You are not logged in.

#26 2017-11-15 12:38:44

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,058
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Yes compton on, it does work fine without compton.

Offline

#27 2017-11-15 13:13:22

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 401
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

For me it is exactly the opposite, with compton everything is fine, without it I get corrupted screenshots (usually right after minimizing an application).

I do not see any obvious problem in the code...

Offline

#28 2017-11-15 13:28:53

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,058
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Digging a little further, it happens not only with libre, but with say thunar as well if
a. compton = on
b. Window is not full width
Will try on another machine later (old nvidia).

edit: Old macpro with old nvidia
https://transfer.sh/15dy3Q/11152017.firstborns.1954.mp4

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2017-11-15 18:59:22)

Offline

#29 2017-11-15 20:34:36

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 401
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

After playing with it, I managed to freeze my kernel twice. I'm either doing something wrong or the video drivers are buggy.

For now I'm disabling the shared memory method, and reverting to the cairo method (but with automatic quality reduction). Although from the tint2 log in your video, it seems that even that doesn't work well?! Please let me know, when you have time, if the latest commit (5e6e118) improves things.

If this feature is unstable, I might revert it.

If it helps, here is my compton.conf: https://paste.ubuntu.com/25969881/

Last edited by o9000 (2017-11-15 20:47:11)

Offline

#30 2017-11-16 07:03:24

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 401
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Got it to crash again. Not exactly a crash, just the system running out of memory. This is with the cairo screenshotting method, not mine. Looks bad.

I looked at what cinnamon does; they get the thumbnails from the compositor. I don't think compton allows this.

The only way to salvage this feature is to only screenshot the whole desktop instead of each window (which should be safer, otherwise recording tools wouldn't work) and extract window contents by cropping.

Offline

#31 2017-11-16 09:25:06

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,058
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Less problematic Intel machine (commit e8a6c93b28dc047b9b613a0e74612c30ee838efc)
https://transfer.sh/DVwLL/11162017.sessions.1019.mp4
Behaves quite well imho.

Offline

#32 2017-11-16 10:37:56

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 401
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Pushed a new method using XGetImage (slower than the current one, using XShmGetImage). Let's see if it is more stable. I'm curious to see how slow it is for you (for me it's just slightly slower than XShmGetImage).

Offline

#33 2017-11-16 11:08:24

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,058
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Offline

#34 2017-11-16 11:23:59

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 401
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Thanks for all the feedback.

So without shared memory there are no glitches and it takes around 25 ms, up to 40 per window on your setup. Latency is a bit high, but could work if done with care (for multiple windows, I should interleave screenshotting with input event processing so that tint2 does not feel laggy).

Meanwhile I found out what was causing the leak in the shared memory code and fixed it, so maybe I will keep that method behind a flag.

Last edited by o9000 (2017-11-16 11:24:52)

Offline

#35 2017-11-16 19:41:10

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,058
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Latest version is working fine (and is fast) with the somehow problematic old macpro (commit cbf3cebbb01831dc237643c91ec47e014e0d89b7)

tint2: thumbnail for window: 777C62B51312312C - File Manager
tint2: !ximg
tint2: XGetImage failed, trying slower method
tint2: capturing window failed
tint2: thumbnail for window: 777C62B51312312C - File Manager
tint2: !ximg
tint2: XGetImage failed, trying slower method
tint2: capturing window failed
tint2: thumbnail for window: 777C62B51312312C - File Manager
tint2: !ximg
tint2: XGetImage failed, trying slower method
tint2: capturing window failed
tint2: thumbnail for window: 777C62B51312312C - File Manager
tint2: captured window using XGetImage
tint2: task_refresh_thumbnail took 6.783294 ms (window: 777C62B51312312C - File Manager)
tint2: thumbnail for window: 777C62B51312312C - File Manager
tint2: captured window using XGetImage
tint2: task_refresh_thumbnail took 6.870263 ms (window: 777C62B51312312C - File Manager)
tint2: thumbnail for window: urxvt
tint2: captured window using XGetImage
tint2: task_refresh_thumbnail took 5.799665 ms (window: urxvt)
tint2: thumbnail for window: File Operation Progress
tint2: captured window using XGetImage
tint2: task_refresh_thumbnail took 1.219346 ms (window: File Operation Progress)
tint2: thumbnail for window: urxvt
tint2: captured window using XGetImage
tint2: task_refresh_thumbnail took 3.645649 ms (window: urxvt)
tint2: thumbnail for window: File Operation Progress
tint2: captured window using XGetImage
tint2: task_refresh_thumbnail took 1.307119 ms (window: File Operation Progress)
tint2: thumbnail for window: urxvt
tint2: captured window using XGetImage
tint2: task_refresh_thumbnail took 3.500638 ms (window: urxvt)
tint2: thumbnail for window: File Operation Progress
tint2: captured window using XGetImage
tint2: task_refresh_thumbnail took 1.201003 ms (window: File Operation Progress)
tint2: thumbnail for window: urxvt
tint2: captured window using XGetImage
tint2: task_refresh_thumbnail took 4.936502 ms (window: urxvt)

Offline

#36 2017-11-16 20:55:13

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 401
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Great to hear that!

Offline

#37 2017-11-17 14:43:01

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 401
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

I polished things a bit, and set the debugging output to show only if you set the environment variable DEBUG_THUMBNAILS when starting tint2:

DEBUG_THUMBNAILS=1 ./tint2

Tested it on a machine with a really old intel Atom. I see latencies around 80 ms for a 1 MP display. Shared memory (which is now disabled) gives around 50 ms. Maybe a flag to turn it on would be useful for very slow computers.

Last edited by o9000 (2017-11-17 15:01:52)

Offline

#38 2017-11-18 15:47:24

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 615
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

This is a cracking features. Works beautifully.

Offline

#39 2017-11-25 21:56:32

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 401
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Another fix for a massive memory leak in libX11.

Offline

#40 2017-12-20 19:33:56

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 401
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

I think it got sufficient testing. Published in tint2 16.0.

Thanks to all for helping.

Last edited by o9000 (2017-12-20 19:34:09)

Offline

#41 2020-07-05 17:04:34

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 2,901

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Trenton wrote:

Will something like this be added to Lithium?

The latest tint2 with the task_thumbnail option is available in BL so the feature can be configured at any time. You're right in that it is not the default config, it is disabled by default: https://github.com/BunsenLabs/bunsen-co … _thumbnail .

If it doesn't break the look & feel I don't see why it couldn't be set to 1, but hhh, damo or johnraff would need to do the change as I'm not a user of tint2


Per aspera ad astra.

Offline

#42 2020-07-05 17:08:48

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,774
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Trenton wrote:

Will something like this be added to Lithium?

Did you not read this thread?
It is part of tint2 already (has been for a long while). So, yes.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#43 2020-07-06 07:33:14

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 7,135
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

twoion wrote:
Trenton wrote:

Will something like this be added to Lithium?

The latest tint2 with the task_thumbnail option is available in BL so the feature can be configured at any time. You're right in that it is not the default config, it is disabled by default: https://github.com/BunsenLabs/bunsen-co … _thumbnail .

If it doesn't break the look & feel I don't see why it couldn't be set to 1, but hhh, damo or johnraff would need to do the change as I'm not a user of tint2

Those tint2 config files are copied into $HOME/.config/tint2/ when a new user is set up, so any user can edit that option at will. smile


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#44 2020-07-06 09:47:45

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,774
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Animated thumbnails in a lightweight distro?
A shoehorn with teeth.
It's time for that song again.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#45 2020-07-08 01:35:20

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 7,135
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Just tried enabling thumbnails in tint2 for the first time ever.
Good as a way of distinguishing different instances of the same application, but no, thumbnails of eg a youtube page in Firefox don't refresh in real time. If Ubuntu or Mint can do that on the same hardware then more power to them. cool


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#46 2020-07-08 03:05:50

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 954

Re: TaskBar Preview?

johnraff wrote:

Just tried enabling thumbnails in tint2 for the first time ever.
Good as a way of distinguishing different instances of the same application, but no, thumbnails of eg a youtube page in Firefox don't refresh in real time. If Ubuntu or Mint can do that on the same hardware then more power to them. cool

How do you enable the thumbnails in tint2?

Nevermind found the option so set it to 1 and it works pretty well. Sorry for the noise  monkey

Last edited by DeepDayze (2020-07-08 03:08:09)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#47 2020-07-17 20:09:08

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 401
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

It's risky to enable it by default, it does not play well with some cards on large monitors (4k or 2x4k). Although I have used it for years without issues.

Last edited by o9000 (2020-07-17 20:11:29)

Offline

#48 2020-07-17 22:46:15

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,118

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Trenton wrote:
johnraff wrote:

If Ubuntu or Mint can do that on the same hardware then more power to them. cool

A year or so ago i installed Linux Mint Debian on a friends really old AMD 1.5Ghz dual core laptop (that must be 16 years old) and that played preview ok?

/me shrugs smile

Are you talking about tint2 thumbnails on Mint?


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#49 2020-07-17 23:40:37

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 10,219
Website

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Holy thread Necromancy, Batman!

No, we're not providing tint2 with previews enabled by default, especially if they're crappy. I don't know, I haven't tested it. That is a user preference, install and run whatever panel that has whatever features you want, or run BL without a panel. Strip out BL and run Plasma or gnome-shell, it's your desktop. We finally implemented right-click-taskbar-icon to close. What more do want!!!!???!!! smile

I think @johnraff will agree with me, for as long as we can provide it via Debian and our repos, we'll release Live desktop images that contain a light-weight but feature-rich window manager, a decent set of default apps, pretty much 1 app per task, a configurable panel that includes a clock/calendar and systray, a basic conky display showing some stats and shortcuts, and a display manager and a compositor if possible.

That's what #! was, that's what it will be.

Offline

#50 2020-07-18 00:25:03

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 551

Re: TaskBar Preview?

Trenton wrote:
johnraff wrote:

If Ubuntu or Mint can do that on the same hardware then more power to them. cool

A year or so ago i installed Linux Mint Debian on a friends really old AMD 1.5Ghz dual core laptop (that must be 16 years old) and that played preview ok?

/me shrugs smile

The original Poster asked for live thumbnails as in Cinnamon, instead of Tint2's static preview...


// Regards rbh

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB