolution?

^ OP has a GTX960, which is only supported by the recent driver, AFAICS (unless nouveau works with recent hardware?)

I know nouveau doesn't manage my GTX 660 very well.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#14 2016-02-25 04:42:28

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

Re: How do I change my resolution?

damo wrote:

For unstable/sid sources, use

deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian unstable main contrib non-free

Then update, then

sudo apt-get install nvidia-settings nvidia-xconfig nvidia-driver

Just tried this. Did the nvidia-xconfig thing after as well. Then rebooted. Now X won't launch. This is exactly what happened when I was working with Debian. Any ideas where I can go from here? And why the fuck is this so complicated? Is it because my video card is obscure or something?


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

#15 2016-02-25 04:44:19

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

Re: How do I change my resolution?

johnraff wrote:

@wh33t are you sure you need such a new driver for your hardware? Why did you choose to install the backports version?

Have you tried installing and running the package nvidia-detect? https://wiki.debian.org/NvidiaGraphicsD … dia-detect
In my case it recommended  nvidia-glx rather than nvidia-driver (but this is quite an old graphics card).
Anyway, the debian nouveau driver is working OK here, so I haven't yet looked into this stuff too deeply...

I'll consider that next. The reason I want the nvidia driver is that I'm trying to lead the way for my small group of gamer friends that want to switch to a linux distro before Windows 7 support ends. They've all charged me with the task of evaluating whether or not it's doable. So far I haven't had much luck.

We already know linux will give us less performance in most games, and in some cases make it so we can't even play certain games. So I figure at the very least I should get a system up and running with the best possible odds.


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

#16 2016-02-25 04:51:15

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,701

Re: How do I change my resolution?

Try restoring the backup xorg.conf (nvidia-xconfig should have made a backup).

You may need to wait for one of the hardware gurus to explain how to remove nvidia and restore nouveau, because I haven't had to do that.

Have you tried @johnraff's suggestion to use `nvidia-detect`?

Most hardware drivers are closed source, so linux ones have to be reverse engineered (although nvidia has recently got better in that respect for linux developers). Be glad you don't need AMD!


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#17 2016-02-25 04:58:21

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

Re: How do I change my resolution?

damo wrote:

Try restoring the backup xorg.conf (nvidia-xconfig should have made a backup).

You may need to wait for one of the hardware gurus to explain how to remove nvidia and restore nouveau, because I haven't had to do that.

Have you tried @johnraff's suggestion to use `nvidia-detect`?

Most hardware drivers are closed source, so linux ones have to be reverse engineered (although nvidia has recently got better in that respect for linux developers). Be glad you don't need AMD!

I did some research before building my new computer and everyone said hands down, less headache = nvidia/intel, so that's what I went with.

So in order to switch back to the previous xorg.conf I just rename the backup file that nvidia should have made and then startx? Is this particular xorg.conf found in /etc/x11/xorg?

I'll try the detect after.

What a pain in the ass.


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

#18 2016-02-25 05:04:05

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,701

Re: How do I change my resolution?

wh33t wrote:

....
So in order to switch back to the previous xorg.conf I just rename the backup file that nvidia should have made and then startx? Is this particular xorg.conf found in /etc/x11/xorg?
....

Well, the file should be in `/etc/X11/` AFAIK (I'm not on my nvidia machine ATM).


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#19 2016-02-25 05:05:08

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

Re: How do I change my resolution?

damo wrote:
wh33t wrote:

....
So in order to switch back to the previous xorg.conf I just rename the backup file that nvidia should have made and then startx? Is this particular xorg.conf found in /etc/x11/xorg?
....

Well, the file should be in `/etc/X11/` AFAIK (I'm not on my nvidia machine ATM).

Great. Thank you. I'll go attempt some linux magic. Hopefully you hear from me again!

Btw, these forums really need a tip/thank button to showcase all the great help I've been receiving.


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

#20 2016-02-25 05:37:22

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

Re: How do I change my resolution?

Well, I went in and checked all of the xorg.conf files. There was one that said xorg.conf.nvidia-original-something-something, it was blank, and the other xorg.conf (including xorg.conf.backup) files all looked to be configured by nvidia upon inspection. So, no reverting for me.


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

#21 2016-02-25 06:48:58

tknomanzr
BL Die Hard
From: Around the Bend
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,057

Re: How do I change my resolution?

smxi will take the pain out of this for you. I feel it fair to warn you that you probably won't like the performance and stability of the experimental nvidia drivers, though. I have a Titanx and pretty much have to boot to Windows 10 for any serious gaming, due to lockups. It could be a very specific issue with the Titanx however, as I ran across something about that recently. Anyway, if you care to try, go to smxi.org and find and follow the instructions for getting the script and running it. It will walk you through the rest. FOr multi-monitor setups you would want to apt-get install nvidia-settings as well. Once the script is done running and you are back to a desktop, you can run nvidia-settings to set your monitors up, etc.

Offline

#22 2016-02-25 07:46:51

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: How do I change my resolution?

wh33t wrote:

Here is my apt/sources.list

# 
# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 8 _Jessie_ - Official Snapshot amd64 LIVE/INSTALL Bi$
# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 8 _Jessie_ - Official Snapshot amd64 LIVE/INSTALL Bi$

# jessie-backports
deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian jessie-backports main contrib non-free

#deb http://pkg.bunsenlabs.org/debian bunsen-hydrogen main

#deb http://ca.debian.org/debian jessie main non-free contrib
#deb-src http://httpredir.debian.org/debian jessie main non-free contrib

#deb http://ca.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib non-free

# jessie-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
#deb http://ca.debian.org/debian jessie-updates main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://httpredir.debian.org/debian jessie-updates main contrib non-free

All of your sources except jessie-backports are commented out and thus inactive.

Please post the output of:

lspci -knn|grep -iA2 'vga\|3d'

“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#23 2016-02-25 08:26:50

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

Re: How do I change my resolution?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
wh33t wrote:

Here is my apt/sources.list

# 
# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 8 _Jessie_ - Official Snapshot amd64 LIVE/INSTALL Bi$
# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 8 _Jessie_ - Official Snapshot amd64 LIVE/INSTALL Bi$

# jessie-backports
deb http://httpredir.debian.org/debian jessie-backports main contrib non-free

#deb http://pkg.bunsenlabs.org/debian bunsen-hydrogen main

#deb http://ca.debian.org/debian jessie main non-free contrib
#deb-src http://httpredir.debian.org/debian jessie main non-free contrib

#deb http://ca.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib non-free

# jessie-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
#deb http://ca.debian.org/debian jessie-updates main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://httpredir.debian.org/debian jessie-updates main contrib non-free

All of your sources except jessie-backports are commented out and thus inactive.

Please post the output of:

lspci -knn|grep -iA2 'vga\|3d'

How do I do that? I don't have X running and pastebinit -i filename tells me that it's using an invalid api key.

When I run that command it does however say Nvidia GTX 960 in the response.

I think I might just reinstall and try again following some other instructions I've seen.

Last edited by wh33t (2016-02-25 08:36:55)


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

#24 2016-02-25 19:23:25

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: How do I change my resolution?

wh33t wrote:

When I run that command it does however say Nvidia GTX 960 in the response.

Does the output also list an Intel graphics card?


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#25 2016-02-25 21:34:51

wh33t
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 22

Re: How do I change my resolution?

Here I took a photo with  my nexus.

http://imgur.com/7M99Rqx

7M99Rqx

Last edited by wh33t (2016-02-25 21:35:27)


Trying to game on Linux ...
i5-4590 - GTX 960 - 16GB - 2560x1080 (21:9)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB