You are not logged in.

#26 2018-03-30 13:11:17

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Virtual BunsenLabs with QEMU & KVM

ohnonot wrote:

i need to make qemu send audio to alsa instead of pulseaudio.

Unfortunately, QEMU now requires PulseAudio to produce sound, I had to rebuild the package in my Arch system without the PA depends roll


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#27 2018-03-31 04:59:29

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,194
Website

Re: Virtual BunsenLabs with QEMU & KVM

the aforementioned aqemu has an option to connect to the hosts alsa instead of pa.
tested, i have sound.
afaiu aqemu is just a frontend for qemu, so it should be possible with qemu proper.

Offline

#28 2018-03-31 11:50:23

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Virtual BunsenLabs with QEMU & KVM

ohnonot wrote:

tested, i have sound

Is this in Arch?

How did you install QEMU without PA and how do you stop PA from starting if it is installed?

Can you please post the output of this command with aqemu running the ALSA backend:

pgrep -a qemu

I am curious which flags are being passed glasses


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#29 2018-03-31 14:11:06

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,194
Website

Re: Virtual BunsenLabs with QEMU & KVM

here you go:

$ pacman -Ss pulse audio | grep installed
extra/libao 1.2.2-2 [installed]
$ pgrep -a qemu
24275 aqemu
24329 /usr/bin/qemu-system-x86_64 -monitor stdio -soundhw ac97 -k fi -machine accel=kvm -m 2048 -snapshot -hda /home/data/vm/Bunsenlabs_Helium/img -boot order=adc,menu=on -net nic,vlan=0 -net user,vlan=0 -rtc base=localtime -no-quit -name "Bunsenlabs Helium" -vnc :10

Offline

#30 2018-11-19 07:42:52

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,673
Website

Re: Virtual BunsenLabs with QEMU & KVM

A note for beginners with QEMU (as I am): virt-manager seems to me to be doing an excellent job of creating and running QEMU VMs with usable default configurations. It's easy to tweak or add things, but you get Spice, virtio and QXL right off, and performance seems pretty good. Just be sure to install spice-vdagent on the guest (if it's Linux). It makes a huge difference to the user interface.

ohnonot wrote:

virt-manager is a bit heavy for my taste

Of my 8gb RAM, virt-manager is using 3.2% compared with 6.4 for Firefox and 13.2 for the currently running VM. Or did you mean CPU usage, or package dependencies?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#31 2018-11-19 13:10:21

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 605
Website

Re: Virtual BunsenLabs with QEMU & KVM

johnraff wrote:
ohnonot wrote:

virt-manager is a bit heavy for my taste

Of my 8gb RAM, virt-manager is using 3.2% compared with 6.4 for Firefox and 13.2 for the currently running VM. Or did you mean CPU usage, or package dependencies?

virt-manager is the best qemu+kvm+SPICE solution there currently is. Practically, you can use spicy as a client to a manually configured QEMU/KVM instance but the client is experimental and crashed on me more often than not. Also, half the things like clipboard sharing do not work unless you take care of configuring a serial channel to the guest too, etc. virt-manager encapsulates all that knowledge.

There is no reason to not use virt-manager unless you use libvirtd directly or another manager daemon instead.

Offline

#32 2018-11-21 06:48:40

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,194
Website

Re: Virtual BunsenLabs with QEMU & KVM

johnraff wrote:
ohnonot wrote:

virt-manager is a bit heavy for my taste

Of my 8gb RAM, virt-manager is using 3.2% compared with 6.4 for Firefox and 13.2 for the currently running VM. Or did you mean CPU usage, or package dependencies?

i had completely forgotten about these efforts of mine.
i just had a look; not sure what the problem with virt-manager was back then.
maybe i was still trying to avoid gtk3 on my system, something i have since given up on.
but i had another look and it would still want to install an awful lot of packages.

Offline

#33 2018-11-21 07:38:36

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,673
Website

Re: Virtual BunsenLabs with QEMU & KVM

ohnonot wrote:

virt-manager...
...it would still want to install an awful lot of packages.

Undeniable, but I didn't notice any daemons or services - unless you're starting from a very lean system.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB