You are not logged in.

#1 2016-10-11 15:04:01

Zargando
Member
Registered: 2016-09-29
Posts: 21

[SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

I wanted to use windows 10 (64bit) in a virtual invironment, so installed Virtualbox under Bunsenlabs (64bit).
But during the setting up in Virtualbox i can only choose 32bit systems.
After doing some searching for solutions first i did look in BIOS but there is no option at all to make a change.
Virtualbox gives the error : "Vt-x hardware acceleration is not available on your system"
Below is a part of the VM log file with the error.

The odd part is when i boot into windows and use virtualbox i am able to choose 64bit systems.
So i guess it is the combination of Bunsenlabs and Vt-x ? I would like to know what i can or must do to make it work ?

00:00:00.817685 VM: fHMEnabled=true  (configured) fRecompileUser=false fRecompileSupervisor=false
00:00:00.817688 VM: fRawRing1Enabled=false CSAM=true  PATM=true 
00:00:00.817857 HM: HMR3Init: Falling back to raw-mode: VT-x is not available
00:00:00.817912 MM: cbHyperHeap=0x140000 (1310720)
00:00:00.819014 CPUM: fXStateHostMask=0x3; initial: 0x0; host XCR0=0x3
00:00:00.820120 CPUM: Matched host CPU INTEL 0x6/0x17/0xa Intel_Core2_Penryn with CPU DB entry 'Intel Xeon X5482 3.20GHz' (INTEL 0x6/0x17/0x6 Intel_Core2_Penryn)
00:00:00.820197 CPUM: SetGuestCpuIdFeature: Enabled PAE
00:00:00.820219 CPUM: VCPU  0: Cached APIC base MSR = 0x0
00:00:00.823776 PGM: HCPhysInterPD=000000009592c000 HCPhysInterPaePDPT=00000000b7b29000 HCPhysInterPaePML4=0000000098f07000
00:00:00.823809 PGM: apInterPTs={00000000b7b2b000,00000000b7b2a000} apInterPaePTs={0000000036b7c000,0000000036b7b000} apInterPaePDs={0000000036b7a000,0000000036b79000,0000000036b78000,00000000b7a3f000} pInterPaePDPT64=00000000b7b28000
00:00:00.823820 PGM: Host paging mode: AMD64+PGE+NX

Last edited by Zargando (2016-10-12 17:11:16)

Offline

#2 2016-10-11 15:33:37

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,547

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

Is this any use?
Virtualbox FAQs:  I have a 64bit host, but can't install 64bit guests


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#3 2016-10-11 15:44:21

Zargando
Member
Registered: 2016-09-29
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

damo wrote:

Is this any use?
Virtualbox FAQs:  I have a 64bit host, but can't install 64bit guests

Thanks, yes i did read that page but from my understanding my cpu has 64 capability, but the problem is with Vt-x under Bunsenlabs because of the error "Vt-x hardware acceleration is not available on your system".
And also when i login into Windows and use Virtualbox, i can for instance install Bunsenlabs 64bit, so it should be possible but my guts tells me there is something in Bunsenlabs preventing it ?:/

Offline

#4 2016-10-11 15:54:04

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,547

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

Which version of BL have you installed?


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#5 2016-10-11 16:08:49

Zargando
Member
Registered: 2016-09-29
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

Hope this is what you mean by version ?..."bl-Hydrogen_20160710_kernel 3.16.0-4-amd64"

uname -a:

Linux debian 3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.36-1+deb8u1 (2016-09-03) x86_64 GNU/Linux

Last edited by Zargando (2016-10-11 16:28:00)

Offline

#6 2016-10-11 16:28:54

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 704

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

Zargando wrote:

... but from my understanding my cpu has 64 capability ...

Did you check in BIOS/UEFI that the virtualization is enabled? (Point #2 in damo's link.) In particular, what is the output of:

$ egrep --color '(vmx|svm)' /proc/cpuinfo

Did you in particular check point #3 in damo's link? Do you have, for example, VMWare installed? Or kvm? Or Xen?


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#7 2016-10-11 17:13:57

Zargando
Member
Registered: 2016-09-29
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

iMBeCil wrote:
Zargando wrote:

... but from my understanding my cpu has 64 capability ...

Did you check in BIOS/UEFI that the virtualization is enabled? (Point #2 in damo's link.) In particular, what is the output of:

$ egrep --color '(vmx|svm)' /proc/cpuinfo

Did you in particular check point #3 in damo's link? Do you have, for example, VMWare installed? Or kvm? Or Xen?

Thanks for your help, i try to answer as good as i can:

* In my BIOS there are no option for virtualization

*Your code doesn't do anything for me, there is no output at all?

*No i do not have anything installed like you mentioned

I use the command "lscpu" maybe that will help for a solution

Architecture:          x86_64
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                2
On-line CPU(s) list:   0,1
Thread(s) per core:    1
Core(s) per socket:    2
Socket(s):             1
NUMA node(s):          1
Vendor ID:             GenuineIntel
CPU family:            6
Model:                 23
Model name:            Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU       T4300  @ 2.10GHz
Stepping:              10
CPU MHz:               1200.000
CPU max MHz:           2100,0000
CPU min MHz:           1200,0000
BogoMIPS:              4189.38
L1d cache:             32K
L1i cache:             32K
L2 cache:              1024K

Offline

#8 2016-10-11 17:18:38

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,547

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

The output for 'lspcu' on my system includes the line

Virtualisation:        VT-x

A quick google indicates that your processor doesn't support VT-x  http://ark.intel.com/products/

Intel® Hyper-Threading Technology ‡    No
Intel® Virtualization Technology (VT-x) ‡     No

Last edited by damo (2016-10-11 17:27:04)


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#9 2016-10-11 17:34:52

Zargando
Member
Registered: 2016-09-29
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

Thank you, does this mean that debain needs Vt-x to make use of 64bit in virtual invironment and windows 10 uses other methods to make it available ?, because in windows 10 Virtualbox is capable of displaying 64bit systems.

Offline

#10 2016-10-11 17:53:45

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 704

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

Zargando wrote:
iMBeCil wrote:
$ egrep --color '(vmx|svm)' /proc/cpuinfo

* In my BIOS there are no option for virtualization

*Your code doesn't do anything for me, there is no output at all?

Now, this is the problem, and reason for the output. On my system, output on host (not inside Virtualbox!)) is:

$ egrep --color '(vmx|svm)' /proc/cpuinfo
<cut>
flags		: fpu vme de pse ... vmx ...
<cut>

meaning I have the 'vmx' flag, meaning I have required virtualization flags enabled on my Intel processor.
Basically, what damo said: no virtualization technique for your processor ...

Last edited by iMBeCil (2016-10-11 17:54:37)


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#11 2016-10-11 18:38:37

Zargando
Member
Registered: 2016-09-29
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

hmm not nice, guess it comes with using older hardware (couple of years old laptop).

Thank you for your help, really appreciate it !

Offline

#12 2016-10-11 20:17:31

stevep
MX Linux Developer
Registered: 2016-08-08
Posts: 381

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

Not a point of it being too old, more of Intel purposely not including a feature to create an artificial market distinction.  That's what you do when you own the market--you make arbitrary crummy, medium, and premium versions of your product, as when there were seven different versions of Windows from the same code base and still only one version of OS 10.

Offline

#13 2016-10-12 01:20:48

Bearded_Blunder
Dodging A Bullet
From: Seat: seat0; vc7
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 730

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

Zargando wrote:

The odd part is when i boot into windows and use virtualbox i am able to choose 64bit systems.

Since VBox in windows is documented as having the same restriction, and won't permit me to run 64 bit guests because my processor actually doesn't support VT-x, there *is* something odd going on, because if your processor didn't, then like me, you wouldn't be able to run 64 bit guests under windows either, under Windows, what does "Securable" have to say under Hardware Virtualization ? If it says "Yes" then there is some problem causing Linux not to see it.


Blessed is he who expecteth nothing, for he shall not be disappointed...
If there's an obscure or silly way to break it, but you don't know what.. Just ask me

Offline

#14 2016-10-12 08:43:50

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 738
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

Pentium T4300 is a lowest-end Pentium CPU. It doesn't have any hardware VIRTUALIZATION extensions (http://ark.intel.com/products/37253/Int … 00-MHz-FSB) so you won't be able to use actual virtualization. You are only able to use EMULATION, but you can emulate any CPU architecture you can think of.

Virtualbox is a virtualization solution, though you can turn off virtualization and fall back to emulation too. See the answer to https://superuser.com/questions/1100790 … virtualbox. However, as mentioned before, https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=62339 says that virtualization capabilities are REQUIRED to run 64bit guests on 64bit hosts because that's an exception.

In conclusion, NO it's not possible to run 64bit guests without VT-X on Linux using virtualbox.

Use qemu (without KVM, because: no virtualization!) instead, it handles this scenario just fine. Virtualbox is not a true emulation solution. It can only do virtualization and limited emulation, apparently. That's a software restriction.

Offline

#15 2016-10-12 17:09:33

Zargando
Member
Registered: 2016-09-29
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

@Bearded_Blunder you are are right, i have to admit with a "red face" that i thought windows allowed me to use the 64bit versions, but after trying again today i see it is the same as BL, as the intel link from user damo already showed that my cpu wont allow it, not in windows nor BL unfortunately.

@Earlybird, i tried to do it with qemu but also there after the first boot from cd i get a blue screen telling me this cpu cannot load the 64bit version of windows, so also there no luck

For now i will keep on dualbooting whenever i need software made strictly for windows.

Offline

#16 2016-10-12 19:07:58

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,547

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

Zargando wrote:

....
For now i will keep on dualbooting whenever i need software made strictly for windows.

Don't forget Wine -Debian wiki


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#17 2016-10-12 20:28:12

Bearded_Blunder
Dodging A Bullet
From: Seat: seat0; vc7
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 730

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox Vt-x error

Zargando wrote:

this cpu cannot load the 64bit version of windows, so also there no luck

Unless you've some must have software that's 64 bit only, why not load Windows 32 bit in your VM? For Windows 10, which you mention, activation doesn't care about bitness.

Last edited by Bearded_Blunder (2016-10-12 20:33:50)


Blessed is he who expecteth nothing, for he shall not be disappointed...
If there's an obscure or silly way to break it, but you don't know what.. Just ask me

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB