You are not logged in.

#21 2017-07-13 17:41:53

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

^Indeed, I had that issue as well after upgrading to stretch.

Run as root:

perl -MCPAN -e shell

Answer the question and then from the shell inside:

install Linux::DesktopFiles

Then

exit

Exit root and try again the obmenu command.

Offline

#22 2017-07-15 12:27:02

devnull
Member
Registered: 2017-06-29
Posts: 69

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

thank you sir, that worked like a charm and I wouldn't have thought of it. It should be in the first post guide!

Offline

#23 2017-07-15 17:56:07

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

You're welcome. Good idea too, added!

There is also a way to have both: The static menu and the dynamic menu and switch back and forth. Here is a detailed description.

Offline

#24 2017-07-16 07:52:35

devnull
Member
Registered: 2017-06-29
Posts: 69

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

The switcher looks like a nice little toy, nice job!

Is there a way to change the font of the obmenu-generator? Can't find it around

Offline

#25 2017-07-16 18:57:02

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

In "Preferences/Openbox/GUI Config Tool" there is "Appearance".

You can choose under "Menu Item" the font style and size for the bl-obmenu-generator menu.

Offline

#26 2017-07-16 21:40:05

devnull
Member
Registered: 2017-06-29
Posts: 69

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

What a head is mine, thank you for the patience of pointing out what was in front of my eyes!

Offline

#27 2017-07-16 23:55:38

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

np! first I was looking through schema.pl and config.pl too.  big_smile   And I still did not find the square font type that was used by trizen on the obmenu-generator screenshot.

trizen.th.png

Offline

#28 2017-10-27 17:09:57

peterk
Member
Registered: 2017-10-27
Posts: 8

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

Hello,
After googling around here is other way to have a start menu:
1- Install xdotool:

sudo apt install xdotool

2- Check ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml

<keybind key="W-space">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>root-menu</menu>
      </action>
</keybind>

3- Create Menu.desktop usr/share/applications

[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Icon=/usr/share/icons/Paper/24x24/categories/applications-system.png
Name=Menu
GenericName=Show apps menu
Comment=apps menu 
Categories=System;System Tools;
Exec=xdotool key Super+space
StartupNotify=true
Terminal=false
MimeType=inode/directory;
Name[en_GB.UTF-8]=Menu

Edit add your icon.

4 - Add a launcher to tint2rc:

launcher_item_app = Menu.desktop

5- Restart tint2

Last edited by peterk (2017-10-28 13:41:05)

Offline

#29 2017-10-27 21:14:32

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

^Indeed! Clicking the icon in tint2 simply starts the openbox menu (or whatever menu is set by super+space (default: right click) e.g. the menu by bl-obmenu-generator). xdotool was already installed on my system. I'm not sure why an extra keybind "W-space" would be needed for the menu if there is already super+space. Under 4 it is enough to use menu.desktop without the path (as under step 3 you used menu.desktop it would not work with Menu.desktop).

Last edited by martix (2017-10-27 21:17:27)

Offline

#30 2017-10-28 13:39:08

peterk
Member
Registered: 2017-10-27
Posts: 8

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

Hi martix

Thanks for your comments
cool

Last edited by peterk (2017-10-28 13:39:44)

Offline

#31 2018-01-09 13:44:06

devnull
Member
Registered: 2017-06-29
Posts: 69

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

I just installed helium-dev using the netinstall script, and after installing obmenu-generator as described in the guide, issuing the install

Linux::DesktopFiles

, when I try to run it I have the following message:

$ obmenu-generator -s -i
Can't locate object method "get_icon_path" via package "Linux::DesktopFiles" at /usr/bin/obmenu-generator line 440.

Could it be because of the switch to gtk3? Anyone had the same issue?

Offline

#32 2018-01-09 17:43:05

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

@devnull The post here with the described steps might help.

Offline

#33 2018-01-09 21:53:55

devnull
Member
Registered: 2017-06-29
Posts: 69

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

Hi, thank you for your answer, I solved it smile

Seems like the version in the repo is old, the most recent on github (0.84) is properly working with relative URLs.

Now, it doesn't manage to find all the icons, actually most of them are not there, but I think is because of the missing package gtk2-perl. I'll check it.

EDIT: in config.pl, line 52, I changed

  "gtk_rc_filename"     => "$ENV{HOME}/gtkrc-2.0",

in

  "gtk_rc_filename"     => "$ENV{HOME}/.config/gtkrc-2.0",

Last edited by devnull (2018-01-09 21:59:05)

Offline

#34 2018-01-10 09:30:36

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

@devnull Thank you for the details, meanwhile I just realized those steps were mentioned in the OP already.

If I understand correctly, you used the HoaS repo install method. That's indeed an older version, even the bl-obmenu-generator on gitlab is based on v. 0.69, which works fine on a Stretch based #BL. I will have a look at the gitlab version, it'd be surely a good idea to make an update and test it before the new release is out (and change the description in the OP). Do you still get the missing icons after those changes? I use Papirus and it looks really good, but it should work with other icon themes too.

Offline

#35 2018-01-10 22:02:24

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

martix wrote:

the HoaS repo install method. That's indeed an older version

Ooops, sorry folks, I haven't looked at that in a looooooong time  ops

I will try to update it when I have a minute but I'm rather busy atm so it may take a bit.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#36 2018-01-10 23:23:58

devnull
Member
Registered: 2017-06-29
Posts: 69

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

Hi martix,
yes, after those steps everything works perfectly and I must say I agree, with paper icons it looks gorgeous!
Maybe we can just write in the OP that the HoaS repos is out of date?

HoaS, don't worry, installing from the git source is so easy that I'm not sure it's worth the effort to keep it in the repo, unless there are some advantages that I don't know about.

Thanks to everyone!

Last edited by devnull (2018-01-11 19:22:54)

Offline

#37 2018-01-11 19:04:52

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

^Yep, note added. I'll have to look at the bl-specific version too on gitlab. There are some minor changes implemented there like the terminal, icon theme names, etc.

Offline

#38 2018-04-04 13:45:52

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

The part for jgmenu (VI) was updated. Popupmenu is not on the list yet as it is still in development.

Last edited by martix (2018-04-04 13:54:09)

Offline

#39 2018-04-05 06:05:01

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 8,958
Website

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

Just revisiting - I may have missed it, but for parts IV & V shouldn't installing the package openbox-menu be added to the instructions?


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Online

#40 2018-04-05 21:27:31

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Dynamic menus on BunsenLabs - a comprehensive guide

^Parts IV and V indeed need openbox-menu, but it's the same e.g. with the debian menu as an entry or obamenu. The descriptions are - as the title suggests - basically for the default BunsenLabs configuration with the openbox-menu installed. jgmenu works well besides (together with) the openbox-menu, while the menu by obmenu-generator replaces it (although it is also possible to switch between this menu and the default openbox-menu).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB