You are not logged in.

#1 2019-02-07 20:09:08

THX1138

Curious about distro development

I wondered if someone who is a developer or who knows about development could tell me the answer to a couple of questions I've always had but have got more curious about lately. Bear in mind I'm not a programmer and barely even know anything about the process of distro development. So they are fairly general questions

Does the term "Development" mean different things to different distributions? For example it probably means something different to Debian than it means to Bunsenlabs. Maybe it even means something different to Bunsenlabs than it means to some-other-small-ish Linux distro. Or does it mean one thing to all distro's.

Another question is - imagine you include in your distro a program that a fair few users, not all, have experienced problems with. Say something like "Nitrogen background setter", which I believe is about 500 lines long. Do the developers of the distro try to alter the code in Nitrogen and then include the altered Nitrogen in the next release, or do they try to alter other things to make nitrogen work. I dont quite understand how developers solve problems like that.

The telephone is an antiquity - you never know who is calling, there is no image, it is an outmoded product which constantly disrupts work (Ralf Hutter (Kraftwerk)) ps: my wife knows how much I dislike being disrupted at Work - Ralf Hutter hit the nail on the head there

#2 2019-02-07 20:41:51

Bearded_Blunder
Dodging A Bullet

Re: Curious about distro development

I'm not a dev, but from observation:
It'll vary by Distro, depending how many devs, what their skills are, & which approach they prefer:
Could vary from only using what the base distro offers & some config & theming or that plus including software not in the base distro at all.. to recompiling half the world differently and changing init.
Bunsen's nearer the first end, there aren't many devs.