You are not logged in.

#1376 2021-06-20 21:28:34

Colonel Panic
Member
Registered: 2018-11-13
Posts: 333

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

I tried a couple of Exton's distros / spinoffs today; Extix 21.5, which is based on both Debian and Ubuntu, and SlackEX 210501 which as its name suggests is based on Slackware (15.0 Beta).

I didn't have much luck with ExTix because it didn't detect my network card, but SlackEX worked well once I'd sorted out an installation glitch which prevented it from saving my user name and password. I'm posting from it now.

SlackEX also uses Enlightenment as its main window manager, one of the very few distros to do so (Bodhi is another one). I have to say that both of them are a bit rough around the edges though, and not really worth trying if you want a distro which works flawlessly out of the box.

They also have a fairly minimal level of software included as standard so things like an e-mail client and an office suite have to be installed separately.

[EDIT: SlackEX comes with Mutt installed, if you know how to set it up; I don't).

Last edited by Colonel Panic (2021-06-20 23:13:57)

Offline

#1377 2021-06-21 04:05:58

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 12,295
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

^ No soup cans in sight. Nice pics.

Offline

#1378 2021-06-21 10:55:27

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 1,020
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

eight.bit.al wrote:

With an eSATA adapter, you can get good speeds from an external drive, and have portability too. Could have several external drive enclosures, each containing several drives.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/323227529835

My distro hopping test rig is setup this way using a single drive caddy:

https://scrot.cloud/images/2020/07/25/test_setup1_1200.th.jpg https://scrot.cloud/images/2020/07/25/test_setup_1200.th.jpg

Both my HP Z 230 and Z 440 and my Dell 3630 can update the BIOS from within the BIOS with no operating system as long as there is a network connection. (upgrade and downgrade).

Glad to be of help. smile

8bit

Mod: please move this part of the thread if needed. TIA.

Very nice setup you got there eight.bit.al thanks for sharing. I have a few external HDDs, but i have impression they work way faster if are installed internal. I only did Dell upgrade via Bios since i mostly used DELL. The only HP I have a 27w HP monitor FHD that i'm pleased using it.

@Mod please move my messages to a most appropriate topic.

Thanks again 8bit for sharing your thoughts!


Devuan // CWM
Fedora // GNOME

Offline

#1379 2021-06-21 11:36:55

rbh
Moderator
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 1,203

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Nili wrote:

but i have impression they work way faster if are installed internal.

Of cource, an internal disk work faster than if external attached. If working with very disk intensive application; database etc, you will notice a difference.
When just testing a new distro, surfing or writing, working with graphics etc, you will hardly notice the difference betwen an internal sata or external USB3/Esata disk.


// Regards rbh

Please read before requesting help: Guide to getting help,
Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop and other help topics under "Help Resources" on the BunsenLabs menu

Offline

#1380 2021-06-21 12:37:32

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 1,020
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Thanks for your point rbh, i still haven't got a USB3 system. Once i bought a new system i believe i will be able to understand the difference in one way or another. Oh well, i don't work with very busy applications, only torrenting 24/7, other simply Internet stuff streaming forums, copy paste stuff from desktop to android, local audio/video player or viewer. Basically normal daily home usages.
The only edits i made is ffmpeg, i'm really happy with results.


Devuan // CWM
Fedora // GNOME

Offline

#1381 2021-06-21 14:13:37

eight.bit.al
Member
From: Prison
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 1,102

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Nili wrote:

I have a few external HDDs, but i have impression they work way faster if are installed internal.

Well, I had to run some tests. smile

First is the results for the external eSATA drive caddy. Second is the same drive hooked to the same port on the motherboard, standard SATA cable:

dirve-io.th.png

Nothing an average, home user would ever notice. Don't have a quality exterior enclosure to test with, might be even better throughput.

8bit

Last edited by eight.bit.al (2021-06-21 14:41:07)


If art is how we decorate space, music is how we decorate time.

Offline

#1382 2021-06-23 23:41:15

eight.bit.al
Member
From: Prison
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 1,102

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

hhh wrote:

^ No soup cans in sight. Nice pics.

Almost missed this. :-) Oatmeal cans. smile

Old pic:
IMG_20210202_153908741.th.jpg

8bit


If art is how we decorate space, music is how we decorate time.

Offline

#1383 2021-06-24 00:03:44

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 12,295
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

^ Thanks what I'm talking about! Nice. Satellites are in nearly perfect position. I'd go with 1 inch forward or 1 back from the screens to reduce reflections and give a slightly better sound-stage, but damn close, and with the angled screens maybe perfect as-is. The height and tow-in definitely look near-perfect. Loving the teal clock.

Offline

#1384 2021-06-24 01:28:07

eight.bit.al
Member
From: Prison
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 1,102

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

^ Yes. When I'm really into the music, I pull them in about 6 inches. wink

8bit


If art is how we decorate space, music is how we decorate time.

Offline

#1385 2021-06-24 02:55:44

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 12,295
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

^ That a boy!

Offline

#1386 2021-06-27 12:40:56

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 1,020
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

@eight.bit.al

Hello again, I finally managed to buy an DELL Optiplex 5080 exactly this one.

51271681792_4258d37900_n.jpg

I started with Fedora, I found appropriate time to test GNOME 40+. So far it seems to me very good and fast, let's say a PC suitable for home uses tasks. The advice went to the right ear that it wasn't necessary to have a dual processor for household items, as i was almost ready to buy HP Z840 without thinking too long.

I think this was the better appropriate choice for me. THANKS!


Devuan // CWM
Fedora // GNOME

Offline

#1387 2021-06-27 16:43:27

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,356

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Nili wrote:

@eight.bit.al

Hello again, I finally managed to buy an DELL Optiplex 5080 exactly this one.

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51271681792_4258d37900_n.jpg

I started with Fedora, I found appropriate time to test GNOME 40+. So far it seems to me very good and fast, let's say a PC suitable for home uses tasks. The advice went to the right ear that it wasn't necessary to have a dual processor for household items, as i was almost ready to buy HP Z840 without thinking too long.

I think this was the better appropriate choice for me. THANKS!

The 5080  is a nice machine and many of these are also deployed around the hospital I work at. My department also uses one as a little server for our monitoring tools.

How is Wayland working on that new box? This makes me now want to play with Fedora on my big rig smile

Last edited by DeepDayze (2021-06-27 16:46:48)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#1388 2021-06-27 17:29:15

unklar
Back to the roots 1.9
From: #! BL
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 1,579

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Nili wrote:

@eight.bit.al

Hello again, I finally managed to buy an DELL Optiplex 5080 exactly this one.

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51271681792_4258d37900_n.jpg

I started with Fedora, I found appropriate time to test GNOME 40+. So far it seems to me very good and fast, let's say a PC suitable for home uses tasks. The advice went to the right ear that it wasn't necessary to have a dual processor for household items, as i was almost ready to buy HP Z840 without thinking too long.

I think this was the better appropriate choice for me. THANKS!


@Nili,

from the bottom of my heart, congratulations on your decision and that you feel good about it.   smile

Offline

#1389 2021-06-27 20:14:17

eight.bit.al
Member
From: Prison
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 1,102

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Nili wrote:

@eight.bit.al...
I think this was the better appropriate choice for me. THANKS!

You did well, so glad you're happy. smile

8bit.


If art is how we decorate space, music is how we decorate time.

Offline

#1390 2021-06-28 13:23:36

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 1,020
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

DeepDayze wrote:

The 5080  is a nice machine and many of these are also deployed around the hospital I work at. My department also uses one as a little server for our monitoring tools.

How is Wayland working on that new box? This makes me now want to play with Fedora on my big rig smile

Hi DeepDayze, Indeed this 5080 series i find quiet and fast. In fact this system it is recommended for offices or work of your types profile or suchs. Even where i bought it more or less they said so, but as soon as i told them it will keep Linux inside not for major taks like working or editing multimedia stuff, games, or too many monitors installed, they said it will fit well enough for you. I like the case and the settings seems optimal for me and i didn't hesitate to get it.

Regarding Wayland, i encountered some crash once the gnome-shell loads or if i log-out and log-in again i note a notification that says it did crash please report it. I read through fedora forums and the Internet and there were others who had encountered something like this, I am not very clear if it is a Wayland problem, gnome-shell, or simply because version 40.1 of GNOME does not have much that has come out and may be expected specific issues.

I'm very new to a bloated system smile I'm a minimalistic user, i better start learning what x and y do firstly.

The crash thanks doesn't lead me on console, that's a good sign, if it crashed the whole Window or applications then it would be a serious matter for me. I got some updates lately, it seems a bit calmer, i'm not seeing the crash message often, i'll see following.

So far, so good with Wayland. Well, give it a try i think. GNOME, RedHat or all peoples behind it have done a colossal job, I often watched videos on Youtube and i do not deny that they envied me. I think everyone should make a visit on GNOME 40+ just to check it at least once.

unklar wrote:

@Nili,

from the bottom of my heart, congratulations on your decision and that you feel good about it.  smile

Thanks so much for your kindly words bro unklar, For the first time in many years i bought a new system that made me feel really comfortable.

eight.bit.al wrote:

You did well, so glad you're happy. smile
8bit.

Thanks again 8bit.


Devuan // CWM
Fedora // GNOME

Offline

#1391 2021-06-28 15:36:29

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,356

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

@Nili, Thanks for sharing your experiences with this new Dell 5080 and with Wayland/Gnome. I am sure Gnome 40 isn't quite ready for prime time yet and so is Wayland which should continue to improve over time. While Wayland won't really replace X for the foreseeable future it should be solid once it's ready.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2021-06-28 15:37:00)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#1392 2021-06-28 22:49:56

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 1,020
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Pleasantly, Agree it is still too early to call it stable. Bugs are expected perhaps in plenty, I believe over the time it will improve GNOME a lot. Let see tomorrow what will bring for both Wayland and Gnome 40+.


Devuan // CWM
Fedora // GNOME

Offline

#1393 2021-06-30 19:13:15

eight.bit.al
Member
From: Prison
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 1,102

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Windows 11

2021-06-30-12.th.png 2021-06-30-13.th.png
2021-06-30-18.th.png 2021-06-30-20.th.png
2021-06-30-21.th.png

8bit

Last edited by eight.bit.al (2021-06-30 19:16:05)


If art is how we decorate space, music is how we decorate time.

Offline

#1394 2021-06-30 21:27:21

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,356

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Cool scrot...is that using WSL on the Win11 preview?


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#1395 2021-07-01 21:23:52

Colonel Panic
Member
Registered: 2018-11-13
Posts: 333

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

I'm testing out Endeavour, a distro which is the successor to Antergos and like that one based on Arch. I've tried it before but was disappointed at the time that it would only support a display resolution of 1024x768; that's not a problem for me at the moment because it's all my current monitor will support.

It's unusual in that it offers the option to install a supported version of bpswm, which I might try later. It doesn't have either LibreOffice or Thunderbird included as standard though, which I found disappointing for a 1.9 GB ISO download.

Offline

#1396 2021-07-02 02:59:12

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 12,295
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

^ So, what filled up that 1.9G?

Offline

#1397 2021-07-03 12:09:23

Colonel Panic
Member
Registered: 2018-11-13
Posts: 333

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

hhh wrote:

^ So, what filled up that 1.9G?

I don't know to be honest. Going by their website, the devs found it a challenge to keep below 2GB;

https://endeavouros.com/latest-release/

It's all academic at the moment anyway as in common with most Arch-based distros it's a trial to get it to boot from Grub and my last attempts to do so failed (so I'm posting this from another distro).

Last edited by Colonel Panic (2021-07-03 12:16:31)

Offline

#1398 2021-07-03 12:30:31

el_koraco
Member
Registered: 2016-02-08
Posts: 139

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

DeepDayze wrote:

@Nili, Thanks for sharing your experiences with this new Dell 5080 and with Wayland/Gnome. I am sure Gnome 40 isn't quite ready for prime time yet and so is Wayland which should continue to improve over time. While Wayland won't really replace X for the foreseeable future it should be solid once it's ready.

It depends on the hardware with Wayland. I have been running a fairly pristine Wayland session for years now with zero issues on Intel chips with integrated graphics. By pristine, I mean hardly any Xwayland, I'm even running Firefox as a Wayland application. The caveat there is that I don't use many applications in general. As far as the design of Gnome 40 is concerned, to each his own, but as for stability and responsiveness, I am finding it superior to the Gnome 3 era.

Last edited by el_koraco (2021-07-03 12:31:11)

Offline

#1399 2021-07-10 20:52:09

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 1,020
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

el_koraco wrote:

It depends on the hardware with Wayland. I have been running a fairly pristine Wayland session for years now with zero issues on Intel chips with integrated graphics. By pristine, I mean hardly any Xwayland, I'm even running Firefox as a Wayland application. The caveat there is that I don't use many applications in general. As far as the design of Gnome 40 is concerned, to each his own, but as for stability and responsiveness, I am finding it superior to the Gnome 3 era.

So far so good with GNOME 40.2 (Wayland). I haven't used GNOME 3 , infact i haven't used a DE since many years, GNOME 40 on a 2020 system it is behaving extremely well. I too running Mozilla Firefox for Fedora installed as default from Workstation Edition.

I had some sporadic concerns early, i didn't know who caused it, ignored to investigate as it was early for me as a beginner in this system, but with daily updates i see a pretty good performance. This is my first time on Fedora, So far i am very fine with it, i will stay longer than i had planned.


Devuan // CWM
Fedora // GNOME

Offline

#1400 2021-07-10 23:48:06

el_koraco
Member
Registered: 2016-02-08
Posts: 139

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Yeah, there were many many dropped frames at the start, but they fixed that fairly early on. I like the desktop metaphor, I actually find it the best one around, but I understand that people may not easily get used to it. If you want to run a Wayland Firefox, you need to add MOZ_ENABLE_WAYLAND=1 to /etc/environment

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB