You are not logged in.

#126 2017-05-22 11:32:23

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 738
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

jmc wrote:

I have been summoned!

Hi everyone, I'm the current maintainer of tint3. o9000 speaks the truth, I forked tint2 during the time it was not actively developed to make some minor improvements here and there, and I've been trying to refactor it to make it more maintainable and, hopefully, less prone to crashes and memory leaks. Since then, Real Life™ has soaked up lots of my time, so I haven't been as proactive as o9000 and the tint2 community in providing new features, but I'm trying to catch up as I can: I've recently added support for gradients, and I'd like to backport some more stuff, eventually...

I also have ideas on new cool things to build, which I sometimes dump @ https://github.com/jmc-88/tint3/projects if you're curious. Those are not tint3-specific, so I'd love to share these between projects (and do a code merge for real, given enough time).

Anyway, currently you can't expect 1:1 compatibility, though that's what I'm striving for. Feel free to try tint3 out if you'd like, and let me know if it totally sucks. smile

P.S.: let me use this occasion to publicly praise o9000 for taking the time to cross-report bugs shared by the two projects; I'd never have discovered them on my own.

I can upload tint3 to our jessie-backports repository for evaluation if folks are interested (also, I haven't missed the recent 0.14.5 tint2 release, just didn't get around to building it).

Offline

#127 2017-05-22 19:50:14

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 541
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

IMO:
  - It would have been tidier if the team who brought it to 0.11 had nudged it over the line to v1.0.
  - @o9000: Don't underestimate what you've done! You've put a hugh amount of work into it. tint2 lay pretty dormant at 0.11 for some time. You have not only created a new home (at gitlab), but brought stability, features and documentation to a new level. I think tint2 deserves to be v1.0.
  - If we don't do it at this point, we risk getting stuck at 0.x 'forever'.
  - I don't think that tagging at v1.0 undermines or takes away anything from the original ttm+tint2 devs.
  - I think that releasing v1.0 can take place without indicating that we have lost backward compatibility.
I think it does three things:
  1. Sends a message that the project is active
  2. Shows that we have the features originally intended (okay ambigous statement, but you know what I mean)
  3. Removes any sense that we are still at some sort of alpha/beta stage.

@jmc - great stuff. I will compile and have a play.
(or use backports if @earlybird uploads - even easier :-) )

P.S. I don't like 1.14 or 2.14 - not sure why, just don't feel right.

Last edited by malm (2017-05-22 19:52:24)

Offline

#128 2017-05-22 20:36:23

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 400
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

Thanks for the input. Indeed 1.0 feels natural, and I think we shall see it happen this summer.

One thing I can guarantee: the version number will NOT go backwards.

Offline

#129 2017-05-22 20:42:28

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 541
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

Yippee!

Offline

#130 2017-05-22 21:28:09

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Moderator Squid
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,758

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

o9000 wrote:

One thing I can guarantee: the version number will NOT go backwards.

Hey that's different!

But wait a minute: 42 would be great!

- The answer to Life the Universe and Tint2!  It's a natural!


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: sector11 Kernel: 4.9.0-11-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 dm: lightdm Distro: BunsenLabs GNU/Linux 9.6 (Helium)

Offline

#131 2017-05-23 04:32:04

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,228
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

hei jmc, thanks for the response!

jmc wrote:

I've recently added support for gradients, and I'd like to backport some more stuff, eventually...

so no executor plugin currently... :'(

P.S.: let me use this occasion to publicly praise o9000 for taking the time to cross-report bugs shared by the two projects; I'd never have discovered them on my own.

you are preaching to the choir here!

Offline

#132 2017-05-25 16:03:03

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

After reading some recent posts, indeed, it seems to be the right idea with v1.0.

There is a minor feature I'd like to mention: I'm not sure but somehow I recall grabbing an icon after holding a left click on it and not only pull it to an other desktop, but also e.g. in between two other icons on the same desktop (in order to change how the icons are arranged on the same desktop). It is still possible to change the order of the icons on the same desktop: If I'm not mistaken it works after a right click. I was just wondering if it would be generally more convenient (or possible?) that the icon could be inserted between to other icons on the same desktop with the "hold left click+move" method?

Offline

#133 2017-05-25 18:03:49

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 400
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

Left-button drag is working for me. Are you saying it's not working for you? Can you post a config?

Edit: the left click must be bound to some action, otherwise it will be forwarded to the desktop.

Last edited by o9000 (2017-05-25 18:06:08)

Offline

#134 2017-05-25 20:21:39

kafran
Member
From: Brasil
Registered: 2017-05-16
Posts: 15
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

Does anybody knows if there is an option like "taskbar_distribute_size" but to collapse inactive desktops? Since I have a small screen with a low resolution (1024x600), I would like to see only the taskbar of the desktop I'm in.

Offline

#135 2017-05-25 20:30:55

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

This is the config I'm using (in horizontal with minor cosmetic changes). So drag&drop is supposed to work under the icons within the same desktop? Well, it only works for me if I drop it on tint2 to a different desktop. As I mentioned I used a right click, which changes the order of icons within the same desktop for me.

After having a closer look at the config I found:

mouse_left = toggle_iconify

I tried to comment it out - as before: drag&drop the icon worked only to the other desktop.

Offline

#136 2017-05-25 21:48:38

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 400
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

Remove:

taskbar_sort_order = center

You can either sort tasks manually or by position. Not both.

Offline

#137 2017-05-25 21:49:55

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 400
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

kafran wrote:

Does anybody knows if there is an option like "taskbar_distribute_size" but to collapse inactive desktops? Since I have a small screen with a low resolution (1024x600), I would like to see only the taskbar of the desktop I'm in.

See https://gitlab.com/o9000/tint2/blob/mas … kbar-pager

taskbar_mode = single_desktop

Offline

#138 2017-05-25 21:54:17

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

@o9000 Ah, indeed, that was it! Thank you for the help and clarification!

Offline

#139 2017-05-25 22:00:19

kafran
Member
From: Brasil
Registered: 2017-05-16
Posts: 15
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

o9000 wrote:
kafran wrote:

Does anybody knows if there is an option like "taskbar_distribute_size" but to collapse inactive desktops? Since I have a small screen with a low resolution (1024x600), I would like to see only the taskbar of the desktop I'm in.

See https://gitlab.com/o9000/tint2/blob/mas … kbar-pager

taskbar_mode = single_desktop

This is not what I asked. With single_desktop mode the taskbar stop acting as a pager and I need to use the keyboard to change workspace. I would like to see the desktop name on the taskbar and "on click" it expands and hide the other just like "taskbar_distribute_size" when the desktop is empty.

Last edited by kafran (2017-05-25 22:02:50)

Offline

#140 2017-05-26 08:59:40

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 400
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

I see.

There is no pager in tint2.

You have the following options:

1. Switch desktop with the mouse wheel (if you have one).

2. Use as system tray pager, links: https://gitlab.com/o9000/tint2/wikis/Th … p-switcher (I have not used these in a while)

3. Create a pager using the executor plugin. Here is a text one (requires the packages x11-utils and xdotool, and the latest tint2 from backports):

execp = new
execp_command = xprop -root -spy _NET_CURRENT_DESKTOP | awk -W interactive '{ print "Desktop " $3 + 1 }'
execp_interval = 1
execp_has_icon = 0
execp_continuous = 1
execp_lclick_command = xdotool key Ctrl+Alt+Left
execp_rclick_command = xdotool key Ctrl+Alt+Right
execp_font_color = #ffffff 100
execp_padding = 0 0
execp_background_id = 0
execp_centered = 0
execp_icon_w = 0
execp_icon_h = 0

Assuming you use Ctrl+Alt+Left/Right in openbox to switch desktops.

Last edited by o9000 (2017-05-26 08:59:52)

Offline

#141 2017-05-26 10:32:29

kafran
Member
From: Brasil
Registered: 2017-05-16
Posts: 15
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

Don't you think a good feature what I suggested: Make the taskbar collapse on innactive desktops smile?

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2017-05-26 22:16:02)

Offline

#142 2017-05-26 12:50:43

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 400
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

You haven't convinced me why the other options are not good enough for you.

Anyways, even if this were useful, I do not have time to implement new features in tint2 for a while. The project will still be maintained, but there will be only bugfixes.

Patches are welcome. But they will have to be relatively complete to be merged, meaning config option handling, thorough testing with various configs and full tint2conf support.

Offline

#143 2017-05-28 17:48:17

kafran
Member
From: Brasil
Registered: 2017-05-16
Posts: 15
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

o9000 wrote:

You haven't convinced me why the other options are not good enough for you.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/awtcly8qss6xt … -35-22.png

Well, I'm using tint2 on a 10.1"/1024x600 netbook. So, as you can see I have few screen space, but I like to use two desktops. If the desktop 2 could be hide and only expands when active, I think it would be a great feature. I hope someone buy the idea and implement it ^^.


Thank you for your great job with tint2.

Offline

#144 2017-05-28 19:25:56

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

@kafran I had similar thoughts, but created more space by making the systray area much smaller. E.g. time and date could be put in a conky, just like the battery status -> more space for desktops. Or it would be also possible to put only the systray somewhere else (e.g. bottom right vertikal). Maybe not the best solution, but it's still an option.

Offline

#145 2017-05-29 10:00:15

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 400
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

I see, small screen space, no mouse wheel. I will keep your request in mind.

Offline

#146 2017-05-30 15:56:27

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,228
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

but isn't that possible in tint2? that unused workspaces collapse, only the active one is fully expande? i'm 99.9% sure of that.

Offline

#147 2017-06-02 21:36:36

kafran
Member
From: Brasil
Registered: 2017-05-16
Posts: 15
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

ohnonot wrote:

but isn't that possible in tint2? that unused workspaces collapse, only the active one is fully expande? i'm 99.9% sure of that.

For the unused (empty) workspace, yes! For the inactive one, no.

Offline

#148 2017-06-11 09:20:08

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 400
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

0.14.6 out:

- Fixes:
  - Take into account border width when computing text height (Fixes http://imgur.com/a/44xkz )
  - Taskbar: Fix task icon size limits (Fixes https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?pid=51884 )
  - Executor: Do not output last line if it is not terminated by newline (Fixes https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 834#p52834 )
- Enhancements:
  - Re-execute tint2 on SIGUSR2.
    This is useful for preserving config options and environment when updating tint2. Inspired by tint3 smile

Offline

#149 2017-06-11 13:12:43

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 924
Website

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

Thanks so much o9000 for all efforts and fixing.


OS: FreeBSD - WM: CWM // Devuan - WM: Fluxbox (lean & mean)
I only play 96kHz Hi-Res audio WAV/FLAC via DAC player or DeaDBeeF on Linux
Chuck Norris doesn't approve systemd

Offline

#150 2017-06-11 13:31:41

twoion
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 2,584

Re: tint2 16.2 released :)

0.14.6 uploaded to BL jessie-backports.


At the end of the river the sundown beams

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB