You are not logged in.

#51 2019-12-16 21:11:03

deadface
Member
Registered: 2016-04-16
Posts: 11

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

Just to help out other nvidia driver users that may have this issue below is the screen tearing fix.  It has nothing to do with BL but I forget how to fix it every time I reinstall.

cat .config/bunsen/autostart

.....
## Run the XDG autostart stuff. This requires python-xdg to be installed.
## See bl-xdg-autostart --help for more details.
bl-xdg-autostart

# Tearing fix found by googling like mad
nvidia-settings --assign CurrentMetaMode="nvidia-auto-select +0+0 { ForceFullCompositionPipeline = On }

Offline

#52 2019-12-16 21:34:30

Martin
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 462
Website

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

rbh wrote:
johnraff wrote:

Is the Swedish layout not available?

setxkbmap se

Confirmed. Indeed it is.
Information how to change keyboard should go in to Bunsen Welcome text.
Maybe an menu shortcut to selector?

Thanks, I didn't know (or remember) setxkbmap.

/Martin


"Problems worthy of attack
prove their worth by hitting back."
Piet Hein

Offline

#53 2019-12-17 01:17:41

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 7,299
Website

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

rbh wrote:

Information how to change keyboard should go in to Bunsen Welcome text.

Yes, good idea for the live session.

Maybe an menu shortcut to selector?

Well, there is a small system tray widget which BunsenLabs still ships (probably by an oversight), fbxkb. It can be added to the autostart file like this:

setxkbmap jp,us,se # some choice of layouts
fbxkb &

But for us to ship this by default we'd have to choose which countries' layouts to enable. Putting them all in is clearly not practical, which is why we decided to just drop it. It's a neat little utility though, and if there was some consensus on a reasonably short list of layouts to support, we could quite easily add it to the live session configs. OTOH a note about the terminal command might be just as useful.

Users who regularly need to switch between several keyboard layouts might like fbxkb though. smile

NB Switching keyboard layout is not the same as using an Input Method Editor like fcitx+mozc.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#54 2019-12-19 00:26:13

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 10,489
Website

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

clusterF wrote:

Obconf would also set the window decor but not the root menu.

Sorry I missed this. We are using @malm's jgmenu now by default. Type to search! Start typing the name or type of application (thunar or file manager or terminal or lxappearance, etc...)!

To update the menu theme after setting the OB theme, Main Menu>Preferences>jgmenu>Sync Theme w. Openbox

I have not tested that in the LIVE session, but it should work.

NOTE: This will also update the menu when you install or remove apps! big_smile

edit: Ah, damo and John and cog have already responded. No harm in me repeating it.

*Dorothy* damos and johnraffs and cogs!

*All* OH MY!

Offline

#55 2019-12-19 14:07:49

clusterF
Member
Registered: 2019-05-07
Posts: 539

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

@ hhh, atleast it is documented here for future reference.

Offline

#56 2019-12-19 18:29:47

first name
New Member
Registered: 2019-12-16
Posts: 2

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

I have an issue with the Tint2 panel, when I switch it over to tint2/tint2rc-lithium-vertical.

1. I have two displays and then all of the windows open on the secondary screen, covering the panel. Also, when I open the calendar, from no matter which panel, it opens on the secondary panel and covers the panel also.

2. When I try to maximize any window, they maximize on the second display and in very small proportion regarding to the full size of the screen (Geany in the picture).

3. When I open windows and change for example in Thunar the directory or in xrandr press any button, the window automatically moves between the displays or on the other (secondary) display.

I have the displays configured correctly as the left one is the primary and secondary is the right one in the NVIDIA X Server Settings and this issue is only with the vertical panel. These issues are also present with the Nouveau drivers.

My machine is:
R7 1700
Asrock AB450M
GTX 1070

Pictures here: https://imgur.com/a/pmL0eVP

But otherwise the distro looks very nice.

Last edited by first name (2019-12-19 18:34:14)

Offline

#57 2019-12-19 20:17:39

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,268

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

@first name: what happens if you change

panel_monitor = monitor primary      [or 1 or 2 or ...]

BTW you can post linked thumbnails as well:
traa7Q5t.png
ArS0axjt.png

Last edited by damo (2019-12-19 20:25:29)


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#58 2019-12-19 20:45:10

first name
New Member
Registered: 2019-12-16
Posts: 2

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

damo wrote:

@first name: what happens if you change

panel_monitor = monitor primary      [or 1 or 2 or ...]

BTW you can post linked thumbnails as well:
https://i.imgur.com/traa7Q5t.png
https://i.imgur.com/ArS0axjt.png

I changed it to 1 (primary also worked) and now it is on the primary monitor only and things are working well. No glitches like the ones I mentioned before. Thanks for your help!

Last edited by first name (2019-12-19 20:45:45)

Offline

#59 2019-12-19 20:46:03

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,268

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

Cool smile


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#60 2019-12-22 17:35:02

juancuyo
Member
Registered: 2017-11-17
Posts: 20

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

Is there a new version of Bunsenlabs based on Debian 10 for 32-bit PCs?

Offline

#61 2019-12-22 22:35:20

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 661

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

juancuyo wrote:

Is there a new version of Bunsenlabs based on Debian 10 for 32-bit PCs?

No beta released yet.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#62 2019-12-23 01:00:01

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 10,489
Website

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

I think, correct me if I'm wrong developers, we've decided the CD ISO will be the only 32 bit ISO we're releasing this time. A CD-sized ISO is challenging, and having bl-welcome ready to upgrade it to the full system isn't quite fleshed out yet, I think.

Anyway, @johnraff's away to see his family in England, we'll have to await his return to Japan before the next ISOs are released. It's looking good so far, though. No major bugs reported on this release yet.

Also, to those who've donated in the last few days, thank you!

Offline

#63 2019-12-23 13:22:57

jr2
Member
Registered: 2017-12-24
Posts: 61

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

^What he said.

If there was a big demand for a full-sized 32bit iso, we might reconsider...


normal service will be resumed as soon as possible

Offline

#64 2019-12-23 14:22:35

dbvolvox
Member
From: England
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 75
Website

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

Installation on old test machine..

david@lithium:~$ inxi -F
System:
  Host: lithium Kernel: 4.19.0-6-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 
  Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: BunsenLabs GNU/Linux 10.0 (Lithium) 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop Mobo: ECS model: GeForce6100PM-M2 v: 2.0 
  serial: <root required> BIOS: Phoenix v: 6.00 PG date: 12/13/2007 
CPU:
  Topology: Dual Core model: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ bits: 64 type: MCP 
  L2 cache: 1024 KiB 
  Speed: 1000 MHz min/max: 1000/2400 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1000 2: 1000 
Graphics:
  Device-1: NVIDIA C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] driver: nouveau v: kernel 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: nouveau 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1024x768~76Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: NV4C v: 2.1 Mesa 18.3.6 
Audio:
  Device-1: C-Media CMI8738/CMI8768 PCI Audio driver: snd_cmipci 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.0-6-amd64 
Network:
  Device-1: NVIDIA MCP61 Ethernet type: network bridge driver: forcedeth 
  IF: enp0s7 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:1e:90:cb:9e:89 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 1.16 TiB used: 71.98 GiB (6.0%) 

Full install of LibreOffice, thunderbird and printer support. Only issue was the need to install additional package libreoffice-gnome to get double clicking on a file on networkshare, in Thunar, to launch libreoffice writer.
Great job guys, thank you.

Offline

#65 2019-12-29 22:20:26

Colonel Panic
Member
Registered: 2018-11-13
Posts: 181

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

An interesting issue here.

I've tried exchanging the menu.xml and rc.xml files supplied with the distro for the ones I use in other distros that I've installed Openbox in (such as Pardus) and I found it reverts to the "standard" ones instead and won't use the settings I've specified, despite the fact that when I look into the /home/.config/openbox and /etc/X11/openbox subdirectories the files I've exchanged the standard ones for are still in place and haven't been overwritten

This isn't much of a problem because the ones supplied work well and are perfectly good (except that I'd like at least four desktops to use rather than two), but I think it's worth noting anyway and to be honest I find it puzzling because it isn't what I'd expect to be happening.

Good job anyway. I'd say lt's almost ready for prime time as it is.

Last edited by Colonel Panic (2019-12-29 22:34:21)

Offline

#66 2019-12-29 22:56:23

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,268

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

If you are logging in with the default BL session you won't be using the Openbox configs, but the bl-* files. Choose "Openbox session" when logging in (Settings icon at top right of log-in screen).

I find it puzzling because it isn't what I'd expect to be happening.

It caught me out the first time!


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#67 2019-12-30 00:58:10

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 10,489
Website

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

^ So, a Release Note: We now have two sessions available at login, the BL Openbox session that uses our new jgmenu replacement, wallpaper and tint2 and conky and compton settings, etc... and the OOTB Debian session which I haven't played with yet but I assume is pretty stock Debian.

Rebooting to accurately give the keyboard shortcut for the session switcher (I thinks it's Alt+F10 and then arrow keys) and to check out the stock OB session...

Offline

#68 2019-12-30 01:11:12

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 10,489
Website

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

^ Mostly confirmed. The shortcut is just Fn10, then arrow left one and down to Openbox, press Enter and then login. The Shutdown shortcut is good to know and that does use Alt, it's Alt+Fn4

The Openbox login is indeed very minimal. You get the login wallpaper as your wallpaper and right-click brings up a very sparse root menu, and that's pretty much it. Configure away to your heart's content.

Offline

#69 2019-12-30 21:26:11

Colonel Panic
Member
Registered: 2018-11-13
Posts: 181

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

Thanks for the information (and damo too)! I'll remember that the next time I log in.

Offline

#70 2019-12-30 21:52:14

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 991

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

dbvolvox wrote:

Installation on old test machine..

Full install of LibreOffice, thunderbird and printer support. Only issue was the need to install additional package libreoffice-gnome to get double clicking on a file on networkshare, in Thunar, to launch libreoffice writer.
Great job guys, thank you.

Maybe bl-welcome can install that package as part of the LibreOffice installation.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2019-12-30 21:52:36)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#71 2019-12-30 23:13:23

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 661

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

dbvolvox wrote:

Only issue was the need to install additional package libreoffice-gnome to get double clicking on a file on networkshare, in Thunar, to launch libreoffice writer.

DeepDayze wrote:

Maybe bl-welcome can install that package as part of the LibreOffice installation.

I don't think neither libreoffice-gnome, nor libreoffice-gtk2 or libreoffice-gtk3, is nessesary for that.
I have checked three installations. None of them have libreoffice-gnome. They all have either  or libreoffice-gtk3. I uninstalled libreoffice-gtk2 on one. No problem doubleclick on document in a fileshare to start libreoffice-writer.

On that machine, first Caligra started, no problem to tel filemanager to start writer instead, even with libreoffice-gtk2 removed and no other libreoffice-g* installed.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#72 2019-12-31 01:14:07

Sun For Miles
Member
Registered: 2017-04-12
Posts: 191

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

Honestly I really like the deafult choice of only LibreOffice Writer and Calc. I can easily slap apt install libreoffice if I want the whole suite.

After some tinkering and adjusting I've got full gray layout:
27MXzjdt.png

So far the only counterintuitive things for the first use were applying color theme for window elements (select theme in appereance, then openbox config, then jgmenu sync with openbox), but it's easy after the first time. Customizing lxterminal also wasn't hard when I realised that I had to generate .config file because I've found no way to add new palette besides five default ones.

Here's lxterminal.config with railscasts dark theme I used in the screenshot:

[general]
fontname=Monospace 10
selchars=-A-Za-z0-9,./?%&#:_
scrollback=1000
bgcolor=rgb(43,43,43)
fgcolor=rgb(230,225,220)
palette_color_0=rgb(43,43,43)
palette_color_1=rgb(218,73,57)
palette_color_2=rgb(165,194,97)
palette_color_3=rgb(255,198,109)
palette_color_4=rgb(109,156,190)
palette_color_5=rgb(182,179,235)
palette_color_6=rgb(81,159,80)
palette_color_7=rgb(230,225,220)
palette_color_8=rgb(90,100,126)
palette_color_9=rgb(218,73,57)
palette_color_10=rgb(165,194,97)
palette_color_11=rgb(255,198,109)
palette_color_12=rgb(109,156,190)
palette_color_13=rgb(182,179,235)
palette_color_14=rgb(81,159,80)
palette_color_15=rgb(249,247,243)
color_preset=Custom
disallowbold=false
cursorblinks=false
cursorunderline=false
audiblebell=false
tabpos=top
geometry_columns=80
geometry_rows=24
hidescrollbar=false
hidemenubar=false
hideclosebutton=false
hidepointer=false
disablef10=false
disablealt=false
disableconfirm=false

[shortcut]
new_window_accel=<Primary><Shift>n
new_tab_accel=<Primary><Shift>t
close_tab_accel=<Primary><Shift>w
close_window_accel=<Primary><Shift>q
copy_accel=<Primary><Shift>c
paste_accel=<Primary><Shift>v
name_tab_accel=<Primary><Shift>i
previous_tab_accel=<Primary>Page_Up
next_tab_accel=<Primary>Page_Down
move_tab_left_accel=<Primary><Shift>Page_Up
move_tab_right_accel=<Primary><Shift>Page_Down
zoom_in_accel=<Primary><Shift>plus
zoom_out_accel=<Primary><Shift>underscore
zoom_reset_accel=<Primary><Shift>parenright

I have no complaints regarding this test build, nothing I need was broken. Good job, devs!


Señor Chang, why do you teach Spanish?

Offline

#73 2020-01-06 10:39:31

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 661

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

grml-rescueboot of lithium dvd, did not work. could not find live iso.

I copied .iso...//live to hd, then boot ok.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#74 2020-01-09 07:11:14

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 7,299
Website

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

hhh wrote:

the CD ISO will be the only 32 bit ISO we're releasing this time... having bl-welcome ready to upgrade it to the full system...

...is already available. bl-welcome detects a CD install and offers to install bunsen-meta-all which will pull in the full package set, bypassing the need for a separate full-sized 32bit iso.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#75 2020-01-09 09:25:11

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 767

Re: Testing Lithium iso discussion

johnraff wrote:

...is already available. bl-welcome detects a CD install and offers to install bunsen-meta-all which will pull in the full package set, bypassing the need for a separate full-sized 32bit iso.

Woah ... and I impatiently waited for 32 bit version to check it on some older Asus PC eee. (Should have been mentioned somewhere, as iso has 'amd64' in its name ...) Thanks for the info.


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB